728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Augers & Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

The Earthquake 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead features a Viper 2-cycle 43 cc, 2 HP engine for powerful, efficient performance. This effective earth auger features 1.6 ft.-lb. of engine torque (45.5 ft.-lb. output shaft torque) for post hole digging and anti-vibration foam grip handles that reduce fatigue. The earth auger powerhead works with Earthquake augers from 2 - 10 in. in diameter for versatility.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
Review 1 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Athens, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my needs!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm building 120' of privacy board fencing and two decks using 4"x4" PT posts...that's over 40 holes 6"x30". I decided to go with a one man auger, rather than renting a larger two person machine and a helper, so I could work at my own pace. This auger is working out perfectly. It is fully assembled, starts easily, and performs well. I'm well into the project and have NO complaints.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

GREAT customer service

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's not common these days to call the manufacturer of your product and get good customer service, so I wanted to take the time to write this review in thanks.
My auger was leaning on a tree while not in use, slid off, fell, and the fuel-filter nipple broke off. In dire-straights, I called the customer service line and to my surprise was speaking with a very nice native-english speaking guy. Within two minutes he identified the part I need and had it in shipment to me. No horrid phone-tree, no calls to India, no $50 parts, just great customer service. It's still out there, people.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Jacksonville, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product. Easy to set up and use.

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The power head was easy to set on the auger and started quickly. I bought the 8 inch auger, but probably could have gone with a smaller one. The hole made by the 8 inch auger is huge. Only difficulties I had were rocks and clearing the dirt from the hole. I had to clear rocks with a pike and the dirt at the bottom with a manual post hole digger. The power head has a lot of torque and speed for the auger, but when it hits a rock (4 inch or larger), it stops turning. Had to back out, pull the rock and then start again. Definitely better than digging manually, though.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Built a fence around my back yard 500 feet of fencing, 70 post holes. The auger started up every time with ease and dug the holes no problem.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Hot Springs Village, AR

Great multi-purpose yard tool

PostedSeptember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a forested area and my "soil" is mostly roots and rocks. I cannot get a pick, much less a shovel, into the ground.
I got this auger head and a 2" auger bit with the idea of using it for breaking up the ground down a couple of feet for making flower beds, for small jobs like putting in bird feeder poles, and for making holes for tree fertilizer spikes.
It has done all these things quickly and easily and I could not do them AT ALL before.
I would have paid a landscaper a lot more than the cost of this auger to do this work.
My brother-in-law who owns a fencing company gave me a saftey tip -- brace the handle against your left thigh so that if you hit a root or something, it will not whip around and break your arm!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from King George VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, easy to start

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first one-man auger and it performed very well. There was a slight problem when I hit hardpan and the auger controlled me. I expected that and releasing the throttle stopped the auger on a dime.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Ct
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

outstanding performance for one

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased the auger to assist me in building a 200'
fence consisting of 25 two foot deep holes. Using the 8" bit it took me less than 4 hour to dig all holes in the moderately rocky soil. Auger easily started right out of box and every time after. The powerful (but not too powerful for one) engine ran very smoothly and at a consistently easy pace. It also only used a 1/2 gallon of gas (and oil mixture that they include) after stopping and starting for for all 24 holes- that's 48"! NOTE: only thing I advise, being a not so big guy, is to be aware that at time, like when hitting any medium and larger rock, you will be jerked suddenly and may have to wrestle with the machine while exerting much effort.
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Kaufman, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money on this

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have replaced primer bulbs, pull rope assemblies. Now the seal arround the gas line has turned to mush. Won't stay started.
I am a handyman who takes good care of my equipment, all garaged. I have lots of gas driven equipment that has preformed year after year, when needed.
But not this thing.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

Auger in clay soil with some rocks

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The auger worked well in soil without any rocks (small or large) but if you hit a tree root release the throttle or it will give you an fairly strong unexpected shove... We noticed it works far better with one person as it is allowed to move around a bit more. Take your time and don't shove it down hard. What others have said about pulling it up to get the dirt out of the hole is true...do it or you will be slowed down a great deal.
I also agree with others about using this unit in rocky soil, get a larger unit period, don't waste your time. If you are in rocky or heavy clay soil you will spend a lot of time with a shovel.
The reason I gave it four stars is it starts easily, usually gets through the first foot of soil (as others have stated) fairly well and is easy to setup with good instructions.. It does struggle after the first foot of soil! Again, I should have opted for the larger unit. I will be selling this one and going to the larger unit!
This is a good item if you have regular soil without rocks and heavy clay. I tried it in an area without the stated obstacles and it worked well. I would also spend the extra money and get an extension so you don't have to bend down so far when digging holes over a foot deep. We sank our 8 inch fence posts 2 feet down and really had to work for the last foot. Hope this helps with your decision! Anyone for a slightly used Auger?
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Can't beat it for the price!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to dig some 2" holes and 6" holes for metal posts. After pounding in 3' metal sleeves with a sledge hammer for two days I decided that there had to be a better way and most rental houses for post-hole diggers don't carry a 2" auger. So looking on-line I came across this unit.
It works well, runs great and is easily handled by one person. It certainly made the rest of the job go much easier and does a good job. Can't beat it for the price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Stockton, CA

43cc One Man Earth Auger

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started right up. Great tool. Used 6inch bit for 3 foot hole is less than a minute.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

Junk!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The earthquake auger powered by the Viper engine is absolute garbage. I bought this auger less than two years ago and have only used a few times and it will not start. I have rebuilt the carb and replaced the fuel lines. This engine must be made in china. I have an Echo weedeater that is ten years old and starts every year with no problem and I've never tuned it up. I would stay away from this auger and if you plan on using this for the long haul buck up and get a Stihl. If you want to waste your money then buy this piece of JUNK!!!!!!!!!!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

one man auger

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this one great and hard working tool I received this auger put premix in the tank ( I used 40 to 1 ) instead of the recommended ( 50 to 1 premix ) in the interest of engine longevity I love this auger I'm boring post holes in rocky desert dirt works great ! don't miss understand its still a lot of work holding on to this auger but a real time saver Jeff
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

Great

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product is great and easy to use. I recomend this auger
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from landisville nj

don't waste your money

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
lack's power i have 6 inch auger bit 36 inches long after 12to14 inches in depth loses power was a huge disapointment
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Birdseye, IN

nice little helper

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The earth auger is a very handy tool to have around. Used it to build a fence. Drilled 11 holes in a 20 minutes time. Very handy to have around!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

Earth Auger powerhead

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pull start cord is cheap and breaks easily, and the motor won't start after it gets warmed up.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Worcester

Lame so far ( Not sure yet)

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have owned one of these before for years and has worked great thats why I bought the same kind again.
I was immediatly disappointed in the lack of power of the new one. The manual says full power does not show untill after a 2 hour break in period. .All I can say is it better get more power . The other one man earthquake I had, you really had to hold onto it or it would hurt you. The new one gets stuck on a little rock and just stops spinning.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead
from Phelan, CA

Earthquake Auger

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this auger years ago. It has work great for me. I have dug 100's of hole with it. I have replaced the actual auger itself as the other one wore out. At first I was skeptical about this small machine working; but when I got it home and started digging.... well.... I highly recommend this tool. Mine has suffered years of abuse; being left outside in the rain, snow, heat, etc. It is better than a timex watch. This machine keeps running and running.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead

GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for over a month. IN that time it has dug over 60 post holes without a hitch. Starts right up and digs well. It has trouble with large roots but that is it.
Lightweight and easy to use.
The people who complain it is underpowered probably need a 2 man auger anyway. I am using the 6"bit, I can see where it would struggle with an 8" or bigger.
Great value for the money
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>