728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

The ONE+ Reciprocating Saw delivers more productivity and better ergonomics for more control. The combination on this recip saw of the unique Anti-Vibe handle, which reduces fatigue during prolonged use and new and improved GripZone overmold for optimum grip and user comfort, make this saw a must-have tool for any size job. The adjustable, pivoting shoe allows greater depth control and more efficient use of the blade by moving to a less worn section. The variable speed trigger adds to the tools control with slow starts to line up the best cut and an electronic brake to stop the cutting quickly. It makes your job faster with up to 3,100 strokes per minute and a toolless blade clamp for quick and easy blade changes. Like all ONE+ items, this saw works with any 18V ONE+ battery. Upgrade to lithium-ion batteries for lighter weight and more performance.
Overall rating:
4.39 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product149 of 163reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(107)
4
(45)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product149 of 163reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this Tool!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love all of the Ryobi Tools! I use the Ryobi Reciprocating saw mostly got pruning the trees behind my house. Here is a video showing how to load a blade and me using it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Prescott AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little saw.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know we're talking battery powered here and very low price. I bought mine today and used it to finish tearing out a huge, over-built entertainment center today. It was a monster to take apart and built like Fort Knox. This little saw worked like a champ. I have two batteries from a prior kit, a large LI and a standard LI battery. The large lasted about an hour of heavy usage and the small, standard one about a half hour. The large charges in 45 minutes and the small in about a half hour. So, I didn't spend much time twiddling my thumbs. I've been impressed with my prior Ryobi tools and I'm impressed with this one too.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Roseville Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

i still can not believe i bought this

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had wanted a cheap set of cordless power tools to keep on my work truck, i go house to house in some pretty bad areas so i really did not want to spend a lot of money them in case they get stolen. i have never thought much of ryobi but this looked nice and felt nice so i decided to give this a try, i guess a certain hot and unpleasant place we all have heard has finally froze over, i cut up some scrap wood, metal and pvc just to get a feel for this machine and i am very impressed and this never made it to my truck, i am very impressed with the quality,comfort and price of this tool.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Spartanburg,SC.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

So very happy to be cord free in tight work areas.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The saw was easy to put into use the first time. Just follow the easy directions. Blade changes were so very simple and uncomplicated . A great tool. I'm pleased.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Jensen Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My husband really loves all the ryobi tools. He has almost all of them.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
He would not have any other brand. He loves it. He has several batteries so he can just switch them when needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Burlington, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would Definitely Buy Again

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Ryobi Drill & Impact kit for Christmas 6 months ago. I love them. Recently I discovered my corded reciprocating saw was missing and I needed to replace it. The light bulb went on when I realized I could spend $49 and buy just the saw and use my existing batteries & charger. Honestly, I didn't expect much power from this saw but I was pleasantly surprised. It did everything I needed. My only issue was that during a heavy job I had to wait for the batteries to cool before they would recharge. I am not a contractor and would not normally work the machine that hard. If I was I would happily buy several more batteries & another charger. I love this saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, good design, quick and easy blade replacement. Great tool for the home owner or light duty construction work. This is the 6th deferent ONE+ tool purchased in the past year and satisfied with them all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not varible speed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Maui, Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The older model was better

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw only because my older model would no longer hold a blade. I have a fair investment in Ryobi tools and batteries, so I'm pretty much "stuck" with buying Ryobi cordless tools.
If you use this saw with two hands, it works very well. I get enough run time with Ryobi's large lithium batteries. I'd give it five stars if I used it this way.
However, I often use the saw to trim trees/bushes and to cut fallen branches, so I often hold the saw with one hand. The older model - a blue-colored saw that came with a large set of then nicad based tools - had the battery located just below the handle of the saw. This made it very easy to maneuver
with minimal strain on the wrist, and with the introduction of the lithium batteries I couldn't ask for more.
The battery in this new model lies a bit in front of the handle, which places much more strain on your wrist. I find this newer model much less comfortable to work with. It works fine - it's just not as comfortable. IMO the redesign is a classic case of "form over function". I'm actually a little surprised about how highly this item is rated - maybe it's just because I had experience with the older model - or maybe it's just supposed to always be used with two hands on the saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: terrible redesign of a good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

Great saw for a reasonable price

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this saw to cut exhaust off vehicle, cut down old fences and make short order of tree trimming. My old corded reciporcating saw rarely is used as the Ryobi cordless unit can tackle almost any job and is so convenient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from phoenix, az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi saw

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
replacement for stolen saw, addition to a bag of Ryobi power tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Villanow, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I did not like it.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all, the blades do not fit snugly in the clamp and move up/down .I purchased the saw to further cut up tree branches. After making 3 cuts on a <4" limb my hand was cramping for 30 minutes. I returned for a refund and ordered the Ryobi cordless chainsaw online.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, blades wiggle up/down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Remarkably, a Job Site Worthy Tool 100%

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working on demolition of a small warehouse, I needed a Reciprocating Saw in a hurry. I went to the local HD and looked at a few and bought this one because of the price. I half expected to have to take advantage of the warranty, but after two weeks and a few dozen blades this thing was still going strong. We were cutting, wood studs, drywall, conduit, and metal piping.
overall, a few things i liked about it; alot of cutting was overhead, and the weight was nice and manageable. The blade change is super easy, and it survived a few drops from about 12'.
the only gripe i really had at all was it drinks batteries fast. Be sure to have more than on battery ready to go, it drains the standard battery down pretty quick.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: uses battery very fast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have addition for any DIY

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit does not consume loads of power and cuts through wood like it was butter. The blades lock in well and are available from a variety of suppliers. I am using the 4x battery pack with it and after some 15 minutes of cutting the pack still showed full charge.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lampasas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ready to CONQUER!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This may go down as one of our best purchases ever...We got it to saw down small cedar trees in the pasture, and have now thought of MANY uses for this now that we are buying an old farmhouse to remodel...We were VERY pleased with ALL aspects of this purchase- price, quality, ease of use, effectiveness.... I highly recommend! Also, it recharges quickly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A tank

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All right so one day looking for my sawzall I remembered the last thing I did with it cut up trees. Accidentally left it outside uncovered for 2 months, and in those months we got rain slush ice and snow. On top of that the battery was in it so I found it laying there in the mud hit the battery gauge 3/4 full and the sawzall still works like the day it was new
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from st louis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ease of use is the best as is all ryobi 18v tools

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the only problem I have had is that the saw blade does not want to stay in the saw when sawing some materials.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: clamp for blade needs to be stronger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Florence, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very durable and effective for a battery operated tool. I would buy again if needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from The Villages , florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good tool

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the saw had lots of power and came with 2 blades, one for metal the other for wood
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really needed this.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Drill, great price! I enjoy DIY and this drill works very well for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleasantly Surprised

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been very pleasantly surprised with the Ryobi 18V cordless reciprocating saw. I bought it in a mini-emergency so I didn't have a lot of time to research it. It was cordless and a great price in comparison to some other brands so I gave it a shot.
I've had it for about a month now and it has served me well. I've used it to cut an old piano in half (to make it lighter to take to the dump), trim trees, cut metal...and it's done a very good job.
It's not perfect but definitely worth the money. Some small cons with it:
- the safety switch is in a bit of an awkward spot so it's sometimes harder to engage the saw when your hand gets tired (not that big of a deal though, just an annoyance)
- after 20 or 30 minutes you'll need to take a break so your hands can recover from all the vibration
It's definitely a tool meant for the homeowner and not of commercial-grade but you're not paying a commercial-grade price either. For the casual homeowner this is a pretty good investment, especially if you own any other 18V One+ tools since the batteries are interchangeable between devices. With the standard 18V Lithium-Ion battery I get 20 - 30 minutes of cutting time out of it. With the high-capacity 18V battery (a separate purchase) I get easily double that time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, good price
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>