728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

The Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster helps boost up to 80% of air that has been heated or cooled from under-performing registers in your home. This register booster features a built-in temperature sensor. The booster is made of high-impact, ABS-polycarbonate with a flame-retardant housing. This register booster is an energy efficient way to improve circulation and comfort in your home.
Overall rating:
3.706 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product41 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(24)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product41 of 51reviews
Customer reviews for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Review 1 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Choppar
from NE PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work ok value could be better

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used these in three rooms for just the winter months (Nov-Mar) to help move warm air from my basement thru a drop ceiling to the upstairs bedroom floors with about 2 ft of ducting. The units work ok, they can be a bit noisy, and the thermostat aspect likes to cycle the fan frequently. I've purchased about 9 of these over the last 7-8 years and usually have to replace one each year. They last about 2 years each and when they go they just stop. I would have hoped they would last more than they have only being used for 6 months at a time continuously.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
ariant
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great while it lasts

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They work great, but die quickly. We have bought at least 8 or 10 of them for our large, poorly HVAC'd home. It takes a few moments to adjust them for heat vs. A/C, and they work great. I'd guess the average life span is about 3 months. We also noticed, one died immediately upon being lightly bumped by the hamper being replaced. There is some overly-delicate circuitry inside that I would assume leads to their quick demises.
I assume if manufacturer spent a few more pennies on the boards, they would be a 5-star item.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Laura
from Wayne, PA

fabulous product

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home is 70 years old with air conditioning but without all of the modern construction materials. The two upstairs bedrooms could not get cool. I had ceiling fans installed, which helped somewhat. I learned about this product from a competing hardware store employee (he raved about it). So, I installed this in each of the two upstairs bedrooms. Could not live without it. When the fan goes on, it is about the same as a 'white noise' machine. Not too bad - well worth it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
pappy
from Shelton, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

job done as advertised

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
because of my son's medical condition he's always cold,the air equalizer put more heat into his room without raising the thermostat!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Landbaron
from West Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A great little booster fan.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These fans are great for cold rooms. However I bought two
and only one of them functioned properly. If the fan
is not cycling as it should, try returning it for a replacement
as they are great when they work!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Kathleen
from South Florida

great energy saver

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a long house and the ac doesn't really get to the back rooms and the front rooms are cold, so I got this. It is great it pulls the air into those rooms that need it and the ac doesn't work as hard. The only drawback is that it is about 2" high so it has to be on a vent where there is little traffic so no one trips.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
JoJo
from SI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

for lack of any other way to get air to the third floor it works

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a bit loud, not annoying though....the thermostat seems to move a bit, I find the unit on when the air conditioning is off. But the paperwork says it only pulls what a 30 watt light bulb would use. It does stick out two inches from the wall compared to the vent being flat. Most important... it does pull the air out of the vent, and the room at least is dry feeling if not cool. I'm buying 2 more.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Soulstice58
from Vienna, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noisy but nice

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is noisy-bad to watch TV but great to block out other noises when you're trying to sleep. However, I have an addition and I also have a bedroom over an unheated garage and both rooms have always been significantly colder. I bought 4 units in 2007 and 3 are still working. I don't like the fact that they stick up but I prefer comfort over looks so I tolerate. They have made the temperature more even in my house so I can use all the rooms all year round in comfort. Also, I've never had a great fit over the registers and they are still effective. Getting the fan to come on at the exact right time takes a few minutes to work out but not a big deal especially knowing what a difference it will make. I recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hard to clean, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster

Works as advertised

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased a new one. The old one that I had bit the dust after over ten years of use. It will not cool a room but it will drop the temp 2 or 3 degrees. That's the difference between being sticky and comfortable. The fan does make a little noise but its not that annoying. If you run the fan continuously it will pull the cool air from the duct work and provide a little ventilation to your room even when the air conditioner isn't running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
MerlinOfLore
from Magnolia, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a den that was originally my garage. Like most of these types of conversions, the airflow was inadequate. I had considered installing a booster fan inline in the duct work with a separate thermostat but when I saw this for only $35 I thought I'd try it first. Being a booster FAN it does make minimal noise but it is only background noise like any small fan. Very easy to calibrate and the room is much more comfortable now. Definitely a good choice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
martin
from Dearborn, MI 48126, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wont last

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
works fairly for few months then it breaks down,bought 3 units and same thing happened,a bit noisy
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wont last, Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Mayor

Great product

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this for several years, and it works great. Just remember you will be taking air from somewhere else, which actually was a double benefit for me. It is a little tricky to set the sensor though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
MD2213
from Michigan

Great money spent

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had this unit for two years and used for two full Michigan winters. Never had any seal issues mentioned in other reviews. Fan moves much more air than i expected. My cold living room caused me to set thermostat higher and made the rest of the house too warm. This unit allows me to set the thermostat 2-3 degrees lower. The rest of the house is comfortable and the living room is now warmer than the rest.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Yoli
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not only is this thing extremely noisy it also does not blow out extra air (which is what I thought it was designed to do).
Cons: Noisy, didn't blow add'l air
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Pleased

Cost saver

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I noticed the rooms got cooler in our upstair's rooms where we have them without adjusting the AC. It does requiring a little tinkering to get the fan to only run when the AC kicks in.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
charg3r
from Southgate, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

convenient way to boost air flow without tools & duct alterations

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
study the instructions carefully and it does what it is supposed to. good product to ad to those long duct runs.
it made an unbearable room in the winter bearable.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: instructions a little tricky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
SteveWinNJ

It works as advertised

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm using this to compensate for some bad ductwork and it helps pull more air into the affected area. There is a noticeable difference.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
Toni
from Merrillville, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This item is totally useless!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
People don't waste your money on this register booster! It does nothing! It don't make more air come out, it don't make the room cooler. Their is no advantage to buying this register booster whats so ever!
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: the air flow is no more then any vent or less
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
docg44
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what is required

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
had problems setting the thermostat to get it to run automatically. Bypassed this function and now have to run manually.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: didn't function as described
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Equalizer EQ2 Heating and Air Conditioning Register Booster
TBone1
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price the product has great features and is very reliable!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>