728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

The Tiger Brand Jack Post Super "S" 3 ft. Jack Post can adjust from a 1 ft. 7 in. to 3 ft. It has a compression load range of 18,000 lbs. at its lowest setting and 16,000 lbs. at its highest setting. It is ideal for correcting sagging floors and basement beams and providing secondary support for room additions, remodeling projects, porches and decks.
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
Review 1 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed two of these in my crawl space to correct sagging beams. I set down a solid piece of concrete (4"x8"x16") flat, with a 4"x4"x16" piece of treated wood flat on the concrete. Then I installed the jack the screw end down. This required several small adjustments (after the jack was tightened just snug enough to keep it from falling) to get it plum. I then nailed the plate at the top to the beam and the plate at the bottom to the horizontal 4x4 wood (atop the solid concrete block.) With this arrangement, I did not have the problem outlined by ScottC (earlier post.) The approximately 3" diameter of the jack tube at the top pressed nicely against the double timber beam and the screw at the bottom pressed against the metal plate secured to the 4x4 wood. I noticed no warping of the plate as I turned the screw to tighten up the jack until I heard the beam respond a little. I will give 1/2 turn a month.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Reno, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Quality Product

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ripped out my old master bath fiberglass shower unit and replaced it with a cement mud bed river rock floor, porcelain tile walls and a heavy frame-less glass door. This increased the floor load significantly so I thought some extra support would be a good idea.
I ordered these jack posts from HD and they arrived in a timely manner. These are not a piece of precision equipment so they are a little rough around the edges but more than adequate for their purpose. The packaging is not tight so the parts bang around during shipping. This caused the threads on the screw posts to get dinged up but they can be easily cleaned up with a small file or thread restore tool, I would plan on having to do this. The top and bottom plates are not attached to the posts but could be tack welded if you need firm attachment. My install was nearly plum and I used cement piers with nailing blocks and a 4x4 top support to nail into, so free floating plates were not a problem. I was able to do the install by myself and the bathroom floor feels much more stable now. I would recommend this product if you need similar floor support.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: parts bang around during shipping
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not at all what I expected

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The are basically two pipes that fit into each other with two metal plates you must balance them on put together with nuts and bolts. The two plates do not attach, you have to keep the pipes balanced on them until you can screw a top nut all the way to hold them tight from top to bottom. This may not make sense since you don't own one yet, but bottom line for me is to stay away from these. I could not use them. I needed something to help me work alone, some extra hands, and these just made things more difficult for me. Not good.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a well designed, easy to use, product. i used 2 of these jacks to jack up a 10 x 10 cabin in the woods that had settled 1" on one side last winter. The cabin is 2 x 4, 1/2 inch plywood, and pine siding…so it is not that light! These jacks raised it and now it's level again. For the money, a great buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

Good for holding, not as much for lifting

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These didn't have the lifting power to correct the sag in the floor of our single story wood frame house. I had to get a bottle jack to lift and then used these to hold a beam in place while I built piers for permanent support. They worked fine for this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did the job at a reasonable price.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to replace a hidden lower section of a wood porch post which had rotted. Easy to assemble and use, although the upper pad is not attached (just held in place by pressure). Should be a more permanent fix than using wood would have been, and is adjustable if necessary. Much easier and cheaper than replacing the entire wood post would have been.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from KISSIMMEE, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

SUPER S SERIES 3FT JACK POST

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THIS JACK IS AMAZING. I REALLY EXPECTED LESS FOR THE MONEY I PAYED.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Smithtown, Long Island NY

super S series jack post

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit is intended to correct sagging floors. It was easy to assemble and use. It consists of two metal sleeves that fit one inside the other that are held in place by 2 bolts that set the coarse length. A jackscrew then fits into the top of the unit for fine adjustment. I chose the smallest model that adjusts from 19" to 36", as it had to fit in a crawl space. I wished that the unit could adjust to less than 19" as it barely fit at its minimum length. The minimum length is actually about 19 1/2". The unit needs pliers or a wrench to adjust the jackscrew, but my pipe wrench was too thick to grasp the flats on the adjustment shaft. I had to use a smaller pliers to adjust it. The jaws of the pliers or wrench should be less than 1/2" thick. The unit is supllied with top and bottom mounting plates that are meant to be secured to the joist and floor of the structure using wood screws (not supplied). But as my crawl space has a concrete floor, I did not use the bottom plate. The manufacturer recommends gradual adjustment, about 1/2 turn per week. So far it has corrected a sagging floor in my house, and doors that failed to latch because the frames had parallellogrammed now close properly.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Hillsborough, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well made for the money and the job. Will purchase more if I need them.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Florence, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product and easy to install

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in an older house and noticed my floors had started sagging. We went and purchased 10 to make sure our floors had enough support. We started putting them under the kitchen floor and noticed a tremendous difference. I would recommend these for anyone looking to support your floors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Columbus, OH

Good product but with one weakness

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The JS-36 is a great product overall. It's sturdily constructed, easy to assemble, easy to adjust.
The only weakness I've noticed is the thinness of the two steel plates that are included for the base and top of the jack.
The base isn't a problem since you should install the jack on a solid footer of some kind.
The problem occurs at the top of the jack where the plate, made to spread the load so that the top of the jack post rod doesn't bore into your wood joist/beam. It also helps prevent slippage under load so that the post stays vertical. Under load, however, the thin plate bends and so the effective area of the plate is smaller. It still functions properly, so it's not too much of an issue. The plates are probably more to tie (with nails through the hole in each corner) the jack to the beam being supported.
The price recently went up on the web, so it's on par now with the store prices. Not worth ordering over the web unless you get free shipping.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

Easy assembly

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These jacks were very easy to assemble, even in a small crawl space. They now provide the support for the house was desperately needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

If I have to type a bunch of stuff I wont review anything else

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
it holds up... and now I am just tyuping beause I have to ..
Pros: Performs Well, Reliable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

The product did the job nicely.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product in my crawl space to shore up a sagging corner of my addition. It met my expectations for function and quality
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from Washington State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product for leveling home.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy directions to understand how to install. Strong and simple to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Jack Post was very simple to use and worked fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does the job

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and does the job. Have a older house and use them to support the floors. Used them last year on my neighbors home to level it. They got a price to do the job of thousands of dollars and using these jacks the total cost with footings was around $400.00.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This jack post is very easy to assemble and adjust. It worked great under my crawl space to correct a sagging joist and stop a sqeaking.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post

Stripped thread

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The thread was stripped making the product ineffective. It caused the entire project to be delayed at least one day. I will return and would not purchase again
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super S Series 3 ft. Jack Post
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good quality and easy install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The jackposts were better quality than I expected and they were delivered in a very timely manner. They were easy to install and functioned perfectly. I will be ordering more for the other side of my house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>