728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wrecking & Pry Bars or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tack Puller

Tack Puller

Use the Husky Tack Puller for removing tacks and small nails. The alloy steel blade is heat-treated for strength and durability and plated for resistance against corrosion. Handle designed for strength and durability.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for Tack Puller
Review 1 for Tack Puller
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent !

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I removed carpet from stairs and found many staples that were flush with wood. Some small, others larger. I used a dead-blow hammer to drive this tool under every staple and got them all out, kinda quick. One note; my steps are oak and I ALWAYS drove this tool ALONG the grain, never against. This greatly minimized damage from this tool. I also found some tacks that were set in kinda deep. I really wacked this tool hard to get underneath these. I suppose this was a test of sharpness and strength; this tool passed. Well recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tack Puller
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Remove Staples from Reupholster Project

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two of these were purchased specifically for removing, what appeared to be, thousands of staples in a setee we decided to reupholster. My wife preferred a screwdriver but I think it worked well in removing all the thin staples. Many of the staples were countersunk from the pneumatic stapler the manufacturer used. So, getting under the staple required some pressure but the sharp ends were able to bite into the hardwood and under the staple to remove them with pliers.
NOTE: The ends are sharp and can easily cut a finger as I learned one time when I was not wearing my leather gloves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tack Puller
from Uptown/Carrollton, New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect tool for the job

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great value and price. I bought it and six upholstered chairs in one night while watching Downtown Abbey reruns and transformed my dining room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tack Puller
from Aiken, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am reupholstering a bench and needed to remove over 200 upholstery nails. This handy tool did the trick - I was done in no time!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tack Puller
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best tack puller.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it to get under the roofing shingles and pop the nail up and then use the small wonder bar
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: tang will break off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tack Puller
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great tool.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to pull staples from an upholstered wing chair I was re-doing. I had initially started the job with a cheap-y upholstery tack puller from the fabric store. It was junk. I headed to Home Depot to get a better tool. I came away with this one. The heavy duty construction was just what I needed to finish the job. The staple pulling went so much faster after using this. I only wish I had bought it in the first place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tack Puller
from Weymouth, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tack puller

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
must have for removing finish nails and brads.THIS IS ALSO HANDY TO REMOVE STAPLES
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tack Puller
from Buffalo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD TOOL FOR ITS INTENDED PURPOSE

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found it to be very good for tacks. I was really looking for something for staples, not so good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tack Puller
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tack Puller second hand

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love, love this tack puller. I had two of them I was given at my work site and after I no longer worked there I brought them home only to lose them to one or more of my friend or family members because they liked them too. I was happy to find them at Home Depot, so I purchase two new ones and now hide them from others. They work for more jobs then pulling tacks. They are like pint size pry bars. I again love them. I would recommend a pair in ever house hold.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, perfect tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tack Puller

Good for the price

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems like a most adequate tool. Check the tines before you buy. The one I grabbed first had the two tines misaligned. Fixable , but....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tack Puller
from Warner Robins, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too weak.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this tool based on the "forever" warranty. RIGHT! The tack puller bent within five minutes into the job. If you just want to pull push pins out of a cork board I guess this would be okay for that, but not for real work. Customer service was great, I was refunded the full price without a hassle.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, the metal used for this tool simply is too weak.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tack Puller
from handyman12

Good Tool

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A handy tool that should be in my toolbox a long time ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tack Puller
from North Brookfield, MA

Husky Tac Puller

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The reason I chose the Husky Tac Puller was for the Lifetime Warranty but as I used it I found that it was an Excellent tool. I hang sheetrock so I mostly use mine for pulling the screws that missed the studs when screwing off the sheet but sometimes I need to pull nails and staples out of the studs too. It pulls the screws out no problem so I don't have to take them out by hand which makes my job easier and I can do it faster then by hand. It's a strong tool that will last a while and if you do end up breaking one you can go get another for free with the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tack Puller

Husky Tack Puller - Great item

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this tool. It has so many uses from removing upholstery staples to hard to remove items.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tack Puller
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great tool for pullings tacks and staples

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Exactly as I expected! Husky high quality and flawlessly works for pulling tacks, staples, and picture hangers. Also works well to open stubborn shoe polish cans, especially if the turn key type opener is broken. Husky is my new favorite tool vendor .. great quality, very good price, and lifetime warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tack Puller
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very handy to remove staples

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it for dinning chair upholstery. The handle is comfortable. Puller is in right angle. Like it a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tack Puller
from Bolton, Maple Ridge, MI 49776, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive must have for the tool box

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed it for a project that requiered removal of two dozen small brass nails from an oak door. Worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tack Puller
from North Brookfield, MA

Husky Tac Puller

PostedApril 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose the Husky Tac Puller for the Lifetime Warranty. It also is thin at the head for getting under staples easier but is still strong enough to pull them out without breaking. I also like how long it is so I can reach more off a ladder or even from the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tack Puller

Tack Puller

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quality. Works great on small brads and nails.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.