728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

RIDGID accessories are designed with functionality and long lasting durability in mind. Tackle a wide range of cleaning activities more effectively and efficiently by selecting the right tool for the job. From hard surface wet and dry cleaning, to carpet, to high volume liquid pick up, to detailing in tight spots, even pumping water from one of our drain equipped drums, there’s a RIDGID accessory to help you get the job done faster and more easily.
Overall rating:
3.526 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product53 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(25)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(10)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product53 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Review 1 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Leaf Valley, MN 56332, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise reduction muffler works well

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not only does the muffler greatly reduce the motor noise but it also effectively suppresses/diffuses the exhaust coming out of the vacuum. Previously, if I was vacuuming in an area with lots of dust or loose materials I had to be mindful of where the exhaust port was aimed or I'd make a bigger mess than the one I was trying to clean up. The muffler quiets the machine and keeps the mess going where it's supposed to - INTO the vacuum.
Pros: Nice Design, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Should be an in-the-box item

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I didn't even know they called this a muffler. I looked for it as an exhaust filter. It replaces the old sock that I had to use after buying my 12 gal vacuum. This item should really be a part of the accessories in the box but unfortunately we have to buy this as a side item. On the plus side, it comes with several adapters so it should fit the entire RIDGID line of wet/dry vacuums. Once installed, you'll likely never take it off except for the occasional rinse and clean.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Does not decrease noise level

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The muffler barely makes a difference in the noise level. I purchased it thinking that it might add another layer of filtering out the particles expelled in the exhaust of the vacuum but that was not the case. In fairness, the product was not designed for that and I knew that going in but decided to try it anyways. Bottom line, if you are looking to reduce the noise level on your vacuum, this will not help much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: not useful, makes no difference in noise level
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Advertised and then some

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchase this unit with the Ridgid WD4070 because my last shop vac (15 yrs old) spit out dust from the exhaust port, which is not good when detailing vehicles. I also wanted to muffle the exhaust a bit. I measured the sound level of my unit using a sound meter (at 3’) and the exhaust was 91db without the muffler and 83 db with the muffler. So, while it will not reduce the sound by ½ as someone mention here, it does reduce the sound as advertised. Note: The packaged does not say how much it reduces sound, but that it reduces the sound, so it works as advertised. I wonder how many of the reviewers that said there was no reduction in sound actually measured the sound levels. Oh, it does block the tool storage a bit. I am satisfied and glad I purchased this unit because it reduced sound levels and keeps dust from flying all over the place, which defeats the purpose of vacuuming.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cost
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Atlanta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not much for the noise, but blocks the wind

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its called a noise reduction muffler, but its more like a wind reduction muffler. I like not having the exhaust blow all over the place - just wish it also made the shop vac a little less noisy.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT a muffler. Even on the packaging it's labelled as an air diffuser.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this just to diffuse the output air so as to not blow dust and dirt around so much as I'm vacuuming. I knew it didn't function as a muffler as other reviewers mentioned when I purchased it; even on the plastic packaging for the part it was listed as an air diffuser, not a muffler. So, the fact that it didnt quiet down the vac didnt factor into the star rating I gave my review.
However, this part causes too much backpressure due to the restrictiveness of the sponge in the "diffuser". You can easily feel the difference in suction with your hand. As a result it considerably decreases the effectiveness of your brand new Ridgid shop vac. I will definitely be returning this and rigging up my own for $2 that doesnt restrict air flow, doesnt obstruct the use of the tool caddy (on the 14gal model) and diffuses the air stream. Save your money...
Cons: too restrictive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what its made for.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does make the vac a lot quieter. It also keeps the air from exhaust from blowing dust around your shop.To me it seems to cut down on the power to vacuum. Just a little.It does muffler the noise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Mass.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase !

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler works GREAT! Would highly recommend this muffler for the noise reduction of your shop vac. I couldn't believe how my shop vac sounded no louder then my house vacuum by using this muffler. I am very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: n/a
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Reduces noise a great deal!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for use with the 4 gallon Ridgid wet/dry vac WD4070. With a powerful 5 H.P. motor comes a loud exhaust. So just like a hot rod with open headers, put a muffler on it so your not giving everyone a headache. I work in a lot of occupied finished homes for customers of high standards and to make my best attempts at keeping the customer happy, the noise reduction makes a big difference! The other great benefit of this item is that it diverts and reduces the speed of the exhaust from blowing straight out and stirring up more dust on the jobsite. It is light, compact, breaks down and is able to be cleaned easily.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for Sound, but dust control

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because it was recommended for the vacuum I bought, though I had to take off the adapter piece in order to make it fit. Honestly, it does not reduce the noise. BUT! if you are vacuuming up finer particles like hair and dust and are worried about things getting blown out the exhaust port, this is a great little filter to reduce that. I gave an Average rating because while it is a useful item, it does not serve the purpose it was intended for, also, I don't think it's worth what I paid. My husband probably could've rigged something up out of a fish filter sponge for less than $5.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, reduces dust blow back
Cons: Difficult to Install, doesn't reduce noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Portland, OR

Some improvement to the WD4070

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I added this to my RIDGID 4-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac model WD4070. You can hear a difference. Used a digital sound level meter from 3' and measured 91 dB without the muffler and 88 dB with the muffler in place. It does intrude a bit on the tool storage pocket's capacity. I don't have a way of measuring any loss of suction power but can't imagine there would be any comparing the effects of the 3-ply dust filter with this open cell diffusor. So, yes, it does technically reduce the noise. Overall the quality matches the RIDGID vac including the locking clip. The adapter isn't needed for the WD4070.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Springfield, PA

A necessary attachment

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I think this muffler qulets the noise down of my 4 gallon Ridgid only slightly. It's biggest benefit is to difuse the exhaust to keep things from blowing all over the place when the vacuum is in use. Many other reviews have mentioned this fact and it's true! In fact, when I bought this part today, another gentlemen was buying one, also, because of the same problem. Personally, I think Ridgid should include this part, or something similar, to help with the exhaust problem. If a person had a small length of PVC that would fit in the exhaust hole, it would be easy to cap it off, drill some holes, and you'd have something for free that would do the same job. So, think about picking one of these accessories up if you get a Ridgid vac (or other brand) if keeping flying dust and debris to a minimum is important to you.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from las vegas,nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not what it seems

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
if this product muffles the sound, i cant tell the difference. however, it does prevent dust from being
expelled from the back side, so for that feature it is worth it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from NE Wisconsin, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is supposed to.

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not much to review here.... This attachment diffuses the air coming out of a Rigid Wet Dry Vac. It does what it is supposed to do. It is made out of plastic. You push it on the vac. The End.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Kansas City, Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise reduction muffler

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The muffler is of simple design and works fairly well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Keeps dust from flying around, Vac is still loud

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
can't notice difference in the sound, but I am going to keep it because it keeps sheetrock dust from flying all over from the exhaust, It should be priced around $6 it is not really worth $13
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product dies reduce the decibel level.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would recommend this product to all contractors. The safety of ourselves and our employess is imparitive.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Silver Spring, MD

Does Not Reduce Noise

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product does not work as a noise reduction muffler. However, it does prevent the air from coming out the back, causing dust and dirt flying every where.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reduces sound & dust

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice option to add to your shop vac - it does good job of reducing noise to that of a vacuum cleaner while at same time prevents excessive dust from being expelled out of exhaust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Winslow, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This doesn't reduce noise

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Most of the noise made by Rigid Vaccums I've used is from the motor and not by the blowing air out the back. The title/discription of the product is thus misleading. If you read the box, it says it's an air difuser which is much more accurate.
My suggested uses: I actually bought this not for it's noise reduction capabilities but for two other purposes which it serves quite well! 1. Difuse the air blowing out the back, working in a dusty environment the outlet often blows the dust around making it harder to clean, this difuses the air so it's not blowing so hard in any one direction. (This also prevents water from blowing out the back when sucking up water.) 2. When sucking up dirty water (like when my sewage backed up in to my basement) the vaccum will suck up all the floaties which easily clog the pump attachment... Using the difuser at the end of the vaccum to suck up dirty water acted as a filter that helped keep the pump clear of debris.
Conclusion: If you're looking to prevent dust from blowing behind the vac or using it as a filter for wet debris while using the pump I'd recommend it. If you want it to reduce noise, it ain't happening with this device.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>