728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

RIDGID accessories are designed with functionality and long lasting durability in mind. Tackle a wide range of cleaning activities more effectively and efficiently by selecting the right tool for the job. From hard surface wet and dry cleaning, to carpet, to high volume liquid pick up, to detailing in tight spots, even pumping water from one of our drain equipped drums, there’s a RIDGID accessory to help you get the job done faster and more easily.
Overall rating:
3.627 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product45 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(18)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product45 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Review 1 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Staceman
from Leaf Valley, MN 56332, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise reduction muffler works well

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not only does the muffler greatly reduce the motor noise but it also effectively suppresses/diffuses the exhaust coming out of the vacuum. Previously, if I was vacuuming in an area with lots of dust or loose materials I had to be mindful of where the exhaust port was aimed or I'd make a bigger mess than the one I was trying to clean up. The muffler quiets the machine and keeps the mess going where it's supposed to - INTO the vacuum.
Pros: Nice Design, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Methodical
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Advertised and then some

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchase this unit with the Ridgid WD4070 because my last shop vac (15 yrs old) spit out dust from the exhaust port, which is not good when detailing vehicles. I also wanted to muffle the exhaust a bit. I measured the sound level of my unit using a sound meter (at 3’) and the exhaust was 91db without the muffler and 83 db with the muffler. So, while it will not reduce the sound by ½ as someone mention here, it does reduce the sound as advertised. Note: The packaged does not say how much it reduces sound, but that it reduces the sound, so it works as advertised. I wonder how many of the reviewers that said there was no reduction in sound actually measured the sound levels. Oh, it does block the tool storage a bit. I am satisfied and glad I purchased this unit because it reduced sound levels and keeps dust from flying all over the place, which defeats the purpose of vacuuming.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cost
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
lukethelion

This is an air difuser

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a must have for any RIGID shop vac. The noise reduction is minor but the air difusion is a must.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, an air difuser
Cons: not exactly a noise reducer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
George
from Bay Area
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Other reviews say that this does not reduce noise levels of the vacuum. I found it to make enough reduction in noise that when working in a confined space, I no longer needed hearing protection. Yes, the suction level is reduced. This has not been an issue for me as this vacuum is plenty strong.
The added bonus is the exiting air stream is defused and causes less disruption of the surrounding work area.
I have found this to be a great addition to my vacuum.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
328grove
from Vernon, NY 13476, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although the vaccuum I'm using this muffler on is pretty quiet, the muffler does a good job of tuning down the air blast and catching any dust that manages to make it through the unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
TJ427
from North Huntingdon

Does the job for the most part

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The accessory does a great job at diffusing the air discharge from the vacuum but does little to reduce the noise. Maybe 10%? I mostly purchased it to stop the vacuum from blowing dirt around so I'm happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
VACUUMFIXITGUY

Very good product. Fits and works fine!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product fits on an older Ridgid unit and works fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
QualityPlumber47

Reduces noise a great deal!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for use with the 4 gallon Ridgid wet/dry vac WD4070. With a powerful 5 H.P. motor comes a loud exhaust. So just like a hot rod with open headers, put a muffler on it so your not giving everyone a headache. I work in a lot of occupied finished homes for customers of high standards and to make my best attempts at keeping the customer happy, the noise reduction makes a big difference! The other great benefit of this item is that it diverts and reduces the speed of the exhaust from blowing straight out and stirring up more dust on the jobsite. It is light, compact, breaks down and is able to be cleaned easily.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Dandyman

Muffler

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waste of $$. The noise comes from the motor on top. Don't bother buying this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
MrBats

Does a good job of reducing vac noise!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical when I bought but surprisingly it does reduces the noise on the large shop vac that I have. I mean the shop vac it still loud but not as bad as it used to be. Also, I found out that this muffler provides a sort of filtration of the exhaust to minimize dust coming out of the vac when your filter is getting dirty. Overall I'm happy with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Jackson
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reduces sound & dust

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice option to add to your shop vac - it does good job of reducing noise to that of a vacuum cleaner while at same time prevents excessive dust from being expelled out of exhaust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
remodeler

not quieter

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
item does not make vac quieter. does do a good job of dispersing air flow from the motor. not worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
LJ06716
from New Market, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great accessory for my Ridgid Vac

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't aware that there was a muffler for my vac when I bought it. I just happened to be looking at the accessories online and saw it. I went to my local Home Depot and they had it in stock. I bought it and installed it when I got back home. I was very pleased when I turned the vac on. It cut the noise in half at least. It's very easy on the ears now and I highly recommend it to anyone who has a vac to put it on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
hrman1
from Lithonia, GA 30058, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product performed as advertized.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in combination with the filter bag. By using both, I was able to cut down my noise and dust emissions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
JudyinGA
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is OK.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have not tried the shopvac without it, but the noise still requires ear protection with it on.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
busybuddy
from Brooklyn
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Primarly A Diffuser!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to diffuse the discharge air from my 16 gallon vacuum. I can not actually call it a muffler, but for my needs it's exactly what I wanted and it works great. I would give it five stars if diffuser was mentioned besides calling it a muffler.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
dplehman99
from Portland, OR

Some improvement to the WD4070

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I added this to my RIDGID 4-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac model WD4070. You can hear a difference. Used a digital sound level meter from 3' and measured 91 dB without the muffler and 88 dB with the muffler in place. It does intrude a bit on the tool storage pocket's capacity. I don't have a way of measuring any loss of suction power but can't imagine there would be any comparing the effects of the 3-ply dust filter with this open cell diffusor. So, yes, it does technically reduce the noise. Overall the quality matches the RIDGID vac including the locking clip. The adapter isn't needed for the WD4070.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
RichardC
from Springfield, PA

A necessary attachment

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I think this muffler qulets the noise down of my 4 gallon Ridgid only slightly. It's biggest benefit is to difuse the exhaust to keep things from blowing all over the place when the vacuum is in use. Many other reviews have mentioned this fact and it's true! In fact, when I bought this part today, another gentlemen was buying one, also, because of the same problem. Personally, I think Ridgid should include this part, or something similar, to help with the exhaust problem. If a person had a small length of PVC that would fit in the exhaust hole, it would be easy to cap it off, drill some holes, and you'd have something for free that would do the same job. So, think about picking one of these accessories up if you get a Ridgid vac (or other brand) if keeping flying dust and debris to a minimum is important to you.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Larry

AMAZING difference...

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's not going to make your vac silent, but it does muffle the noise a little. It also does a secondary feature, as someone else mentioned, it diffuses the exhaust so it's not blowing everything else around the shop/garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Dave
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not as quiet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
noise reduction is not very much. not sure if this was a wise investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>