728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Handheld Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Backpack Blower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Backpack Blower

The PB-413T Backpack Blower is perfect for leaves and grass clippings. Its powerful 44cc dual-ring piston engine provides outstanding performance while the heavy duty air filter ensures long life. Easy-to-use adjustable hip mounted throttle controls with cruise control make operation a breeze. Padded backrest and easy-to-adjust shoulder straps are comfortable and designed to distribute weight equally. The PB-413T is backed by a full two year consumer warranty and includes operator's manual and engine oil. All ECHO engines are certified with the highest EPA engine durability rating.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product27 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product27 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for Backpack Blower
Review 1 for Backpack Blower
from Western Oklahoma

PB-413H Backpack Blower

PostedMay 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional lawn care company and have been used a variety of blowers. None can compare to the performance that this Echo blower delivers. Bang for the buck this blower can't be beat. I'd take it over a Stihl or any other brand you wanted to compare it to. I've been using Echo trimmers for years and now I'm sold on their blowers as well. They are more expensive than some and less than others but they just can't be matched for performance and reliability versus cost. 5 stars to this little blower that could.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Backpack Blower
from Long Island

The best garden tool I own!

PostedDecember 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product A++++++ I recently purchased a McCulloch Blower for $158 that arrived the end of July. It worked for about one month when the carburetor went ?$55? for a new one. I replaced the carb. just in time for the fall cleaning. It ran for about three Saturdays maybe 1 ½ hours each time of use then died again!!! Now no spark?.!! So searched on the Net for the highest rated unit which is the Echo, I also read the reviews on this page to make the decision. I received the PB-413T Backpack Blower which has a gas tank twice the size of the McCulloch which started right off. This blower is so powerful it would blow the McCulloch off the lawn! I actually walk around with a smile on my face when I am using it. On an idle is has more power that the McCulloch has at full power. I would recommend this blower to anyone!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Backpack Blower
from NJ

Super Blower

PostedMay 6, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This blower is powerful. It blows the pine needles out of my grass, which no other blower can do. The only drawback is the weight, over 21 lbs. Eat your Wheaties!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Backpack Blower
from Michigan

Good consumer-grade blower, a bit heavy.

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I first bought a PB-260 (that had a best buy rating in consumer reports) at a close-out price. Tried it and it worked fine, but its blower unit was simply one of the hand-held models mounted in a small back carrier. It was very small and very uncomfortable to wear. Kid-sized, really. So I took it back and bought the 413 which is sized significantly larger. It's also a lot heavier, which is not so good. I really did not notice a big performance difference in the two models - in fact, none. The 260 has wider diameter tubes than the 413, to accomodate the smaller (26 cc vs. 44 cc) engine's capability. I think the 413 puts about about the same CFM, but they are squeezed through a smaller nozzle so the velocity is faster. This is a very good homeowner's unit, but it is not really a pro unit (who cares?). It starts easy (a few pulls) and is reasonably comfortable to use. It is definitely louder than the 260 which I thought was quiet enough to use without ear protection. Echo quality control could be a bit better. My unit's throttle cable is slightly mis-adjusted so that the engine dies if you put it on low throttle. I guess you have to but one of the Japanese brands to avoid that sort of thing. Not a big deal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Backpack Blower
from Seacoast New Hampshire

Does the job

PostedNovember 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used it for about 20 hours, so I can't speak for long-term reliability. The warranty is surprisingly good though, so I am not all that worried.
Starts easy, wears comfortably, blows like crazy. Makes a time consuming task quite a bit easier. I have burned through a small pile of hand-help blowers in the past. I really wanted a backpack after borrowing a friends a few years back. The price on this one is not as much as many others, so I sprung for it. I was not disappointed.
If you're on the fence about spending the money, I'd say go for it. The duty-cycle is higher than any other in this price range, and it really works well. Five stars no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Backpack Blower

Buy the best, look the best, and be the best.

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This blower is the best of it's kind. It is fuel efficient, quiet, and most of all powerful. If you are looking for a nationwide known professional brand name, ECHO is there to fill the need. If the job is big or small, this blower is there to finish the job. Easy to maintain, and easy to start, this blower is heavy duty, easy to operate, and is very lightweight. As the performance, the quality. This blower in particular will last for a long time. This blower was my chioce and I reccomend this blower to my family and friends. This product also is able to be used by kids over the age of twelve. Also, the price is so good at The Home Depot. The PB-413T is the best along with The Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Backpack Blower
from Yardley, PA

Worth every penney

PostedNovember 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd (hopefully last) leaf blower. First was a Poulan, second was and is an attachment to my Toro weed trimmer. I read all the reviews and found they were RIGHT. It has been raining up here in SE PA. The leaves were wet. The grass was completely covered with leaves. After a few minutes of trial and error on the use of the blower I was not leaving any leaves stuck in the grass.
Gas consumption was not bad for the amount of time used. Be sure to use ear protection. The noise is very loud right behind your head.
Follow starting instructions and you will not have any problems. Once it is warmed up, re-started on first pull. Wish I had made this my first purchase 3 years ago, would have saved half the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Backpack Blower
from East Texas in the Piney Woods

blow them away

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh Mama! This is a beautiful blower. I just threw away the Stihl and for very good reasons. I have an acre with so many oak trees it looks like it is raining leaves in the fall. The handheld Stihl worked pretty good but this is lightweight enough for my wife to use, starts easy and blows and blows. Deep piles didn't slow it down. I am thrilled with this machine. I really thought it would be heavy but that is not a factor. Echo has won me over as this is my third product from them (weedeater and edger).
Stihl makes the best chain saws but this is a quality product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Backpack Blower
from Indianapolis, IN

ECHO Backpack Blower

PostedMay 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This backpack blower is perfect for leaves and grass clippings.
It dose have a powerful 44cc dual-ring piston engine witch provides outstanding performance,
And I do think it has an Easy-to-use adjustable tube mounted throttle controls with cruise control that make operation a breeze. I also like the Padded backrest and easy-to-adjust shoulder straps that are comfortable and designed to distribute weight equally. And it is very easy to start and is very user friedly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Backpack Blower
from Richmond, VA

Wish I'd bought this long ago

PostedDecember 31, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a cheap Poulan blower 3 or 4 years ago, which died on me. I decided to go for the gusto and purchased the PB-314H - I wish I'd bought this a long time ago! This unit complements my walk-behind 6HP blower (which is a sword, not a scalpel). This unit is much more powerful than the Poulan and is great for getting into tight spots like flower gardens. It's also great for blowing leaves out of bushes and ivy. I used it yesterday in wet conditions - no problem! It did very well on wet leaves - I can't wait to see what it does on dry ones! It's light on your back, and the wand is so much easier to handle than the handheld blowers. Sure, it's a lot of money, but it is SO worth it. Don't buy a cheap handheld - you'll save time with this unit and have a much cleaner yard! I would have to say that this unit makes blowing leaves FUN!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Backpack Blower
from Rhode Island

PB413T

PostedOctober 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought this backpack blower based on reviews I read here and looking over the various models. This one was at the high end for my home needs but it was a great choice. Like someone else stated, it blows pine needles out of grass and blows wet piled leaves. It has plenty of blower power. Far greater than any of the electric blowers I have used to date. I do not find it heavy nor does the backpack transfer a lot of vibration. I have the H model where the throttle is on a handle on the left side. I love it. Once I start the blower, which is very easy, I set the throttle and only touch it again to idle or shut down. It comes in easy to assemble parts and started very easy, right out of the box.
This is a great blower and I already love it. Echo makes a very good machine. I also have their gas trimmer.
The only problem is that I'm having so much fun that I make work just to use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Backpack Blower
from Munroe Falls, Ohio

Great Blower

PostedOctober 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this blower! It starts with ease, has a great run time, is very powerful, and is easy to use! This blower has twice as much power as my old leaf blower. I highly recomend this product. I have quite a few very large trees and it has never not been able to push the leaves, no matter how large the pile is! This was alittle expencive, but highly worth ever single penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Backpack Blower
from Chatttanooga, tn

Balance

PostedJune 6, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Be careful when using blower on steep slopes and be specifically sure things like acorns or nuts are not under your feet this could cause a hard fall.The blower has plenty of wind force. I purchased my blower after hiring a guy who had one like it and paying him $150.00 to do a crappy job of blowing my leaves into the woods behind my house. I will be ready next fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Backpack Blower
from JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA

Excellent Choice

PostedMay 24, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a lawn care business and I use it all day without a hitch. You could even use it to blow leaves into pile. Don't get the PB413 the replacement, they say it's the same but be assured its not. The PB413 has a hip throttle that is hard to find especially if it's hot like Florida, and you are forced to use two hands and not just one as the PB403 ability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Backpack Blower
from Corpus Christi, TX

Blows the comp away!

PostedFebruary 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally decided to get me the top-of-the-line model, Echo. And was blown away by how beautiful this thing works. WOW! Worked so good that I started cleaning the neighbors yards and down the street. Don't waste time on trying to save a few buck. Go out and get yourself the Echo PB-413T! You won't regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Backpack Blower
from Montgomery county / PA

powerful and tough

PostedSeptember 28, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This blower is powerful.My first time useing it was at my friends it will blow sticks twigs and alot of other stuff. So I bought it and it is extremely reliable.I love it so much I start it up almost every day and blow stuff with it.SO I highly recommend this ECHO BLOWER!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Backpack Blower
from Denver, Coloradfo

It's Awesome

PostedJuly 29, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My boss just bought this for heritage square. We use it to blow the golf course and it is sweet. It is even more powerful than the old echo we had. i would recommend this to every body. Plus the gast tank is even bigger than the older model. I love this Leaf Blower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Backpack Blower
from Arnold,MO

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best backback blower out of 3 I have purchased. It is a little on the heavy side but back supports work well on distributing the weight. It has a lot of power and makes quick work of any job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Backpack Blower

Great

PostedMarch 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it as a professional lawn care's blower and it works great for what we use it for. It will get a little bit heavy but youll get used to it. I would reccomend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Backpack Blower
from Pittsburgh, PA

Awsome blower!!!

PostedMay 29, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This backpack blower has amazing power to blow off wet clumps of grass and other debris after a heavy rainfall. Everything about it is nice, just wish it was a bit lighter:)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>