728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper

15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper

The Stinger 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper uses a high-intensity UV bulb to lure insects to an electrically charged grid. An outer enclosure prevents children, pets and wildlife from contacting the grid. The rugged, weatherproof construction is rust-, crack- and fade-resistant. For added effectiveness, a 30-day Octenol cartridge is included.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
Review 1 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Can't beat it for the price!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for my screened in patio because for some reason mosquito's manage to get in. We have it for two weeks now and is full of dead bugs(just cleaned it). Now we can enjoy the view or a nice bar-b-q. Also looks like it works better at night.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper

Works very well

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised at all the negative reviews. I bought the Stinger last summer and was impressed with the number of mosquitoes and deer flies it killed. I live close to a pond, golf course and wetland preserve; mosquitoes and deer flies are a huge problem. I use the octenol packet and it seems to just attract the "blood sucking" insects, which is my biggest concern. I have it on a timer and have not experienced any problems.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper

it helps

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i bought this to help with a fruit fly problem inside my house. after about a month, i no longer have the fruit fly issue. i have 2 issues with the product. 1. the cord is VERY short. 2. the bottom is open, so dead bugs fall straight through. mine literally sits on the floor so the short cord and open bottgom are not a major issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Mississippi

Doesn't Work Well Like The Old Ones

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only thing this will attract and kill is night moths. We had a bug zapper years ago, and it was constantly popping with zapped insects. We bought this one to control flies in our back yard where the dogs are kept. This does NOT kill flies, and we see no evidence it's killing mosquitoes. We would love to know why this does not work well like the ones we had 20 years ago. By the way, the "attractant" does not attract. And we bought 6 packages of that useless stuff.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Chicago, IL

Cheap price, works great!

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second summer using this and it works great! It is very quiet compared to my neighbors 40 watt black light zapper. It actually works better than I expected. The only thing that is inconvenient is that it says the bugs will fall out of the bottom but they don't. Some of them stick to the grid so you just have to go shake it a bit or blow it with a leaf blower. But thats proof that its doing its job when its full of dead mosquitos! I would recommend this to anyone!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Virginia

works great

PostedApril 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this item last year because my son is highly allergic to mosquitos. since we have placed this item in our back yard and front yard he has been able to play in the yard with no problems. also he doesnt smeel of insect spray. I would tell any one who asked me about this item to buy it, it works great!!!!!!!!!!!!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Vineland, NJ

Great Bug Zapper

PostedAugust 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very small yard and this zapper works great. It kill all kinds of bugs. It doesn't use a lot of electricity and it makes being outside in the evening more bearable.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Hampton Bays, NY

I bought the 40 watt model

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For about $10 more I bought the 40 watt model from home depot in 2008. Have used it for 3 summers now successfully. The octonol squares are a waste but the bugs are still fooled and this device is efficient. if you do buy the squares it is awkward to get them into the holding square. make sure they are in well after the 45 minutes goes by before you figure it out or else they will fall out. I don't know if the 15 watt model is any good but I can vouch for the 40 watt one which was a good investment. make sure you put it back inside the box and inside the garage for the winter.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Illinois

Awesome!

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an area where I have a ton of annoying insects. This bug zapper has made our backyard enjoyable and tolerable. It cleans up the entire area of troublesome insects. It attracts everything and eliminates them! Plus it is fun to watch.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Va Beach, VA

Not Effective

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this for three weeks, and leave it on every night. It hasn't zapped one mosquito and we have a crazy mosquito problem. I'm extremely unhappy with this product.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from California

The perfect Mosquito control

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for indoor use, and, it is working nicely ever since I received it a week ago. Although it brings a bait that can be put in to attract insects, I think it will probably only be needed if I use it outdoor. I am very happy with the product, and, I will recommend it to my relatives and friends.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Oakdale, CA

15 Watt Zapper

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value. Quiet operation. Very effective at reducing the number of flying insects on my 9,300 sq ft city lot. As an added bonus, and I'm not sure why, I've also found a few dead wasps in the unit.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Rancho Cucamonga,CA

NOT HAPPY

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work on FLYS or NATS.
Wish I did'nt buy it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Universal City, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trust the other Reviews...Product is no good

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lights up and that's about it doesn't really attract bugs at all. My yard has a lot of bugs but they still won't go near the zapper...Three nights and only killed about 6 bugs
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper

Disappointed!

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this hoping it would attract and kill flies. It didn't do a thing. They were not attracted to the light or the scent cartridge. If you are looking for a product to get rid of flies, this isn't it.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Glendale, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Died as soon as the warranty was over

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Inexpensive, killed a few bugs, lures seemed to help a bit with the mosquitos, the bulb went out on the forth month so I figured the bulb was the problem bought a replacement to find out the device was what the problem was, Great if you're looking for a short lived device to lower (not eliminate) a bug probmlem.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from RI city

I like it!

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good product for the money and I have yet to see a live mosquito. It also attracts tons of moths. Replacing the bulb appears to be easy and you can buy a product to attract the bugs. I only wish it did regular flies, not just "biting" flies. I seem to get a lot of those and they have no interest in it. But overall as compared to the Sunbeam I had, this is much better.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from San Mateo CA

Bug Zapper Extraordinaire

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second one. The first one lasted many years and was plugged in 24/7. I would recommend this zapper to anyone.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Sterling, VA

I Like it, the big one might work better

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I guess there are two colors of bulbs/models of this. I was getting eaten alive trying to power wash my big 2-level deck, and wooden fencing (end unit townhouse). I have one of these, and also one of the Home Depot larger ones, $49.99, forget the name. They are in different locations, this one inside of a large decked in area, no real lights near THIS one. The bigger one is on the outside opposite corner, 30 feet from lights, in an open area that is dark. This is easily twice as bright as the bigger unit. It will light an area, but I wouldn't exactly hang out in this thing's light.
This little sucker has 2x or 3x the bugs stuck in it every morning. I think they just FALL out of the bigger one, it hits many more than the little one, for the hours I'm out there anyway. Both only seems to work at night. I'm extremely happy with it. Yes you need compressed air for the little one every morning. Lots of bugs dead = bugs to clean out. I highly recommend getting a couple of units on edges of your property, maybe on a timer, to thin out bug populations. I will be replacing mosquito scented lure regularly, in case it helps. I'm hooked. I unhook for rain, pretty scared of what might happen.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15-Watt 1/2-Acre Bug Zapper
from Bordentown, NJ

Good zap

PostedSeptember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Small, but smart investment. I can now enjoy the backyard without using bug repellant.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>