728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles

25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles

Royal Sovereign shingles combine a simple, timeless beauty with GAF’s Advanced Protection Technology. Some people think all strip shingles look pretty much alike. Not so. At GAF, we’ve gone to great pains to make Royal Sovereign the most beautiful strip shingle you can install. But don’t just take our word for it. GAF asked an independent research firm to survey homeowners about whose 3-tab shingles they preferred. The result: More homeowners preferred the look of Royal Sovereign shingles to the other leading brands And the #1 reason cited by home owners. Royal Sovereign’s color blends.
Overall rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product8 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product8 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Review 1 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles

Had to write due to a few negative reviews, mine are great 10 yrs later.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hello everyone, had a tree fall on my barn roof and had some roof repair to do. I built the barn 10 yrs ago and I had to pickup some replacement shingles. I had a bundle left that looks brand new, stored inside. After 10 yrs the color doesn't match, but that's to be expected. During the repairs of what I could do before picking up more, the shingles lifted up nicely with my prybar which is good evidence of shingles that still have a bit of life left in them. Old shingles get brittle, these were in great shape. Plenty of wind where I live in the northeast. If you have shade near your building, may take longer for shingles to adhere but I've had no problems with blow off or any other problems that neg reviewers have had. I haven't tried the new batch yet but I'm sure if you have a good structure and a proper install they're just like any other 3 tab. Not the prettiest, or longest lasting, but they last atleast 20 yrs and do their job. I doubt any shingles last what they warranty, same with buying car tires.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Powers, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not satisfied

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I had over 130 squares installed in 2001 on a barn by an experienced contractor. They were good for about 8 years. Each year afterward on the south side of the building, I have shingles that blew off and had to be repaired. I also have leakage problems. Seems like they get brittle over time. The north side of the building is working fine so far. I bought the Marquis 30 year versions of this single which should be better than the Royal Soverign version. In summary, I would not recommend. Instead purchase a high rated shingle with a lifetime warranty or go with a metal roof if the conditions permit.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Shingle for the money....

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed these shingles myself two years ago. I had never done any roofing before but istallation was easy. Unlike the reviewer who installed these on a 60 degree day and had melting issues, I didn't have that problem. Some days it was in the high 70's low 80's. So far the shingles have gone through two Maine winters, this past one had above average snow and a lot of extreme wind, and I have had no issues, no leaks and no blown off shingles.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Economical
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from charleston, sc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Started blistering within two weeks!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used these shingles in the Autumn Brown color to do some roof repairs. Every shingle in the pack that gets exposed to the sun is bubbling and blistering like crazy. Looks kind of like it has acne. You can believe the positive reviews if you want, but you have been warned!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from pennsylvania

This shingle is a poorly made shingle.

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This shingle is a poorly made product, Out of 42 square of shingles, which is 122 bundles, 45 had to be returned due to defects, and poor manufacture shipping and packaging, Also numerous roofs in the area, the shingle is failing before it is near it's "lifetime" , we are talking within 8 yrs after application. Also have fun trying to gt them to actually come and look at their product when you call it in, and make sure it is put on per the wrapper , because if not they will state their warranty won't cover it, luckily for us we did applicate it that way. But after 6 months of water damage, why deal with them. highly recommend Owens corning or certain teed, at least they back their product with less headache.
+41points
52out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Bought a bundle of these to patch with

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought a house with a bad roof leak around a lead jack that required some sheathing replacement.
The house was shingled with 50 year warranty Certain teed shingles that still had plenty of sand on them. Those were probably 250 LB shingles.
These GAF 3 tabs were the heaviest replacement I could find locally at 198 LBS so I bought a bundle to patch the repair. Had enough left over to do the roof of my well house.
The glue strips are good, any dark shingle left in the sun is going to have a sticky glue strip, you want that.
In cold climates a shingle in a shaded area may not stick and that can cause problems especially on roofs with a shallow pitch.
Applied to sheathing that is flat and receives sun these shingles lay down with no room for moisture to get under them freeze and break the shingle. The low profile is probably wind resistant as well.
The new dimensional style shingles have taken over as the premium shingle for durability but 3 tabs are easy to patch and can last 20 years if you don't mind going up on the roof periodically with some sticky roof adhesive.
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for our new porch

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great shingles, easy to put down. Price was good and we bought online and picked up in the store. The only downside was we went to the pickup area and the lady sent us to the wrong line , finally got in right line and then we had to walk to the other side of the store to get them, apparently the woman was too busy talking , she couldnt push a little cart with a few bundles of shingles down to us, But otherwise product is great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Quality

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 9 yrs, I was losing shingles. Here I am 12 years after installation, and I am having a new roof put on. I have had about a half dozen people look at the roof, and they all said the quality was poor and they could not believe the roof needed to be replaced. The shingles were not sticking and were very brittle.
Good luck trying to get any type of refund.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Loveland, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Shingles Melted Underfoot on 60F Day

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We started laying the shingles on a 60F April day. The shingles melted under our feet causing ugly black spots all across 2 courses. Had to lay the shingles early morning and late afternoon. Very dissatisfied.
Had to remove 4 bundles. Submitted complaint to GAF but no satisfaction but much run-around.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: poor quality
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from connecticut
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a shinglers viewpoint

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
in personal experience 3 tab shingles may have a yearly warranty nearly close to arcs but in the end the product doesnt match up sometimes trying to save a buck only cost the customer money because face it the installer doesnt warranty the quality of the shingle
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from lawson Mo.

Roofing

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This rofing was verry easy too install and has weathered wind rain snow and ice and some hail still looks like the day it was installed
+6points
26out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Memphis,Tn

Great Shingles

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Roof Shingles are great used the on my house.
-5points
18out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product for the money

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Item was installed by professional and roof looks good and have had no problems since then.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Sterling, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to put on and don't make a mess

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The shingles were very easy to put on and the "clean up" was more from our soda bottles and sandwich wrappers than any scrap pieces of shingles! :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
from Forked River, NJ 08731, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

3tab shingles

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This line of products are great easy to use durable I just got done putting a roof on a 1200 square foot house and let me tell you my experience with roofing is minimal but they look great went through a tropical storm and no leaks its a Great systems gaf has in place I love the look and so does my wife and the neighborhood
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 25-Year Royal Sovereign Charcoal 3-Tab Shingles
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5