728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

RIDGID accessories are designed with functionality and long lasting durability in mind. Tackle a wide range of cleaning activities more effectively and efficiently by selecting the right tool for the job. From hard surface wet and dry cleaning, to carpet, to high volume liquid pick up, to detailing in tight spots, even pumping water from one of our drain equipped drums, there’s a RIDGID accessory to help you get the job done faster and more easily.
Overall rating:
3.532 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product67 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(31)
3
(19)
2
(7)
1
(12)
Features 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product67 of 89reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Review 1 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Leaf Valley, MN 56332, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise reduction muffler works well

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not only does the muffler greatly reduce the motor noise but it also effectively suppresses/diffuses the exhaust coming out of the vacuum. Previously, if I was vacuuming in an area with lots of dust or loose materials I had to be mindful of where the exhaust port was aimed or I'd make a bigger mess than the one I was trying to clean up. The muffler quiets the machine and keeps the mess going where it's supposed to - INTO the vacuum.
Pros: Nice Design, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

confused

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not sure why piece with red fastener was included. It did not fit any part of my Vacuum.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from North Central, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise is the same

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Only recommended this product for added filtration, the noise is the same as if it were attached or not.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: not really a noise reducer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reduce dust and blowing

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
As others say not much noise reduction. It has an adapter that I removed and it fit right on my Craftsman shop vac. I used it when refinishing my wood floors to minimize dust blowing back out. It's also nice to not have so much air blowing out and blowing papers and other things around. It worked for what I bought it for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Should be an in-the-box item

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I didn't even know they called this a muffler. I looked for it as an exhaust filter. It replaces the old sock that I had to use after buying my 12 gal vacuum. This item should really be a part of the accessories in the box but unfortunately we have to buy this as a side item. On the plus side, it comes with several adapters so it should fit the entire RIDGID line of wet/dry vacuums. Once installed, you'll likely never take it off except for the occasional rinse and clean.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did not notice a significant change in noise level. I would not buy this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Portland, OR

Some improvement to the WD4070

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I added this to my RIDGID 4-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac model WD4070. You can hear a difference. Used a digital sound level meter from 3' and measured 91 dB without the muffler and 88 dB with the muffler in place. It does intrude a bit on the tool storage pocket's capacity. I don't have a way of measuring any loss of suction power but can't imagine there would be any comparing the effects of the 3-ply dust filter with this open cell diffusor. So, yes, it does technically reduce the noise. Overall the quality matches the RIDGID vac including the locking clip. The adapter isn't needed for the WD4070.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Concord, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Item

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This does work and is needed on vacuum. However, it should be included with the vacuum itself as it to prevent huge "dust storm" from unit exhaust if not used. It is an add-on cost that should not be required.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Advertised and then some

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchase this unit with the Ridgid WD4070 because my last shop vac (15 yrs old) spit out dust from the exhaust port, which is not good when detailing vehicles. I also wanted to muffle the exhaust a bit. I measured the sound level of my unit using a sound meter (at 3’) and the exhaust was 91db without the muffler and 83 db with the muffler. So, while it will not reduce the sound by ½ as someone mention here, it does reduce the sound as advertised. Note: The packaged does not say how much it reduces sound, but that it reduces the sound, so it works as advertised. I wonder how many of the reviewers that said there was no reduction in sound actually measured the sound levels. Oh, it does block the tool storage a bit. I am satisfied and glad I purchased this unit because it reduced sound levels and keeps dust from flying all over the place, which defeats the purpose of vacuuming.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cost
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Springfield, PA

A necessary attachment

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I think this muffler qulets the noise down of my 4 gallon Ridgid only slightly. It's biggest benefit is to difuse the exhaust to keep things from blowing all over the place when the vacuum is in use. Many other reviews have mentioned this fact and it's true! In fact, when I bought this part today, another gentlemen was buying one, also, because of the same problem. Personally, I think Ridgid should include this part, or something similar, to help with the exhaust problem. If a person had a small length of PVC that would fit in the exhaust hole, it would be easy to cap it off, drill some holes, and you'd have something for free that would do the same job. So, think about picking one of these accessories up if you get a Ridgid vac (or other brand) if keeping flying dust and debris to a minimum is important to you.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Taming shop vac noise

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This muffler has proven an auditory blessing while using my shop vac for cleaning the interior of my 16' Scamp Travel Trailer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from CHICAGO, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IT WORKS AS DESCRIBED AND DOES A GOOD JOB!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IT WORKS AS DESCRIBED AND DOES A GOOD JOB!!! THE ONLY THING THAT IS BAD ABOUT IT IS THAT THE COUPLER THAT IS NECESSARY TO ATTACH THE MUFFLER TO THE VAC OUTLET MAKES THE MUFFLET STICK OUT TOO LONG. ITS TOO BAD IT WASN'T A LITTLE SHORTER OR CLOSER TO THE VAC SO YOU WON'T CATCH IT ON THINGS AS THE VAC IS PULLED AROUND YOUR JOBSITE.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: too long with coupler
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler

Keeps dust from flying around, Vac is still loud

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
can't notice difference in the sound, but I am going to keep it because it keeps sheetrock dust from flying all over from the exhaust, It should be priced around $6 it is not really worth $13
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Silver Spring, MD

Does Not Reduce Noise

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product does not work as a noise reduction muffler. However, it does prevent the air from coming out the back, causing dust and dirt flying every where.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Winslow, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This doesn't reduce noise

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Most of the noise made by Rigid Vaccums I've used is from the motor and not by the blowing air out the back. The title/discription of the product is thus misleading. If you read the box, it says it's an air difuser which is much more accurate.
My suggested uses: I actually bought this not for it's noise reduction capabilities but for two other purposes which it serves quite well! 1. Difuse the air blowing out the back, working in a dusty environment the outlet often blows the dust around making it harder to clean, this difuses the air so it's not blowing so hard in any one direction. (This also prevents water from blowing out the back when sucking up water.) 2. When sucking up dirty water (like when my sewage backed up in to my basement) the vaccum will suck up all the floaties which easily clog the pump attachment... Using the difuser at the end of the vaccum to suck up dirty water acted as a filter that helped keep the pump clear of debris.
Conclusion: If you're looking to prevent dust from blowing behind the vac or using it as a filter for wet debris while using the pump I'd recommend it. If you want it to reduce noise, it ain't happening with this device.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Washington CH, Ohio

Great addition

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Keeps down on the dust and is easy to clean out. Wish I knew about this product sooner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noise muffler

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This fits well and reduces the noise level a bit. I do not think it is worth the expense as the noise level is still pretty high. This fits perfectly on the Rigid shop vac.
Plastic but well constructed. I did not notice any drop in suction.
If you are ok with a small drop in noise for the $ then this is an ok solution.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: price to noise reduction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NOT for noise reduction!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's average quality product, but it's NOT for noise reduction. It's more for diffusing air. Which it works pretty good for that. But that's also the reason why I purchased it!
I would NOT recommend purchasing it for Noise reduction. It should be relabeled "AIR DIFFUSER"
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Muffler....

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I notice a difference in the sound. Not huge though. Its noticeable, but not a lot. Even with the muffler, the shop vac is still very loud. I like having it on my shop vac because I work in peoples homes, and it reduces the noise slightly on my shop vac. If you are buying this to make you shop vac super quiet, then don't, because it wont. For the price, I think its worth it to reduce the noise slightly. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-1/2 in. Noise Reduction Muffler
from Germantown, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay, but...

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
...I didn't notice ANY reduction in noise. What is DOES do is deflect the exhaust so that dust isn't stirred up by the exhaust before it's vacuumed. I was hoping for drastic reduction in the considerable noise level of the vacuum; I'll keep it due to the useful exhaust deflection.
Pros: good air deflection
Cons: doesn't reduce noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>