728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Utility Pumps or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump

1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump

The WAYNE 1/2 HP Submersible Utility Pump can pump up to 2,500 GPH and features corrosion-resistant, reinforced thermoplastic motor housing, volute and impeller. Its oil-filled, thermally protected motor helps prevent overheating while the 1-1/2 in. NPS discharge connects to flexible sump discharge hose for high-volume water removal.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product75 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product75 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Review 21 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
JOSEPHE
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EXTREMELY OVER RATED

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2500 GPH PUMP THAT PUMPS ABOUT 600GPH WITH TWO FOOT HEAD. THANLFULLY I HAD A LOT OF TIME TO EMPTY MY POOL.
Cons: Too Slow
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Nick84

Great

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to pump antifreeze trough my water lines in our cabin. It worked great and installed like a breeze!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Russ
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The pump does not have enough force to use with a common sprayer on a garden hose.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to set up. I bought it to water my flowering plants in my small front yard. It is not good for that purpose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Mike

Plug and Go

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was very easy to set up and use straight out of the box. Pumped a lot faster than I was expecting. Great product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
dmoore

this product was misssing parts

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was not complete, pump arrived in box no
packing. believed previous purchacer removed parts, then
returned
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Dela

Great pump

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ez to work with n does good enough for the type of job I need it for. Definitely better to use bigger hose if u have it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
BossHogg
from Rome, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using to water lawn from the lake. performs good.
helping to keep my lawn green thru the drought. very happy with performance
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
snofox
from MInnetonka
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent pump.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The submersible pump worked great pumping out my pond. It was fast flowing from pond to garden area. Was a time saver and worked well.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Walid
from Castaic, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked great

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used this product twice, but it worked great. I bought it online at Home Depot because the store price was about $50.00 more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Dave
from Keedysville, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice pump at a good price

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would have been helpful to know not only the flow rate, but also the psi at delivery point, which the factory provided before I ordered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
richard

Better than Floxxxx

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to empty my pool and the other brands of the same size would not empty the pool. this one had no problem moving the 8 ft depth
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
andy
from wisconsin

very impressive

PostedJuly 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this pump was every bit of what I expected. It got the job done effectively at a cost that can't be beat. Compared to a Flotec, this has it beat!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
ChrisinPA
from Pennsylvania, USA

Great Purchase!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was an awesome purchase. Easy to set up and use. I use it to drain my inground pool. It works wonderfully and is a very strong pump. We love it!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Koorekh
from Granada Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice pump.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this pump to empty my pool and it worked great. It came with garden hose adapter which was very convenient. Every pool owner must have this.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
hank13
from Saugus Ma 01906

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on sump pumps and found this utility pump to be the best pump for my needs.This pump is made by a very reliable company Wayne
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
RSIMES
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

VERY NICE

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS PUMP IS WHAT I WANTED. PUMPS VERY FAST. I USE IT FOR MY FISH POND OF 1000 GAL. QUIET. I WOULD RECOMENND TO ANY ONE. GREAT PRICE AND DELIVERY FAST.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
12pumpboy
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The pump worked great when used under the house

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pump worked fine when used to remove water under the house. Had no problems with clogging. If the pump slowed, just put in fresh water and pump a few minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
ENLOE

GOOD PUMP FOR THE PRICE

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THIS PUMP DID WHAT I NEEDED IT TO DO. IT PUMPED WHEN IT WAS PLUGGED IN. ISN'T THAT WHAT YOU NEED A PUMP TO DO? END OF STORY.
WOULD I BUY ANOTHER ONE? YES I WOULD.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
MKWOOD
from Bartlett, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect Pump for Small to Medium Jobs

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this pump for work to drain a Wire EDM water tank. Worked like a charm. Didn't clog (tank had sludge in bottom) and pumped water very rapidly. Good Value!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1/2 HP Non-Clogging Vortex, Reinforced Thermoplastic Submersible Utility Pump
Beaty
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good pump for the money but does not pump 2500 gallons an hour. Maybe it does with a 10 foot hose attached but running longer span of hose dramatically reduces flow.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>