728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Use the Basement Watchdog Battery-Operated Water Alarm to detect leaks before costly water damage is caused. This alarm can detect as little as 1/32 in. of water and produces a loud 110 dB alarm that can be heard throughout the house to provide an effective early warning system. A convenient battery-saver feature only uses energy when the alarm is sounding to offer a long battery life.
Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product86 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product86 of 90reviews
Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Review 1 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Insurance for Basement and Garage Flooding

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having the horror of a floor drain backing up in the basement, I wasn't about to take another chance in not knowing when water was coming up onto the floor.
I bought this water alarm after seeing that I could install the sensor wherever I wanted and have the alarm itself high and dry, closer to where we'd hear it easily. It can detect water as shallow as 1/32nd of an inch deep. Giving you plenty of time to take action before it's a full on flood.
It requires a 9V battery (not included) to operate. The manual says it can last up to five years on one battery, since it only turns on when the sensor gets wet.
You can place the alarm right on the floor, or you can detach the sensor and place the alarm up to six feet away with the included wire. You may extend the wire up to 100 feet if you need to.
This alarm would also work great to detect leaks from things like spring thaw through the foundation, sump pump failure, hot tub leaks or even an aquarium leak.
Given that it has a five year warranty and it's so inexpensive, there is no reason not to have at least one of these in your home. It's far less expensive than an insurance claim or paying to repair and clean up water damage.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent sensitivity, easy to install, great features, highly recommend it.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had a couple minor water related problems over the years, mainly caused by poor reliability of available sump pumps and their switches. So after the most recent episode, I replaced the sump pump with most durable I could find and built my own switch to control it.
For extra piece of mind, I purchased 2 Basement Watchdog Battery Operated Water Alarms. I like the removable sensor feature that allows the homeowner to mount the alarm on the wall and put the sensor 6 feet away on the floor. You can also splice in extra wire if needed. I spliced in a second sensor, made from 2 stainless steel screws and nuts, that hangs down into the sump on a couple small pieces of PVC pipe about an inch above the waterline where the switch turns the pump on. If the pump fails for any reason and the water ever reaches the screws, the alarm will sound. The actual splice is 2 more stainless screws and nuts, mounted on a piece of plastic that I set on the floor beside the sump. That forms a 3rd sensor for “free”.
The second Watchdog Alarm unit that I bought I just put a battery in, wrote the date on the side, and set it on the floor near the water heater, just in case. While I was home last weekend, our electricity went off. I knew it was just a matter of time before the sump would fill without the pump running. Sure enough, within 5 minutes the alarm sounded just as advertised. These units are extremely easy to set up, just put a battery in, and put it sensor side down on the floor. I recommend writing the date on the side to remind you to change the battery after a year or two. Or you can extend the sensor with or without DIY modifications to fit your application. They are very sensitive, just touch the sensors to give yourself piece of mind that they are working. For the price, anyone with indoor plumbing should have a couple to alert you to water where it's not supposed to be.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: no cons. good investment.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use for piece of mind

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put battery in, place it on the floor and don't have to worry about my sump flooding without the warning alarm.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Blacklick, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone needs one!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Typical. Our old sump pump decided to go out when we needed it most and our basement that we had JUST finished was now under 1/2"of water. With NO warning. About a week
later, the float stuck on the new pump but THIS timed we were ready. The alarm worked like a charm and we were able to save ourselves from a repeat of disaster. If you have a sump pump, you NEED one of these. Mount the siren on the side of your air return so it sounds throughout the house.;)
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Arlington, Tx
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little gadget

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have had water leaks from refrigerator, washing machine and dishwasher at various times. This little alarm helps provide a good degree of protection for a cheap price at least when we are home. I test it regularly and works well. Battery seems to last.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
Cons: doesn't help if you can't hear it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Littleton, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BATTERY-OPERATED WATER ALARM

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product has a good alarm sound (when tested). It was easy to into install in my sump pump pit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

water alarm

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple, inexpensive alarm for when you get unexpected leaks. Great for the overflow pan on a water heater.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expandable Too

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well and easy to test with a little water or your hand. Since I was going to splice in some wire into the existing wire for a long run anyway, I wondered if I could add a "sensor". So I spliced in two more wires - 3 and 12 foot bell wire, wired in parallel - and then took two small pieces of wood and put screws in the blocks (spaced like the two contacts on the original sensor) and used them to secure the other ends of the wires. And it works ... if water hits either the original sensor or my two make shift ones the single base unit alarms. And now I've got coverage for an odd shaped space that includes a lift station and water heater for the cost of my time and the parts and pieces I keep in the shop.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Alexandria VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works, what more can I say

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a leaky basement and when it rains heavily for a long period of time, the water seeps in from 3 corners. When a heavy rainstorm is forecast, I usually pick up the area rugs beforehand. Sometimes I forget or I underestimate the storm. This alarm reminds me if there is water coming in. In fact, I bought 2 others for the other corners.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to setup and use

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked great when I tested it in the sink. I only hope it works as well in the event of a leak. For me it gives some piece of mind in case the water heater leaks.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have one!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one 10 years ago (I wrote the date on the battery) at Home Depot. Recently one evening while watching TV in the living room, I thought I heard a noise like a smoke detector coming from the basement. My wife who had been down there 30 minutes earlier told me I was hearing things. I opened the basement door and heard the noise. Walking down the steps in my stocking feet as soon as I stepped off the last step, I stepped into warm water on the carpet. I knew immediately what had happend and immediately turned off the main water valve. This $10 alarm saved me thousands! I'm going out tomorrow to buy a couple more!
Pros: Reliable, cheap insurance!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It just went off!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well, my plumber was in my home and mentioned that he didn't see a "water alarm" in the basement. (3 weeks ago) He said for ten bucks I would be a fool not to have one. I bought one the next day, it sat around for a week until I put a 9v battery in, and then down to the basement it went. I put it by the sewer back flow opening, and BAM! this morning my wife calls me about the noise in the basement. Sewer backup! is was only wash water, but I don't go down there every day, and I would have had a basement full of poo. a massive cleanup was avoided,and we cleaned up with a paper towel or two. the plumber is there clearing the drain right now.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for sub pump owners

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
everyone with a sub sump should own one. It alerts you when you have water out flow. It works great with hot water heaters too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Carlisle, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
'Don't even have to read the manual. I used it in the sump that has a faulty pump that doesn't seem to work sometimes. It hasn't failed in letting us know when the pump is "acting" up so far. Although I knew when I bought it, I wish the wire was at least twice as long.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wire's short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Falls Church VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had these when surprise leaks occurred!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheap, effective, and a savior for your property and home. Water company surprised us with overpressure in the line when they were reconnecting a water main near us. Flooding in the utility area spread to carpeting and boxes in adjacent storage area. The alarm devices would have informed us in time to prevent damage. Battery really does last a long time due to its simple design. I now have them next to the water heater, laundry room and next to the washer/dryer in our rental property.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, protects your property
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Lake Villa, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for small home!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buzzer is loud and annoying (Fire detector loud)
It has waken me up the 2 times my basement could have flooded. I secured the detection element 1 inch above the water line with a wire-tie. It has saved thousands! Very small cost for the brilliance of this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Rochester NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only if you have great hearing!

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a flooded basement that occurred after my primary and back-up sump pumps both failed to operate, I bought two of these units and placed one by the water heater, and the other near my basement sump.
About a year later, my son asked what that high pitched sound was that he heard. I said, "what sound?" With his help, we traced the sound to - guess what - another flooded basement!
The tone that these units give off is a relatively high frequency and not all that loud. I am an aging Baby Boomer who has lost some of his high frequency hearing, and while I can easily hear these alarms if I am in the same room with them, I find that the frequency doesn't penetrate floors or walls sufficiently to alert me.
I am now looking for a water alarm that has a lower sound frequency, is louder, or both.
Pros: Easy to Install, relatively inexpensive
Cons: not loud enough, high frequency can be difficult to hear
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm

great product for condos

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great product to alarm condos of a water leak.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Jackson, mi
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value, ease of use, quality

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So simple, yet so dependable.
Take it out of the box, insert battery, place in area to monitored.
Your work is complete!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: none, still none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Hillsboro, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful and worth the small investment

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is priceless. Don't wait for a flood to install one. Much like people who wait to have a fire to install fire extinguishers or smoke alarms.
What I don't like about this is the sheer size. Why does it have to be so huge? I made my own flood alarm before and mine was 1/10th this size with a louder alarm!
Still, this is the cheapest around that does the job straight forward.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>