728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

The ONE+ Reciprocating Saw delivers better productivity and ergonomics for more control. The combination of the unique Anti-Vibe handle, which reduces fatigue during prolonged use, and the enhanced GripZone overmold for optimum grip and user comfort, makes this saw a must-have for any sized job. The adjustable, pivoting shoe allows greater depth control and more efficient use of the blade by moving to a less worn section. The variable-speed trigger adds to the tool's control with slow starts to line up the best cut, as well as an electronic brake to quickly stop the cutting.
Overall rating:
4.371 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(245 reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product215 of 236reviews
Rating Breakdown 245 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(151)
4
(65)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product215 of 236reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

A bit of a let down

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use this saw daily primarily to cut through nail embedded wood. I admit I am probably a little harder on this saw than most DIY'ers. I use this saw to break apart multiple pallets each and every day. I am on my second one within 5 weeks. The first one the motor burned out. After about 5 to 10 minutes of use the saw is almost to hot to even hold onto. I gave this a 3 star review not because of the saw but because Home Depot's staff are terrific. Do yourself a favor if you are looking for a saw for daily use, spend a little more and get a higher quality saw. To be fair if you only plan on the occasional use this saw would be perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Prescott AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little saw.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I know we're talking battery powered here and very low price. I bought mine today and used it to finish tearing out a huge, over-built entertainment center today. It was a monster to take apart and built like Fort Knox. This little saw worked like a champ. I have two batteries from a prior kit, a large LI and a standard LI battery. The large lasted about an hour of heavy usage and the small, standard one about a half hour. The large charges in 45 minutes and the small in about a half hour. So, I didn't spend much time twiddling my thumbs. I've been impressed with my prior Ryobi tools and I'm impressed with this one too.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Batteries Do Not Last

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would be a relatively good product for a home user except that the batteries do not last. The saw will deplete a fully charged battery within five to ten minutes. In practice, you can saw through about two maybe three 2x4s before the battery needs to be charged again. In other words, there isn't enough capacity to cut a standard door opening without having at least 3 batteries ready and fully charged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Washington state
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pathetic battery life

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Ryobi P511 Reciprocating Saw has a few good features
1) good weight
2) easy to maneuver
3) works well with a fully charged battery
The bad news is the battery life maybe 10 - 15 minutes under a heavy load. It makes me wonder what kind of work the rave reviewers were doing? Perhaps the 2 batteries I have are duds. Anyhow, I'm asking for a refund and moving to another brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from ASHLAND, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic addition to my arsenal of tools.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was concerned that this saw would lack power, but have had no problem cutting 2x materials, and use it out in the yard pruning trees.
Pros: Light Weight, cordless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Roseville Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

i still can not believe i bought this

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i had wanted a cheap set of cordless power tools to keep on my work truck, i go house to house in some pretty bad areas so i really did not want to spend a lot of money them in case they get stolen. i have never thought much of ryobi but this looked nice and felt nice so i decided to give this a try, i guess a certain hot and unpleasant place we all have heard has finally froze over, i cut up some scrap wood, metal and pvc just to get a feel for this machine and i am very impressed and this never made it to my truck, i am very impressed with the quality,comfort and price of this tool.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from FORT PIERCE, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RELIABLE TOOL

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I HAVE ALL RYOBI TOOLS AND USE THIS TOOL EVERY DAY, IT'S DURABLE AND TAKES ON THE HARDEST JOBS WITH OUT FIGHTING BACK. I HAVE THE ONE I WORE OUT ABOUT 6 YEARS, I REALLY LIKE THE TYPE OF TOOLS ALL TAKE THE SAME ONE + BATTERY. MORE THAN OTHER BRANDS, I.E. ROUTER, PLANNER, AND VACUUM FOR WORKING ON DOOR FRAMES. THE ONE + TOOL OF THE FUTURE IS HERE TODAY.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this Tool!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love all of the Ryobi Tools! I use the Ryobi Reciprocating saw mostly got pruning the trees behind my house. Here is a video showing how to load a blade and me using it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for a DIY'er

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought one of these to tear up some old wood pallets. While I like that it's cordless, along with other Ryobi tools I have, it's really an occasional use reciprocating saw due to the short battery life. I was able to cut the nails down on 1 1/2 pallets before needing to re-charge. Yes, the battery can be charged in 30 minutes but if you're using this saw for a large project and need constant power, I'd go with a corded saw.
I found that the blade kept coming out of the saw and either got stuck in the wood or fell on the ground. I've used other saws in the past and never had that problem.
Maybe this is just me, but I wish the lock-off button was a tiny bit lower. I found it awkward to hold sometimes. I have small hands so that could be why I struggled a little.
All in all, I'd recommend it to a DIY'er who would use it for various projects. It's a good price if you already have the 18-volt-one battery from other Ryobi tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tools tnat get the job done

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw comes ready to use. Just insert a battery. it is light weight, cuts as fast and easy as my old corded saw. Use the big batteries and it runs a long time. Ryobi makes excellent products.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Albany, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Homeowner Tool

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
OK for occasional use. But don't rely on it.
Fair value for the price.
But if it fails, store staff says to call the manufacturer.
The extra cost for a better tool seems cheap when you're up on a ladder and the cheaper tool breaks - or when you can't simply get a replacement.
I will be on my third one this year, if I don't just switch to another brand.
Suggest this is a handy item for occasional use.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Exactly what I needed, and for a great price. easy to put up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Ocala FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst purchase ever

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked good until it ruined all 3 of my Lith batteries, in about 30 mins. After using the bats and then charging them 2 times, the saw would only run for a few seconds and then stop, even tho the batteries we fully charged. I let them cool down and the next day, same thing. They would only run for a few seconds and then stop. So I tried all the Bats in my drill and impact motors and same thing. no run. Took everything back and got my money back. While I was in the return line I noticed 4 other Ryobi tools behind the counter that had been returned also. Got my money back and purchased another Milwaukee set. My other Milwaukee set lasted for 10 years.... they still run good but they need bearings and batts I thought I could save money by buying a cheaper brand LOL what a joke.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Alway used ryobi tools and never had a problem

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The drill is easy to use and the new features are an inprovement
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: non
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Des Moines , Ia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Much better revised design - great tool glad to see finally

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
like the New design and speed glad to see co. thinking
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Kent,WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for a DYIer

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as described good value for the price. The 18-Volt One+ Cordless tools are definitely worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from San Antonio, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much needed saw

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Sawzall looks very sturdy and will be used starting next week when we close on a Fannie Mae home and start some minor renovations which will require cutting thru building studs with nails, etc. I have purchased numerous saw blades in prep for the work. I am sure it will save me hours of labor.
Buzz
San Antonio, FL
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)

ryobi recip

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Powerful lil saw for battery powered. I like it. Recommend it for your one plus tool set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Burlington, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would Definitely Buy Again

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received the Ryobi Drill & Impact kit for Christmas 6 months ago. I love them. Recently I discovered my corded reciprocating saw was missing and I needed to replace it. The light bulb went on when I realized I could spend $49 and buy just the saw and use my existing batteries & charger. Honestly, I didn't expect much power from this saw but I was pleasantly surprised. It did everything I needed. My only issue was that during a heavy job I had to wait for the batteries to cool before they would recharge. I am not a contractor and would not normally work the machine that hard. If I was I would happily buy several more batteries & another charger. I love this saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ Cordless Reciprocating Saw (Tool-Only)
from Jesup, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a replacement for the old Reciprocating Ryobi saw (blue) that after years I wore out. It seem as good if not better I have 5 batteries and use it for heavy pruning
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>