728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. A Pole Saw Attachment features a 10 in. bar and chain that is ideal for pruning and cutting limbs up to 6 in. thick. Reach dead branches or overgrown limbs up to 12 ft. above the ground with the included extension shaft. The angled trimming head allows for user control and more precise cuts. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled during use. This pole saw attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater, Troy Bilt, Murray, Poulan Pro and other universal brand fit power heads and trimmers.
Overall rating:
4.331 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product130 of 145reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(94)
4
(35)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product130 of 145reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pruner is lightweight and easy to maneuver. Works well with our TORO string trimmer. Attaching the pruner was simple and a perfect fit. The pruner cut through surprisingly large branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from 30122
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

chain keeps loosening up

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this today to use with my husky 128LD. It worked ok for a short while but then the chain loosened up and it jammed. I unjammed it and tightened it only to have it loosen up again 20 mins later. This happened at least 5 more times in the 2-3 hours I used it. Finally, The chain fell off the bar and wouldn't go back on without taking everything apart. I'm not messing with this piece of junk anymore. It is going back tomorrow. I hope to find a pruner that isn't made of mostly plastic and won't need to be tightened over and over and over.
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made, mostly plastic it seems
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best investment I've made this year.

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to trim all my trees. This would have cost $500 by a contractor. Cuts smooth and reaches high.
Includes a 3 year warranty..
Love It.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little attachment

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thought this was a cool gadget when I bought it and with Home Depot's easy return policy I figured I could return it, if it was just cool toy.
It is not a toy, it is a full blown tool.
But folks lets be serious here it is not going to make you a lumber jack!!!
That being said;
I did not give the Pruner 5 stars for two reasons;
I own a couple of chain saws and am familiar with how much Chain oil they use and this little trimmer uses way too much.
It went through the entire reservoir in under 10 minutes.
While on the bright side it kept the chain nice and sharp.
The Chain Guard for storage is JUNK and difficult to put on I have to figure out another solution.
I found no issues others have reported about poor quality, not so at all.
As for jamming, NOPE no problem either.
As for stuff getting caught in the clutch area,,, not much at all.
Cut through two 5 inch Dutch Elm bundles that I could not reach with my Chain Saw in just a couple of minutes.
One was old and hard as a rock!!
Overhead branches 2 and 3 inches in seconds.
I have not had the need to use the add on extension yet but it will come into play in the future.
All being said it is a great and useful tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, cuts fast
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use pruner

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the 40 volt battery provides enough power to zip through 3-4" branches just like a gas powered pruner. easy to attach to the trimmer handle making it a versatile piece of equipment
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

used with 40V head, performed much better than expected.

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this 'eXpand It" accessory with the 40V head from my Ryobi string trimmer. It was easy to connect, and easy to use. I trimmed both mesquite and oak away from my roof, up to about a 4 inch branch with no problem. That said, I did get into some binding when the angle wasn't right, but that's expected. The 40V battery is not going to have the same torque as a gas trimmer, but it still cut quickly when applied at a proper angle. When used with the battery-powered head, please spend the $15 for a new chain. It's simple to change, and will allow your battery' to spend 'less' time cutting. Overall, am very satisfied with this particular attachment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Oregon,WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cut better than I expected

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Without the extension it works really well with great control. However, when you add the extension it gets rather difficult. In fairness though I did not use the included strap, which may have made it easier. I was actually surprised how well it cut through the wood. Its not full blown chain saw but it does well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from 3-doors down from BigFoot near Concrete, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works excellent!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm impressed.... I did tree work professionally for many years.... this would have been handy back then.... sure dig finding it in my retirement years.... makes pruning quick and easy.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Salem, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well used pruning attachment.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well and extension, allows trimming high without using latter.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bought again. accident desroyed my 1st one.

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Swap out with my weed trimmer when I need it. Works great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from ST. LOUIS MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Universal Pruner Attachment

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Universal Pruner attachment easily fitted on my existing weed eater. I used it to prune small branches on a number of trees. Following instructions to run it fast before starting to cut and it worked well. Unhooked it and reinstalled weedeater attachment and hung this on the wall for next time
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Central Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a little monster

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I cut down about 4 pickup truck loads of branches with this attachment. The slight angle on the actual chain head makes a huge difference. I didn't experience any of the issues others had stated with the extension. I could see how the plastic around the head could clog up, but I didn't experience this either. My one critique would be the cover that goes over the blade for storage is a little cheap.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from St Petersburg, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy add-on, good value

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put together, easy to use (for me at least) Like any chainsaw, it requires you to get a bit physical when using it, but I had no trouble. Very handy for trimming back the mangroves & banyan tree in my yard. The whole Ryobi expand-it thing is great, I already had an edge trimmer attachment and I will be getting a weed-wacker attachment next. The build quality is perfect for occasional home use, I wouldn't recommend this for professional use. Get a Stihl if you plan on trimming everyday. But for my situation, it is great!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from suwanee, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Who Needs a Chainsaw

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a lot of tree branches that needed to be trimmed due to the fact that they overhung my roof in several places allowing squirrels to not only chew my eves and enter my attic but also to access a lower roof and look into my windows. They had to go. I called tree trimmers to get a price and they quoted $1500- $2000 for the job. Wow wish I had that money laying around. I decided to buy this trimmer even though I thought some of the branches were too large for this puny looking tool. I was so wrong. This trimmer cut them with ease. Of course I had to purchase a chipper for disposal but it was on sale at Home Depot with 1 year free financing. Some problems. The chain oil leaks out the fill cap when turned up side down which has to happen on some branches. The extension pole really makes it hard to control the trimmer and I could not use it even though I really could have used the extra length. Had to climb up into the tree to get some of the branches and use a ladder for some others. I am considering buying a conventional chain saw to cut up all the downed branches but I really think I can just use this tool. I had a gas powered chain saw but it never worked so good and you can do much better trimming branches with this attachment. Final verdict buy it. Saved me $1000.00 now and I will have the trimmer and chipper for years to come.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
from Winston-Salem , NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Attachment

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love all of the expand it attachments I think I own all of them expect for the blower. Its worth buying them all and all you need is one power head.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment

Leaks a lot of oil.

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Saw attaches to my Ryobi 2 cycle gas trimmer powerhead. Works fine as a small chain saw/pole pruner. Price is right, and it has a better warranty. But when you fill the chamber with chain oil and use the saw, it tends to have a slow leak of oil all the time. So the unit is always dirty and oily. When I hang it up for storage, it continues to leak constantly. So you will use a lot more oil than normal, and you will always have a puddle of oil on the ground under where you hang it/store it. I finally placed some cardboard and rags under it to catch the mess. I might start emptying the chamber each time before storage to see if that helps. You might be better off buying a different brand.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Leaks, messy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pole Saw Attachment
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid product BUT.....

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product works quite well and I have just about every attachment made for the ryobi head unit and am pretty happy with all of them, HOWEVER, my chain got dull on this and I went to home depot to buy a new chain. I was given the WRONG chain which ended up DAMAGING the 10" bar which apparently they do not sell on it's own and is VERY hard to find a replacement for. This unit takes a chain with a width of .43 NOT .50. The .50 replacment chain that was sold to me caused the end of the bar to split open and a whole host of other problems. IF you make sure you get the right replacment chain, this thing does a great job. It will prune trees nicely and I was essentially using it like a chainsaw. I had a bear of time tracking down an OREGON replacment bar for this and I am hoping it will work or else I'll be forced to buy another whole unit in which case I'll probably go with another manufacturer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, no replacment parts readily available
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>