728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand

BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand

Featuring a heavy-duty cast-iron table and frame to minimize vibrations, this band saw's 3/4 hp induction motor produces enough power to resaw up to 6 In. thick solid oak. For a greater line of sight, the integrated dust collection port channels debris away from you while you work, and the wheel cleaning brushes prevent dust build-up. The user-friendly Sof-Touch knobs not only make this saw easy to operate but also comfortable to handle for extended use. The lockout function featured on the large paddle switch prevents unsupervised or accidental use for added safety.
Overall rating:
3.627 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product42 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(22)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product42 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
Review 1 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Greensboro, NC

Great Band Saw

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this band saw for the last six months and have been tremendously happy with it!
Setup was relatively simple since the instructions were easy to follow but it did take some time.
The stand is solid and sufficient and the saw is vibration free.
Take the time to adjust all the required guides for the blade or you'll be greated with a snapped blade in a relatively short order and when you are concentrating on your cut the "snap" will make you jump clean out of your skin! :-)
The majority of my work has been with oak and this saw has had zero problems with it. Have also worked through Pine, metal, MDF and birch without difficulty.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Denver, CO

Decent saw, but it does have some flaws.

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw is a pretty decent tool, once you get the bugs out of it.
Out of the box, I noticed a fair bit of vibration when running. I wouldn't say it was extreme, but certainly more than I'd expect. As with some of the other reviewers, I first looked at the drive belt. It was crooked and has a hump formed in it. I bought a poly link belt as a replacement, which helped, but didn't entirely eliminate the vibration.
Next I looked at the saw's wheels. With the saw blade removed and the drive belt off, I spun the wheels and marked the bottom of the wheels with a pencil when they came to rest. After a few spins, I was able to determine where the heavy spot in the wheel was. I used a 1/2" bit in my drill press to remove a small bit of metal from the heavy spot by drilling a shallow divot into the inside of the wheel, as was done by the factory. It took a few repetitions of spinning, marking and drilling but I finally got the wheels pretty well balanced.
Next thing I looked at was the stand, which is just thin metal and not all that stout, especially with a tall. heavy tool on top. I removed the saw and motor from the stand, then cut out a piece of 3/4" plywood in the shape of the top. After marking and drilling the appropriate holes to allow the saw/motor to reattach and buying some longer bolts, I put the saw back together with the plywood between the stand top and the bottom of the saw. This serves to stiffen the stand to reduce vibration further.
Next I sanded the tires round. The factory rubber tires had some high spots in them. By making a small block of wood with some sandpaper attached that could clamp to the frame and be pivoted down against the tire, I was able to knock off the high points of the tire and true it up.
After these "tweaks", the saw now runs beautifully and is nearly vibration free. I've been very pleased with the accuracy of the saw when resawing. I installed a 3/4" resaw blade, aftermarket guide blocks, a 6" riser block and fence from another manufacturer. I can now resaw up to 12" material and have frequently done so to make veneers from exotic hardwoods. The saw does an admirable job although it is a tad underpowered when resawing stock thicker than 6 or 7 inches. To combat this, I now have mine running on 220v, which has helped tremendously.
The dust collection on the saw is not all that great. It's too small and positioned too far below the table to be much good. After some heavy cutting I have sawdust all over the table, saw, floor and me! Eventually I'll install a 4" dust port in the lower door to allow my dust collector to connect. At least the dust collector seems to catch the fine dust which otherwise would get airborne.
All things considered, this is a pretty darn good saw if you're willing/able to take the time to get it dialed in. You certainly can buy better saws that have none of the flaws this RIDGID saw seems to have, but you'll pay much more. For the money, I'm very pleased with mine and feel it saws as good as, if not better than saws costing twice as much.
+54points
55out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Indianapolis, IN

Good Quality Saw for the Money

PostedJune 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw is a decent deal for the money. My saw was mostly vibration free, but I did need to slightly balance the top wheel (I epoxied a small washer to one side). With a good blade and balancing, there is almost no vibration. The 3/4 HP motor is just a little smaller than I would like, but with Timberwolf's mounted it performs well for even 12" resaws. I purchased a compatible riser kit from another vendor, so I can't comment on the quality of the Ridgid riser.
I have a Ridgid Herculift mounted on the stand and this makes for a very nice mobile bandsaw solution. If these aren't on the shelf at your store, they should be able to be special ordered.
My only complaint is dust collection. The included shoot is sized for a shop vac and doesn't really work well with a 4" dust collection system. With serious cutting, saw dust can even find its way up into the top wheel. I will eventually modify the bottom door for an additional dust collection port.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Massachusetts

Wheel Balance Problem & Vibration

PostedApril 4, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this band saw at my Home Depot. The price was right, and I assumed, incorrectly, that Ridgid would have corrected the wheel balance problem that is stated in 4 of the 7 reviews on the HD webpage reviews. I was wrong. Not only were the wheels on my band saw severely out of balance, but Ridgid, when contacted, seemed to be in denial that there is a wheel balance problem with their product.
Out of the box, after assembly, the band saw was unrunnable due to the severe vibration. Due to the weight of this band saw, the assembling time and the inconvenience for returning this product to Home Depot for replacement, I decided to check the upper wheel for balance and balance it correctly. Removing the blade and tire, I found that the wheel would settle with one point, the same point always showing heaviness. Taking the wheel off, I found that on the inside of the wheel (out of view) were 4 drill holes at the point where the wheel was still heavy. This was, I assume, an attempt to balance the wheel by the producer. In order to balance this wheel, I had to drill an additional 13 holes (for a total of 17 holes) on the heavy side to get it in balance. I was running out of places to drill holes - that is how bad this wheel was.
Reinstalling the now-balanced wheel, the vibration was greatly diminished, but not corrected. However, the saw was now runnable but still needing more tuning. Unfortunately, the tire would not stay on the upper wheel. It would either slide off the front or back of the wheel and run into the door or cabinet. Burning rubber indicated that a quick shutdown was needed. I went through many many adjustments trying to resolve this tire problem. I found that there was no adjustment that could keep the tire from sliding off to either the front or back. Thinking that the remaining vibration might be the source for this sliding tire problem, I removed the lower wheel to balance it. On the inside I found 4 holes identical to those I found on the upper wheel. Unlike the upper wheel, I could not find a good way to check the wheel balance - the keyway in the hub did not help. I reassembled it and began to tape washers to the wheel in a trial and error effort to balance this lower wheel. I quickly realized that this was going to be a long process - one that I might be willing to undertake for a used saw needing rebuilding but not for a new saw.
I contacted Ridgid via their website email. I stated my problem to Technical Support, Customer Service and Sales. I received a reply from only Sales. I was told "The number of reported wheel balance issues verses the volume of sales of the band saw, indicates that there is not an actual wheel balance problem that effects hundreds, or all Ridgid band saws, as someone's post on a Forum might lead others to believe or suspect." Their corrective action is stated as "If you happened to obtain a Ridgid band saw that has wheels that are not properly balanced, we apologize, and we will be glad to provide corrections for the saw through your nearest Ridgid authorized service dealer where the wheels can be physically inspected and properly replaced, so that the saws warranty coverage is not voided, or a replacement saws can be received in exchange, through the retail distributor from which the saw was purchased."
Loading and hauling this heavy, bulky saw in my pickup to the "authorized service dealer" would be a major, time consuming effort, and the closest center was 20+ miles away. I also perceive that they are warning me that my warranty may be in jeopardy unless all repairs are done by them, not me. Those who did modifications and wheel balancing to get the saw to run may have voided the warranty.
I suggested a good alternative : Ridgid would send me 2 new, precision balanced wheels, I would install them (about a 10 minute project) and then return the bad wheels to them. It was not even considered by Ridgid. Instead, they insisted I take the saw to the authorized service center or return the saw for replacement to Home Depot.
My answer is to pack it up, return it to Home Depot for a refund, not a replacement. Further, I will never purchase another Ridgid product since, by their lack of concern for me, their customer, they show that they are not sincere about producing, selling and guaranteeing a good product for the consumer.
In summary - don't buy this saw. Also question, not only the Ridgid product that you are considering buying, but also question the company policies for supporting the buyer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Portland, Oregon

Not that good...

PostedJanuary 10, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unlike the other reviewers, I don't feel this is a good value for the money. I purchased a Ridgid 14" bandsaw a few weeks ago.
First - Out of the box the assembly was not overly complicated but there were some things that need to be tweaked to get this saw to work properly. Neither the upper or lower wheels are in balance and it causes the saw and blade to vibrate. You have to spend some time working on this to get this saw to cut at it's true potential, you will also have to spend some time working on the alignment and tension of the motor to the drive pully on the lower wheel to get the vibration out. In addition the upper wheel cover rubbed on the upper wheel and the blade contacted the rear blade guard when the blade was centered on the wheels - I had to do some bending to get things clearanced correctly.
Second - Value for what you get. Out of the box this saw does not have a fence, a miter guage, a quick release lever for blade changes, or ball bearing side wheels on the upper or lower guides. In looking at the 14" grizzly and 14" delta saws they both have some of these options included. So if you compare apples to apples this saw gives you a lot less for less money (including a less powerfull motor).
Finally - after I added a good fence, a miter guage, a new blade, a 6" riser block (buy the grizzly kit- it works fine and is 1/3 the cost of the ridgid kit), tweaked the ballance of the wheels, added a link belt to replace the v-belt, I got a decent saw!
So if you want the type of saw I want that actually works like a bandsaw you are going to have to pay the same amount as the delta or grizzly anyway, and spend a lot more time setting the saw up. Ultimately the construction of the Delta, Grizzly, and ridgid saws are very similar and you will end up with similar saws at a similar price when you are done - you are just going to spend some time doing it. But if all you want to do is hack some 2x4's then you can save a little money with this saw. Hope this helps someone out there - it would have helped me...
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Hoquiam,WA

Best in class

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a good saw for my shop and read all the reviews on all the saws available online and in the stores before picking this one.the main complaints ive read are from vibration which i fixed with a new belt.
other than that and adding some cool blocks this is a great saw.I do a lot of re-sawing of hardwoods for cabinet work and i love this saw.
Its cheaper than some and more expensive than others but does a great job at all ive thrown at it.
You really need a friend to help put it together,Its real heavy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Spokane, WA

Pretty Good With A Little Effort

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked up this bandsaw along with a riser block special order at my local HD. When assembled per instructions the blade tracked fine, but it had very unacceptable vibration and rocked on shut down. To correct this I did a few things:
1) I stiffend up the base top by removing the bandsaw from the base and fully topped the base with a 3/4" wood (I used the base top as a template to drill the holes and slots into the wood);
2) I reinstalled the saw and motor on the wood topped base (this required longer bolts that I also picked up at the local HD); and
3) I tossed the belt that came with the bandsaw and replaced it with a linked belt.
These actions resulted in a smooth running saw - I can stand a nickle on the table and start the saw, and the nickle won't fall or move at all. It is now a very smooth running saw; but it does not come that way right out of the box.
I goes without saying that the factory supplied blade is not a keeper either. Use it only for junk cuts. Plan on replacing the blade before you do any serious work with it or you will be very dissapointed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand

Great Tool

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a Craftmen Band Saw and it would not do the job I needed it to do, I read all the reviews on this Band Saw and decided to purchase it. I did the extra plywood under the saw and bought a good blade for it from Rockler this has been a good tool for my shop and I hope it will be there for me for a long time. I will be getting all Craftsmen Tools out of my shop.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

14 in Band Saw by Ridgid

PostedMay 17, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent tool. Had it for >1yr and have not had a single problem. Would recommend getting a book on how to use and maintain bandsaws, as well as how to setup your tool for precision cuts. Even cut metal with this saw and it went through it like butter. Highly effective, quality tool.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Montana

Good Bandsaw

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read and reread all the reviews here before buying this bandsaw last summer. I've used it now for several months and it has worked flawlessly. I took the advice here and purchased high-quality blades at the same time. I'm very pleased with the performance of and results I get from this tool.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Boston, MA

Excellent value for a 3/4HP bandsaw

PostedDecember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It?s always scary to read a review that starts with. ?For the price, this is a good product.? The Ridgid 14? bandsaw is a good product without regard to the price, which is lower than the competing ¾ HP Jet and Delta saws. It?s designed for easy setup and use, starting with the packaging. Examples: It uses thumb screws instead of set screws to adjust the thrust bearings and bearing blocks, and big, soft-textured knobs to lock the table angle. It?s packed in a sturdy foam-filled carton. All the nuts and bolts are in a single blister pack, and each size is labeled clearly. The assembly instructions are in perfect English and they?re clear. And the parts feel solid ? there?s very little plastic, the metal is heavy gauge, and you gets nuts, washers and bolts in places where a lower quality product would use self-tapping screws.
One warning:: The box weighs 178 pounds. I got help loading it, but the only way I could get it into my basement workroom was to open it in the car and take out the motor, table, hardware and base, all of which are packed in the top layer. That brought the weigh of the saw?s frame down to a manageable level. (Make sure you load it into your car right side up.)
Two complaints: the V-belt was folded in a way that gave it a permanent little kink and the top wheel was badly out of balance, so the saw vibrated until I changed the belt. I reduced vibration to a minimum by reducing the out-of-balance condition.
The nuts are metric, so it?s best to have a metric 13 mm socket or crescent wrench, but you can get by with a ½? nut driver plus an adjustable wrench. It takes 2-3 hours to set everything up if you take the time to level the stand and tune the saw properly.
You can read about how well it cuts in other reviews ? my experience has been similar. Take the time to set it up right and you?ll have a great tool. With the money you save, you can buy a good aftermarket fence, a good blade and an un-kinked V-belt.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from CT

NOT A BAD PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
SAW HAS SOME VIBRATION ISSUES OUT OF THE BOX ,TABLE WAS WARPED A LITTLE ,OTHERWISE A STRONG SAW CAPABLE OF MANY YEARS OF GOOD PERFORMANCE.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Greenville, IN

Great saw. Great value.

PostedAugust 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't normally fill these things out, but I have to say I have been amazed at the quality of this machine. I use it all the time and I have had it for nearly 5 years. However, a word of advise, I have not always been as thrilled with this machine. When I first bought the machine I did all the adjustments, followed the directions etc… , but the saw blade would not cut straight. It kept wanting to travel on me. I know a band saw takes some getting use to, but this was ridiculous. So I threw down some money on a nice fence. Still no help at all. Then one day while describing the problem to a woodworking friend, I was sent on the straight and narrow path of band saw bliss. He told me that my problem had nothing to do with my skills or the saw. It was the blade that comes with the machine. He suggested a low tension blade such as a "Timber Wolf" blade. After installing the new blade and following the installation procedure on the packaging for the new blade, all I can say is, "Wow". Not only can I cut straight now, but I can even use the fence I bought and cut as straight as a table saw. I can even do resawing, cut veneers and freehand work without a problem what so ever. Great saw! Just junk the blade.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Dayton, Ohio

Nice saw, terrible blades

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this saw for four years now, without any major problems. It's an amazing buy for the money. However, I suggest you throw away the Ridgid brand saw blades that come with the machine and certainly don't waste your money on purchasing replacement Ridgid brand bandsaw blades for this machine. The blades are the roughest cutting, grain tearing, waste of money I have ever encountered. I have never had a single Ridgid blade cut straight and cleanly on this machine. However, when fitted with a quality after-market blade, this bandsaw is superb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Florida Panhandle

Excellent Band Saw!

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned quite a few band saws through the years and I have to admit, I am really impressed with this Ridgid saw! First thing that got me was when I was putting it together. I was surprised and happy at the quality of the hardware that came with the saw. Most of the tools I've bought came with lower end nuts and bolts and such but this saw came with first grade everything. Once I had it assembled, it just took a few minutes to adjust everything. I cut a bunch of wood on it including some 2 by lumber and it cut as smooth as any band saw I've ever used!
Oh yeah, instead of the feet, I put a set of wheels on my saw so I can move it around easily. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand

Great saw - after a few tweaks

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I found this saw at a GREAT price at my local HD. So even with knowing about the vibration issues this saw is famous for, and knowing the issues could be cheaply/easily fixed, I bought it. I'm glad I did. As mentioned before, the saw vibrated horribly out of the box. My remedy:
1- Stiffened the top of the stand with a piece of plywood.
2- Got a few stick-on wheel weights from Pep-boys (free), and balanced the upper wheel.
3- Glued the upper tire to the upper wheel with rubber cement (hard to believe the factory didn't do this).
4- Bought a couple of premium blades (all stock blades are terrible, this is mandatory on any saw).
Blades aside, I spent about $5 and about 90 minutes on the fixes. I was rewarded with a VERY capable bandsaw at a GREAT price. I'm not sure I'd pay the normal asking price for this saw, but if properly discounted, it represents a great value for a buyer thats willing to make the necessary tweaks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Plainfield, IL

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this saw the other day, and I can't stop using it.. assembly was kinda time consuming, but not too difficult.. has nice quiet operation, I would like to see this thing come with wheels for easier mobility but its a great machine
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Vancouver , Wa

Nothin but problems.

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After completely assembling this saw a piece fell off from near the top wheel. The piece that the upper wheel attaches to that changes the pitch of the wheel was broken completely through. I returned it for another saw and went out to use it the other day and the exact same piece on this one was broken as well. Poor metal quality and even poorer construction. I will not be buying anymore Ridgid products.
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from St. Louis, MO

A good machine

PostedJanuary 1, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Before purchasing this BandSaw I reviewed the previous customer reviews. There was some concern with the negative post. However, the positive post, along with the Lifetime Warranty prompted me to try the saw anyway. I have been 'pleasantly' rewarded. I took my time following the directions for both putting it together, and for the initial setting checks. There were only a couple adjustments required, and by comjpleting the checks before trying to use the saw I found this saw to be all that is advertised. All in all I find this Band Saw to meet all my current needs. And for it's cost, is a great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BS1400 14 In. Band Saw With Stand
from Plymouth, Minnesota

A Good Saw But Needs Tweaking!

PostedDecember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unlike Ridgid's Table Saw (TS3650) This saw did not come out of the box running like a champ. It's almost like two different manufacturers produced these two saws (Hmmm....) Anyway, once I had it assembled - instructions were very good- it shook and wobbled like a an old washing machine! I traded out the v-belt for a link belt, no discernable difference. I remounted the motor with thicker rubber cushions, nothing. After reading Lonnie Byrd's Band Saw book I even attempted to balance the severely out-of-balance wheels by drilling out small parts of the wheel itself. Nothing! Still shook to beat the band.
Needless to say it did not become the star of my small shop as I had hoped. A year later I read an article in, I think it was, WOOD magazine, a very talented woodworker wrote an article on bandsaw tweaking and maintenance. The article highlighted a saw he claimed was his shop workhorse - it was the Ridgid BS14000! He had some great additions and modifications:
1. Buy a much better blade!
2. Shore up the base - added 3/4 Apple-ply between saw and base. Add a shelf to the middle of the stand both for utility and to add rigidity.
3. Use adjustable shims between motor and sawbase to keep tension.
4. Take it off a moblie base if you are using one. (I was).
5. Don't use the blade tension guide stamped on the tension spring housing. Unlike the Lonnie Byrd book, this author suggested settings LESS than what is shown on the saw itself. And he's right! I got much better cuts and less overall vibration by using a lower tension. His tensioning method was side pressure on the blade resulting in no greater deflection than a half inch.
6. Chop a hole in the lower door and add another dust port (I did not yet do this)
It is a different saw today and has become a oft-used tool in my shop after largely laying dormant for months!
If you buy it, check for wheel balance immediately! I went to Herculean efforts to balance the wheels and they are still not perfect.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>