728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Filters & Cartridges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

These Replacement Filters for GE SmartWater System (2-Pack) work to reduce sand, soil, silt, sediment, dirt, rust and chlorine in your drinking water for improved taste and odor. These filters are compatible with GE household filtration system models GXWH20 and GXWH04. With NSF approved filtration quality and up to a 3-month filtration life per filter, these filters are designed for consistent filtration with low maintenance.
Overall rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product64 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product64 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Review 1 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Albany, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filters the taste of city provided water to taste like well water!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the GE Filer housing for my filters which I get in a two pack at Home Depot. Turning off water supply and using the filter wrench makes quick work of this job. I mark my household calendar when to change the filter and also the "calendar" on my computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, for us lasts longer than pkg. specs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Filter getting more and more narrow

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Every time I get this filter, it is more and more narrow. It is still the right length for the case, but I guess they are trying to manufacture them cheaper. The problem is, this reduces the surface area for filtration to occur exponentially, thereby reducing it's effectiveness and longevity. Maybe that's the point. Regardless, I will be looking for a source that has a broader filter surface, and I don't mind paying for it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Gallifrey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has changed and it no longer works

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For 20 years we used these G type charcoal filter to remove rust and odor from our well water. This product used to be rated to take out 5micron particles and remove odors. Now there is no mention of particle size and it no longer removes odors, only chlorine odor. It seems to be across the board from most manufacturers. Cheap filters that don't work anymore and no suitable solutions available in store.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from blairsville ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

microns?

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
this item does not show the sediment microns size from which it is suppose to remove. it used to post this? how are we suppose to know if this will solve our problems with the sediment?
Pros: na
Cons: na
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as needed

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use three of these filters per month on two ice makers and a drinking water source. The filters are used to remove rust and soluble minerals from our well fed water supply. As this is a commercial facility, we go through wquite a bit more than the average household in water usage, so the one month life of the filters is good.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Collinsville, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Need product now, store was close by..

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have been using these filters for 5 years but recently found a similar product for less money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: found similar for less money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect item

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Filters were easy to install and greatly improved the taste and quality of our water.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from las vegas, nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to install

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install, I have in stalled a lot of these filter systems the are great.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Hopewell Junction, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Purchased in the past and will continue to purchase this product.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Durable quality, long lasting and easy to install.
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Carbon filters for that Sulfer smell/taste

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I live in an area that does not have city water, and my well has very hard water with the sulfer smell/taste. These filters work well to remove it, but don't seem to last as long as previous filters or ones that I can get from other sources. On exam, the filter element doesn't seem as thick as before or other brands, making is necessary to change the filter more often.
I will continue to use these filters only when I can't get better ones for a similar price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Miller Place, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Charcoal water filters

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The filters fit perfectly every time they need to be changed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Dickson City, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap and Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the Carbon replacement filter 2 pack is an easy to install product. removed th email iron from our water.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Kalamazoo, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't fit cartridge

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't fit designed cartridge. Poor label information.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't fit cartridge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from The Villages, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good price for the product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The filter does what the label said it does. Good for 3 months and easy to install
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Sevierville,Tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very reliable product

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just perfect for our needs. We just need particles removed, and it does this great.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from carolina, ri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it says size "g", but it is not

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
picked up both the sediment and carbon and only sediment filter twin packs at the same time. both are labelled as size "G", but the carbon filters are about 1/8th of an inch too short to provide a complete seal...as a result my entire system was flooded with rust particulate and discoloration. luckily i had the sediment filter, flushed the system and replaced the carbon filter with the sediment only filter.
be wary...not an accurate sizing, thus it has poor quality and no value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Good filter

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good inexpensive filter. Price is good, filter works great for removing iron
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Festus, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water Filters

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these filters in two GE external filters bringing water to my Motorhome. The park I frequent has heavy iron in the water and it is very hard. These filters do an excellent job of filtering out the iron. My water is very clean while others frequently complain of "yellow" water.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great and excellent protecting my health.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent performance. Easy to install. Easy to remove and to change.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good whole house filters.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been using this product for quite some time now. I have sulfur water and this product removes deposits and odor for a fair amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, removes odors and deposits from water well.
Cons: price is a little higher but performances are good
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>