728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.307 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product96 of 111reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product96 of 111reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
John
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Less water waste

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this under a pedestal sink so there is no cabinet to absorb the noise but the pump is still reasonably quiet (less than a quiet bathroom fan).
I added a receptacle into the lighting circuit so the fan only runs when the light is on. Once you turn the light switch on it takes about a minute for hot water to reach the pump (which is about how long you'd need to run the faucet to get hot water without the pump).
Easy to install but be sure to order two faucet supply lines when you're ordering the pump. Your existing supply lines from the shutoff valves to the sink will get connected from the valves to the pump, then you'll need two more 3/8 X 1/2 lines to connect the pump to the faucet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Brandan
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this product works as it is described.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the pump under our kitchen sink, as this is the furthest water faucet from our water heater. I set the timer to operate between 6 AM and 10 PM, and during those times, we have warm or hot water available within seconds. Way better than before...which could take up to 90 seconds to flush cold water from the pipes.
There are some noises (gurgling and squeaking) as the pump starts and starts, like shutting off a ball valve, and only minor noise when the pump is circulating. With the cabinets closed, the noise is tolerable.
Overall, a good purchase and when compared to other, more elaborate pumps, very cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
averagebill
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Skiman
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump - worth the price perfect solution for me.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The main reason I bought this pump as to prevent frozen pipes during the winter. Live in a 1970's home (CO) and kitchen pipe freeze when temps get to zero and below. for the past several nights the temps have been around zero +/- and last 2 nights below -10. In the morning the pipes were not frozen. SWEET!!
For me the nice plus of having hot water at the sink in a couple of seconds versus a minute is nice as well.
Would do it again, should have done this sooner.
Been running this for a couple of months now in the timer mode from 11p to 6a. you can not even hear this pump run
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Kelly
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurray! Hot Water without the waste! Easy to install and use!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plumber recommended this to me because it would take me 90-120 seconds to get lukewarm water to my master bath. I was able to install it without his help! (Except I had to hire an electrician to put a socket under the sink. Easy!)
Installation was simple. Just purchase and screw on some pressure fitting sink connectors, plug it in and set the timer.
It's SO WONDERFUL to have hot water when we turn on the tap. I am positive our water/sewer bill will decrease.
One side effect is that that cold water is often lukewarm - which is fine with me for brushing teeth. (My 5 year old doesn't like it and complains about the "new pump." Now he has to wait for cold water on occasion.)
The pump makes a slight hum when it switches on which I can only hear when I am in the bathroom in a quiet house.
It's pretty quiet when installed right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: cold water can be lukewarm after pump runs
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
BobTheLobster
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
warmh2o
from Georgia, USA

I've had several of these over the years and they work well and last for years - never a problem.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only flaw, and it is a small one, is that you do get warm water at first for a few seconds on the cold side of the sink that you install the pump on. Very clever system controls - I just leave it on temperature control 24 x 7.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
jimibob115
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Autocirc Hot Water Recirculation pump.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest installs I have ever done. Shipping was right on time. It arrived on the day they said it would arrive.The pump and connections were a no-brainer. Getting the fight flexible supply tubes made the install very easy. The pump went in with out a hitch. Getting a power circuit under the far bathroom vanity was much more involved than installing the Autocirc pump. Installation directions were very easy to understand. Just make sure you get the right fittings for both the pump and for the existing supply lines currently installed and the install will be a breeze.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, it's going to save a lot of water
Cons: no cons at all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
profdoc
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Works as advertised.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even though the undersink area in the kitchen was very tight with a disposal and hot water heater, the installation still took only 30 minutes with no special tools. The pump has been operating now long enough for me to feel it is doing its job. It cut the time to hot water at the kitchen sink from 90 seconds to 20 seconds.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
b35m
from Norh East Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The purpose and operation is un equalled

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use the pump to circulate hot water to a bathroom 50 feet, ~ 20 seconds from the hot water tank. With this pump warm water is usable in ~ 1 second for a great time and water savings. Our first pump lasted ~ 10 years.
Home Depots reputation, price and free delivery were the clinchers.
Pros: Easy to Install, replaced inoperable pump
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Steve
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is fairly easy to install and works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once installed we got warm water instantly. It is not hot but is warm enough to wash hands and start a shower comfortably. Hot water comes faster too. The biggest issue was getting an electrical outlet under the sink for installation. You also have to purchase flexible water connections to install the unit. In my case I purchased four connections. It runs quietly. You have to listen carefully to hear whether it is pumping or not. I installed it in my far bathroom. I think I have three water lines and of course it only provides instant warm water to one. I would purchase again.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
RinSBca

This circ pump does what it says it does. It moves water through the hot water pipes until hot water is present.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As stated above it works and saves water. I installed it in my garage, nearer the end of the hot water circuit in my home and put in a hall mounted timer switch. So it only runs when we want hot water. The timer runs for 3 min's and you have instant hot water. You hear a hum when it works.
Pros: Easy to Install, saves water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
gap12
from San Jose, Calif.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Big Bucks for the Bang.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Over all it does what it supposed to do bring instant hot water up to the faucet buy what they don't say is it takes just as long for the cold water to come back in the line as it
did for the hot water to get there without the circulator.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Doug
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

water circulating system great improvement

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instalation was easy and explained well in instructions. It has worked great was waiting aprox.4 minutes for hot water now itis instant. Was told everything would be inclueded for instalation but had to go to store and buy two supply lines. other than that everything was great, have recomended to my neighbor.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Beta6102
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. Keeps hot water immediately available at our kitchen sink--furthest from the water heater--as well as all the sinks in between. Installation was straightforward.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Frillydog
from Brick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wish I had installed this earlier!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product! Practically instant hot water at all faucets! Used to wait up to 2 minutes; what a waste of water! Installed quickly; hardest part was putting in an electrical outlet under the sink (good thing my sister married a licensed electrician!) You can hear it come on and off but the noise is soft and not annoying. Definitely would recommend!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Tommy
from Arroyo Grande, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful water & time saving device

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had a Laing Autocirc working 24/7 in our last house for the past seven years without any problems and I just installed one in our new location. Not having to wait for hot water or just wash your hands in cold water is a real luxury. And not wasting 4 - 5 gallons of water waiting for hot water is also a plus. The only concern I have is remembering to turn it off when we leave for extended periods and turn the water to the house off.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
clayhead
from michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had one for 13 years this one works just as well

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product, works great just like it is advertised
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Ronm
from Rocklin, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Auto shutoff when temp comes up at pump

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed with a remote controlled outlet which makes operation simple. Did not opt to use timer due to irregular schedule. Pump cycles off automatically when temp rises at pump.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
spam1

Works as expected, took 35 minutes to install

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to use, and program but the plastic cover is a little difficult to get on and off. Drought in Calif this year so saving water is more important than saving electricity or oil. I wonder how much it will run the water heater more than normal.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>