728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Filters & Cartridges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

These Replacement Filters for GE SmartWater System (2-Pack) work to reduce sand, soil, silt, sediment, dirt, rust and chlorine in your drinking water for improved taste and odor. These filters are compatible with GE household filtration system models GXWH20 and GXWH04. With NSF approved filtration quality and up to a 3-month filtration life per filter, these filters are designed for consistent filtration with low maintenance.
Overall rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product55 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product55 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Review 1 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Dickson City, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap and Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the Carbon replacement filter 2 pack is an easy to install product. removed th email iron from our water.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Kalamazoo, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't fit cartridge

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't fit designed cartridge. Poor label information.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't fit cartridge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from The Villages, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good price for the product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The filter does what the label said it does. Good for 3 months and easy to install
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Sevierville,Tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very reliable product

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just perfect for our needs. We just need particles removed, and it does this great.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Good filter

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good inexpensive filter. Price is good, filter works great for removing iron
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from carolina, ri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it says size "g", but it is not

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
picked up both the sediment and carbon and only sediment filter twin packs at the same time. both are labelled as size "G", but the carbon filters are about 1/8th of an inch too short to provide a complete seal...as a result my entire system was flooded with rust particulate and discoloration. luckily i had the sediment filter, flushed the system and replaced the carbon filter with the sediment only filter.
be wary...not an accurate sizing, thus it has poor quality and no value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Carbon filters for that Sulfer smell/taste

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I live in an area that does not have city water, and my well has very hard water with the sulfer smell/taste. These filters work well to remove it, but don't seem to last as long as previous filters or ones that I can get from other sources. On exam, the filter element doesn't seem as thick as before or other brands, making is necessary to change the filter more often.
I will continue to use these filters only when I can't get better ones for a similar price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great and excellent protecting my health.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent performance. Easy to install. Easy to remove and to change.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Festus, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water Filters

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these filters in two GE external filters bringing water to my Motorhome. The park I frequent has heavy iron in the water and it is very hard. These filters do an excellent job of filtering out the iron. My water is very clean while others frequently complain of "yellow" water.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Douglasville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install and Use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to install and water tastes great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Highland Beach FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what its suppose to do

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. does what its suppose to do for cleaning the water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Newark, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good enough for a well

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Filter does great minus for rust...I get it all the time will continue using until I find something better for around the same price
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good whole house filters.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been using this product for quite some time now. I have sulfur water and this product removes deposits and odor for a fair amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, removes odors and deposits from water well.
Cons: price is a little higher but performances are good
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Saugus, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works well

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used these filters for years and they have always worked well, even when I have forgotten to replace them in the prescribed intervals.
Pros: Easy to Use, works well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Water smells good after filter installation. Very easy installation and very easy maintenance.
Pros: Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Powder Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Filters

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These filters work great with my under the sink filtering system
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Rosharon Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The use of this product in my water system help my Hot water heater last 20 years.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using these Filters for over 20 years.
I just had to change my Hot water Heater after 20 years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Run of the mill filters, have used better!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Standard pleated filter, works but tends to only last 30 to 40 days vs the 90 days.
Pros: Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not buy again

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These filters killed the water flow in my house. I'll stick to the Dupont carbon filters that came with my filter housing. Considerably better flow. Not even one person could wash their hands or flush a toilet while someone was in the shower. No such problem with the Dupont filter.
Cons: terrible flow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water Filter

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Does what it is supposed to do. Filters particulates out of the water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>