728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for AC225S Arc Welder

AC225S Arc Welder

The Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder features a broad welding amperage range of 40 - 225 amps for versatile use. Designed for operation with metals 16 gauge and heavier. This powerful welder features a smooth AC arc and can be used with a wide variety of metals, including steel, cast iron and stainless steel.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product24 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product24 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for AC225S Arc Welder
Review 1 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Purchased THIS welder OVER 25 Years ago and, STILL WELDS GREAT!!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased THIS welder OVER 25 years ago and, STILL welds GREAT!!!
I have had Trucks all my adult life and, heavy equipment too for a while. Never been a "wealthy" man so I have always bought used equipment and, fixed it myself! And, I can tell you first hand THIS Welder HAS the POWER to penetrate HEAVY Metal! Always be sure to clean ALL your surfaces! (ground too)
The Trick to getting it to Stick is PENETRATION!!
The ONLY other thing I can say is that I have never had any formal training as a welder but, I NEVER had ANY weld fail. NEVER! Again the trick is PENETRATION and, CLEAN your surfaces!
That being said, many "REAL" welders (like certified ones) have told me that IF I liked welding with THIS welder I should try the AC/DC version. They ALL say the DC welder works better and, is easier and, makes a nicer weld. Well after I returned to Pittsburgh from NC. I went to work for one of the local trucking companies and, they had an AC/DC version of this welder and, I used it many times and, I can NOT honestly tell you that I noticed any appreciable difference what so ever. Maybe it might have been a little easier to get the rod started. But, I never really had any trouble getting a rod started anyway.
Please DO NOT HESITATE for one second. THIS IS A GREAT WELDER! It has NEVER let me down!! NOT EVER!! 26 years atleast! And, I have NOT been nice to it either! Run it hard and, long and, under harsh conditions too! NEVER a problem. GREAT WELDER!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AC225S Arc Welder
from West Mifflin PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AC225S ARC WELDER

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this welder for the shop. Everything was as advertised and works great. Of course these welders have been around forever and I wouldnt expect anything less.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this is a good product

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great welder.I just bought my 2nd one,my 1st one was over 40 yrs old,however I believe they could be less greedy about there lead cables.Unless you add longer ones they are pretty much worthless you have to hover over your welder to work on anything.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Bay Shore, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, powerful, quality and great value.

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this welder from my local Home Depot and it exceeded my expectations. You can't find a better value anywhere. Straight forward layout. Strikes an arc with ease. Built to last. It's everything you'll ever need to do most welding projects and it won't suck your wallet dry. This is Lincoln's best selling model of all time...and if you purchase one you'll see why. Novice or pro...you'll be very pleased. Nowadays it's hard to find a good quality product that does the job it was intended to do and doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Kudos to Lincoln and Home Depot. Would recommend this welder in a heartbeat.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AC225S Arc Welder
from DeSoto, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Certainly out-performs my old welder by far.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the features better than my old welder. Unit activates immediately, no waiting. Burns clean. Leaves good weld.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no complaints
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Mendenhall, MS 39114, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like the ease of operation.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A very good welder for general on the farm repairs.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Beryl,ut

Lincoln AC225S Welder

PostedJune 21, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we looked at a lot of welders before buying a welder at The home depot and glad we did this is one of the best welders I have use in my life and I have work on a farm and use all kinds of welders over the years and you can not beat The home depot Price on this welder. Thank You home depot
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AC225S Arc Welder
from GA

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My brother-in -law bought this for his dad for his b-day and absolutely loves it! I am going to buy for my husband for Christmas so he doesn't have to borrow his anymore!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Arkansas

best i've used

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
must say i'm very well pleased with this products it' easy to use and job it does. i never had any problems with it breaking down.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Apopka Fl

NIce Welder

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as my first welder..and its been very nice so far. I like the rugged design. Its very powerful too, I had the setting on 120amps and it cut strait through a bed frame which I was using to practice on.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Tulsa, OK

Still the Best!

PostedAugust 5, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several AC welders, and the Lincoln is still among the best, simple, rugged and dependable and Home Depot's price can't be beat.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This welder is "The Machine To Have."

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When it comes to welding, weather it is a new project or repair job, this machine excels at it, you do not have to worry about it letting you down. With the wide selections of electrodes available, even aluminum can be stick welded with it now. I've welded many times over the years with this machine, and when I got my shop at home, I bought this great machine for my new shop. It's dependability, ease of use, and wide selection of uses will keep this welder a staple in most shops. You can buy a more complicated and expensive welder, but not a BETTER WELDER! Home Depot has it at the best price around, and all the accessories you need, such as the correct electrodes, etc. You will surely be more than happy with this machine.
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Belen, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

although they've gone up a little in price, they're still a great deal.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got the item, but I'm familiar with the 225AC Lincoln arc welders. They've been around since Adam and haven't changed a stitch. I would describe them as tough, dependable, versatile and economical. I wouldn't consider buying a Chinese knockoff just to save a few bucks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Hamilton, AL

Lincoln AC225S

PostedSeptember 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model welder by Lincoln has been around for at least 40 years as it's the same dependable, easy to operate machine that it was when I was in high school ag class. For a model to be produced for that long, there has to be good reasons. Some of those reasons are that it's economically priced. It's easy to use. Plug it in and go to welding. Rods and helmet are included so you can go to work fast. And it's backed by the Lincoln name, one of the oldest and best on the market. I really like mine and would buy another if I didn't have one.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT LITTLE WELDER!!!!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this little welder to be above what was exspected by me. I am more than happy with it's performance!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AC225S Arc Welder

The best

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, no problems after 5 years on thick steel
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Linden,In.

AC225S Welder

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this welder at work and sence I have Retired I am going to use it for hobby and small jobs.
Thank you for all the your Product has ben proven too stand the test of time..
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AC225S Arc Welder
from Maine

Excellent product

PostedJune 9, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Powerful enough for the most demanding projects. Good quality machine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AC225S Arc Welder

built to last forever .

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
when I worked as a neon sign builder we used these all day everyday with 50ft leads on them ,no problem with 3/16 angle iron ,pipe etc,never had a problem I mean ever ! we honestly worked these machines to the maxx .!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AC225S Arc Welder
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to use. a handy machine to have around

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the second lincoln arc welder i've owned. I sold the first one thinking i did'nt need it after buying a wirefeed welder. I was wrong, so I purchased another. Home Depot had the best price at the time
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>