728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.299 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(80)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Less water waste

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this under a pedestal sink so there is no cabinet to absorb the noise but the pump is still reasonably quiet (less than a quiet bathroom fan).
I added a receptacle into the lighting circuit so the fan only runs when the light is on. Once you turn the light switch on it takes about a minute for hot water to reach the pump (which is about how long you'd need to run the faucet to get hot water without the pump).
Easy to install but be sure to order two faucet supply lines when you're ordering the pump. Your existing supply lines from the shutoff valves to the sink will get connected from the valves to the pump, then you'll need two more 3/8 X 1/2 lines to connect the pump to the faucet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Shrewsbury, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth its weight in gold

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this pump for over 10 years and never had a problem with it. My water inlet from the street is at least 50 feet from my second bath room and shower and I never have to wait for the hot water in the bathroom sink. The shower takes a little bit longer because of the length of the pipes. All of the other sinks in the house have instant hot water. This pump has probably saved me thousands of gallons of water over the years since I installed it. I might add that in my town we have strict water conservation rules.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this product works as it is described.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the pump under our kitchen sink, as this is the furthest water faucet from our water heater. I set the timer to operate between 6 AM and 10 PM, and during those times, we have warm or hot water available within seconds. Way better than before...which could take up to 90 seconds to flush cold water from the pipes.
There are some noises (gurgling and squeaking) as the pump starts and starts, like shutting off a ball valve, and only minor noise when the pump is circulating. With the cabinets closed, the noise is tolerable.
Overall, a good purchase and when compared to other, more elaborate pumps, very cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump - worth the price perfect solution for me.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The main reason I bought this pump as to prevent frozen pipes during the winter. Live in a 1970's home (CO) and kitchen pipe freeze when temps get to zero and below. for the past several nights the temps have been around zero +/- and last 2 nights below -10. In the morning the pipes were not frozen. SWEET!!
For me the nice plus of having hot water at the sink in a couple of seconds versus a minute is nice as well.
Would do it again, should have done this sooner.
Been running this for a couple of months now in the timer mode from 11p to 6a. you can not even hear this pump run
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Mokena, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's the best

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last one great till the timer started making noise so it was time to replace it after 10 years.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Cruces, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Recirculating Pump sames time and money by not wasting water.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Make sure you follow the instructions in the order they are given, most notably when to turn pump on and when to turn water on.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurray! Hot Water without the waste! Easy to install and use!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plumber recommended this to me because it would take me 90-120 seconds to get lukewarm water to my master bath. I was able to install it without his help! (Except I had to hire an electrician to put a socket under the sink. Easy!)
Installation was simple. Just purchase and screw on some pressure fitting sink connectors, plug it in and set the timer.
It's SO WONDERFUL to have hot water when we turn on the tap. I am positive our water/sewer bill will decrease.
One side effect is that that cold water is often lukewarm - which is fine with me for brushing teeth. (My 5 year old doesn't like it and complains about the "new pump." Now he has to wait for cold water on occasion.)
The pump makes a slight hum when it switches on which I can only hear when I am in the bathroom in a quiet house.
It's pretty quiet when installed right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: cold water can be lukewarm after pump runs
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Greer, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time to replace the old one...

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not sure exactly when I installed it, but it was fairly soon after we moved in about 14 years ago so it served us well before it stopped working. They have not changed the configuration of the pump in that time so replacing it will be easy. I was considering replacing it with a tankless or small 120v water heater, but reviews talked me out of it...replacing anodes, elements, short life, etc. The pump worked great and lasted well so I am getting an exact replacement.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect solution to instant hot water

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of these units I have had. From other reviews it seems that these units last consistently for 10-12 years. Mine made it 11. I installed this under a sink in my garage, which also happens to be the end of my hot water run. I set the time for about 2 hours in the morning and 1.5 hours at night. We have hot water instantly in the bathroom sinks and showers. What more could you want?
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: poor instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from LI, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually Works

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does really give you pretty instant hot water. It does take quite a while to get cold water back usually about a minute at full pressure. The timer does tend to loose about 10 minutes every couple of weeks.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: timer could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is fairly easy to install and works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once installed we got warm water instantly. It is not hot but is warm enough to wash hands and start a shower comfortably. Hot water comes faster too. The biggest issue was getting an electrical outlet under the sink for installation. You also have to purchase flexible water connections to install the unit. In my case I purchased four connections. It runs quietly. You have to listen carefully to hear whether it is pumping or not. I installed it in my far bathroom. I think I have three water lines and of course it only provides instant warm water to one. I would purchase again.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Autocirc Hot Water Recirculation pump.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest installs I have ever done. Shipping was right on time. It arrived on the day they said it would arrive.The pump and connections were a no-brainer. Getting the fight flexible supply tubes made the install very easy. The pump went in with out a hitch. Getting a power circuit under the far bathroom vanity was much more involved than installing the Autocirc pump. Installation directions were very easy to understand. Just make sure you get the right fittings for both the pump and for the existing supply lines currently installed and the install will be a breeze.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, it's going to save a lot of water
Cons: no cons at all
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Georgia, USA

I've had several of these over the years and they work well and last for years - never a problem.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only flaw, and it is a small one, is that you do get warm water at first for a few seconds on the cold side of the sink that you install the pump on. Very clever system controls - I just leave it on temperature control 24 x 7.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does work!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works like a charm! Just one issue sometimes it humms when a near by faucet is turned on. It will save lots of water, and you get "instant hot water"! Just make sure you have an electrical outlet under the sink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Laing auto circ

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you plan for it in advance, it is easy to install. I always install them with the timer turner off because if the power goes off (which it does in these parts) you have to remember to reset the timer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Norh East Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The purpose and operation is un equalled

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use the pump to circulate hot water to a bathroom 50 feet, ~ 20 seconds from the hot water tank. With this pump warm water is usable in ~ 1 second for a great time and water savings. Our first pump lasted ~ 10 years.
Home Depots reputation, price and free delivery were the clinchers.
Pros: Easy to Install, replaced inoperable pump
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

This circ pump does what it says it does. It moves water through the hot water pipes until hot water is present.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As stated above it works and saves water. I installed it in my garage, nearer the end of the hot water circuit in my home and put in a hall mounted timer switch. So it only runs when we want hot water. The timer runs for 3 min's and you have instant hot water. You hear a hum when it works.
Pros: Easy to Install, saves water
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from New Paltz, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had known about this years ago

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hardest part of installation was putting in the electrical outlet and contortions under the cabinet. Plumbing part was easy. Works great. Still fine tuning on the timer. It is so-o-o-o-o-o good to have "instant" hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>