728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder

Weld Pack HD Feed Welder

Take a look around your home workshop and you'll find dozens of reasons to pick up this reliable, well-built Lincoln Electric welder. With four output ranges, the Weld-Pak HD is one of the most versatile machines in its class. We've included virtually everything you'll need to weld mild steel with gasless, fluxcored wire electrode gun and cable assembly, work clamp and cable, welding handshield, chipping hammer/brush, even a spool of our self-shielded flux-cored wire.
Overall rating:
4.634 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
Review 1 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Charles Town, WV, USA

LINCOLN WELD PACK HD

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for portability and convenience instead of having to drag a full size MIG and bottle around and for its 115V power requirement instead of 230V. Breaking it down, this is NOT a welder capable of butter smooth welds like using an actual MIG with an Argon blend. This is a wire feed unit so you should expect considerable spatter - because it uses flux core wire. Does it do the job? YES. It works well outside and in windy conditions. The welding "shield" that comes with it is CHINE5E junk as is the brush / hammer so toss these and get an auto darkening helmet. OVERALL this is a GOOD unit if you need a small welder for small jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little welder

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I've used this to:
- Extend bed rails to make a twin bed into a twin XL
- Fix a drawer in a filing cabinet where a spot weld failed
- Reattach a rod on the foot board of a wrought iron bed frame
The ability to do the latter surprised me. I thought it might be beyond the little machine's capability, as the iron rod was a good 3/8ths or more in diameter, and I was reattaching it to something even bigger than that. But it did the job just fine.
It's great that it uses 110V rather than 220V. My little work shed isn't wired for 220V, so this is a great option.
I'm a DIYer who hasn't welded anything for 30 years, and I was able to use this well enough after reading the manual and practicing a little.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, uses 110v
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Killeen,TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Welder

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought one because i wanted to learn. I needed to weld in new floor pans and my exhaust in my 69 camaro SS. After a couple of practices I jumped right in. Easy to set up and even easier to use. Floor pans and exhaust came out perfect. Note... wear gloves after welding and picking up exhaust. Went on to weld a steel gate for my friends property and weld a steel deer stand for his father. Excellent product!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Southington CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice little welder

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been thinking of buying a welder for 30 years. I have a small acetylene torch and braze stuff on the lawn tractors that need fixing. However a little welder might be easier for most jobs. This is a nice little welder and I have made decent "practice" beads on 1/8" brackets under the bench. It works and it doesn't trip the circuit breaker so I'm a happy camper.
The negatives on my unit are the auto feed unit was a bit finicky at first. It would not feed the wire from the spool. I messed with it, then with no results, I flipped the bottom roller and it works now. Both grooves in the bottem roller appear the same? What ever, it's working now. The other negative is the mask provived is junk, so you will have to purchase a proper welding mask that sits on your head.
Otherwise, yea, the little welder will be a handy tool when a spot weld breaks or cracks appear on my tractors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Highland Village, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Year In Review (Still SUPER)

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was just purchasing some additional supplies and welding wire, and thought I'd give a review on this welder after a 14 months of working with it. I am a long-time welder, but do it only as a hobbyist/handyman around the house.
This is a great purchase for any home/hobbyist based on high-quality and affordable price. I have used it extremely reliably for past 14 months with zero problems whatsoever on projects, including restoration of my classic car, light utility fencing, and tons of house-hold projects, etc.
I have also gotten my teen son learning to weld by showing him how simple it is, beneficial as a skill and rewarding in results, and of course fun to do with this excellent product.
I strongly recommend this for anyone with metal projects (less than 3/16" in thickness, which is essentially most every household and automotive jobs).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder

great product

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased this product to do a little welding on a truck frame and I have to say this product was a success for the money top of the line product homedepot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use and understand

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never welded before, and after reading instructions I was able to weld, I did purchase a complete welding helmet, which i recommend for safety.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder

perfect size

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it.. Got my turbo project done with ease.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder

good machine

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this welder and I am a very proud owner it welds very good for the projects I am working on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Conroe Tx.

WeldPak HD

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The WeldPak HD is a fantastic machine for light welding work. If used correctly it can actually weld up to 1/4" thick material. Spend a little extra time prepping the steel and weld from both sides.The duty cycle is what you need to pay attention to, it's only a light machine , so weld for 2 minutes and let it cool down for a little while , i have built a trolley to pull the unit around the shop, made it out of 1/8" and 1/4" mild steel and the machine worked perfect.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from dallas

better then expected.

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i work in a sign company, we have an argon\co2 welder that is good, but we needed a small one to just do welds around shop, and also sign frames. We got this, my boss thought about getting the $400 one, but HDepot was out of it atm. so we just got this little one and so far we've done most gauges of steel and iron, 1\8 inch steel, carbon steel, awnings, repairs onsite, etc. We have fairly skilled welders in our company but i'm not one of those, and after a few hints and guidance they thought my work was great, and couldn't believe this lil machine could do that. they also tested the welds too to see how strong it was, i.e. clamped it to a table and added around 250+Lbs, on the end, the steel tube bent before the weld broke, and it was on a newbie welders weld. Just go slow, and dont bother with the hand held mask.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Western North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great even after 1 year of heavy usage

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this welder for over a year and it welds good. I even use it to "cut metal" on 11 gauge I put it on high and slow the speed down and it burns through and that's how I use it as a cutter. I haven't had it over heat yet. Speed control can be finicky. Do some practice welds as burning through can happen real quick! Over all this was a great purchase . I paid 199.00 it was the floor model and didn't have the "flimsy helmet" so what. I always try to score the floor models because of the great savings !!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Connecticut
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It takes a little practice to make nice welds. The machine does what it is supposed to. I would recommend getting a self darkening helmet. The included shield is pretty useless as it adds the restriction that you weld with one hand. The one I received had glass that was too large for the opening as well. The weld you make will require that you brush off the slag formed. It won't be shiny like a mig weld. Also, since you have a minimum wire size of .035, the thinnest metal you can weld is 18 gage. I am using it to patch the sheetmetal on a 46 Jeep.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Kentucky

First Welder

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided it was time to learn to weld. So I bought this welder and taught myself to weld. I was surprised how easy it was to learn to weld. While not every weld I did in the beginning was pretty and many still aren't, I was able to pay for the welder on my second project. This welder has been great and has taught me well and I still use it for light projects. Gas welding is nice to have but I find I use the flux wire more than the gas. I'd highly recommend this for light welding jobs. I've welded up to 1/4" mild steel by welding from both sides. The welds have held. This welder is ideal for quick jobs on thin steel. I even managed to do a little aluminum welding with this welder but would recommend purchasing the aluminum feeding gun. I couldn't be happier with this little MIG welder and will never regret getting it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Jacksonville, FL

Great Welder!!

PostedOctober 18, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a home craftsman, this set is a REAL deal! Setup is a snap, and for a first time welder, I had the hang of it within about 20 minutes and maybe 5 feet of welding on some scrap. MIG is the way to go, and gasless is just as good as having the gas, in my opinion.
I have welded 1/8" Mild Steel with it, pretty heavy duty metal- it's welded right into it, no problems. The duty cycle can be annoying, 2 mins of use, 10 off, but that allows me more time to critique my work and setup for the next welds- for around the house, 2 minutes of welding will take care of most of your projects.
The provided brush as good, they give you plenty of flux too, but the "hand shield" is kind of cheap- I bought an actual welding helmet, ($20) glad I did too, sparks do go everywhere- wear a flightsuit or some kind of coveralls too, and some good tough Lincoln gloves, like $9. The hand shield is good for an observer to use to hold up to their face.
All in all, for a do-it-yourselfer, it's a great set and I'm sure it'll last me for years. I look forward to all the projects I can make with it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great welder

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this welder to replace the harbor freight one i had that burnt up. so far it works great. i feel the harbor freight welder got a bit hotter but i think this one will be a better welder over all. the shield that came with it is trash but all shields are. welding helmets are where its at.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Westwood, Ma

HD Wire Feed

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does a great job for a gasless welder. I would highly recommend this for small jobs or hobbies over even a decent quality stick welder. It has spatter, but still cleaner than my stick welder. I have done a number of home projects from hand rails, to hanging pot racks, and they have looked good. The only arguement I have is that it burns a little hot. Definately can't go wrong for the price if for nothing else. Jimmy
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Chandler, Texas live on a lake

weld pack hd

PostedAugust 24, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I find the weld pack to be very good for light duty and short term welding. it's duty cycle is good for tacking and welding short beads as you prepare a project.
the convenience of wire feeding makes a job go so much faster so you can complete your project very easy.
I also find it very good for moving from 1 jobsite to another, it's so easy you wonder how you ever got along without it.
I would recommend it to home do it yourselfers above anyother machine I have used.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from Franklin NC

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little wire welder, it does everything I've tried well. Go ahead and get a good helmet and fix all that stuff.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weld Pack HD Feed Welder
from hernando, FL
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My husband loves it!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is quite possibly the best welder we've ever had.. love it!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no cons.. 5 stars!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>