728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

The Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster helps boost up to 80% of air that has been heated or cooled from under-performing registers in your home. This register booster features a built-in temperature sensor. The booster is made of high-impact, ABS-polycarbonate with a flame-retardant housing. This register booster is an energy efficient way to improve circulation and comfort in your home.
Overall rating:
3.61 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product45 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product45 of 59reviews
Customer reviews for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Review 1 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So So

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is extremely bulky and has to be plugged in, making it difficult and not very stylish...especially when being put over a ceiling register. The fan is not very powerful, so when the air is on, though there is some noticeable difference it is not much. I should have just bought the portable air conditioner and been done with it. Don't waste your money.
Cons: bulky, ugly, requires an electrical outlet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Canfield, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, poor functionality

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to use in my upstairs bedroom that tends to stay a little warmer than I would like. Because of how my registers are angled, it would not fit into the hole, however that is not why I consider this to be a horrible waste of money. I plugged it in and held it over my vent while my ac was running. Without actually having a meter to measure the cfm's coming out of the unit, I can't prove it, but I think there was actually less air coming out with the booster over the vent than with the vent by itself. The noise that it puts out is not horrible, but since it didn't seem to put out any air to accompany the noise, I chose to return the unit.
Cons: useless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Lake Forest, CA.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good value

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have an upstairs bedroom that has always received minimal AC circulation due to the poor insufficient ductwork (older home originally equipped with central heat only, we added AC). On warm nights the downstairs would chill so to make the upstairs bearable.
Bought this booster with minimal expectations, but was very pleasantly surprised at how much of a difference was noticed with its use. Thermostat-controlled fan kicks in when it senses cooler (or warmer) air being blown, and actually sucks or "boosts" additional air from the register.
Note we are only using this on one upstairs register, so if multiple units are employed the efficiency may be diminished.
Well worth the price. I saw the reviews regarding poor life, but so far, so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: non-adjustable fan
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Does an awesome job!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased our register booster 11 years ago. It runs 24/7 in our addition to help equalize the temperature. It does a great job and I cant believe after 11 years, of constant on, it still runs great!
Pros: Durable, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea behind the product makes sense: this is a fan designed to draw the air from the vent duct into the room, presumably because the A/C blower isn't forcing enough air into room to keep it cool or warm.
Unfortunately, it doesn't work. It's a fan and it blows some air, but there's no seal around the vent to pull the air from the A/C system. Basically, it's just recirculating the air near the floor, not from the A/C system.
So, it's useless. And it's loud, really loud.
Cons: doesn't perform
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Crystal Lake, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well - provides a good boost for AC

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does what is promised. Does a great job of boosting air flow from a weak vent and is quite helpful with cooling. The on-off setting (designed to turn off the boost fan when the air from the vent stops) doesn't quite work so well with mine, but it's most likely because the air flow out of this particular vent is extremely low. The manual settings are great though. I'm happy with how it's working.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Bad product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is awfully loud and works when it wants to. It works when the air is off and doesn't work when the air is on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Wayne, PA

fabulous product

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home is 70 years old with air conditioning but without all of the modern construction materials. The two upstairs bedrooms could not get cool. I had ceiling fans installed, which helped somewhat. I learned about this product from a competing hardware store employee (he raved about it). So, I installed this in each of the two upstairs bedrooms. Could not live without it. When the fan goes on, it is about the same as a 'white noise' machine. Not too bad - well worth it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Effective

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little surprised by the price, but had to get the temperature down in one room. The fan is not as quiet as I had hoped, but the temperature change is dramatic. The setup was quick and easy, and I'm very glad I bought it.
Pros: does the job great
Cons: a little loud and pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from NE PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work ok value could be better

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used these in three rooms for just the winter months (Nov-Mar) to help move warm air from my basement thru a drop ceiling to the upstairs bedroom floors with about 2 ft of ducting. The units work ok, they can be a bit noisy, and the thermostat aspect likes to cycle the fan frequently. I've purchased about 9 of these over the last 7-8 years and usually have to replace one each year. They last about 2 years each and when they go they just stop. I would have hoped they would last more than they have only being used for 6 months at a time continuously.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hard to clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great while it lasts

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They work great, but die quickly. We have bought at least 8 or 10 of them for our large, poorly HVAC'd home. It takes a few moments to adjust them for heat vs. A/C, and they work great. I'd guess the average life span is about 3 months. We also noticed, one died immediately upon being lightly bumped by the hamper being replaced. There is some overly-delicate circuitry inside that I would assume leads to their quick demises.
I assume if manufacturer spent a few more pennies on the boards, they would be a 5-star item.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from South Florida

great energy saver

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a long house and the ac doesn't really get to the back rooms and the front rooms are cold, so I got this. It is great it pulls the air into those rooms that need it and the ac doesn't work as hard. The only drawback is that it is about 2" high so it has to be on a vent where there is little traffic so no one trips.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Shelton, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

job done as advertised

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
because of my son's medical condition he's always cold,the air equalizer put more heat into his room without raising the thermostat!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from West Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A great little booster fan.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These fans are great for cold rooms. However I bought two
and only one of them functioned properly. If the fan
is not cycling as it should, try returning it for a replacement
as they are great when they work!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Magnolia, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a den that was originally my garage. Like most of these types of conversions, the airflow was inadequate. I had considered installing a booster fan inline in the duct work with a separate thermostat but when I saw this for only $35 I thought I'd try it first. Being a booster FAN it does make minimal noise but it is only background noise like any small fan. Very easy to calibrate and the room is much more comfortable now. Definitely a good choice.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Dearborn, MI 48126, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wont last

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
works fairly for few months then it breaks down,bought 3 units and same thing happened,a bit noisy
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wont last, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from SI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

for lack of any other way to get air to the third floor it works

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a bit loud, not annoying though....the thermostat seems to move a bit, I find the unit on when the air conditioning is off. But the paperwork says it only pulls what a 30 watt light bulb would use. It does stick out two inches from the wall compared to the vent being flat. Most important... it does pull the air out of the vent, and the room at least is dry feeling if not cool. I'm buying 2 more.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Cost saver

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I noticed the rooms got cooler in our upstair's rooms where we have them without adjusting the AC. It does requiring a little tinkering to get the fan to only run when the AC kicks in.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Vienna, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noisy but nice

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is noisy-bad to watch TV but great to block out other noises when you're trying to sleep. However, I have an addition and I also have a bedroom over an unheated garage and both rooms have always been significantly colder. I bought 4 units in 2007 and 3 are still working. I don't like the fact that they stick up but I prefer comfort over looks so I tolerate. They have made the temperature more even in my house so I can use all the rooms all year round in comfort. Also, I've never had a great fit over the registers and they are still effective. Getting the fan to come on at the exact right time takes a few minutes to work out but not a big deal especially knowing what a difference it will make. I recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hard to clean, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
from Forest Hill, MD

perfect fit

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched long and hard for options to cool off the kids bedrooms on the far side of my home. I tried closing vents down stairs and up in the hope that it would force the air into their bedrooms. Of course nothing seemed to work until i found this product!! I love it and does exactly what it says it does. I Ihave noticed about an 8 -10 degree change in their rooms just from the register booster itself. Now the regulator on the top right does take a little fine tuning but after a day of the air kicking on and off I have it working like a well oiled machine. I recommend using a flat head screw driver when calibrating for added accuarcy. Stay patient as it will take a couple of times of going back and forth when the air kicks on and off to get the booster to kick on and off with the air. Bottom line this does work, great buy!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>