728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.415 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(164 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product142 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 164 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(110)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product142 of 160reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fernandina, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump does everthing it says it does. Easy installation. Over time I expect to save water and sewer charges. This is such a simple idea. The pump has a 24 hour timer. I set the timer to run all the time and control the receptacle that the pump is plugged into with a timer so I can turn the heater on when I need too. All of these parts came from Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Less water waste

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this under a pedestal sink so there is no cabinet to absorb the noise but the pump is still reasonably quiet (less than a quiet bathroom fan).
I added a receptacle into the lighting circuit so the fan only runs when the light is on. Once you turn the light switch on it takes about a minute for hot water to reach the pump (which is about how long you'd need to run the faucet to get hot water without the pump).
Easy to install but be sure to order two faucet supply lines when you're ordering the pump. Your existing supply lines from the shutoff valves to the sink will get connected from the valves to the pump, then you'll need two more 3/8 X 1/2 lines to connect the pump to the faucet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this product works as it is described.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed the pump under our kitchen sink, as this is the furthest water faucet from our water heater. I set the timer to operate between 6 AM and 10 PM, and during those times, we have warm or hot water available within seconds. Way better than before...which could take up to 90 seconds to flush cold water from the pipes.
There are some noises (gurgling and squeaking) as the pump starts and starts, like shutting off a ball valve, and only minor noise when the pump is circulating. With the cabinets closed, the noise is tolerable.
Overall, a good purchase and when compared to other, more elaborate pumps, very cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
36out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Shrewsbury, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth its weight in gold

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this pump for over 10 years and never had a problem with it. My water inlet from the street is at least 50 feet from my second bath room and shower and I never have to wait for the hot water in the bathroom sink. The shower takes a little bit longer because of the length of the pipes. All of the other sinks in the house have instant hot water. This pump has probably saved me thousands of gallons of water over the years since I installed it. I might add that in my town we have strict water conservation rules.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from raleigh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install - Provides instant 95 degree water - then hot within 10 seconds

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. The unit does not come with water lines so you need to purchase 3/8 to 1/4 compression. You remove the water lines to the sink -then hook them to the pump top. Then attach the new lines to the house water and pump. Easy to install. Plug the pump in and you get 95 degree water. Then when you turn on the faucet- 10 seconds later you get hot water. I insulated the hot water line in the basement. The water lines are PEX so they do not retain heat like copper. So we went from running the hot water for 90 seconds to 10 seconds. The water is 95 degrees on the hot side and cold side since the water is being mixed. In 10 Seconds you can get the cold water to run cold and the hot water also. So we are saving 80 seconds of wasting expensive water. I see no difference in how the water heater runs. I will update once I get my next water / gas bill in 30 days.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Highland Springs, VA 23075
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have bought this product several years ago, could have saved money and a lot of water.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install, not as noisy as expected. So far so good.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hot Water When You Need It

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit provides Hot Water when and where you need it. Installation is quite easy and the almost instant hot water can be very convenient. Now, that's about where it ends. If you're looking to be environmentally savvy by saving water, this isn't going to make much of a dent. All that you are buying is CONVENIENCE. That being said, is it worth the investment? Investing in this is like when I purchased the “Remote Start” feature for my car. Does it save me money or wear and tear on the car? No, but I would invest in this feature again? ...in a heartbeat!
Do yourself a favor and Google "Do hot water recirculators save money?". There is a very good, accurate article in tree-hugger that explains in detail using very generous and conservative numbers how to calculate the savings …or non-savings. One article uses a water savings of 2.8 gallons per draw with a ¾”dia. hot water line over a 50 foot distance. In actuality, I have a ½”dia. hot water line and calculate a half gallon savings. In reality, before the recirculator, I run a half gallon to warm water and about ¾ gallon to hot on my 50 foot distance. You’ll have to read it for yourself if you want to consider heat loss and energy use even if pipes are insulated as well as electricity use. If you're looking to save money, there's a negative return on investment (ROI) by installing a recirculator. Because there is no financial payback, the unit never pays for itself.
But remember, what you are buying here is convenience …and at the end of the day, that just might be what you want.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, Convenient
Cons: expensive
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fremont, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
for 1 kitchen and 3 bathrooms located in a 2-story house, i have high expectation for this product. it works well. it pumps hot water in the pipe, and for the whole day i don't have to wait for 1-2 minutes for the hot water to arrive. however for the 1st time use of each day, it still needs the time to pump. i think the timer function should solve this problem, i'll try. note: i only install one unit under my kitchen sink, for all the bathrooms and the kitchen we have instant hot water, which is excellent!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does everything claimed

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There are many products of this type on the market. This one was priced in the middle of the range. I chose it because it is robust and easy to install. It took me longer to run the power line than to install the pump.
Our master bathroom is the furthest point from the water heater. This unit it is located at the end of the line rather tan at the water heater. This allows us to use it on timer mode so the whole house gets instant hot water or to use it on manual just for the master bath.
My wife was concerned about the noise, she did not realize that the pump was running when she was standing next to the cabinet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

HOT water when I need it!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It does what it says it does which is awesome. Took 15 minutes to install. For our use, the pump needs to run about 10 minutes from start up to have hot water ready to use at the faucet or shower head. So the timer is set up for 15 minutes before we wake up and now hot water is ready moments after the shower is turned on....before I would have to run water for almost 2 minutes before the water was hot. Electricity energy consumption is basically nothing at 14watts for this pump and I have it timed to go off after about an hour so my water heater barely works extra. In fact it works so good I was able to turn down the temp on my hot water heater to its lowest setting so I am probably either using less energy to heat my hot water or breaking even before this started. Awesome idea and LOVE this fix - best buy ever!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, save water from being wasted
Cons: very small minor noise when pump running
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Punta Gorda Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a great purchase.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had three chill peppers that stop working after a very short time and were extremely noisy. I finally decided there had to be something better. It took a while to find this one, and we had to modify how it we use it to suit our needs, but now we could not be happier. It is almost noise free, whereas the Chill pepper could be heard next door. It provides us with warm water when we turn the faucet on, which makes my wife extremely happy. Our bathroom is 100 feet from the hot water heater, so you see what the problem was. This items is great. What is amazing to me, it is sold by Home Depot, but their employees know nothing about it and will even tell you it does not exist. However, it is an amazing product that we modified to fit our situation.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great system for hot water to distant faucet

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Simple and straightforward. We added a wireless outlet control so we can turn the pump on and off from the master bath even though this is mounted under the kitchen sink (the farthest point from the hot water heater. It all works great.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fairfield county Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

prevent freezing pipes

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this pump several times for its intended purpose. I also use this to prevent the pipes from freezing on sinks that are remote to the rest of the house. Works like a charm! I have been using this pump for about 15 years and have not had to replace one yet. Great product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, other uses
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

We now have instant hot water.

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Autosink Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System is an exclent addition and performs as advertised. Very easy to install. Our shower is 65 feet from the electric hot water heater. Supply lines run under the concrete slab and it previously took 2 minutes 8 seconds to get warm water to the shower and another 20 seconds for hot water. We installed the pump under the sink closest to the shower. That sink now has instant warm water and hot in 5 to 10 seconds. Hot water to the shower is now only 15 seconds. For one shower a day during our five month stay in Florida we are saving almost 900 gallons of water. Double that for two showers one hour or more apart.
This is a wonderful product. Local plumber quoted $620 to put a pump on the hot water heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump - worth the price perfect solution for me.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The main reason I bought this pump as to prevent frozen pipes during the winter. Live in a 1970's home (CO) and kitchen pipe freeze when temps get to zero and below. for the past several nights the temps have been around zero +/- and last 2 nights below -10. In the morning the pipes were not frozen. SWEET!!
For me the nice plus of having hot water at the sink in a couple of seconds versus a minute is nice as well.
Would do it again, should have done this sooner.
Been running this for a couple of months now in the timer mode from 11p to 6a. you can not even hear this pump run
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Great Productd

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product solved my hot water problem by keeping fresh water at the sink at all times. The only issue that I had is that the timer is manual so when the power goes out the timer has to be reset.
I solved the timer problem by purchasing a Belkin WeMo WiFi switch so I could use an app on my phone to control the pump - great solution!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

working as designed

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is working as designed so far. I can hear the pump operate, but not excessive. The pump can only be programed for hours of operation not individual days of operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is fairly easy to install and works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Once installed we got warm water instantly. It is not hot but is warm enough to wash hands and start a shower comfortably. Hot water comes faster too. The biggest issue was getting an electrical outlet under the sink for installation. You also have to purchase flexible water connections to install the unit. In my case I purchased four connections. It runs quietly. You have to listen carefully to hear whether it is pumping or not. I installed it in my far bathroom. I think I have three water lines and of course it only provides instant warm water to one. I would purchase again.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>