728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post

Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 3 ft. Jack Post can adjust from a 1 ft. 7 in. to 3 ft. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 16,000 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Review 1 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Peter
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these in my crawl space to correct sagging beams. I set down a solid piece of concrete (4"x8"x16") flat, with a 4"x4"x16" piece of treated wood flat on the concrete. Then I installed the jack the screw end down. This required several small adjustments (after the jack was tightened just snug enough to keep it from falling) to get it plum. I then nailed the plate at the top to the beam and the plate at the bottom to the horizontal 4x4 wood (atop the solid concrete block.) With this arrangement, I did not have the problem outlined by ScottC (earlier post.) The approximately 3" diameter of the jack tube at the top pressed nicely against the double timber beam and the screw at the bottom pressed against the metal plate secured to the 4x4 wood. I noticed no warping of the plate as I turned the screw to tighten up the jack until I heard the beam respond a little. I will give 1/2 turn a month.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Andy
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did the job at a reasonable price.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to replace a hidden lower section of a wood porch post which had rotted. Easy to assemble and use, although the upper pad is not attached (just held in place by pressure). Should be a more permanent fix than using wood would have been, and is adjustable if necessary. Much easier and cheaper than replacing the entire wood post would have been.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
fnprice

Good for holding, not as much for lifting

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These didn't have the lifting power to correct the sag in the floor of our single story wood frame house. I had to get a bottle jack to lift and then used these to hold a beam in place while I built piers for permanent support. They worked fine for this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Craig
from New Boston, Huron Charter Township, MI 48164, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Was easy to assemble and install.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very happy with this product. It is just right for the application of supporting the main beam as a backup device until main supports settle enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
tunes
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good quality and easy install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The jackposts were better quality than I expected and they were delivered in a very timely manner. They were easy to install and functioned perfectly. I will be ordering more for the other side of my house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
RoryW
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Jack Post was very simple to use and worked fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
jklunix
from Rochester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product poorly made

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What, one wonders, could one do to a simple item like a jack post. The screw is threaded straight to the post. It is still useable for my application, but given that this represents the only real bit of machining on the item and they did not do it right......Also it does not come with a steel rod for turning the screw post.
Cons: poorly machined
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Brian
from Smithtown, Long Island NY

super S series jack post

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is intended to correct sagging floors. It was easy to assemble and use. It consists of two metal sleeves that fit one inside the other that are held in place by 2 bolts that set the coarse length. A jackscrew then fits into the top of the unit for fine adjustment. I chose the smallest model that adjusts from 19" to 36", as it had to fit in a crawl space. I wished that the unit could adjust to less than 19" as it barely fit at its minimum length. The minimum length is actually about 19 1/2". The unit needs pliers or a wrench to adjust the jackscrew, but my pipe wrench was too thick to grasp the flats on the adjustment shaft. I had to use a smaller pliers to adjust it. The jaws of the pliers or wrench should be less than 1/2" thick. The unit is supllied with top and bottom mounting plates that are meant to be secured to the joist and floor of the structure using wood screws (not supplied). But as my crawl space has a concrete floor, I did not use the bottom plate. The manufacturer recommends gradual adjustment, about 1/2 turn per week. So far it has corrected a sagging floor in my house, and doors that failed to latch because the frames had parallellogrammed now close properly.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
netman
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does the job

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and does the job. Have a older house and use them to support the floors. Used them last year on my neighbors home to level it. They got a price to do the job of thousands of dollars and using these jacks the total cost with footings was around $400.00.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Dennis
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

EASY TO WORK WITH AND SUPPORT IS EXCELLENT

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
was easy to install and set up for the job site. this job was planned for two men and it work out to be faster then planed.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Michael
from Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

The product did the job nicely.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product in my crawl space to shore up a sagging corner of my addition. It met my expectations for function and quality
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
jc5890
from Clarksburg, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked like a charm and the product was easy to use.
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
ScottC
from Columbus, OH

Good product but with one weakness

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The JS-36 is a great product overall. It's sturdily constructed, easy to assemble, easy to adjust.
The only weakness I've noticed is the thinness of the two steel plates that are included for the base and top of the jack.
The base isn't a problem since you should install the jack on a solid footer of some kind.
The problem occurs at the top of the jack where the plate, made to spread the load so that the top of the jack post rod doesn't bore into your wood joist/beam. It also helps prevent slippage under load so that the post stays vertical. Under load, however, the thin plate bends and so the effective area of the plate is smaller. It still functions properly, so it's not too much of an issue. The plates are probably more to tie (with nails through the hole in each corner) the jack to the beam being supported.
The price recently went up on the web, so it's on par now with the store prices. Not worth ordering over the web unless you get free shipping.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
TimJJ
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product provides adequate support

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This jack post provided the support my home needed in the crawl space. It was just the right size and easily assembled.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Bigfoot
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked well for the adjustable support I needed. If you wanted it to be a portable unit you might want to tack well the base plate and receiver, but for a permanent application that is not needed. I will purchase again as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Ken3

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This jack post is very easy to assemble and adjust. It worked great under my crawl space to correct a sagging joist and stop a sqeaking.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Jack
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Simple and Easy to Use

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Jack post to push up my kitchen cabinets over my counter which were sagging. I added brackets on the inside so they would not sag again. The jack was quick and easy to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
Sarge
from Brooklet, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to use in tight spaces - makes adjusting heights for leveling of floors an easy job - would buy product again.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product performed well.
Easy to use, especially in tight spaces under a house.
Highly recommend for leveling floors.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
iMac

Works well for the price.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Jack is simple in design and works well once set up. The top and bottom plates are not permanently attached to the jack body and depending on your use, it may be tricky to align the jack, plates, and your work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super "S" 1 ft. 7 in. Jack Post
rcsiii

Works as advertised

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Worked great - exactly as advertised. While HD doesn't carry entire line - many other sizes do exist.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>