728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Flush Valve

Toilet Flush Valve

The American Standard Toilet Flush Valve features plastic construction and a counterbalance style. The flush valve includes a flapper, an O-ring gasket and mounting hardware. Like all American Standard products the Toilet Flush Valve is designed to function flawlessly and is built to last.
Overall rating:
4.425 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Toilet Flush Valve
Review 1 for Toilet Flush Valve
Floridasunshine
from Rockledge, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what was needed

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was delivered quickly and fixed the problem. This was the first repair to a 23 year old commode and the product was not available in stores. Very happy consumer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Flush Valve
DanaH
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was the answer to our problems!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were having a lot of issues with our American Standard one-piece toilet, which was an older model. It was seeping water between the tank and bowl, would not flush...This was the answer to all of our problems. Once we installed this part, we have not had a single problem again. Lifesaver!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Flush Valve
robc1

This item fixed a long time problem

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The right product at a fair price. It was easy to install. My toilet is as good as new. I did not want to replace my toilet for a new one. Saved a lot of cash
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Flush Valve
Keith

Product would be better if it included a fastener for the lift rod

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The part seems well-built enough, but there's no clip or fastener included to secure the chain to the flush handle lift rod. Because of that, I had to just tie it in a little knot and re-tie if periodically until I can locate an appropriate fastener. While it's a kind of small gripe, it's annoying to not have that component. Shipping was fast from Home Depot, but the item itself was the thing. Still, if you have a toilet like mine that won't accept "universal" kits, this is what we have to work with.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Flush Valve
Macabee18
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Updated Review

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I originally rated this product a one star. The product did not come with instructions. As I reported the toilet still leaked after I installed it over and over again. American Standard read my review and I was contacted by a rep. She gave me a phone number to call for help, Unfortunately, their hours of business does not work with my work schedule. So, I could not call them. I was in Home Depot last weekend buying parts for a leaky sink and was helped by Jon (Montgomery County Mall near Bethesda MD). I told him about our toilet problem and he gave me advice that finally fixed the problem. It turns out, it was not the product and the install caused the problem. The water fill line was to low in the tank and was acting like a siphon pulling water out of the tank into the bowl. So, I repositioned the water fill line and WHA LAH! No more leaking toilettes!!!! Thank you Jon for all you did. I upgraded my rating to a three because the product did not come with any instructions.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Flush Valve
Macabee18
from Rockville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still leaks into bowl!

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to replace a leaky valve. I have installed it and uninstalled it several times. It still does not seal properly. I cleaned the area where the gasket meets with CLR and scrubbed the heck out of the area. I watched several Youtube videos and it still leaks! I am not happy with this product. I could not find a customer service phone number to call for help. What a big waste of my time. I have had less expensive toilets that were easier to repair. Probably will not buy any American Standard products again.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Flush Valve
MaryTG
from California

perfect fit, easy installation

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own three American Standard toilets that are twenty or so years old. For the past several years, I have been trying to find replacement flush valves for them as slow leaks had developed over time. All generic units I tried were poor fits. When I found the genuine AS part on line, I was delighted. The part was a snap to install (took less than five minutes for everything) and stopped the slow leaks entirely. Very glad to have found the part at a reasonable price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Flush Valve
FlyBoy
from Boise
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May still leak

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This may be your last resort in stopping a slowly leaking American Standard. After replacing the entire valve and seat, the toilet still leaks although much more slowly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Flush Valve
Sequoiahealth

Does the Trick

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an easy install for an older toilet. Maybe a 5 minute job at the most. There is no flush handle retaining clip included for the chain to the flapper so beware.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Flush Valve
Rich
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product replaced the 50 year old original exactly

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would rate this item as a 99 out of 100. It would have been nice if the three rubber plugs for holes not used were furnished, but I was able to make them quite easily with nylon bolts and O-rings.
It worked fine once installed with no leaking through the seat.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions, needs guidance regarding method for timing close
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Flush Valve
diyerinOR
from OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall good

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
overall good, but some times it bounces after flush.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Flush Valve
marga54

This flush valve doesn't work as well as our original

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This flush valve doesn't work as well as our original flush valve that came with the toilet.
But it's not Home Depot fault, it's American Standard's fault.
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Flush Valve
katcee1
from Douglassville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The plastic ring is fabulous, the cost is dramatically less , all it needs is SS screws!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have replaced this part ~every three years, getting it at a plumbing supply AT A:MOST 4X THE COST (w/brass ring)!!! Minerals in my water kept destroying the brass....so the plastic ring is fabulous! The manufacturer should include SS screws instead of the brass and then everything would last longer. I had to add them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Flush Valve
dhe85222
from Arizona City, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

american standard toilet flush valve

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ease of installation was so simple. I have not had a problem with this part since installing it a month ago. The price paid was the lowest I could find on the web.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Flush Valve
SometimeHandy
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed easily and works well — in time

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions are clear and the installation was fairly easy. I was disappointed at first because it seemed to leak every so often as the rubber was not seating well. But then after about a week it quit altogether. Before the installation the leak was a constant irritant with the water coming on every hour or two to refill. After the installation the problem was not with the water coming on, but just that the tank would be empty when flush was attempted. The valve is designed to stop the cycling of the leak -refill routine. However, as I noted the leak stopped after about a week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Flush Valve
MrFlush
from Can Diego

Stop Leaks

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered 2 of these flushes to repair leaks in my American Standard toilets that use brass assembly. After installing the new plastic version they still have slow leak. I keep tightening them and trying to get the to seal. So far they still have slow leak. Frustrating. They should work perfectly as new and not leak. Hope they will eventually seal. I think it is the rubber stopper that is leaking,
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Flush Valve
CTaylor
from St Augustine, Florida

low profile 1 piece toilet flush valve

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works perfect for my American Standard Low Profile 1 piece toilet. I only had to increase the size of the drain hole built into the flush valve to shorten the flush time. Only took me 15 minutes to replace valve and make adjustments. This valve would not require any adjustments in a normal size toilet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Flush Valve
asdflkj1234

Genuine Part Finally Solved the Running Toilet

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I messed with this problem for too long because I didn't want to have to order the part on line. That was a mistake. The red, non-American Standard replacement flappers available in the store just didn't seal completely. Once this part arrived, I had it swapped out in about 2 minutes (I am generally horrible at DIY projects). On the test flush, I could feel the suction from a good seal between the flapper and the seat. No more running toilet. Note: this part worked well for my American Standard Elisse (model 2008) one piece, low profile toilet. Home Depot had a better online price for this part than other sites I checked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Flush Valve
Bachanaco
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Everything you need to get it fixed

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has solved my situation. Easy fix to a big headeache. It takes like 5 minutes to get it done,better than the metal original piece
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Flush Valve
FLHX
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Product was easy to install took about 10 min to inststallf . Would be nice if it was sold in the stores.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>