728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Use the Basement Watchdog Battery-Operated Water Alarm to detect leaks before costly water damage occurs. This alarm can detect as little as 1/32 in. of water and produces a loud 110 dB alarm that can be heard throughout the house to provide an effective early warning system. The water alarm can be placed directly on floors or mounted for installation in a variety of locations: in a sump pit, near water heaters, refrigerators or dishwashers, next to washing machines, under sinks, close to air conditioner drain tubes or wherever there is a risk of water damage. The sensor with 6 ft. of wire offers installation versatility and can accommodate the addition of more than 100 ft. of wire. The water alarm operates using a single 9V alkaline battery and has a battery-saver feature that only uses energy when the alarm is sounding.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product112 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product112 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Review 1 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from DESTIN, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Every home should have at least one of these!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wish I knew about this product earlier. The drain on our air conditioner clogged and flooded our hallway and dining room ruining the wood floors. I thought then that I wished there was some type of device that would warn of a water leak. Then one day I happened across this product while looking for something else in the plumbing isle at Home Depot. I bought it and tested it out at home and it works great. It has a loud, high pitched alarm that sounds when water comes into contact with the two metal spots on the bottom. I set it on the floor behind the A/C filter (CLICK ON PHOTO BELOW). I plan on getting another to put near the water heater. It was only $10 and could potentially save me thousands of dollars in water damage. Highly recommended!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Insurance for Basement and Garage Flooding

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having the horror of a floor drain backing up in the basement, I wasn't about to take another chance in not knowing when water was coming up onto the floor.
I bought this water alarm after seeing that I could install the sensor wherever I wanted and have the alarm itself high and dry, closer to where we'd hear it easily. It can detect water as shallow as 1/32nd of an inch deep. Giving you plenty of time to take action before it's a full on flood.
It requires a 9V battery (not included) to operate. The manual says it can last up to five years on one battery, since it only turns on when the sensor gets wet.
You can place the alarm right on the floor, or you can detach the sensor and place the alarm up to six feet away with the included wire. You may extend the wire up to 100 feet if you need to.
This alarm would also work great to detect leaks from things like spring thaw through the foundation, sump pump failure, hot tub leaks or even an aquarium leak.
Given that it has a five year warranty and it's so inexpensive, there is no reason not to have at least one of these in your home. It's far less expensive than an insurance claim or paying to repair and clean up water damage.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use for piece of mind

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put battery in, place it on the floor and don't have to worry about my sump flooding without the warning alarm.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A MUST have for any home !

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy a WATCHDOG water alarm and a 9 volt battery and have peace of mind ! Put in the battery (not included) and set it on the floor. This was originally purchased to keep watch over the water heater in the basement. It has gone off twice with the overflow of the utility sink. Very LOUD piercing sound. It has awoken us during the night when my son put in a late wash load before going to bed. The utility sink overflowed and set off the alarm. Simply pick it up and the alarm stops sounding. When the floor is dry, just set the WATCHDOG back down on the floor and it is back on duty ! I am going to purchase another to dedicate just tot the utility sink ( hopefully, we won't need it) A valuable purchase or gift for any homeowner !
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good alarm and good design, but......

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good alarm and good design, but the alarm sounding could be much louder. Also, I wanted to place this under the dishwasher and thru a cabinet, but did not want to drill a hole in the cabinet as large as the contacts, but could not easily disconnect the contacts had to cut and re-wire. Would have been really nice if the extender cables plugged in to the sound board instead of being soldered and covered in silicon glue.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent sensitivity, easy to install, great features, highly recommend it.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had a couple minor water related problems over the years, mainly caused by poor reliability of available sump pumps and their switches. So after the most recent episode, I replaced the sump pump with most durable I could find and built my own switch to control it.
For extra piece of mind, I purchased 2 Basement Watchdog Battery Operated Water Alarms. I like the removable sensor feature that allows the homeowner to mount the alarm on the wall and put the sensor 6 feet away on the floor. You can also splice in extra wire if needed. I spliced in a second sensor, made from 2 stainless steel screws and nuts, that hangs down into the sump on a couple small pieces of PVC pipe about an inch above the waterline where the switch turns the pump on. If the pump fails for any reason and the water ever reaches the screws, the alarm will sound. The actual splice is 2 more stainless screws and nuts, mounted on a piece of plastic that I set on the floor beside the sump. That forms a 3rd sensor for “free”.
The second Watchdog Alarm unit that I bought I just put a battery in, wrote the date on the side, and set it on the floor near the water heater, just in case. While I was home last weekend, our electricity went off. I knew it was just a matter of time before the sump would fill without the pump running. Sure enough, within 5 minutes the alarm sounded just as advertised. These units are extremely easy to set up, just put a battery in, and put it sensor side down on the floor. I recommend writing the date on the side to remind you to change the battery after a year or two. Or you can extend the sensor with or without DIY modifications to fit your application. They are very sensitive, just touch the sensors to give yourself piece of mind that they are working. For the price, anyone with indoor plumbing should have a couple to alert you to water where it's not supposed to be.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: no cons. good investment.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Essential Water Alarm

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The water alarms are cheap and super easy to set up, and the option for the remote sensor is great, I put a sensor under the dishwasher and the alarm box under the sink where I can change batteries. I now have 6 water alarms in my household and plan on buying 3 more. Cheap investment to protect hardwood floors from sneaky water leaks, it is not if they happen it is when, now I will know the when.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, remote sensor feature
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Keeping Fingers Crossed

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I gave it a 5 star rating in anticipation that its gonna do what it claims to do. If so, it will well be worth its cost. Wish i had know about it before my water heater went, maybe i wouldn't have had to spend $750 to clean up the mess. I've since bought two, one for water heater area and one by the washer/dryer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive warning for what could be an expensive problem

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one for my water heater (which is upstairs) and has a pan below it. If (or rather when) the water heater leaks, it could leak for weeks before I would notice. Lot of hot water would be wasted. Then a bought another for my son-in-laws sump pump. Since the Radon folks sealed up the sump, it is difficult to see if that is working properly, and the alarm is almost loud enough to hear upstairs. It would be better if the alarm beeped, instead of just a constant alarm. It could save a little battery life and be more noticeable.
Cons: could have included a tie-wrap for installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Waterville, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Every one with a BASEMENT......Need a water alarm to protection of their BASEMENT....

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't own a water alarm for my basement..... but after my sub pump die.... and I had water all over my basement.... I was total my all my friends.... I need to have a BATTERY OPERATED WATER ALARM...the cost is cheap...it will say you alot in WATER DAMAGE in your basement......
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water Alarm worked preventing major water damage in home

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The water alarm worked as designed when a hot water tank leak was detected.
Alarm placed in catch pan of the water heater.
The alarm sounded preventing major water damage to the attic insulation and possible leakage through the ceiling.
But, of course, a person had to be home to hear the alarm.
i have installed several others in the home wherever there is a possibility of a water leak (laundry room, bathrooms, kitchen).
Highly recommended for the price of the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Design, Not worth the money

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No way this product puts out 110 db, very weak alarm. The worst part of this product it will not chirp when the battery is low like a smoke detector.
Found an idea on the web, to use a smoke detector as a water alarm. Basically solder wires to the test button and use sealant for the remote end of two wires. Even doubles as a smoke detector :)
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor design, no low battery alert
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from south shore, massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A MUST HAVE

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little gadget is a must have for anywhere you may have a water leak. I recommend that one is placed near a water heater, under a sink where a garbage disposal may be or just in case the plumbing leaks.
also in the basement near a boiler or where a filter may have been added to a refrigerator water supply.
This alarm can help save thousands of dollars if you are fortunate to be home when it is working!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solves the water leak detection problem.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A simple product that solves an important problem at a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Oceanside, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Detect a water Leak ASAP

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is very important to detect a leak before any water damage develops into a dangerous mold. The device will set off a 80 + decibel sound for three days. Water Heaters, washers, pipes under sinks, dishwashers all can be a problem. You have 24-48 hours to beat having mold damage. The leak detector is a wonderful gift to give to a home owner or renter.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expandable Too

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well and easy to test with a little water or your hand. Since I was going to splice in some wire into the existing wire for a long run anyway, I wondered if I could add a "sensor". So I spliced in two more wires - 3 and 12 foot bell wire, wired in parallel - and then took two small pieces of wood and put screws in the blocks (spaced like the two contacts on the original sensor) and used them to secure the other ends of the wires. And it works ... if water hits either the original sensor or my two make shift ones the single base unit alarms. And now I've got coverage for an odd shaped space that includes a lift station and water heater for the cost of my time and the parts and pieces I keep in the shop.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Peace of mind

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very reliable. A must have for every home owner. Suggest one in boiler room, under toilet sink, under wash sink, and next to washing machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It just went off!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well, my plumber was in my home and mentioned that he didn't see a "water alarm" in the basement. (3 weeks ago) He said for ten bucks I would be a fool not to have one. I bought one the next day, it sat around for a week until I put a 9v battery in, and then down to the basement it went. I put it by the sewer back flow opening, and BAM! this morning my wife calls me about the noise in the basement. Sewer backup! is was only wash water, but I don't go down there every day, and I would have had a basement full of poo. a massive cleanup was avoided,and we cleaned up with a paper towel or two. the plumber is there clearing the drain right now.
Pros: Easy to Install
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have one!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one 10 years ago (I wrote the date on the battery) at Home Depot. Recently one evening while watching TV in the living room, I thought I heard a noise like a smoke detector coming from the basement. My wife who had been down there 30 minutes earlier told me I was hearing things. I opened the basement door and heard the noise. Walking down the steps in my stocking feet as soon as I stepped off the last step, I stepped into warm water on the carpet. I knew immediately what had happend and immediately turned off the main water valve. This $10 alarm saved me thousands! I'm going out tomorrow to buy a couple more!
Pros: Reliable, cheap insurance!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
from Oak Hill, VA

If you use water... YOU NEED THIS!

PostedDecember 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's 5:00 AM. I hear the scream of an alarm. What is it? Fire? Gas? Break-in? Nope.... it's my water alarm I installed 2 years ago. All I did was install a lithium battery (for long life) and place it near the water heater. It is SO easy. If I didn't have this, I would have flooded the basement. I have since purchased another 7 units to place under my sinks, toilets, and refrigerator. It was loud enough to wake me up from 2 floors away, behind 3 separate closed doors, and with a fan running in my bedroom. My wife said I was silly to get this when I purchased it years ago. Needless to say... I now get to say "told ya so".
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>