728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Filters & Cartridges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

These Replacement Filters for GE SmartWater System (2-Pack) work to reduce sand, soil, silt, sediment, dirt, rust and chlorine in your drinking water for improved taste and odor. These filters are compatible with GE household filtration system models GXWH20 and GXWH04. With NSF approved filtration quality and up to a 3-month filtration life per filter, these filters are designed for consistent filtration with low maintenance.
Overall rating:
4.247 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product81 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(57)
4
(19)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product81 of 91reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
Review 1 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Gallifrey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has changed and it no longer works

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For 20 years we used these G type charcoal filter to remove rust and odor from our well water. This product used to be rated to take out 5micron particles and remove odors. Now there is no mention of particle size and it no longer removes odors, only chlorine odor. It seems to be across the board from most manufacturers. Cheap filters that don't work anymore and no suitable solutions available in store.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from blairsville ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

microns?

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
this item does not show the sediment microns size from which it is suppose to remove. it used to post this? how are we suppose to know if this will solve our problems with the sediment?
Pros: na
Cons: na
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Salem VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Two pack of replacement carbon filters.

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great price and easy pick up at nearby Home Depot.
Works with GE whole house GXWH20F.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Ann Arbor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Effective water treatment filter.

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This filter is effective for removing swampy aromas from well water but it only lasts about a week ( several hundred gallons of water). It is a less expensive solution than a reverse osmosis system.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not match description

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product description says 15,000 gallon capacity, but label on product says 700 gallon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Albany, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filters the taste of city provided water to taste like well water!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the GE Filer housing for my filters which I get in a two pack at Home Depot. Turning off water supply and using the filter wrench makes quick work of this job. I mark my household calendar when to change the filter and also the "calendar" on my computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, for us lasts longer than pkg. specs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Eliot, Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

eliminates unpleasant odors effectively

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our well water produces an unpleasant odor (hydrogen sulfide/rotten egg smell) and this filter is very effective at eliminating the odor. The filter is effective for a period of 1.5 - 2 months so must be replaced rather frequently. Also, as the filter nears the end of its lifespan it begins to release charcoal particles into the water causing a noticable grayish deposit to collect in the toilet bowl. That becomes a good indicator (along with the return of the odor) that it's time to replace the filter. I purchase these filters by the case as they are reasonably priced and, as I mentioned, they must be changed frequently. It's possible that these filters may last longer under less harsh conditions...I don't know.
Pros: eliminates odor effectively
Cons: short lifespan
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Filter Review Filtered

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Get new 'O' rings if it drips. Makes water yummy in tummy.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: coins? no coins
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Filter getting more and more narrow

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Every time I get this filter, it is more and more narrow. It is still the right length for the case, but I guess they are trying to manufacture them cheaper. The problem is, this reduces the surface area for filtration to occur exponentially, thereby reducing it's effectiveness and longevity. Maybe that's the point. Regardless, I will be looking for a source that has a broader filter surface, and I don't mind paying for it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

DEB5784

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome product; the only water filter I use. Would like to be notified when they due become available again. I understand why they are out of stock now because the word has gotten out!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Carbon filters for that Sulfer smell/taste

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I live in an area that does not have city water, and my well has very hard water with the sulfer smell/taste. These filters work well to remove it, but don't seem to last as long as previous filters or ones that I can get from other sources. On exam, the filter element doesn't seem as thick as before or other brands, making is necessary to change the filter more often.
I will continue to use these filters only when I can't get better ones for a similar price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Been using these for at least 15 years

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I first bought my water softener I would go to Kenetico for replacement filters and they were expensive. I soon learned that Home Depot sold filters that were the correct size and half the price. I have been using them ever since.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack

Very effective

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and the durability of this filter is amazing! I have to change this filter every 2-3 months, and it's so simple too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Oviedo Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product - Great Price

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered product and it was shipped promptly to local store where I picked up package. Smooth transaction!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Microns answer

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have noticed questions regarding the microns. For some reason it does not list in on front of the label. It is on the reverse side of the label and it is not visable until you open the package and turn it over. About 1/4 of the way down...on the BACK of the label... it states that the nominal particle reduction is 5.
Note : The majority of the front label is purple and states it is for GXWH04F & GXWH20S...UPC code 84691 79482...hope this helps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Lompoc, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No title

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The filters were easy to install and they work perfect for my purposes.
Pros: Convenient
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It filters

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great filter and great price. I been buying them for years.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from CVille,IL

Great buy

PostedApril 5, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use the whole house water filter with the 1 micro filtration carbon filter which gets out all the rust,smell and bad taste from the well water. I HIGHLY recommed this product to anyone who wants to ditch expensive bottled water and enjoy a clean shower..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT!

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using these for my well pump at my cottage. These do a very nice job for what they are meant to do. As cheap as they are I replace them more frequently and understand that their life is only as good as the conditions they function under. I replace them at 3 month intervals and find that cycle to be about the best for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon Replace Filter 2-Pack
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good filters, However, If you have iron water they don't last long. With my well water I need to replace the filter about every 2 weeks. However, good flow rate and good filtration when fresh. I spend about $20/month on filters 2-pack is nice, and cheap.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: not reusable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>