728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit

Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit

Featuring a durable, water-based formula that dries to a beautiful finish, the Rust-Oleum 1-Gallon Semigloss 2-Part Epoxy Garage-Floor Coating Kit is designed to shield your concrete garage floor from hot-tire pickup, gasoline, antifreeze, motor oil and salt. The coating offers great adhesion and covers a 1-car garage.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
Review 1 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
Ryan123
from Maricopa, Az.

PostedAugust 18, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Pretty easy to apply. The trick is to get the concrete as clean as possible for the epoxy to stick well. I have heard that the floor can become slippery when wet after applying the epoxy, so I added ½ bag of the Behr Non-Skid Additive for each gal of epoxy. It worked very well without having too much of a sandpaper feel. The overall coverage of the epoxy was just as the box said, one Gal per car garage.
Hint: for even coverage of the paint chips, don’t sprinkle, just through a handful against the ceiling and it will disperse nicely.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
TNDiane
from Nashville, TN

Rust-Oleum garage floor coating

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on my garage floor after another brand failed to stay stuck - hot tires pulled it right up.
I removed the old paint and then prepped the surface as directed. Even with all of the "this probably won't work after all that has been on this floor".......this product has been incredible. Sticks like glue - hot tires, oil spills, abrasion - no problems. After years - still looks great.
Highly recommend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
redb1962
from Charleston, SC

Epoxy sheild used on my garage floors

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Great durability. Put on my floors about a year ago. Holding up very well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
FSUdan21
from Kansas City

Used twice before and will use a 3rd time

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this Epoxy twice before. The first time on a 7-year old house and the second on a new house. The first time I cleaned the floor with the recommended mixture of acid/water. One oil spot did not come up easily, so I used a pressure washer. while the washer did get the oil up, it also pitted the concrete.
The second time was a new house, so I didn't have to clean up anything.
First- you must add sand or the paint chips: the epoxy alone will make the floor very slippery and everyone in my family has fallen hard when I didn't do this on the first house.
Second- I'm not sure what other people used, but buy a good (expensive) roller for this. I bought a cheap one at first and had it come apart half way through, and put little fuzzies on my floor. I'm sure they are still there today.
Other than that, take your time and enjoy the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
FisherD
from Chicago, IL

Waste of Time, Money and Effort

PostedMay 16, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Without going into too much detail, I found this product to perform completely inadequately and would not recommend anyone to use this product.
We have a 2 car garage and the square footage should have been easily covered with 2 kits. I purchased 2 kits, watched the video and read the instructions carefully. I knew prep was a key to successful results, so I followed all directions to the "T".
The first kit seemed to go on fairly well. The 2nd kit had a totally different viscosity and began hardening beyond the point of being able to work with it - in less than 30 minutes after the mixing of the epoxy and hardener was complete. I had to throw away most of this kit, and quickly return to the store to get a 3rd kit to complete the job. The 3rd kit's viscosity was somewhere in between the 1st and 2nd kit I used.
Finally got the paint down and covered with flakes. It looked pretty good. After waiting the prescribed period for curing, the floor was still so tacky that light foot traffic would bring the paint back up. We had perfect dry weather conditions, 80 - 85 degree temps and low humidity, but the product just simply would not cure. We waited 10 days before trying to drive on it and had fans running 24 hrs per day, and it was still so tacky that the paint adhered to the car tires.
The floor has been painted now for about 9 mos., and we continually are losing more paint.
It seems like a good value product when you see the kit, but it is nothing more than a mess when it does not work, at all, as advertised. Again I would not recommend it to anyone.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
Missedastep
from Pasadena, MD

Very Satisfied

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to cover the concrete floor in my basement bedroom. I found that the gray color was more versatile in matching up paint samples for the walls. The room is about 12' x 17' and there was more than enough coating to do the job. The process was extremely simple, covering 4' x 4' areas at a time and sprinkling the included "flecks" on the wet coating before moving to another area. It took less than an 1 1/2 hours to do the whole job. It honestly looks beautiful and I've already received many compliments on it. I was worried that the flecks would appear uneven or too busy, but that's not the case at all! I'd recommend this product to anyone as it is quick, simple, and looks fabulous. It also does a great job at hiding unsightly imperfections in the floor's surface.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
Jeep4Wrk
from Redding, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used on a new, one-car garage. I measured and had 245 square feet of floor, and it was a very smooth finish. The Rust-Oleum kit said it could cover up to 250 sq feet. When I finished, I don't think I could have done more than exactly 250, so their estimate was very precise.
The biggest job is getting the floor clean, using the etching (included), then KEEPING it clean!
I did the cut-in myself, then quickly rolled in the 4x4 patches the instructions recommended. Could have used a helper to keep the best wet edge, but it wasn't bad. The mix was getting pretty thick by the time I finished, and, according to the instruction's chart, I should have had up to 45 minutes more time left. Glad I didn't have to try that.
I had plenty of the paint chips--was worried about running out--and a good tip by someone else is to throw them up in the air and let them scatter. Do that as soon as you finish a 4x4 area.
The paint doesn't have to go on thick, so you can roll it out. Covers very well (I used Gray over gray concrete).
Would definitely use again. For the price, I couldn't do anything else that would compare. And my friends are impressed, and that's what it's all about, isn't it??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
Psipassat
from Crystal Lake, IL

Wow!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product, I have had it on my floor for 5 years and it is still holding strong. I did however not purchase enough, so I had to buy one more. It is umbeleivable that it matched even with the other three. Thanks for selling a great product that is easy to apply!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
doinitwell

know big deal product

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
applying was easy took me an hour and a half to cover 360 sf let dry 24 hrs than applyed show room clear coat (did 2 coats for a good shine). like anything involved in construction prep is key.love my new floor enough that i dont want to walk on it! ha ha!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
whitehall
from pittsburgh

paint

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we painted the floor this weekend and used sprinkles. it looks great, but we've not dirven on it. my only recommendation is to put down 2 coats. one looks bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Two Part Gray Semi-Gloss Epoxy Garage Floor Coating Kit
yorkiemom
from Meridian,ID

I would recommend

PostedApril 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did this to my garage 7 years ago, and it still looks just as great as it did when I applied.
Very easy too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.