728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

The DEWALT XRP 18-Volt Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit delivers variable cutting speed from 0 - 3,000 SPM and has a generous stroke length of 1-1/8 in. to promote fast, efficient work. Its 4-position blade clamp allows for flush cutting without having to bend the blade, and an adjustable shoe pivots with an open top for improved visibility. A powerful 18-volt pack battery is supplied, along with a charger to replenish it in as little as 1 hour. A heavy-duty kit box is also included for conveniently job-site transport and added value.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Review 1 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
2520innatgarden

Easy to use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Battery powered tools is the way to go! Recommend!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Donna
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As with all DeWalt products it does exactly what the manufacturer says it will do, no muss no fuss. Great time-saving product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Throbbicus
from Washington State
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A big box of disappointment

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I needed a sawzall, and deWalt makes quality stuff.
Except for this. This, my friends, is a saw-shaped yellow pile of hate and children's tears.
It *worked* well enough--for all of about five minutes. The first time I used this (to break down some pallets, if you must know), it sawed through all of six 2x3s before the battery died. I was sure I hadn't charged it right (somehow), so I popped it back on the charger and tried again later. Same result. I tried a different battery, used different chargers... to no avail. The thing is just a battery hog. To make things worse, when I used one of the "dead" batteries in my impact driver, the thing went two more days before it needed recharging.
Long story short, if you're buying a cordless reciprocating saw, you're buying it so you don't have to be tethered to an outlet. Unless you've got a dozen batteries on hand, and love charging them, this baby is nothing but a heartless soul-crushing wannabe tool.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: absolutely no battery life worth mentioning, a little heavy, made me cry and buy somebody else's product
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Pro2012
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beast of a tool!!!!!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know how anyone could break this tool. I've been using it for awhile and just this week I used it to cut 1 inch conduit sticking out of the ground and a piece of 1/2 inch rebar(solid steel) and it worked great. People do need to understand that some materials can't be forceed, just let the tool do it's job. You also need to use the proper blade for the material you're cutting.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
wildnurse911

Rugged, lightweight, and easy to use.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Item is rugged, dependable, powerful enough for my home projects, lightweight and easy to use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
bubba
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very strong made for heavy work load

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best tool used by me so far. Battery life short recommend by extra
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: battery life to short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
firechica
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Practical

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit makes purchasing a tool more practical. Only thing I'd change is that I wish it came with two batteries.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: only one battery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
MG101
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Conveinent, quality product

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick smooth cuts. Graet alternative to corded saws when quick cuts are required. Batteries fit many other Dewalt 18V products
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
knabity
from Narka, KS 66960, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy with this purchase

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this reciprocating saw for my husband for Christmas, he LOVES it. He has used it many times for quite a few different things. It seems to be good quality and the battery has not went dead yet. I would recommend this saw to anyone!
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
IPLew

Very Good Saw

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, cuts better then expected. Just what I need to do jobs where there is no electricity or where a cord would get in the way.
Pros: Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
heyheyitsArty
from Laurence Harbor, NJ

Cordless is worth it

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all I bought the drill in 18V. that works great has 2 Battery's, It's best to have more than 1 battery and they are interchangable.
Down side of tool, it only has 1 battery.
Had a Job to cut Pallot racks uprights for disposal.
Heavy iron racks the tool worked great did use 3 battery's the racks were 4' X 15' tall had to cut down to 36" long peices to fit in car.
cashed in iron got $37.00
tool is great for people who do side jobs & Home owners
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Popeye
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exelent

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husbands loves this saw. He has been using one for years and now it has more features than the last. He likes how you can switch the blade to cut in different directions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Neck

Love it!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Another great product by dewalt! A must for every portable tool arsenal!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
J
from Fort Worth, TX

The Real Mans Tool!!

PostedJune 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a general contractor and really needed a good all purpose saw with me to get things done when I didn't have time to get a sub there. This little work horse did the trick with ease and with so much power. On several occasions my framers and trim carpenters have asked to borrow it when they are in a tight spot. I have recently purchased a pruning blade and use it to take care of some tree trimming. Well worth the price...By far my favorite tool in the bag!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
THECCLLCcom
from Colorado

great

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My partner has the Ryobi and likes this one a lot better, there is no "child proof get in the way of trying to work" safty lock, the trigger is more sensitive to touch and better and the feel of the saw and the rubber grip is more comfortble...over all A++ If your doing a large demo. though or similar job, make sure you have two or three batteries if this will be your primary tool. Otherwise here and there this will last all day with just one!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Icandoitmyself
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely wonderful.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know how I lived without one for so long. It really works good and makes things easy without the cord being in the way.
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
OrbisRH

Better than expected

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Battery life is awesome. DeWalt is quality defined.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
TakSeng
from Naperville, IL

Surprising

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first reciprocating saw that I've ever owned so sadly, I don't have another to compare it to. However, I really like it. The battery charged quite fast and the blades (NOT included) are very easy to change out. We blew through nails when replacing our front door and even used it to cut through metal brackets to take down an antenna and satellite dishes on the roof from the previous owners. This thing didn't hesitate and blew through them.
I did attempt to use it for a small job that a hacksaw is typically used for and it didn't do so well (which is not surprising). The blade bounces around a lot so be sure you have a solid hold when approaching your jobs. An extra note, I'm a 6' 200 lbs guy with decent strength. So holding the saw with a single hand for a minute to cut through a piece of metal was manageable. Probably not the safest thing but the job required it. Meaning, this is probably light enough for the average guy or a stronger woman to manage well.
Comes with a single battery. Don't know how long the charge will last but the power seems consistent and strong as I've used it. I'd highly recommend it. If you're gonna do a bunch of work I might suggest the corded or have a backup battery. Charging takes about 3 hours or so.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
N9723
from Little Rock, AR

GREAT!

PostedAugust 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This saw is great! The blade is easy to switch and it cuts level.
Buy it now!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
crazyjerry1
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I took to long to get one. no more cords.

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchase my combo kit' over ten years ago and they are working fine. All tools cordless tools are dewalt and with this saw, all my ext. Cords are going to be use for Christmas lights or the yard sale. Hreat tool. I love it.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>