728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

With 1 simple installation of the Autocirc Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System you assure instant hot water delivery to all fixtures in your home. A built-in sensor automatically turns on when the water temperature dips below 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.374 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product126 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(97)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product126 of 144reviews
Customer reviews for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
Review 1 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Memphis, TN

Good Product That Does What It Saids

PostedNovember 20, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just a word of caution to some of you. If you are looking for a system thats going to deliver instant "scalding" hot water then you should look at a point of service instant hot water system. But if you're a person that wants to decrease the amount of time that it takes for the hot water to reach the faucet then this is the system for you. Before I purchased this system it would take anywhere from 2 to 4 minutes for the hot water to reach the kitchen. After i installed the system it cut the time to around 20 seconds. Don't get me wrong the system does deliver instant warm water which is great for washing your hands or running bath water etc. but the "true" hot water will get there after a few seconds. At first I gawked at the price of this system and was actually about to buy a point of service hot water system but then I realized that this sytem has these advantages over the other system:
1. It will speed up hot water for your WHOLE house. Not just the faucet its installed on. (as long as all of your faucets don't branch off from the main hot water line into secondary systems etc.)
2. Power. This system only uses 34 watts.....compared to 300-1500 watts for the point of service system. The water you saved is offset by the power used for those other systems.
3. Size. System is small and can generally fit in even the tightest spaces. Most of the other instant hot water systems have tanks that you have to make room for.
4. Maintenance. This system is maintenance free. The only time it requires maintenance is if you live in an area with hard water. Then you will have to periodically clean the minerals etc. from pump. (according to the instructions. I don't have hard water in my area)
5. Ease of installation. I was able to install the system and get it up and running in ten minutes. I already had an "always on" outlet under the sink. But running a cord to another outlet would've added maybe another two min.
I'm not sure why some people are complaining about noise. The instructions clearly say not to mount the unit on a wood panel because of vibrations. If you have a regular sheetrock wall under your sink you shouldn't be able to hear the system if it is mounted properly. I can't hear my system at all. (the only way I could tell it was operating was by holding my hand on the pump, then I could feel the slight vibrations) so if your pump is extremely noisy take it apart and make sure the rotor is seated properly and there are no objects in the system.
I wish the system had an adjustable "output" temp other than 95 degrees. I like the warm water but I wish I could up the temp a little. (they do offer a model with an adjustable temp but its hard to find and it costs more). I understand why they made this move (you might have young kids in the house) but I wish ALL models had the adjustable temp.Thats the only reason I gave it 4 stars.
Overall I love the system and I will be buying one for my parents for christmas. I strongly recommend this product to anyone looking to cut down their wait time for hot water. The quality of the system seems to be great and it even comes with a 2 year warranty from laing. I haven't had the system long enough to see how much water it has saved me but I am willing to bet it'll be a lot.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Fontana, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The good and the not so bad...

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm in an area with a house built on a concret slab. All the plumbing is basically running thru that slab. The ground temperatures get moderately cold in the winter time so all the water in the pipeline is of course cold as well. Selected my kitchen sink as the faucet for installtion.) Pre-installation, I did as the instructions suggest... Time your hot water arrival prior to installing this unit and then do the same afterwards. Before, it took 4+ minutes for the water to get anywhere near hot in my kitchen. (Main reason I wanted it) After, I could feel warmth in 5 to 10 seconds. It isn't hot enough for instant coffee but when I think of the water I'm saving it's great, and at least I can jump in the shower in less than a minute, I'm okay with that. Hot water (in my judgement) still takes about 30 secs to arrive, but I'm okay with that. The units motor kicks in when the water temp drops below 85F. That's not very hot, and like other reviews have mentioned, it would be nice to have the adjustable temp. model to crank it up into the 90's, but that unit cost over $300, so I'm going to call this purchase a "good" investment overall. (4 stars out of 5) Shipping was less than a week at standard so that was a welcome surprize. Installation wasn't too bad. (usual backaches that go with under sink plumbing, but to be expected) You will have to purchase 2 supply lines with 3/8" and 1/2" ends. I used 1-20" and 1-30" to mount the unit just inside the cabinet doors and on the side. 1/2" thick wood panel appears to be working well enough for the mounting. You will need a 120v outlet for the pump, which runs very quietly. (I can't hear it at all until I open the cabinet. (It's like a whisper!)
Oh... YES! It does cut down the wait times on the other faucets in the other areas of the house, like the bathrooms! It's not an instant hot water maker, but it will cut down your wait times to get you there.
Here's a little clue. The longer the supply lines= the longer you wait for your warmer water.. I have 30".. between the pump and the faucet... Get it? Good quality and well built unit. I would recommend it to anyone with a hot water delay problem. Stop wasting time, money and water!! I'll update my review after it's broken in. This is day one.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

I am hard to convince.

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading everyone else's reviews on here, I was ready to give this solution to cold water hand washing a shot. I just installed this Saturday (5/28/11) and this product is doing as advertised.
It is just as easy to install as everyone said and yes I get a short shot of cold water out of hot and get a short shot of hot out of cold on initial turn of the faucet. 3 seconds of this is a lot better than 30 to 45 seconds of waiting on the cold to purge the line. It is also great on getting instant hot water to the bathtub.
The settings to turn on the pump in the morning @ 7am and to turn off the pump at 11pm is SUPER easy. To leave it on all the time or on timer from 7 am to 11 pm is a piece of cake either way. This is working so well I believe I am going to have to put one in at my Mother-in-laws house and at my daughters house. (they know I over research everything).
My only minor suggestion (and it is so minor I will not do it myself but you can) is that the shorter you make your hoses between the hot and cold water cut offs and the pump and from the pump to the faucet handles will just reduce the amout of hot or cold you get out of the initial 2-4 seconds from either faucet. Not enough of a problem for me to run back to the home depot 7/10ths of a mile down the road.
I am on a split level with the kitchen upstairs from the landing(where hot water tank, 1/2 bath and laundryroom are located) and the 2 full baths are downstairs. I put the pump in the kitchen to be near the dishwasher and I works well for ALL areas, kitchen, 2 full and one half bath.
I am just an around the house handyman but now looks like I will be installing 2 more for other family members households. I am not recommending this to any other family members because I will have to install it but I will brag about my awesome purchase of a very practical, efficient and economical solution to all others because that is how I roll. :-) I HIGHLY recommend this to all non-family members!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Austin, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation; works as advertised

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My master bath faucets are the farthest from my water heater. I had to run water for about 75 seconds before hot water reached the sink. With our current drought and the cost of water, I reviewed several hot water recirculating options before deciding upon this product.
The pump was appears to be of high quality and was easy to install. Most other pumps that I considered would have mounted at the water heater or required more extensive under-sink plumbing. This simplified installation works with existing water cutoff valves. I used its power requirement as an excuse to install extra GFCI-protected bathroom electrical outlets in addition to the one beneath the vanity to operate the pump. If not for the electrical need; the only necessary "extras" are two braided stainless steel water lines.
As my hot water use occurs at irregular times; I also installed a wall switch to control the pump. I set the pump timer to always on. Flipping the switch about two minutes before I need hot water delivers tepid water for the first few seconds with truly hot water shortly thereafter. The switch is then turned off. An alternative that I'm now considering is a motion-activated switch to power the pump when someone moves around in the bathroom.
I've been using the pump for a couple of months and it continues to work exactly as it should. The pump is essentially silent in my installation. The brass housing should contribute to long-term reliability.
Compared the other under-sink alternative that I considered; this pump was easier to install and cost less. If it continues to operate as designed for the next few years I will have more than recouped its cost in reduced water consumption while minimizing my contribution to the current drought.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, good value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Silverdale, WA

Laing Hot Water Circulating System

PostedJanuary 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We originally got a different type (and brand) nothing wrong with it, but it was designed to mount on the water heater. Ours is plumbed with copper pipes and space was at a premium in this particular area. So, back to Home Depot where they cheerfully refunded the purchase price and I ordered the Laing model that goes under the kitchen sink. I doesn't come with the two necessary stainless steel hoses, but each installation might require different lengths anyway. Installation was easy, as I had recently replaced the inlet shutoffs, ran stainless hoses and a new faucet set that was on a great sale at Home Depot earlier. Ran the cord behind the cabinetry to a nearby outlet, mounted the pump and connected the hoses. After an initial check for leaks and necessary minor tightening of the connectors, all was ready. Now the timer is set for instant hot water at regular usage times, and if we need hot water at untimed hours it's easy enough to manually cycle the pump if you wish. Pump runs under one minute at the most to get to the auto shutoff at 95 degrees. Now there's real hot water right there when you need it. Also went under the house in the crawlspace and installed the very inexpensive tubular foam insulation on the half inch hot water pipe from the heater to the kitchen. It all adds up to instant hot water and a savings in time water resources and money over time. Just what Home Depot is all about - Home Improvement!
I'd recommend this for consideration for anyone that has to run hot water too long, and depending on the design of your pipe system, putting this at the farthest point in the house from the heater can improve performance at all other sinks if they happen to be in or near the loop.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Autocirc 1 undersink instant hot water system

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I placed the order without difficulty and the product arrived approximately 3 days later. The package was intact and without damage. The product was new as advertised and included everything needed for the installation minus the water line which was stated not to be included. The installation took approximately 30 min with no difficulties except "help" from my 2 year old. I made sure to measure the location with respect to existing flexible water lines and no problems were encountered. I purchased two additional flexible water lines for completion. I already had an outlet installed under the sink so this was not an issue. The product requires a 110v outlet to run the pump. Once plugged in I opened the valves, cleared the air from the lines and proceeded to turn the pump on. The pump is very quiet and only noticeable when the vanity cabinet door is open and even then it is very subtle. Just be sure to attach the pump to a solid surface such as the wall. I checked on it several times throughout the day and found no leaks or problems after the initial install. The water out of the tap is the perfect temperature and gets warmer as desired. My personal level of satisfaction for this product is very high and I have no problem recommending the heater to anyone wishing to reduce their water consumption and energy costs to heat water. Installation was very easy requiring a drill for mounting and a crescent wrench for the water lines. However, you will need an outlet installed if you do not already have one. The DIYer can do 99% of this project.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hot Water When You Need It

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit provides Hot Water when and where you need it. Installation is quite easy and the almost instant hot water can be very convenient. Now, that's about where it ends. If you're looking to be environmentally savvy by saving water, this isn't going to make much of a dent. All that you are buying is CONVENIENCE. That being said, is it worth the investment? Investing in this is like when I purchased the “Remote Start” feature for my car. Does it save me money or wear and tear on the car? No, but I would invest in this feature again? ...in a heartbeat!
Do yourself a favor and Google "Do hot water recirculators save money?". There is a very good, accurate article in tree-hugger that explains in detail using very generous and conservative numbers how to calculate the savings …or non-savings. One article uses a water savings of 2.8 gallons per draw with a ¾”dia. hot water line over a 50 foot distance. In actuality, I have a ½”dia. hot water line and calculate a half gallon savings. In reality, before the recirculator, I run a half gallon to warm water and about ¾ gallon to hot on my 50 foot distance. You’ll have to read it for yourself if you want to consider heat loss and energy use even if pipes are insulated as well as electricity use. If you're looking to save money, there's a negative return on investment (ROI) by installing a recirculator. Because there is no financial payback, the unit never pays for itself.
But remember, what you are buying here is convenience …and at the end of the day, that just might be what you want.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, Convenient
Cons: expensive
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Seattle
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Solution

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Overall I'm really happy with this product. It used to take up to 2 minutes for us to get hot water, and after installing this circulator we get hot water either instantly or within 5 to 10 seconds. I've noticed that there are times when you catch the pump mid cycle and it takes longer, but for the most part it delivers what it promises.
I struggled a little bit with the installation just trying to find a reasonable place to install this under my sink. Also, the bracket that's provided for mounting the unit to the wall is poorly engineered. It mounts with a single screw which is much less secure than two (allows the unit to rotate a bit while installing). That's not a huge issue once it's hooked up, just something I noticed. The screw and anchor provided were pretty low quality so I replaced them with something better.
At first I thought that I got a faulty unit. I had it hooked up, but didn't notice any significant change. The next day I remembered that the outlet I plugged the pump into was the same as my garbage disposal which is switch operated...essentially I had everything hooked up correctly, but I wasn't providing power. I ran an extension cord from a non-switched outlet and the the pump fired right up.
We do have the same issue that others have had about warm water in the cold tap. Our solution is just to keep a pitcher of water in the fridge. It stays warm for about 10 seconds and then slowly gets colder.
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple instalation without even a wrench.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply amazing, with a design so simple many think it cost too much. It's small, quiet and the only real installation problem was getting an electric outlet installed under the sink.
The plumbing is simply a matter of removing the existing water lines to the faucet to connect them to the pump and then run new flexible lines to the hot and cold faucet connections from the pump outputs. That's all there is to it.
I did mount the pump on a 3/4" board which I then screwed to the back wall of the cabinet (the instructions warn about mounting the pump to the thin cabinet panel). Doing this, the unit doesn't make as much noise as a small fridge when it's running. It usually cycles for just over a minute when it's operating.
A built-in timer allows you to control when it's operating, cutting down the hot water usage and there's even an Off switch should you be gone for the day.
I live in one of those manufauctured homes where the plumbing is one continuous line. With the pump mounted at the farthest point, my hot water is available quickly everywhere and instantly where the pump is.
Priced about the same as those undersink hot water tanks that take up so much room, this doesn't rob precious cabinet space since you mount it where the drain and water pipes are.
Without a doubt the easiest job I've ever done to fix a big problem.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after 10 years

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the obvious reason of cold water in the bathroom farthest away from the tank. I'm on a crawl space and on really cold, sub zero nights I'm sure this pump saved my bacon by keeping the pipes from freezing as well. Mine gave up the ghost after ten years of flawless service. At 230 dollars I'm not sure I'll replace it with the same model. The water heater mounted models are 40 dollars less and require less space under an already small vanity cabinet.
I have to comment on the negative reviews. People do your homework BEFORE you buy anything. No it will and can not work on a tank less heater. Yes it uses electricity and your water heater will run a bit more. Those are all givens. Do not jump blindly into a purchase and gripe afterwards. DUH!!!
This is a convenience item that saves you from standing in front of a faucet spewing out ice cold water. There is a cost!
And finally. Every electronic item manufactured has an average failure rate of 10-20%. That's why you look for warranties. On a well built item you have a 90%+ chance of receiving a good unit. Anything over 20% failure is to be avoided. Do your homework. One last thing. DIY does not include labor cost. I don't think it's fair crying over a plumbers labor cost when you purchase an item at a DIY store. If you want to contract a job contract it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from DFW, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best option for solving problem

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the three options to fix the problem of a long plumbing run from my hot water heater to my master bathroom, this one is by far the best. Worst option: install a dedicated return hot water plumbing line to the hot water heater. This option costs $6k from the builder. Now that the house is built, it will probably cost the same because the walls will have to be opened to install. Second best option: small hot water recirculating pump installed at the hot water heater with a thermally controlled valve (valve opens when the water temp goes below a set point and closes when the water temp is above the set point) at the problem sink (i.e., the sink farthest away from the water heater). We rented a house with this setup while our current home was being built. The problem with this option is the pump does not "talk" with the valve, and thus, the pump may be pumping with the valve closed. This is a waste of electricity. Another problem is that the pump may be set on timer to the off position when the valve opens due to low water temperature. This doesn't help the problem. The best option is this product. It pumps when it is supposed to because the internal valve only opens when the pump is operating. It is a bit pricey, but compared to $6k for new plumbing, it is not that bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from San Francisco
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid but unglamorous, we'll see how much we actually save

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You'll have to save a lot of water to pay off the price; so installation reflects civic responsibility rather than financial benefit, though that could change if water becomes yet scarcer and more expensive. The device seems sturdily built of good materials, but quality will be determined by durability, an unknown after only a week's use. Depending upon distance from the water heater, you can be pumping a lot of water into the cold line, which can take a while to cool back down completely to its usual 55 degrees in this area, and you may may need more than one unit for optimal conservation but higher cost - our water heater is centrally situated and the facilities are on opposite ends of the house.
One complication of the installation not directly related to the device but worth avoiding: in order to shut off the water at the angle stops I had to turn them pretty hard. The old rubber washers in the angle stops broke up and partially obstructed the faucet valves with a major loss of flow, and I had to disassemble everything and clean out the broken bits of rubber from faucet valves, connecting hoses, pump unit, then replace the washers. I suggest you check and perhaps replace the washers in the angle stops before installing the unit!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: instructions ought to give connection sizes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from MACOMB, MI

HOT WATER CIRCULATION PUMP

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS IS AN OUSTANDING PRODUCT. IT USED TO TAKE 5 MINUTES OF WASTING WATER TO GET THE WATER HOT AT MY KITCHEN SINK. NOW I HAVE INSTANT HOT WATER ANY TIME. THE PUMP WAS EXTEREMLY EASY TO INSTALL. IT HAS A SMALL PROFILE AND FIT UP OUT OF THE WAY. THE TIMER IS A GREAT FEATURE IN AS IT CAN BE PROGRAMMED ON OR OFF MULTIPLE TIMES OF THE DAY. THE PUMP HAS A BY-PASS SWITCH TO GET HOT WATER ANY TIME THE TIMER MAY BE SET IN THE OFF POSITION. AND THE WHOLE PUMP IS THERMOSTATICALLY CONTROLLED SO IT DOESN'T HAVE TO RUN CONTINUOUSLY.THE ONLY NEGATIVE IS THE ACTUAL SIZE OF THE TIMER DIAL AND THE GRAPHICS. IT CAN BE DIFFICULT TO SET IF YOU NEED TO MOUNT THE PUMP IN A MORE OUT OF THE WAY LOCATION. THE ALWAYS ON SWITCH IS A BIT DIFFICULT AS WELL. BUT OVER ALL THE BENEFITS FAR OUT-WEIGH THE FEW SMALL FLAWS. ONE OTHER CONSIDERATION IS POWER. THE PUMP/TIMER NEEDS 120VAC ALL THE TIME. YOU JUST CAN'T PLUG INTO YOUR GARBAGE DISPOSAL. ONE QUICK AND EASY WAY IS TO INSTALL AN AIR ACTIVATED SWITCH FOR THE GARBAGE DISPOSAL. THIS ALLOWS YOU TO KEEP THE ORIGINAL DISPOSAL SWITCH IN THE ON POSITION, THERE-BY ALWAYS GETTING THE 120V FOR BOTH THE HOT WATER PUMP AND AIR ACTIVATED SWITCH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System

Not as good as my prior model: ACT-303-BTW

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my prior model 12 years ago. Until about a year ago the only attention I gave it was changing the timer either for daylight savings or adjusting to our schedule. Other than that I hardly knew it was there. About a year ago it started producing noise periodically. Fair enough. 12 years is a long time for a $200 investment. I milked it for as long as I could but the noise occurred more frequently so bought this one. The timer on this new one is louder. Plus I hear this new one every time it turns on. It's not too loud but the hum is there. I'm satisfied with this one. And would buy it again. But given a choice between the product of 12 years ago and this one, I'd buy the one I previously had. BTW, installation was easy because the replacement had the same fittings. If this is your first installation, you may get lucky, but be prepared to make a couple of trips to the hardware store to get the right hoses. Once installed it's great to have hot water immediately. But also be aware that you won't have cold water right away... since the hot water pumps into the cold line.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile Project

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You need to know your plumbing's fitting sizes and I had to make a couple of trips to get the correct hoses but the installation was fairly easy. The Autocirc looks well made and others haven't had any issues on it's durability. I don't have any noise issues on either of the units (master bathroom and kitchen) I installed.
It is saving water, my master bathroom shower waste while I waited for hot water went from 3.5 gallons to about 3 quarts. At the sink it's less than a pint before the water is warm enough to wash my face. The pump is a bit slow; I control the master bathroom Autocirc with an off/on switch and it takes 6 minutes to pull the hot water.
I do wish that it allowed a smaller temperature drop before it kicks back on because the water temperature further back in the pipes drops faster than the water in the Autocirc but this isn't a deal breaker. It'd be interesting to know how green this project was as the water savings are at the expense of increased gas and electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Carlsbad, CA

Works Great!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently re-did the master bath which is at the far end of our ranch house (on a slab). It use to take quite a while and approx 3 gallons of water until we could get hot water to the sink or shower. This device worked GREAT - easy to install, quiet, easy to program the timer. I had to buy all 4 new flex hoses - I mounted the pump on the side of the sink base because it was 1/2" plywood vs the 1/4" plywood on the back of the cabinet and I didn't want to have vibration problems. No issues with water hammer or noise. It took me approx 1.5 hours (and 2 trips to HD to get the right length flex hoses) to install. Wish they sold this in the store vs online - its a great product. I would also like to see them carry the model that has an adjustable set point - this model has a fixed set point. My parents were in town from STL - they have a similar issue with their kitchen sink. After seeing how it worked and how easy it was to install, they are planning to get one for their house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Southeastern, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a difficult time getting hot water to our kitchen sink because of its distance from the hot water heater. After reviewing several products we believed that the hot water circulating system fit our DIY needs best and yes, we now have warm water immediately when we turn on the hot side of the faucet. The systems has just a few quiet, knocks every once in a while but otherwise is very quiet.
After going through the installation process I recommend really looking at your current setup to decide the components you need to complete the install, for example, we ordered two stainless steel hoses with the pump but found that the flexible copper pipe to the faucet were not workable and had to go the the hardware store for two additional stainless steel hoses. Also, although we had a receptacle in the cabinet for the garbage disposal the receptacle was hooked directly into the on/off switch which meant we had to add another receptacle.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Bay Area, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop wasting water

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 10 years we had to replace our undersink hot water recirc. pump. This one was a very easy swap and is working fine so far. My only suggestion is to improve the cover over the timer which was hard to remove to set the times of use. It was OK to do while the unit was in my hand, but would be difficult if necessary to adjust while mounted under the sink. (If need to adjust for daylight savings time, or after power outage, etc.)
I do like having hot water ready at the faucet/shower and not having to run gallons down the drain waiting for the warm water to arrive. If I do another remodel or addition I will add a separate hot water return line rather than using the cold water feed, because the only downside I have seen in using this pump is that you may have to wait if you want COLD water. (It is easy to add the hot water return line when walls are open during construction, but much more to costly to add after the fact.)
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, stop wasting water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey Bang for the Buck

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product works as advertised, but at an exceptionally high price! The install was straight forward and no more difficult than installing new faucet hoses. We had hot water within minutes of install and start-up at our kitchen sink. Also, delighted that there is now instant hot water for the dishwasher so it can do its job properly. Other benefit is that the laundry room now has instant hot water, so the "warm" and "hot" water wash options on the washer really do what they're supposed to do. No reason this product should cost more than $60, but the market seems to be cornered by few suppliers. HomeDepot was the lowest cost (least of all evils) on this one. So, if you want instant hot water, this is the way to go. I prefer this product to the "two-part" one that I mounted where the pump installs at the hot water heater and the thermostat-valve at the sink. (I have two hot water tanks and separate hot water systems.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Undersink Instant Hot Water Circulating System
from Oxford, Mississippi

Works Well After More Than a Year

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a new home with an attic water heater on one side which feeds under the slab to a kitchen and two bedrooms on the opposite side of the house. Our first guest had to use our master bath since warm water wasn't reaching the guest room after many minutes. Our choices were a second water heater, a loop with a pump, or the autocirc1. We chose the small pump for simplicity and energy savings. I installed it and added an outlet with a remote which has a 100' range and turns it off or on when needed. We also placed a plastic shoebox beneath the unit with a water sensor alarm. We have had no complaints from guests for hot water and no leaks. We were surprised this year with a very cold spell which froze pipes in the bedroom over the garage where the pump is located. It thawed later in the day, and I simply turned on the pump for the duration of the cold weather. No more frozen pipes. Highly recommended!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>