728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles

25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles

Royal Sovereign shingles combine a simple, timeless beauty with GAF’s Advanced Protection technology. Some people think all strip shingles look pretty much alike. Not so. At GAF, we’ve gone to great pains to make Royal Sovereign the most beautiful strip shingle you can install. But don’t just take our word for it. GAF asked an independent research firm to survey homeowners about whose 3-tab shingles they preferred. The result: More homeowners preferred the look of Royal Sovereign shingles to the other leading brands And the #1 reason cited by home owners. Royal Sovereign’s color blends.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Review 1 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Treeman
from Powers, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not satisfied

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I had over 130 squares installed in 2001 on a barn by an experienced contractor. They were good for about 8 years. Each year afterward on the south side of the building, I have shingles that blew off and had to be repaired. I also have leakage problems. Seems like they get brittle over time. The north side of the building is working fine so far. I bought the Marquis 30 year versions of this single which should be better than the Royal Soverign version. In summary, I would not recommend. Instead purchase a high rated shingle with a lifetime warranty or go with a metal roof if the conditions permit.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
johnnyat
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Shingle for the money....

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed these shingles myself two years ago. I had never done any roofing before but istallation was easy. Unlike the reviewer who installed these on a 60 degree day and had melting issues, I didn't have that problem. Some days it was in the high 70's low 80's. So far the shingles have gone through two Maine winters, this past one had above average snow and a lot of extreme wind, and I have had no issues, no leaks and no blown off shingles.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Economical
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
artiechoke
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product for the money

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was installed by professional and roof looks good and have had no problems since then.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
dave76
from pennsylvania

This shingle is a poorly made shingle.

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This shingle is a poorly made product, Out of 42 square of shingles, which is 122 bundles, 45 had to be returned due to defects, and poor manufacture shipping and packaging, Also numerous roofs in the area, the shingle is failing before it is near it's "lifetime" , we are talking within 8 yrs after application. Also have fun trying to gt them to actually come and look at their product when you call it in, and make sure it is put on per the wrapper , because if not they will state their warranty won't cover it, luckily for us we did applicate it that way. But after 6 months of water damage, why deal with them. highly recommend Owens corning or certain teed, at least they back their product with less headache.
+34points
44out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Sangoe
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Quality

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 9 yrs, I was losing shingles. Here I am 12 years after installation, and I am having a new roof put on. I have had about a half dozen people look at the roof, and they all said the quality was poor and they could not believe the roof needed to be replaced. The shingles were not sticking and were very brittle.
Good luck trying to get any type of refund.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
skybill
from Loveland, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Shingles Melted Underfoot on 60F Day

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We started laying the shingles on a 60F April day. The shingles melted under our feet causing ugly black spots all across 2 courses. Had to lay the shingles early morning and late afternoon. Very dissatisfied.
Had to remove 4 bundles. Submitted complaint to GAF but no satisfaction but much run-around.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: poor quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
forman
from connecticut
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a shinglers viewpoint

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
in personal experience 3 tab shingles may have a yearly warranty nearly close to arcs but in the end the product doesnt match up sometimes trying to save a buck only cost the customer money because face it the installer doesnt warranty the quality of the shingle
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Anonymous
from lawson Mo.

Roofing

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rofing was verry easy too install and has weathered wind rain snow and ice and some hail still looks like the day it was installed
+7points
26out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Tammy
from Sterling, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to put on and don't make a mess

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shingles were very easy to put on and the "clean up" was more from our soda bottles and sandwich wrappers than any scrap pieces of shingles! :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
donny
from Forked River, NJ 08731, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

3tab shingles

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This line of products are great easy to use durable I just got done putting a roof on a 1200 square foot house and let me tell you my experience with roofing is minimal but they look great went through a tropical storm and no leaks its a Great systems gaf has in place I love the look and so does my wife and the neighborhood
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
OGGE
from Memphis,Tn

Great Shingles

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Roof Shingles are great used the on my house.
-5points
18out of 41found this review helpful.