728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product129 of 147reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(101)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product129 of 147reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fernandina, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump does everthing it says it does. Easy installation. Over time I expect to save water and sewer charges. This is such a simple idea. The pump has a 24 hour timer. I set the timer to run all the time and control the receptacle that the pump is plugged into with a timer so I can turn the heater on when I need too. All of these parts came from Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Less water waste

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this under a pedestal sink so there is no cabinet to absorb the noise but the pump is still reasonably quiet (less than a quiet bathroom fan).
I added a receptacle into the lighting circuit so the fan only runs when the light is on. Once you turn the light switch on it takes about a minute for hot water to reach the pump (which is about how long you'd need to run the faucet to get hot water without the pump).
Easy to install but be sure to order two faucet supply lines when you're ordering the pump. Your existing supply lines from the shutoff valves to the sink will get connected from the valves to the pump, then you'll need two more 3/8 X 1/2 lines to connect the pump to the faucet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, this product works as it is described.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed the pump under our kitchen sink, as this is the furthest water faucet from our water heater. I set the timer to operate between 6 AM and 10 PM, and during those times, we have warm or hot water available within seconds. Way better than before...which could take up to 90 seconds to flush cold water from the pipes.
There are some noises (gurgling and squeaking) as the pump starts and starts, like shutting off a ball valve, and only minor noise when the pump is circulating. With the cabinets closed, the noise is tolerable.
Overall, a good purchase and when compared to other, more elaborate pumps, very cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Shrewsbury, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth its weight in gold

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this pump for over 10 years and never had a problem with it. My water inlet from the street is at least 50 feet from my second bath room and shower and I never have to wait for the hot water in the bathroom sink. The shower takes a little bit longer because of the length of the pipes. All of the other sinks in the house have instant hot water. This pump has probably saved me thousands of gallons of water over the years since I installed it. I might add that in my town we have strict water conservation rules.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hot Water When You Need It

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit provides Hot Water when and where you need it. Installation is quite easy and the almost instant hot water can be very convenient. Now, that's about where it ends. If you're looking to be environmentally savvy by saving water, this isn't going to make much of a dent. All that you are buying is CONVENIENCE. That being said, is it worth the investment? Investing in this is like when I purchased the “Remote Start” feature for my car. Does it save me money or wear and tear on the car? No, but I would invest in this feature again? ...in a heartbeat!
Do yourself a favor and Google "Do hot water recirculators save money?". There is a very good, accurate article in tree-hugger that explains in detail using very generous and conservative numbers how to calculate the savings …or non-savings. One article uses a water savings of 2.8 gallons per draw with a ¾”dia. hot water line over a 50 foot distance. In actuality, I have a ½”dia. hot water line and calculate a half gallon savings. In reality, before the recirculator, I run a half gallon to warm water and about ¾ gallon to hot on my 50 foot distance. You’ll have to read it for yourself if you want to consider heat loss and energy use even if pipes are insulated as well as electricity use. If you're looking to save money, there's a negative return on investment (ROI) by installing a recirculator. Because there is no financial payback, the unit never pays for itself.
But remember, what you are buying here is convenience …and at the end of the day, that just might be what you want.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, Convenient
Cons: expensive
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
31out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fremont, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
for 1 kitchen and 3 bathrooms located in a 2-story house, i have high expectation for this product. it works well. it pumps hot water in the pipe, and for the whole day i don't have to wait for 1-2 minutes for the hot water to arrive. however for the 1st time use of each day, it still needs the time to pump. i think the timer function should solve this problem, i'll try. note: i only install one unit under my kitchen sink, for all the bathrooms and the kitchen we have instant hot water, which is excellent!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Ocala FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

No More Waiting For Hot Water

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in a ranch style home with the water heater at one end of the house and the master bath at the opposite end. It used to take 30 seconds of wasted water to warm up, now just 3-4 seconds. This unit is installed under the master vanity. Our kitchen and hall bath are in between these two points and also benefit from this layout.
I had to buy two 16" supply lines to complete the plumbing. I also added a receptacle under the vanity for power. It should be GFCI per code. and overall safety.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Water Recirculation Unit

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works very well and alot quieter than I expected. This product has the standard dial timer, but easy to program. I would recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Camarillo, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works Great!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No more running and wasting water when trying to get it warm at the tap or shower. I have had this unit for 10 years and it has never failed me. Pricey, but well worth it. High quality.
The idea is to install it at the furthest point from the water heater, which is my kitchen sink. Later, I wanted a little more quick response in the MB shower. So I move it to the MB sink which improved the warm/hot water response time there. But later on, I began to miss not getting quick response to the kitchen sink. So, I bought another unit and installed it there. Now it's even better then ever for both locations! 5 seconds for warm and about 15 seconds for very hot water. Fantastic device and reliable.
Don't buy the cheaper unit that installs at the water heater. It needs a power outlet and also still needs a bypass return at the faucet you choose.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Quiet, over 10 yrs so far., high quality construction, low power consumption
Cons: a little noiser then my 10 yr old one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump - worth the price perfect solution for me.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The main reason I bought this pump as to prevent frozen pipes during the winter. Live in a 1970's home (CO) and kitchen pipe freeze when temps get to zero and below. for the past several nights the temps have been around zero +/- and last 2 nights below -10. In the morning the pipes were not frozen. SWEET!!
For me the nice plus of having hot water at the sink in a couple of seconds versus a minute is nice as well.
Would do it again, should have done this sooner.
Been running this for a couple of months now in the timer mode from 11p to 6a. you can not even hear this pump run
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Love it

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, quiet. Get warm water quickly. Very effective. Very nice. Will also enjoy the reduced water bill.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is fairly easy to install and works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Once installed we got warm water instantly. It is not hot but is warm enough to wash hands and start a shower comfortably. Hot water comes faster too. The biggest issue was getting an electrical outlet under the sink for installation. You also have to purchase flexible water connections to install the unit. In my case I purchased four connections. It runs quietly. You have to listen carefully to hear whether it is pumping or not. I installed it in my far bathroom. I think I have three water lines and of course it only provides instant warm water to one. I would purchase again.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurray! Hot Water without the waste! Easy to install and use!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My plumber recommended this to me because it would take me 90-120 seconds to get lukewarm water to my master bath. I was able to install it without his help! (Except I had to hire an electrician to put a socket under the sink. Easy!)
Installation was simple. Just purchase and screw on some pressure fitting sink connectors, plug it in and set the timer.
It's SO WONDERFUL to have hot water when we turn on the tap. I am positive our water/sewer bill will decrease.
One side effect is that that cold water is often lukewarm - which is fine with me for brushing teeth. (My 5 year old doesn't like it and complains about the "new pump." Now he has to wait for cold water on occasion.)
The pump makes a slight hum when it switches on which I can only hear when I am in the bathroom in a quiet house.
It's pretty quiet when installed right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: cold water can be lukewarm after pump runs
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Virginia BEach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The circulating pump was easy to install and quiet. The hot water gets hot pretty quickly, but the warmth on the cold takes a little while to flush out if you need cold rather than warm water. It was taking almost 60 seconds to get hot water to the shower and now takes less that 15 seconds to be up to temperature. This also was the best price I found and arrived very quickly. I won't have another house without one of these pumps.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Excellent!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works really well as it's designed for. My water heater doesn't have any near by electrical outlet, so i tried to find something that can be installed under the sink. This is perfect for my needs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile Project

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You need to know your plumbing's fitting sizes and I had to make a couple of trips to get the correct hoses but the installation was fairly easy. The Autocirc looks well made and others haven't had any issues on it's durability. I don't have any noise issues on either of the units (master bathroom and kitchen) I installed.
It is saving water, my master bathroom shower waste while I waited for hot water went from 3.5 gallons to about 3 quarts. At the sink it's less than a pint before the water is warm enough to wash my face. The pump is a bit slow; I control the master bathroom Autocirc with an off/on switch and it takes 6 minutes to pull the hot water.
I do wish that it allowed a smaller temperature drop before it kicks back on because the water temperature further back in the pipes drops faster than the water in the Autocirc but this isn't a deal breaker. It'd be interesting to know how green this project was as the water savings are at the expense of increased gas and electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Works great

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Watched a YouTube video of installation of this pump. I had it installed within 1 hour and we love it.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Virginia Beach
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Undersink Hot water circulator

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not noisy, Easy installation. Very functional. If you need one, buy this one,
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>