728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System

1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System

The PetSafe 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System is a great way to keep your pet safe and secure in your yard. It allows the freedom to roam within a 1/2 acre radius. If your pet gets close to the coverage area limit a noise will sound to warn them, if they continue they will receive a mild static correction to encourage them to remain within the boundaries.
Overall rating:
4.41 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Review 1 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Hutchigk
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Saved my sanity!

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After one correction, our 7 1/2 month old/73 lb. Boxer has turned, from a terror on the run outside to an angel. We purchased this product as a less expensive alternative to constrict our pet to the yard and it works! I recommend if you're not at home/dog in cage-collar off, thunderstorm-collar off, unplug the unit from the wall-collar off first, in bed for the night-collar off. Monitor your pet for safety as with anything. This is the best investment I've ever made. Easy set-up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Thomas
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works, but...

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works like a charm, I have a Rottweiler/Dalmatian mix. After 2 times being corrected, he knows what the beep means, it was easy setup. The flags were annoying because they bend easy. However if you make the hole with a tiny screwdriver or something, they slide right in. It took a few minutes to set up. Over all it works great. Now the (but), when I walk out and hear the beep, then step back to set a flag, it keeps beeping sometimes even a couple of feet back. Dosent seem to be an issue, as long as my dog hears the beep im fine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Lovedogs

Works great!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this wireless transmitter for our rental property. We have it set at a 45 ft radius and set at stubborn dog. Our lab/hound dog went through it once when he didn't entirely realize what was going on. He has not been through it since! If you have different elevations, you want to set the transmitter high enough to transmit in that area. We had to raise our height because the collar was not beeping in that selected area where the ground was higher. We turn it off every night just to save electricity and haven't seen that to be an issue. We got roughly 3 months out of the battery. We've had it 4 months so far. Great alternative to invisible fence!
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Farmer
from Nottingham, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great... when it works.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works great, when it works. I find it to be consistant, the battery life is good, but over the past 4 years, I have gone through 2 collars, and 3 transmitters. The company does replace them for less than retail, even out of warranty, but the transmitters are about $100, and the collars are about $60. There seems to be no other real option of a different, competing brand that will have a comparable radius. I'm just saying, it works good, just be ready to re-spend your purchase price over the course of the next few years, replacing it piece-by-piece. I just bought another system, the upgraded Stay-N-Play, with a slightly bigger radius, and I had high hopes that the new model would have better reliability, but ten days in, the box has simply died. At least this one is being replaced free under warranty.
Pros: consistant boundary keeps your dog "free"
Cons: Not Durable, high maintainence costs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
moneydjhs
from Pell City, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Purchase and a great Invention

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would recommend this thing to anyone. It is even portable and we take it to my parents house and the in-laws. It is worth every penny. She is a lab and she loves to roam the yard all day while we are at work. She learned very quick where she could and could not go. Its super easy to set up but you need to change the battery every 6-8 weeks and make sure it works. The highest shock setting will get the attention of any dog with a curious attitude.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Driveakitty
from Grand Rapids, MI

Best investment I've ever made

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Pet Safe Wireless pet containment system over 8 years ago and i've never been happier. You don't have to buy PetSafe batteries, you can use any brand as long as they are the same size.
Be sure to change the batteries every few months because there is no warning for when the batteries die and my dog ALWAYS knows when they are dead and has gotten loose a few times.
You can also buy replacement collars for the receivers if yours gets dirty or old.
This system was the best investment I've ever made and I'd buy another in a heart beat if I ever needed to.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Justin
from Bemidji, MN 56601, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

expensive but worth it!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Petsafe system has worked great so far from keeping my 100 plus pound German Shepard from going to visit the neighbors or chase deer. I have not had one problem with it and would recommend it. I just wish it came with two collars instead of one. At 125 per collar, it gets expensive fast.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
rmarob
from lehigh acres fl

well worth the money

PostedDecember 10, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we
purchased this system to try and keep our puppy in the yard (6 months
old & 85 lbs) it only took 1 time for him to get zaped and now
every time he hears the collar beep he backs up the reason we went with
this system it shocks the dog for 30 seconds or untill he comes back in
the area i would highly recommend this product to anyone
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Kappenman
from Molalla, OR

PetSafe Wireless Pet Containment System

PostedFebruary 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We highly recomend this product ! It is very easy to set up and use. We have been struggling to keep our now 1 year old Chocolate Lab and an Australian Sheppard in our yard. We live in an area that cannot be fenced easily. The river goes through our back yard and we have river rock throughout our property. Flooding also would take out a conventional fence. We set up the system quickly in under an hour and started the training. The next day I could not get them to even get close to the safety zone parameter. It has been proven to work great even in the face of temptation they will not cross the border. Thank you so much, this has just made my life so much easier !!! They can now play in their yard withour being restrained by cables or a kennel. We are all very happy with this product ! I have been recomending it to our neighbors and friends.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
sleepychuck
from michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy safe and secure for my dog.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product that offers a secure unteathered area for my puppy to run, and I am not afraid of her running into danger.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
BruceVicki
from Woodland, PA

Wireless Containment System

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a dog, BUY THIS PRODUCT. We have 3 Rottweiler/Black Lab house dogs that liked to chew stuff when we went somewhere. Our son had this product for his 3 dogs; our daughter had the "bury the wire system" for her one dog. She had to replace the wire after 10 months. Our son is still using his after over 1 year without any problems. We bought the system in April 06 and love it. No installation, no broken underground wires, and the only "maintanance" is replacing the battery in the collar, which we just recently had to do for the first time. It's a God send worth every penny.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Jamie
from Ga

Wireless pet containment system

PostedJune 27, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is absolutely wonderful. Being military, we move and travel often. The containment system is lightweight and easy to move. It is nice to take it when we travel also. There is no wire you have to put in the ground and take out when you move. It is a little pricy, but it is well worth it. It is also nice to be able to change the dog's boundry limits with the turn of a dial.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
johndeerelover
from Tennessee

Beware - if you have a metal roof

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased this product to use for my dog. At first, I thought it would be great. Until, I walked the dog on a leash toward the flags. Poor thing got zapped about 6 ft from the flag WITHOUT a warning beep. Come to find out our metal roof causes the signal from the wireless unit to bounce off at irregular distances. You might set the flags one day and the signal will be at a different location the next day. This is due to the weather.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WITH A METAL ROOF. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A METAL ROOF - IT WILL WORK GREAT.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
angelp
from Waveland, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

hurricane katrina destroyed my fences

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after the hurricane i bought the pet safe wireless fence in 2006 for my new dog-lab/golden retriever mix. it has never failed. he can run around the entire perimeter of the house and over halfway up my long driveway. i am on 3acres on the mississippi gulfcoast. i recommend this product.
do remember to change the battery every 2-3 months. i keep my box in the breezeway between the house and garage. i had to replace the collar one time only since 2006 .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
ravengoth
from Ohio

great way to keep a dog home

PostedJune 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product helped us train our pup to stay in our yard. It was easy to set up and use. The great thing is, once you use it for a period of time, the dog doesn't think about wandering much, so you don't have to use it all the time. This was worth the price!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
jdking
from Lewiston, Maine

FREEDOM for your dogs.

PostedJuly 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a basset hound and a lhasapoo. This system has been operating for 2 years and we LOVE it! We never worry about them being outside and we don't have to untangle them from being twisted around trees when tied up. It's also nice not to have to go out in the winter to tie them. We leave out door open and they come in and out as they please. They can run and play up to a half acre and enjoy the outside. We are so happy we bought this. We change the battery every month when the light goes on. It's only $10.00 for two batteries, so that is really inexpensive to have peace of mind that your dog will be safe in the yard. I would highly recommend this system to anyone with a dog. I hate seeing a dog tied up. How sad.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
nonamesally
from Rural North West Florida

Great product

PostedAugust 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased our wireless pet containment in December 2006.
So far it has done an outstanding job of keeping our rather stubborn, heavy, bassett hound, Ellie Mae from getting too far from home in our rural area. However, this past weekend, she wandered away due to the little prongs on the back of the collar coming off--not sure what happened there. At any rate, the company is willing to replace them for a fee of 14.95 plus shipping.
Keep a close watch on the battery so that it doesn't go dead while you're gone on a trip or something. Our batteries tend to last for about two-three months and aren't expensive to replace.
All in all, we would never go back and get anything different. Our dog was shocked a bit at first-but she learned very quickly that staying at home was her best option. :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Tbone
from Tampa, FL

Did not work for me

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this fence because it is wireless and claims to be easier to install and set up than a burried wire fence. Not true in my case. I found the instructions difficult to follow and it ended up taking the entire weekend to set up. Once that was done it did not produce a consistent perimiter. The invisible boundary kept shifting by the minute confusing the dog. Had to return it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Amanda
from Irving, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works majority of the time

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We set it up, but the collar will start beeping while in the "safe" area at times. Also every time you turnt he system off and back on again you have to reset the collar. But our dog has yet to get out of our yard since...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 Acre Radius Wireless Pet Containment System
Anonymous
from Lavalette, WV

Awesome

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product ever invented! Also its portable so when we go camping we take it with us and just plug in and set up the distance our schnauzer can go without bothering other campers and it works great! We dont have to tie him up when we go camping anymore! After one time of the lowest shock he does not try to go out of bounds. When the collar beeps he knows he's gone to his limit. LOVE IT and recommend to everyone!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>