728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.299 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(80)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 21 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Carpinteria Ca.

Laing AutoCirc Hot Water Pump

PostedApril 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have just installed the ACT-303-BTW Laing AutoCirc Hot Water Pump in my mobile home and would like to remark what a simple job it turned out to be. I read in your reviews that it would be quite noisy well I had to unplug and replug the unit in to make sure that it was working and this was while I was laying with my head under the sink right next to it. So far I am very happy with the unit but will need time to see if it does the job of providing faster hot water with a savings on the gas and water bills as advertised but so far very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Hanford Ca.

I'm still waiting for hot water

PostedJuly 29, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would solve all of my hot water problems......but it didn't. I installed it according to directions and if it did work I didn't notice it so I left it in for a week hoping the hot water gods would fix the product and the hot water issue, I didn't get my wish. I am returning the product and going with a point of use heater. Wish me luck in my search for timely hot water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Woodburn, Oregon

Not a Perfect Solution

PostedNovember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Yes it works ... sort of. Installation was easy using stainless braid flex lines and since it went under the kitchen sink where power was already available no wiring was needed, otherwise it would have been a major hassle. It seems well made and runs quietly.
The problem is that the hot water line under the house cools faster than the line under the sink where the pump & thermostat are located. The upshot is that instead of instant hot water, you get nearly instant warm water. It does help and the hot water heats faster than without it but if you're looking for fully hot water in a matter of seconds, you'll be dissapointed. It's an improvement but not the ideal solution I was hoping for.
Probably insulating the hot water line where possible in the crawl space would help. Guess I'll try that next.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Memphis, TN

Good Product That Does What It Saids

PostedNovember 20, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just a word of caution to some of you. If you are looking for a system thats going to deliver instant "scalding" hot water then you should look at a point of service instant hot water system. But if you're a person that wants to decrease the amount of time that it takes for the hot water to reach the faucet then this is the system for you. Before I purchased this system it would take anywhere from 2 to 4 minutes for the hot water to reach the kitchen. After i installed the system it cut the time to around 20 seconds. Don't get me wrong the system does deliver instant warm water which is great for washing your hands or running bath water etc. but the "true" hot water will get there after a few seconds. At first I gawked at the price of this system and was actually about to buy a point of service hot water system but then I realized that this sytem has these advantages over the other system:
1. It will speed up hot water for your WHOLE house. Not just the faucet its installed on. (as long as all of your faucets don't branch off from the main hot water line into secondary systems etc.)
2. Power. This system only uses 34 watts.....compared to 300-1500 watts for the point of service system. The water you saved is offset by the power used for those other systems.
3. Size. System is small and can generally fit in even the tightest spaces. Most of the other instant hot water systems have tanks that you have to make room for.
4. Maintenance. This system is maintenance free. The only time it requires maintenance is if you live in an area with hard water. Then you will have to periodically clean the minerals etc. from pump. (according to the instructions. I don't have hard water in my area)
5. Ease of installation. I was able to install the system and get it up and running in ten minutes. I already had an "always on" outlet under the sink. But running a cord to another outlet would've added maybe another two min.
I'm not sure why some people are complaining about noise. The instructions clearly say not to mount the unit on a wood panel because of vibrations. If you have a regular sheetrock wall under your sink you shouldn't be able to hear the system if it is mounted properly. I can't hear my system at all. (the only way I could tell it was operating was by holding my hand on the pump, then I could feel the slight vibrations) so if your pump is extremely noisy take it apart and make sure the rotor is seated properly and there are no objects in the system.
I wish the system had an adjustable "output" temp other than 95 degrees. I like the warm water but I wish I could up the temp a little. (they do offer a model with an adjustable temp but its hard to find and it costs more). I understand why they made this move (you might have young kids in the house) but I wish ALL models had the adjustable temp.Thats the only reason I gave it 4 stars.
Overall I love the system and I will be buying one for my parents for christmas. I strongly recommend this product to anyone looking to cut down their wait time for hot water. The quality of the system seems to be great and it even comes with a 2 year warranty from laing. I haven't had the system long enough to see how much water it has saved me but I am willing to bet it'll be a lot.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Concord, NC

Best return for my money

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace one I bought from Home Depot over 8 years ago. The pump was still ok but the motor stopped for some reason. My family couldn't wait for the replacement to arrive. Our bathrooms are at the extreem opposite end of the house where the hot water heater is.(In the garage) That's 75 feet away. It took a long time for the hot water to get to the bathrooms. Especially in the winter. With this pump we have instant hot water. It takes about 5 seconds or less for it to heat up. Our area (NC) is at a level 4 drought condition and water is precious and very expensive. This pump saves well over 10,000 gallons a year and will pay for itself just as the first one did in a very short time. I wish I had one over 30 years ago. That's how long we've lived in this house. OLDDAVE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Lincoln, California

Undersink Hot Water Circulating System

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good product and works very well. I now get hot water within ten seconds where before it took two minutes. The product is very easy to install. It is compact enough, so it does not take up space under the sink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Oregon City, OR

pipes knocking

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall I am satisfied with the performance of the pump. Where it took 2 plus minutes to get hot water to the kitchen sink there is now no delay in getting tepid water for hand washing and hot water is not too far behind. The result though is the cold water takes 20 seconds or so to be cold enough for drinking. I find that an adequate trade off but still it is a bother.
The real problem we have is with knocking in the pipes since installing it. I don't know if it is truly "water hammer" as I read somewhere or not so I need to do more research. It is loud and annoying so it must be dealt with and soon.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Raleigh, NC

No more cold showers

PostedApril 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product operates as advertised and is easy to install.
Pros:
+ Provides instant warm water with hot water following shortly
+ Saves $$$ - Noticeable decrease in water bill
+ Eco friendly - saves water, timer saves electricity
+ Appears well made and should require little maintenance
Cons:
- Requires installation of unswitched outlet under sink which for me was the most time consuming part of the whole installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Charlotte, NC

Hot Water When You Want It!

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. We finally have faster hot water in our master bath. No more wasting time and water.
The product is easy to install once you get an outlet installed and determine where to place the pump. The installation pictures conveniently leave out the drain pipe assembly so you must figure out where to best place the pump. With this in mind, I suggest having multiple types and sizes of flex hoses on hand when doing the install. You can return the unused ones later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Sherman, Texas

Great for the Money

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ilove being able to turn on the water and have hot water just almost instantly. I feel I will save enough water to pay for the pump and what little electricity it uses. It was very easy to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Dallas, Texas

Installation

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second AutoCirc. It works great and is easy to install, provided you have power under the sink. In my case I installed it under the kitchen sink, and used the power from the garbage disposal. The installation took about 30 minutes, start to finish. Just undue the hot and cold water lines, and attach them to the Autocirc. Then run new lines to the hot and cold water inlets. screw the Autocirc to wall and turn on the water. That's it. Now you'll have instant hot water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Tacoma Washington

Poor Quality control of Manifacture "Really Bad"

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered the Under Sink Instant Circulating Pump. The first one I got was defective thermistat was faulty. We found this out after it was installed by the plumber Intstall at a cost $120.00. We had no cold water in the hole house only very hot water in both hot and cold fawcets. The pump ran for 12 hours. Never shut off. Electricion at a $95.00 to install a receptical under the sink. The plumber had to come back and remove the faulty one $55.00. We sent the faulty pump back. Two weeks to get a new one The plumber came back to install the othe new one. Another $55.00. The second one worked fine Total cost was The pump $246.00 + installation $325.00 = $571.00. total cost. NOT WORTH IT !!!!!!!
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Greeneville, TN

Hot Water and Conservation

PostedNovember 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the undersink instant hot water circulation system last summer. It was easy to install and it is great! The water is not blazing hot when you start but definitely warm and warms to full temperature quickly. It seems to work even better now that it is colder. I assume it cuts on more and circulates the water. This is an extra safety measure. It assures that there is good water flow in all pipes without wasting water. We had kept a bucket in the bathroom to collect the cold water while we waited for hot water to arrive prior to installing the unit. We are saving quite a bit of water that used to be wasted. I recommend the product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Monument, Colorado

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have had the Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System installed for almost two weeks now. It was not difficult to install although I had to buy extra flex tubs which I thought should have been included. As for the performance; the water is immediately hot under the skin where it was installed but the other faucets still take quite awhile for the hot water to arrive. It's not instant as advertised but is still better than before."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Westminster, MD

Not bad!

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was fairly simple. It helped that I got exactly the right length of hoses that I needed. I am having a little difficulty getting the timer to work correctly. Hot water arrives within seconds. Only drawback: if you want a drink of cold water at this faucet, you have to let it run for a little while because there is usually warm water in the cold line. A dedicated return line was not possible for me in my installation. But in the long run, this will save us a lot of water.
Overall, I am satisfied with this product. Durability is unknown at this time, as I only have installed it one month ago.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Oxford, Mississippi

Works Well After More Than a Year

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a new home with an attic water heater on one side which feeds under the slab to a kitchen and two bedrooms on the opposite side of the house. Our first guest had to use our master bath since warm water wasn't reaching the guest room after many minutes. Our choices were a second water heater, a loop with a pump, or the autocirc1. We chose the small pump for simplicity and energy savings. I installed it and added an outlet with a remote which has a 100' range and turns it off or on when needed. We also placed a plastic shoebox beneath the unit with a water sensor alarm. We have had no complaints from guests for hot water and no leaks. We were surprised this year with a very cold spell which froze pipes in the bedroom over the garage where the pump is located. It thawed later in the day, and I simply turned on the pump for the duration of the cold weather. No more frozen pipes. Highly recommended!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Atlanta

In Hot Water

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Master Bath is on the top floor and the furthest spot in the house from the water heater. I would take several minutes and several gallons of water before it was warm enough to use. The only sinks/baths that had ready hot water is in the bathrooms for my daughters-as if they needed encouragement use water.
Installed the unit in about 15 minutes. It far exceeded expectations. Powder Room, kitchen sinks, master shower, tub, guest room and all hot water taps now take only about a three count to have hot water. Easy to program. Very rugged. The delivery person left the package in front of the garage door and my wife ran over it with her SUV. Not a scratch on the unit-although the box as a little rough.
Highly recommend.this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Ct

Hot Water Recir

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy Install, Nice Timer Feature, Warm-Hot water when used, all metal fittings a plus.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from charlotte nc

Auto Circ

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one purchase I have made that really lives up to its purpose. During a 6 week period when it had to be disassembled because of a bathroom renovation, we really missed the qiuick response of the suto circ. It saves a lot on water usage and draws a minimum amt of electricity. I highly recommedn it for everyone regardless of the size of the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Autocirc 1 undersink instant hot water system

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I placed the order without difficulty and the product arrived approximately 3 days later. The package was intact and without damage. The product was new as advertised and included everything needed for the installation minus the water line which was stated not to be included. The installation took approximately 30 min with no difficulties except "help" from my 2 year old. I made sure to measure the location with respect to existing flexible water lines and no problems were encountered. I purchased two additional flexible water lines for completion. I already had an outlet installed under the sink so this was not an issue. The product requires a 110v outlet to run the pump. Once plugged in I opened the valves, cleared the air from the lines and proceeded to turn the pump on. The pump is very quiet and only noticeable when the vanity cabinet door is open and even then it is very subtle. Just be sure to attach the pump to a solid surface such as the wall. I checked on it several times throughout the day and found no leaks or problems after the initial install. The water out of the tap is the perfect temperature and gets warmer as desired. My personal level of satisfaction for this product is very high and I have no problem recommending the heater to anyone wishing to reduce their water consumption and energy costs to heat water. Installation was very easy requiring a drill for mounting and a crescent wrench for the water lines. However, you will need an outlet installed if you do not already have one. The DIYer can do 99% of this project.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>