728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

The ONE+ Reciprocating Saw delivers more productivity and better ergonomics for more control. The combination on this recip saw of the unique Anti-Vibe handle, which reduces fatigue during prolonged use and new and improved GripZone overmold for optimum grip and user comfort, make this saw a must-have tool for any size job. The adjustable, pivoting shoe allows greater depth control and more efficient use of the blade by moving to a less worn section. The variable speed trigger adds to the tools control with slow starts to line up the best cut and an electronic brake to stop the cutting quickly. It makes your job faster with up to 3,100 strokes per minute and a toolless blade clamp for quick and easy blade changes. Like all ONE+ items, this saw works with any 18V ONE+ battery. Upgrade to lithium-ion batteries for lighter weight and more performance. <br /><br /><center><img src="https://s3.amazonaws.com/HomeDepot1/Ryobi-18-Volt-Lithium-Ion-Battery.jpg"></center>
Overall rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product145 of 158reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(105)
4
(44)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product145 of 158reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this Tool!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love all of the Ryobi Tools! I use the Ryobi Reciprocating saw mostly got pruning the trees behind my house. Here is a video showing how to load a blade and me using it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Prescott AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little saw.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know we're talking battery powered here and very low price. I bought mine today and used it to finish tearing out a huge, over-built entertainment center today. It was a monster to take apart and built like Fort Knox. This little saw worked like a champ. I have two batteries from a prior kit, a large LI and a standard LI battery. The large lasted about an hour of heavy usage and the small, standard one about a half hour. The large charges in 45 minutes and the small in about a half hour. So, I didn't spend much time twiddling my thumbs. I've been impressed with my prior Ryobi tools and I'm impressed with this one too.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, good design, quick and easy blade replacement. Great tool for the home owner or light duty construction work. This is the 6th deferent ONE+ tool purchased in the past year and satisfied with them all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not varible speed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Roseville Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

i still can not believe i bought this

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had wanted a cheap set of cordless power tools to keep on my work truck, i go house to house in some pretty bad areas so i really did not want to spend a lot of money them in case they get stolen. i have never thought much of ryobi but this looked nice and felt nice so i decided to give this a try, i guess a certain hot and unpleasant place we all have heard has finally froze over, i cut up some scrap wood, metal and pvc just to get a feel for this machine and i am very impressed and this never made it to my truck, i am very impressed with the quality,comfort and price of this tool.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Burlington, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would Definitely Buy Again

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Ryobi Drill & Impact kit for Christmas 6 months ago. I love them. Recently I discovered my corded reciprocating saw was missing and I needed to replace it. The light bulb went on when I realized I could spend $49 and buy just the saw and use my existing batteries & charger. Honestly, I didn't expect much power from this saw but I was pleasantly surprised. It did everything I needed. My only issue was that during a heavy job I had to wait for the batteries to cool before they would recharge. I am not a contractor and would not normally work the machine that hard. If I was I would happily buy several more batteries & another charger. I love this saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have addition for any DIY

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit does not consume loads of power and cuts through wood like it was butter. The blades lock in well and are available from a variety of suppliers. I am using the 4x battery pack with it and after some 15 minutes of cutting the pack still showed full charge.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Spartanburg,SC.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

So very happy to be cord free in tight work areas.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The saw was easy to put into use the first time. Just follow the easy directions. Blade changes were so very simple and uncomplicated . A great tool. I'm pleased.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lampasas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ready to CONQUER!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This may go down as one of our best purchases ever...We got it to saw down small cedar trees in the pasture, and have now thought of MANY uses for this now that we are buying an old farmhouse to remodel...We were VERY pleased with ALL aspects of this purchase- price, quality, ease of use, effectiveness.... I highly recommend! Also, it recharges quickly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from st louis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ease of use is the best as is all ryobi 18v tools

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the only problem I have had is that the saw blade does not want to stay in the saw when sawing some materials.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: clamp for blade needs to be stronger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Florence, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very durable and effective for a battery operated tool. I would buy again if needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from The Villages , florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good tool

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the saw had lots of power and came with 2 blades, one for metal the other for wood
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really needed this.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Drill, great price! I enjoy DIY and this drill works very well for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Remarkably, a Job Site Worthy Tool 100%

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working on demolition of a small warehouse, I needed a Reciprocating Saw in a hurry. I went to the local HD and looked at a few and bought this one because of the price. I half expected to have to take advantage of the warranty, but after two weeks and a few dozen blades this thing was still going strong. We were cutting, wood studs, drywall, conduit, and metal piping.
overall, a few things i liked about it; alot of cutting was overhead, and the weight was nice and manageable. The blade change is super easy, and it survived a few drops from about 12'.
the only gripe i really had at all was it drinks batteries fast. Be sure to have more than on battery ready to go, it drains the standard battery down pretty quick.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: uses battery very fast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Redondo Beach, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the best tools in the ONE+ line...

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was on the fence about the ONE+ line of tools until I bought the 18ga brad nailer. Wonderful tool for trim and molding. That good experience has gotten me to try others in the line.
So, while I wouldn't ordinarily expect a lot from a $50 recip, this tool surprised the heck out of me. I needed it to demo out some galvanized 2" schedule 40 in a couple of tight locations. I half expected the saw to either be a) not powerful enough to get through the pipe, or b) need battery swap halfway through cutting. Not even close on either count... It was more than powerful enough the blast through the pipe, and the battery didn't even get that warm.
Also, because the thing is light and small and has no cord, I was able to stand on a ladder, snake my arms through a 4 inch slot in the ceiling to reach above the joists and cut off the pipe above that. Saved me from having to crawl into a VERY tight attic space in the middle of the night (since during the day, the attic is over 100 easy). I think I could have done it with a corded saw too, but it would have been a much bigger pain with the weight of 9 feet of cord weighing down the end of the saw...
I just got this thing a couple of days ago, so I can't say if the build quality will stand the test of time and use. But for $50, I'll just buy another when this one dies.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male

Perfect for the price

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comes with 2 blades and changing them is easy. Have used it a lot with no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Forked River, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use my reciprocating saw constantly. I own a landscaping company and use it to cut around roots down in the ground before pulling shrubs out of the ground. It goes down to ground level with blade in the soil and rocks. It is wonderful. I use it to cut tree limbs and bigger branches. My last one lasted through 12 years of abuse. I hope this one lasts as long.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw does a very good job with both the stock blade as well as with second party blades. I did, however, find that even with a LiOn battery, it ran through the charge sooner than I expected.
This does not really take away from the overall utility and quality of the saw. It did its job well, is light and well-balanced and cut through a 6X6 landscape timber with ease. I keep buying the Ryobi ONE+ tools because they are just at the right place between a cheap tool and contractor-grade.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A tank

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All right so one day looking for my sawzall I remembered the last thing I did with it cut up trees. Accidentally left it outside uncovered for 2 months, and in those months we got rain slush ice and snow. On top of that the battery was in it so I found it laying there in the mud hit the battery gauge 3/4 full and the sawzall still works like the day it was new
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

Great value

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Price without batteries may seem a bit high but the battery is standard and fits multiple Ryobi devices. Battery charged quickly in the dock included in the charging pack. It was easy to setup. The included blades are basic and I'm glad I paid heed to the CSR at the store and purchased better blades (Diablo 9" blades). The saw made quick work of a mail post (nails and all) that I trimmed to fit a plastic post cover. Also used the saw to cut some links from a chain link. Overall, easy to use and good value for money for the DIYer.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from North Olmsted Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked really well.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No assembly required, out of the box and ready to go.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>