728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Polishers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

10 in. Orbital Buffer

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 10 in. Orbital Buffer. This tool provides up to 3,200 random OPM for a swirl-free finish. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
3.638 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product34 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(16)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product34 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
Review 1 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Castle Rock Co.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good replacement

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This buffer was to replace my old craftsman of 26+years.The replacement part was 3 times the amount I paid for the new buffer.So far I have waxed 2 cars the only thing was the on/off button is on or off the old one was a buttun you had to keep pressed to stay on.I will learn to use it.Good buy at HD
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

I suppose it does the job

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I guess this works - I was trying to wax and get a shine out of my three year old Honda accord which has never been waxed - maybe it is the paint job on my car - maybe I didn't use the right Turtle wax - maybe too much oxidation - I didn't get the gloss shine I was looking for - but this is certainly cheaper that the $100 one time wax job the car wash places want! Take my review with a grain of salt...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

Better to use your own elbow grease!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost doesn't have enough power to spin itself with no load, let alone trying to buff out wax on a car
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from covington ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

ok

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
ok, we got it to polish a car and it worked as it should.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to use

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this polisher for sole purpose of waxing/polishing my vehicles. It is the third 10" polisher that I have purchased over the years and it is by far the best I've owned. I used it on my '08 Silverado this morning and had no issues with it at all. It will vibrate and shake a lot if you don't maintain good contact and it will stall if you apply too much pressure. Once I figured out the right pressure, it worked great! It's just like any other power tool, as long as you use properly and follow directions, you shouldn't have any problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Harlingen, Texas

No scratches in no time.

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a 2004 mid size SUV, silver/grey, I pride myself in taking good care of it, I have been waxing by hand 3 times a year, everytime I seem to spend more time on the job, trying to get rid of scratches on the paint surface. I purchased from Home Depot my RYOBI, 10" orbital Buffer and received it about two weeks ago, this last weekend I used it on my SUV, after waxing and buffing my veh. in about 1/3 of the time, I have been asked by friends and neighbors "if I had a professional body shop buffed and polished my veh. or if I had re-painted it". Those old scratches are gone, the paint shines as any new vehicle. The actual job was effordless, the all around handle made it comfortable and painless even when buffing the sides and tailgate, it's weight is just right to apply the proper pressure without making new scratches or swirls. I highly recomend it to anyone that in the past has neglected to take care of their veh. because it's too hard. "you'll be surprise".
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Temple, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves time and easy to operate

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Should have bought this orbital buffer long a long time ago.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

Solid value

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know several pro detailers that use Porter Cables and other high end orbitals, and they all say that it's dependant more on the user to get the results you want, and that most people would do just fine with a $30 orbital and mild off the shelf polishes.
The bonnets that come with it, are a bit hard to tie and keep on, but got a pair of microfiber ones from an auto parts store that use an elastic band and it worked out very well. I used a mild cut polish with a mild cut pad, and it worked out great on my 2010 Mitsu's black paint, taking out much of the big swirls and scratches.
Solid value and solid piece of hardware. Highly recommended.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

some people just are not meant to do certain things but try anyway

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i guess some people just don't know how a dual action polisher works. the more pressure you apply the less it will spin and tend to go into a vibration, this is how it is suppose to work as far as the bonnets make sure you are hold machine against car when you turn it on and off. this is not something you would use to buff out a car but more for buffing wax or polish to a nice shine, if you want something for buffing, cleaning paint and removing scratches you should go to the more expensive variable speed polisher/grinder but be careful it will burn thru the paint if you don't know what you are doing. you should never really apply to much pressure with either machine, it is suppose to do the work, not you. you should have at least 3 wool bonnets for removing wax or polish, 2 for removing and 1 to go over the car after wax or polish has been removed to bring to a nice shine. these machines are not really for saving you time but more for saving your hand from getting tired, any good wax job will take time if you do it right and most people try and do things the fastest way taking short cuts
1st step, apply a fine to med cut rubbing compound to remove scratches and defects
2nd step apply good polish to bring up the shine
3rd step apply a good wax or poly sealant
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Chandler AZ

Pretty decent for $30

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it on 2 vehicles now and it is still working fine, but it has kind of a weird buzzing sound at times, wondering how much longer it will work.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: afraid it will not last long
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from West Bend, WI

Great product for the money!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was hesitant on purchasing after reading a few of the reviews, but figured it was $30 and worth the risk. This orbital polisher works great! You MUST pull the bonnet edge over the edge of the wheel and tie it like you mean it. If you don't do this, your bonnet will get thrown off in the matter of a few seconds. Only complaint is I would much rather have a thumb trigger than an on/off switch. Switch is quite stiff and hard to turn off quickly. For the money, 5 out of 5!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buffs yes, clumsy yes.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Initially, the manufacturer packaged a set of 6-8" muffs for the 10" buffer, it ripped the mounting pad. Took it back, got another one. Bought the 10" muff package to install on the buffer. The product picture shows the muff goes completely around the mounting pad thickness, once I started buffing, found out THAT DOESN'T WORK!!! The muff flew off the pad in various directions. The muff is to be placed around the thinner edge of the pad and fluffs out about an 1" around the pad. Making sure you have the muff/pad placed against the object you are buffing, turn on the buffer and increase pressure on the pad. It works fine if you do these instructions, but I would buy another BETTER 6" buffer at a higher price if it works.
Cons: Difficult to Use, muff flies off pad easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

Great item for price

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The item worked well for buffing my car. My car is. Black and hard to see where I applied the wax. This made it easier to remove the wax from the hood and roof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Park City, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to finish a walnut butcher block counter - worked great and so easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Product for the Price

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used professional polishers and buffers. They were meant for heavy-duty, frequent use and held up well through dozens of jobs. They were also very expensive and some were heavy to hold to the side of the vehicle for very long. For the price, this little machine does a very good job and it is featherweight, minimizing fatigue. Too soon to tell how it will hold up over time, but it did a fine job of wax application, removal and buffing my 2 cars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: low grade bonnets
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

Great Product

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is great. For those of you who say the bonnet sticks to the car - I don't know what you are talking about. Are you sure you have enough wax on the car so it is slippery? Waxed my car in no time!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Punta Gorda, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Accurate description and well worth the price

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USed to buff out a boat. Works well with lihgt compound as well as wax products. As others have mentioned, the tie on heads can be aggrivating. I also purchased the elastic heads at an auto parts store to solve this issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, price
Cons: tie on buffing heads
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Ogden

Did the job with a few tweaks

PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews online about the product and followed the advice to get some extra bonnets and to be prepared for the bonnet to want to fly off. I bought some picture hanging wire to replace the cloth cord that holds on the bonnets. It worked like a charm.
I've heard people say it doesn't spin it just vibrates. This is because the buffing process is a two part process.
The first part is to loosen up the hazed wax by lightly bearing down on the buffer, this does cause the spinning to stop but that's ok, your just working the wax up into a workable consistency. Once you've done this then go over your work with just the wight of the machine polishing and you'll find great results.
I don't think this machine at this price is meant for commercial quality but it works just fine for the occassional task with a little patience.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer

good product

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No problems at all just if your gonna sell a buffer sell the buff compound as well I do not like going all over town when I shop one and done is how I shop 1 store and then im sick of shopping
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Orbital Buffer
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Works Great

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this buffer for a year now and i have buffed out 3 trucks and it works great.It is a time and back saver plus it really makes my vehicles shine and look great.The pads it comes with are washable and still work great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>