728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

The DEWALT XRP 18-Volt Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit delivers variable cutting speed from 0 - 3,000 SPM and has a generous stroke length of 1-1/8 in. to promote fast, efficient work. Its 4-position blade clamp allows for flush cutting without having to bend the blade, and an adjustable shoe pivots with an open top for improved visibility. A powerful 18-volt pack battery is supplied, along with a charger to replenish it in as little as 1 hour. A heavy-duty kit box is also included for conveniently job-site transport and added value.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product33 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Review 1 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Bronx New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

18-Volt VRP NI-CAD cordless reciprocating saw kit

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This cordless reciprocating saw is ok for every day use in home remodeling. Comes in a hard plastic carrying case with one battery and a charger, would have been much better with two battery. Most of my cordless tools are Dewalt I have extra battery.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Palmdale, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Forever a DeWalt customer

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was time to replace my old one. This one is just as good hope it lasts as long. Great for cutting just about anything.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dewalt Sawzall Experience

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
How could it get any better than to just take it out of the case, install a charged battery, and do your sawing, with ease and comfort.
The proof of all pudding is in the eating; or in the using as a sawzall goes.
God bless,
Aaron York, Sr.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Platte City, MO 64079, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool and versatile

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is very handy. I had to buy blades and wish they had been recommended with the initial purchase. I am pleased with the prduct.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As with all DeWalt products it does exactly what the manufacturer says it will do, no muss no fuss. Great time-saving product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beast of a tool!!!!!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know how anyone could break this tool. I've been using it for awhile and just this week I used it to cut 1 inch conduit sticking out of the ground and a piece of 1/2 inch rebar(solid steel) and it worked great. People do need to understand that some materials can't be forceed, just let the tool do it's job. You also need to use the proper blade for the material you're cutting.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Washington State
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A big box of disappointment

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I needed a sawzall, and deWalt makes quality stuff.
Except for this. This, my friends, is a saw-shaped yellow pile of hate and children's tears.
It *worked* well enough--for all of about five minutes. The first time I used this (to break down some pallets, if you must know), it sawed through all of six 2x3s before the battery died. I was sure I hadn't charged it right (somehow), so I popped it back on the charger and tried again later. Same result. I tried a different battery, used different chargers... to no avail. The thing is just a battery hog. To make things worse, when I used one of the "dead" batteries in my impact driver, the thing went two more days before it needed recharging.
Long story short, if you're buying a cordless reciprocating saw, you're buying it so you don't have to be tethered to an outlet. Unless you've got a dozen batteries on hand, and love charging them, this baby is nothing but a heartless soul-crushing wannabe tool.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: absolutely no battery life worth mentioning, a little heavy, made me cry and buy somebody else's product
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not working properly

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gets stuck a lot just is a underperformed and I think the quality is bad
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

Rugged, lightweight, and easy to use.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Item is rugged, dependable, powerful enough for my home projects, lightweight and easy to use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very strong made for heavy work load

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best tool used by me so far. Battery life short recommend by extra
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: battery life to short
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Practical

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit makes purchasing a tool more practical. Only thing I'd change is that I wish it came with two batteries.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: only one battery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Laurence Harbor, NJ

Cordless is worth it

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all I bought the drill in 18V. that works great has 2 Battery's, It's best to have more than 1 battery and they are interchangable.
Down side of tool, it only has 1 battery.
Had a Job to cut Pallot racks uprights for disposal.
Heavy iron racks the tool worked great did use 3 battery's the racks were 4' X 15' tall had to cut down to 36" long peices to fit in car.
cashed in iron got $37.00
tool is great for people who do side jobs & Home owners
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Oklahoma City, OK

Are you sure this is cordless!?

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned one of these for about two years. It came with two batteries (one was due to a sale) and a charger, which I definitely needed.
I've used this to cut through metal couch frames, to cut up 2 foot diameter tree trunks, to trim trees and bushes, cut cabinets for new sinks, cut several kinds of pipe, you name it. It only gives up when the battery runs out or the blade gets dull.
One thing: My blade lock got clogged with sheet rock dust. It wasn't a problem to fix with a bit of oil, just something that the saw is vulnerable to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

Easy to use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Battery powered tools is the way to go! Recommend!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Narka, KS 66960, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy with this purchase

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this reciprocating saw for my husband for Christmas, he LOVES it. He has used it many times for quite a few different things. It seems to be good quality and the battery has not went dead yet. I would recommend this saw to anyone!
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Conveinent, quality product

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick smooth cuts. Graet alternative to corded saws when quick cuts are required. Batteries fit many other Dewalt 18V products
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Naperville, IL

Surprising

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first reciprocating saw that I've ever owned so sadly, I don't have another to compare it to. However, I really like it. The battery charged quite fast and the blades (NOT included) are very easy to change out. We blew through nails when replacing our front door and even used it to cut through metal brackets to take down an antenna and satellite dishes on the roof from the previous owners. This thing didn't hesitate and blew through them.
I did attempt to use it for a small job that a hacksaw is typically used for and it didn't do so well (which is not surprising). The blade bounces around a lot so be sure you have a solid hold when approaching your jobs. An extra note, I'm a 6' 200 lbs guy with decent strength. So holding the saw with a single hand for a minute to cut through a piece of metal was manageable. Probably not the safest thing but the job required it. Meaning, this is probably light enough for the average guy or a stronger woman to manage well.
Comes with a single battery. Don't know how long the charge will last but the power seems consistent and strong as I've used it. I'd highly recommend it. If you're gonna do a bunch of work I might suggest the corded or have a backup battery. Charging takes about 3 hours or so.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit

Very Good Saw

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, cuts better then expected. Just what I need to do jobs where there is no electricity or where a cord would get in the way.
Pros: Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Fort Worth, TX

The Real Mans Tool!!

PostedJune 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a general contractor and really needed a good all purpose saw with me to get things done when I didn't have time to get a sub there. This little work horse did the trick with ease and with so much power. On several occasions my framers and trim carpenters have asked to borrow it when they are in a tight spot. I have recently purchased a pruning blade and use it to take care of some tree trimming. Well worth the price...By far my favorite tool in the bag!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt XRP Ni-Cad Cordless Reciprocating Saw Kit
from Colorado

great

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My partner has the Ryobi and likes this one a lot better, there is no "child proof get in the way of trying to work" safty lock, the trigger is more sensitive to touch and better and the feel of the saw and the rubber grip is more comfortble...over all A++ If your doing a large demo. though or similar job, make sure you have two or three batteries if this will be your primary tool. Otherwise here and there this will last all day with just one!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>