728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Battery-Operated Water Alarm

Use the Basement Watchdog Battery-Operated Water Alarm to detect leaks before costly water damage is caused. This alarm can detect as little as 1/32 in. of water and produces a loud 110 dB alarm that can be heard throughout the house to provide an effective early warning system. A convenient battery-saver feature only uses energy when the alarm is sounding to offer a long battery life.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Review 1 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
hpiguy
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Insurance for Basement and Garage Flooding

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having the horror of a floor drain backing up in the basement, I wasn't about to take another chance in not knowing when water was coming up onto the floor.
I bought this water alarm after seeing that I could install the sensor wherever I wanted and have the alarm itself high and dry, closer to where we'd hear it easily. It can detect water as shallow as 1/32nd of an inch deep. Giving you plenty of time to take action before it's a full on flood.
It requires a 9V battery (not included) to operate. The manual says it can last up to five years on one battery, since it only turns on when the sensor gets wet.
You can place the alarm right on the floor, or you can detach the sensor and place the alarm up to six feet away with the included wire. You may extend the wire up to 100 feet if you need to.
This alarm would also work great to detect leaks from things like spring thaw through the foundation, sump pump failure, hot tub leaks or even an aquarium leak.
Given that it has a five year warranty and it's so inexpensive, there is no reason not to have at least one of these in your home. It's far less expensive than an insurance claim or paying to repair and clean up water damage.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Ray689
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent sensitivity, easy to install, great features, highly recommend it.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had a couple minor water related problems over the years, mainly caused by poor reliability of available sump pumps and their switches. So after the most recent episode, I replaced the sump pump with most durable I could find and built my own switch to control it.
For extra piece of mind, I purchased 2 Basement Watchdog Battery Operated Water Alarms. I like the removable sensor feature that allows the homeowner to mount the alarm on the wall and put the sensor 6 feet away on the floor. You can also splice in extra wire if needed. I spliced in a second sensor, made from 2 stainless steel screws and nuts, that hangs down into the sump on a couple small pieces of PVC pipe about an inch above the waterline where the switch turns the pump on. If the pump fails for any reason and the water ever reaches the screws, the alarm will sound. The actual splice is 2 more stainless screws and nuts, mounted on a piece of plastic that I set on the floor beside the sump. That forms a 3rd sensor for “free”.
The second Watchdog Alarm unit that I bought I just put a battery in, wrote the date on the side, and set it on the floor near the water heater, just in case. While I was home last weekend, our electricity went off. I knew it was just a matter of time before the sump would fill without the pump running. Sure enough, within 5 minutes the alarm sounded just as advertised. These units are extremely easy to set up, just put a battery in, and put it sensor side down on the floor. I recommend writing the date on the side to remind you to change the battery after a year or two. Or you can extend the sensor with or without DIY modifications to fit your application. They are very sensitive, just touch the sensors to give yourself piece of mind that they are working. For the price, anyone with indoor plumbing should have a couple to alert you to water where it's not supposed to be.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: no cons. good investment.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
ajh428
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product... wish I had bought them sooner

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the middle of a sub-zero overnight storm our dishwasher pump froze up, broke and water leaked all over our laminate floor, destroying it. I went out to HD the very next day and bought three alarms to put strategically around the house. I put one under the kitchen sink and dishwasher, one under the stationary tubs and one under the water heater in the basement. If I would have had one of these alarms by the dishwasher, it would have alerted me before so much damage was done. Live and learn I guess... now I figure I'd rather be safe than sorry. These are terrific low cost, high value insurance.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, very sensitive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
dadamico
from New Britain, CT, USA

peace of mind

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product to alert you when there are leaks or backups
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: time will tell whether battery efficiency's on par
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Howard
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have one!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one 10 years ago (I wrote the date on the battery) at Home Depot. Recently one evening while watching TV in the living room, I thought I heard a noise like a smoke detector coming from the basement. My wife who had been down there 30 minutes earlier told me I was hearing things. I opened the basement door and heard the noise. Walking down the steps in my stocking feet as soon as I stepped off the last step, I stepped into warm water on the carpet. I knew immediately what had happend and immediately turned off the main water valve. This $10 alarm saved me thousands! I'm going out tomorrow to buy a couple more!
Pros: Reliable, cheap insurance!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Zozo
from Miami
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This device will save you thousands in water damage & repairs

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having a flood in my house from a toilet supply line which burst. I was told about this gadget which I went ahead and bought 2 to place in my home. since then I have bought about 8 to give away to family as this was another life saver under my kitchen sink which sprung a small leak and it beeped like it supposed to do and gave me a heads up before it became an issue.
Thanks to this I saved myself another potential repair. This is a no brainer to purchase several.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
guywithdrybasement
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It just went off!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well, my plumber was in my home and mentioned that he didn't see a "water alarm" in the basement. (3 weeks ago) He said for ten bucks I would be a fool not to have one. I bought one the next day, it sat around for a week until I put a 9v battery in, and then down to the basement it went. I put it by the sewer back flow opening, and BAM! this morning my wife calls me about the noise in the basement. Sewer backup! is was only wash water, but I don't go down there every day, and I would have had a basement full of poo. a massive cleanup was avoided,and we cleaned up with a paper towel or two. the plumber is there clearing the drain right now.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
majennin
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expandable Too

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well and easy to test with a little water or your hand. Since I was going to splice in some wire into the existing wire for a long run anyway, I wondered if I could add a "sensor". So I spliced in two more wires - 3 and 12 foot bell wire, wired in parallel - and then took two small pieces of wood and put screws in the blocks (spaced like the two contacts on the original sensor) and used them to secure the other ends of the wires. And it works ... if water hits either the original sensor or my two make shift ones the single base unit alarms. And now I've got coverage for an odd shaped space that includes a lift station and water heater for the cost of my time and the parts and pieces I keep in the shop.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
JULIE
from ILL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has great features

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAD CHECK OUT OTHER BRANDS AND THEY DID NOT HAVE WHAT I NEEDED.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Lash
from Utah

Basement WatchdogBattery-Operated Water Alarm

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It seems to work as I tested it, so hopefully it will not be needed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
LadyBug14
from Hazard, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, directions clear

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 because we had a water line break last year--we were home, upstairs at the time. Didn't hear it or realize it until there was several inches of water ruining carpet and furniture. I tested the alarm in a dish of water with a little bit of water--alarm sounded loud and clear. Put them where the break had occurred and next to the water heater. I feel much more comfortable now.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
andymand
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far, so good

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A few months back, I flushed a stopped-up toilet (hoping that the flush would dislodge the clog). In every case before then, the water would rise to within a couple inches of the rim of the bowl, the tank would stop filling, and it would either resolve itself or a couple more such flushes would dislodge it (or I'd break out the plunger).
This time, the gasket on the Mansfield valve had a wrinkle in it and the water never shut off. I saw the water mere minutes later, but the damage had been done.
Lots of towels, lots of fans, lots of enzymatic pet cleaner, and things are now back to normal.
But I vowed that the next time a leak happened, I'd know about it a lot sooner than when my foot squished on wet carpet, so I found these and bought three, one for each bathroom, and one for the kitchen sink.
A quick internet search revealed that not only were they highly rated by many users, but they were cheaper than competitors!
It took me a few weeks to get my act together and "install" them, but it literally took me a minute per unit.
The sensor detaches -- if you want -- and the cable reaches far enough that you could tuck the sensor somewhere and have the main unit somewhere else. I think I read about others splicing in very long runs of cable, although I have no idea why that would be important. I mean, heck, they're not that expensive!
I tested each one by touching two fingertips to the sensors and it made a loud-ish noise that made my dog wonder what was going on.
The only "complaint" I have is that there seems to be no built-in mechanism to warn you of a low battery. (I could be wrong; I didn't have a low battery to test that. But the package mentioned nothing about it and I figured they would have mentioned such a feature. I own another unit like this (which is in the laundry room -- of course, it was of no help during the toilet debacle) and every year or three, it beeps every few minutes and it takes me a week or so to figure out where the beeping is coming from and to replace the battery.) Anyway, such a feature would be a big plus.
The sensor seems to sit very low to the ground, so a small layer of water should trigger it, but testing it to make sure that it meets your needs seems like a prudent thing to do before relying on it to save your house from a problem like I experienced.
Oh, it won't do anything more than beep when the water comes. Don't expect it to turn off valves, call your neighbor, or erect a dam between your bathroom and the hallway -- it just will beep. If you're home, super. If not, it won't be terribly useful.
All that said, I now have trained myself that when the toilet is clogged up, I stick around the bathroom to make sure that the water filling the tank actually shuts off before I leave the room. So I guess these are a second layer of protection.
Anyway, good price, easy to "install", and small enough to stick in a corner of the bathroom or under the sink and to not worry about it until the battery dies. (To help with that, I made an annual calendar entry to remind me to check the batteries. That and I also made a note on a piece of tape with the date the battery was installed.)
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, small, relatively inexpensive
Cons: appears to have no low-battery warning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
TheFixer
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and has a flexable installation methods.

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it in a 55 gallon gravity feed chicken waterer. I put the contacts at the top of the barrel to let me know when to turn the water off in the filling process.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Mikep

Basic water alarm.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works like I thought it would. I did get a false alarm when humidity built up in the sump but I can't blame the product. Bottom line - it's worth what I paid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
LosAngelesBasementGuy
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my basement the first night

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sleep well, knowing the basement is dry. Before this alarm I would wake up during rainstorms to go check on the basement. Totally worth ten bucks.
At the end of February 2014 storms were predicted for Los Angeles and in the past, during heavy rains our basement has flooded. (Yes, some Angelenos have basements.) I purchased four of these (and four 9 volt batteries), placing them in the three places where water sometimes leaks. (The fourth was for the water heater closet!) The first night, it detected water before any damage had occurred & woke us up in time to make a fix.
-- it took about five minutes to install batteries and put the alarms in place
-- the ear-piercingly loud siren woke us up from across the house in a heavy downpour
-- they're simple and durable and look like they'll last for years
-- you can either set the box directly on the floor (as I did with three) or hang the speaker on the wall and extend the sensors six feet down to the floor. With a little speaker wire you could probably move the sensor even further but the alarm's loud enough to make that unnecessary.
-- it's a set-it-and-forget-it gadget, like a smoke detector. I figure I'll just put in new batteries on the same schedule as the smoke detectors.
The first night, one of the alarms woke us up! The gutter overflowed, sending water under the entry door to the basement. Before it had gotten very far we were able to soak it up and redirect the rainfall, saving our carpets and everything on the basement floor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, nice & loud, set it and forget it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Girlpower

This works great for my tenant

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and customer service was great......
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
Madie
from Macomb, Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Product does what it suppose to do.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. It has come in handy in the past for the sump pump. The power to house was out and the alarm reminded me of the sump pump so I connected the pump to the generator. Another time the sump pump quit working and the alarm sounded in plenty of time to change the pump.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
NoFloodTim
from Oak Hill, VA

If you use water... YOU NEED THIS!

PostedDecember 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's 5:00 AM. I hear the scream of an alarm. What is it? Fire? Gas? Break-in? Nope.... it's my water alarm I installed 2 years ago. All I did was install a lithium battery (for long life) and place it near the water heater. It is SO easy. If I didn't have this, I would have flooded the basement. I have since purchased another 7 units to place under my sinks, toilets, and refrigerator. It was loud enough to wake me up from 2 floors away, behind 3 separate closed doors, and with a fan running in my bedroom. My wife said I was silly to get this when I purchased it years ago. Needless to say... I now get to say "told ya so".
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
gt8649
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

versatile sensor

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Removable sensor (a few inches) allows positioning options.
Use a battery with a long shelf life - sensor is 'ready to
sound' for years.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Battery-Operated Water Alarm
SimplyHomeowner
from West Milford Township, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54

Product works as stated - it is an alarm

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought 2 of them before. Installed one on the floor near the water heater. The other one still in the package unused. This unit alerted me to water leaks on 3 occasions. The water heater started leaking, my washing machine over flowed and a water pipe leak. I had some clean up to do but not like what I had experienced a long time ago. The alarm served its purpose after the water from other leaks have travelled to reach the alarm by the water heater.
People have complained that it did not do the job with the unit being submerged in water. The bottom of the box where the probes are, has about 1 inch clearance where the electronics are mounted inside the box. If the unit gets submerged in water beyond that, the electronics "can" get wet and fail. Mount the box high and the probes low like what a reviewer did.
I have utilized the other alarm now with 3 probes for each alarm box in a specific basement area. The alarm box is mounted on the main floor joist so I can hear the alarm better on the main floor. The probes are just your basic 10-32 stainless steel screws, 1-1/2 apart, secured on insulating
material like plastic, definitely not on wood, one end of 18/2 lamp cord attached to the screws and
the other end spliced to the probe wires in parallel. Tested the setup by touching the probes and dipping in water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>