728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)

The ONE+ Reciprocating Saw delivers more productivity and better ergonomics for more control. The combination on this recip saw of the unique Anti-Vibe handle, which reduces fatigue during prolonged use and new and improved GripZone overmold for optimum grip and user comfort, make this saw a must-have tool for any size job. The adjustable, pivoting shoe allows greater depth control and more efficient use of the blade by moving to a less worn section. The variable speed trigger adds to the tools control with slow starts to line up the best cut and an electronic brake to stop the cutting quickly. It makes your job faster with up to 3,100 strokes per minute and a toolless blade clamp for quick and easy blade changes. Like all ONE+ items, this saw works with any 18V ONE+ battery. Upgrade to lithium-ion batteries for lighter weight and more performance. <br /><br /><center><img src="https://s3.amazonaws.com/HomeDepot1/Ryobi-18-Volt-Lithium-Ion-Battery.jpg"></center>
Overall rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product124 of 135reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(90)
4
(38)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product124 of 135reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
toy2g
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Remarkably, a Job Site Worthy Tool 100%

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working on demolition of a small warehouse, I needed a Reciprocating Saw in a hurry. I went to the local HD and looked at a few and bought this one because of the price. I half expected to have to take advantage of the warranty, but after two weeks and a few dozen blades this thing was still going strong. We were cutting, wood studs, drywall, conduit, and metal piping.
overall, a few things i liked about it; alot of cutting was overhead, and the weight was nice and manageable. The blade change is super easy, and it survived a few drops from about 12'.
the only gripe i really had at all was it drinks batteries fast. Be sure to have more than on battery ready to go, it drains the standard battery down pretty quick.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: uses battery very fast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Earlhvac
from Oak Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is easy to use with a fast recharchable battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Daniel
from Prescott AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little saw.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know we're talking battery powered here and very low price. I bought mine today and used it to finish tearing out a huge, over-built entertainment center today. It was a monster to take apart and built like Fort Knox. This little saw worked like a champ. I have two batteries from a prior kit, a large LI and a standard LI battery. The large lasted about an hour of heavy usage and the small, standard one about a half hour. The large charges in 45 minutes and the small in about a half hour. So, I didn't spend much time twiddling my thumbs. I've been impressed with my prior Ryobi tools and I'm impressed with this one too.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
AlanH
from Burlington, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would Definitely Buy Again

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Ryobi Drill & Impact kit for Christmas 6 months ago. I love them. Recently I discovered my corded reciprocating saw was missing and I needed to replace it. The light bulb went on when I realized I could spend $49 and buy just the saw and use my existing batteries & charger. Honestly, I didn't expect much power from this saw but I was pleasantly surprised. It did everything I needed. My only issue was that during a heavy job I had to wait for the batteries to cool before they would recharge. I am not a contractor and would not normally work the machine that hard. If I was I would happily buy several more batteries & another charger. I love this saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Hawkeye
from Burke, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works well so far; used it once on an outdoor job & portability was a plus. Does not come with battery & charger, which adds to the cost. If you have another Ryobi cordless, you would already have these. Also can only buy batteries in pairs (at least at the store I use).Personally I want a charged battery in each device .Has a good blade release lock, which is nice if you use different blades one same job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Portable, good quick release lock for blade change
Cons: have to buy battery & charger if you don't have
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
woodworker48066
from Roseville Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

i still can not believe i bought this

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had wanted a cheap set of cordless power tools to keep on my work truck, i go house to house in some pretty bad areas so i really did not want to spend a lot of money them in case they get stolen. i have never thought much of ryobi but this looked nice and felt nice so i decided to give this a try, i guess a certain hot and unpleasant place we all have heard has finally froze over, i cut up some scrap wood, metal and pvc just to get a feel for this machine and i am very impressed and this never made it to my truck, i am very impressed with the quality,comfort and price of this tool.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
GaryG
from Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saw has great power.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It has been a great addition to my tool box.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Medic1904
from Canton N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good saw for the money

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to change blades and runs a long time on a charge.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
tigjr
from Bountiful, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw works well. Love working with tools that use my Roybi lithium batteries. Keep up the good work Ryobi.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
MattVan

Great Value and gets the job done

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryobi has really come a long way with the newer line of tools. Obviously if you are a contractor, you are not buying Ryobi, but I am remodeling my entire house and have been doing handyman jobs off and on and felt that their new line of tools have been more than adequate. The blade is terrible, buy the Diablo pack, but still a great buy overall.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Karl
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My First Reciprocating Saw

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My primary reason for this purchase is to prune branches on shrubs and trees. It works well. I would assume that it would work equally well with metals or composite materials. Cordless really helps with portability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
ekharrl
from Ola
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very handy to use

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband has used this product several times already and is delighted with the compact size, light weight, and battery use time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
signman
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price does the job well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
price A, ease of use A, Nice product for the price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: safety hard to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Dempsey
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleasantly Surprised

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been very pleasantly surprised with the Ryobi 18V cordless reciprocating saw. I bought it in a mini-emergency so I didn't have a lot of time to research it. It was cordless and a great price in comparison to some other brands so I gave it a shot.
I've had it for about a month now and it has served me well. I've used it to cut an old piano in half (to make it lighter to take to the dump), trim trees, cut metal...and it's done a very good job.
It's not perfect but definitely worth the money. Some small cons with it:
- the safety switch is in a bit of an awkward spot so it's sometimes harder to engage the saw when your hand gets tired (not that big of a deal though, just an annoyance)
- after 20 or 30 minutes you'll need to take a break so your hands can recover from all the vibration
It's definitely a tool meant for the homeowner and not of commercial-grade but you're not paying a commercial-grade price either. For the casual homeowner this is a pretty good investment, especially if you own any other 18V One+ tools since the batteries are interchangeable between devices. With the standard 18V Lithium-Ion battery I get 20 - 30 minutes of cutting time out of it. With the high-capacity 18V battery (a separate purchase) I get easily double that time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, good price
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Moon72
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible saw

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't cut very good unless u applied a lot of pressure which of coarse bent the blade. I returned it.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
InTheDark
from West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Saw

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these Ryobi saws in a kit that came with an 18v drill and flashlight about 6-7 years ago for around $150. I am amazed at the amount of work that this battery operated saw was able to perform for me. I used it extensively in a variety of different home remodels where I needed to tear out drywall and studs and build new walls. I've also used it a good deal around my property cutting tree limbs and such. Unfortunately my original saw, battery, and extra battery I purchased were stolen a few weeks ago so I ended up purchasing new ones recently. I seriously could not expect any more out of the saw as it experienced heavy duty use for 6+ years and the batteries still held a decent charge.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
DFhan
from Mesa AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is intended to do.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does small jobs well using the correct blade. Batteries do not last very long. When doing a large job a Professional saw is required. It sure saves me a lot of time for those little jobs. Don't have to hassle with the cord. Very light and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Bigfarmer34
from Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A tank

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All right so one day looking for my sawzall I remembered the last thing I did with it cut up trees. Accidentally left it outside uncovered for 2 months, and in those months we got rain slush ice and snow. On top of that the battery was in it so I found it laying there in the mud hit the battery gauge 3/4 full and the sawzall still works like the day it was new
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
Rick
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw! Light, powerful, and works well. It is light enough to use while on ladders and has the power to get the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool Only)
RickinTN
from CORDOVA, TN 38018, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Received as promised & works great.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I selected this saw because it suits my do DIY home needs. The price & brand name with Home Depot support was a great decision!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>