728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.338 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(88)
4
(27)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 133reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Less water waste

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this under a pedestal sink so there is no cabinet to absorb the noise but the pump is still reasonably quiet (less than a quiet bathroom fan).
I added a receptacle into the lighting circuit so the fan only runs when the light is on. Once you turn the light switch on it takes about a minute for hot water to reach the pump (which is about how long you'd need to run the faucet to get hot water without the pump).
Easy to install but be sure to order two faucet supply lines when you're ordering the pump. Your existing supply lines from the shutoff valves to the sink will get connected from the valves to the pump, then you'll need two more 3/8 X 1/2 lines to connect the pump to the faucet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Shrewsbury, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth its weight in gold

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this pump for over 10 years and never had a problem with it. My water inlet from the street is at least 50 feet from my second bath room and shower and I never have to wait for the hot water in the bathroom sink. The shower takes a little bit longer because of the length of the pipes. All of the other sinks in the house have instant hot water. This pump has probably saved me thousands of gallons of water over the years since I installed it. I might add that in my town we have strict water conservation rules.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this product works as it is described.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the pump under our kitchen sink, as this is the furthest water faucet from our water heater. I set the timer to operate between 6 AM and 10 PM, and during those times, we have warm or hot water available within seconds. Way better than before...which could take up to 90 seconds to flush cold water from the pipes.
There are some noises (gurgling and squeaking) as the pump starts and starts, like shutting off a ball valve, and only minor noise when the pump is circulating. With the cabinets closed, the noise is tolerable.
Overall, a good purchase and when compared to other, more elaborate pumps, very cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hot Water When You Need It

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit provides Hot Water when and where you need it. Installation is quite easy and the almost instant hot water can be very convenient. Now, that's about where it ends. If you're looking to be environmentally savvy by saving water, this isn't going to make much of a dent. All that you are buying is CONVENIENCE. That being said, is it worth the investment? Investing in this is like when I purchased the “Remote Start” feature for my car. Does it save me money or wear and tear on the car? No, but I would invest in this feature again? ...in a heartbeat!
Do yourself a favor and Google "Do hot water recirculators save money?". There is a very good, accurate article in tree-hugger that explains in detail using very generous and conservative numbers how to calculate the savings …or non-savings. One article uses a water savings of 2.8 gallons per draw with a ¾”dia. hot water line over a 50 foot distance. In actuality, I have a ½”dia. hot water line and calculate a half gallon savings. In reality, before the recirculator, I run a half gallon to warm water and about ¾ gallon to hot on my 50 foot distance. You’ll have to read it for yourself if you want to consider heat loss and energy use even if pipes are insulated as well as electricity use. If you're looking to save money, there's a negative return on investment (ROI) by installing a recirculator. Because there is no financial payback, the unit never pays for itself.
But remember, what you are buying here is convenience …and at the end of the day, that just might be what you want.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, Convenient
Cons: expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fremont, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
for 1 kitchen and 3 bathrooms located in a 2-story house, i have high expectation for this product. it works well. it pumps hot water in the pipe, and for the whole day i don't have to wait for 1-2 minutes for the hot water to arrive. however for the 1st time use of each day, it still needs the time to pump. i think the timer function should solve this problem, i'll try. note: i only install one unit under my kitchen sink, for all the bathrooms and the kitchen we have instant hot water, which is excellent!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Perris, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy solution

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hot water in our shower used to take around 4 min. to get warm. We called a plumber to see what could be done about it, and he recommended a hot water circulating system. The price he quoted me for the unit and installation was $825. Such a deal! I went online and found this product, and Home Depot had the best price. The unit is very easy to install. I had no problem at all. Anyone could install it. Just make sure you get two extra flexible hoses. We had our handyman put in an outlet under the sink so that the unit could be plugged in. It works great! Now we only have to wait about 30 seconds for hot water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump - worth the price perfect solution for me.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The main reason I bought this pump as to prevent frozen pipes during the winter. Live in a 1970's home (CO) and kitchen pipe freeze when temps get to zero and below. for the past several nights the temps have been around zero +/- and last 2 nights below -10. In the morning the pipes were not frozen. SWEET!!
For me the nice plus of having hot water at the sink in a couple of seconds versus a minute is nice as well.
Would do it again, should have done this sooner.
Been running this for a couple of months now in the timer mode from 11p to 6a. you can not even hear this pump run
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This little pump does as advertised. It's very easy to install with just a couple of supply lines. The hardest part was getting the new 110 volt receptacle installed to plug in the pump. You should consider using the pump timer especially if your plumbing runs in a slab. In my installation, the pump was so good at providing hot water that the cold water side was running warm for several minutes, not seconds, due to the slab acting as a heat sink. I'm sure that this is due to the close proximity of the copper cold and hot lines in the slab with no insulation.
Pros: Easy to Install, easy to program timer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from California
Gender:Male

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works exactly as advertised. System provides instant hot water throughout the periods of the day as selected. Easily installed. No problems. Recommended.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurray! Hot Water without the waste! Easy to install and use!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plumber recommended this to me because it would take me 90-120 seconds to get lukewarm water to my master bath. I was able to install it without his help! (Except I had to hire an electrician to put a socket under the sink. Easy!)
Installation was simple. Just purchase and screw on some pressure fitting sink connectors, plug it in and set the timer.
It's SO WONDERFUL to have hot water when we turn on the tap. I am positive our water/sewer bill will decrease.
One side effect is that that cold water is often lukewarm - which is fine with me for brushing teeth. (My 5 year old doesn't like it and complains about the "new pump." Now he has to wait for cold water on occasion.)
The pump makes a slight hum when it switches on which I can only hear when I am in the bathroom in a quiet house.
It's pretty quiet when installed right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: cold water can be lukewarm after pump runs
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Greer, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time to replace the old one...

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not sure exactly when I installed it, but it was fairly soon after we moved in about 14 years ago so it served us well before it stopped working. They have not changed the configuration of the pump in that time so replacing it will be easy. I was considering replacing it with a tankless or small 120v water heater, but reviews talked me out of it...replacing anodes, elements, short life, etc. The pump worked great and lasted well so I am getting an exact replacement.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect solution to instant hot water

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of these units I have had. From other reviews it seems that these units last consistently for 10-12 years. Mine made it 11. I installed this under a sink in my garage, which also happens to be the end of my hot water run. I set the time for about 2 hours in the morning and 1.5 hours at night. We have hot water instantly in the bathroom sinks and showers. What more could you want?
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: poor instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Mokena, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's the best

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last one great till the timer started making noise so it was time to replace it after 10 years.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is fairly easy to install and works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once installed we got warm water instantly. It is not hot but is warm enough to wash hands and start a shower comfortably. Hot water comes faster too. The biggest issue was getting an electrical outlet under the sink for installation. You also have to purchase flexible water connections to install the unit. In my case I purchased four connections. It runs quietly. You have to listen carefully to hear whether it is pumping or not. I installed it in my far bathroom. I think I have three water lines and of course it only provides instant warm water to one. I would purchase again.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Santa Clara, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what I wanted

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
About the easiest plumbing job ever and it does exactly what I wanted ... to eliminate water waste while waiting for hot water to eventually arrive at the shower. An adjustable temperature controlled valve might be better, but this preset version seems to work just fine.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Autocirc Hot Water Recirculation pump.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest installs I have ever done. Shipping was right on time. It arrived on the day they said it would arrive.The pump and connections were a no-brainer. Getting the fight flexible supply tubes made the install very easy. The pump went in with out a hitch. Getting a power circuit under the far bathroom vanity was much more involved than installing the Autocirc pump. Installation directions were very easy to understand. Just make sure you get the right fittings for both the pump and for the existing supply lines currently installed and the install will be a breeze.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, it's going to save a lot of water
Cons: no cons at all
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Cruces, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Recirculating Pump sames time and money by not wasting water.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Make sure you follow the instructions in the order they are given, most notably when to turn pump on and when to turn water on.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Vista,Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best water saving unit

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are on septic system & solar hot water . So to run excessive water is doubly wasteful. Pump is Quiet and fast. We have it on a switch to start before we need hot water then off after it gets hot. EZ to install the Plumbing . Electrical is the hard part!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>