728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.354 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product68 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product68 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
PopPop68
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
2old4words
from Clearwater, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paid for itself in a day! Everything else is gravy.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am sure that you can buy better pruning saws for more money. For my needs, however, (slightly heavier than usual homeowner use) this is a perfect product. Fit my existing trimmer/edger/hedge-trimmer power unit. With the extension included, provides good reach.
I previously had an electric pruning saw, which had substantially less reach and was so heavy on the business end that it was all but useless.
On the first day of use, I cut back a very tall viburnum hedge that had been growing over my fence for three years. I previously paid almost twice the price of the attachment to pay somebody else to do the job. With my old equipment, the job was next to impossible.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: leaks oil from the chain when stored after use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
tjohns30
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Lramos
from Acworth, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much easier than pruning by hand

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I should have bought this attachment years ago. I've had to do it by hand twice already and that was never fun. With this attachment I was done in less than 15 minutes. Cleanup was more work than the actual pruning.
I'd rate it higher if I wouldn't have had to make adjustments to the chain to get it to spin. All in all a great tool for the weekend DIY'er.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Prunerfan383
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The pruner attachment works great.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe what all my weed eater can do. All the attachments work great and the pruner is the coolest one. This thing cuts better than my actual chain saw, probably because I have the 4 stroke head which had more power than my chain saw.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Donta
from St. Clair Shores, MI.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great tool

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product for the price and handled trimming tree branches around the home and property.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
au61
from Huntsville, Al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good attachment

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this saw last weekend for about three hours and it did a great job. I cut small .25 inch sticks up to 6 inch diameter trees, Used the saw the entire tlme with the extra extension, which put the chain in the air about 10 feet. It takes a lot of stamina to hold the saw up for 10 to 15 mlinutes, but if you have it the job will get done. Only have about another 1/2 mile of trees to go.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
NickW
from Aiken SC
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a great attachment

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace my old pruner attachment on my Ryobi. Very impressed! I have easily cut branches up to 6" thick with no effort. The extra reach is very helpful. Ordered online and had free Home Delivery - very prompt service.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Jim321

_Great_ for clearing heavy brush!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new favorite tool! I use it with a compatible Toro power head. It gives you the power & reach to cut thick briars like multiflora rose without getting into them. I can cut bittersweet vines at the ground without stooping as with a regular chainsaw. And it has the power to cut thru dried oak logs 6" in diameter. Caution: The much cheaper 'reconditioned' version does _not_ come with the chain tension adjusting tool that's packed with the new ones.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: reconditioned ones lack chain adjusting tool
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Justin
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
JMB101

very satisfied

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this attachment to work with another brand weed eater. Fits and works perfectly. Couldn't be happier.
Used it right out of the box to cut some bushes that we were using hand cutters last year. This attachment made easy work of the job. Our yard and property looks so much better now.
If you don't need a chain saw, but need something to cut thick plants, this is the product to use.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
HomeSlice
from Mt. Angel, oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it's weight in gold but a lot cheaper

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing made short work of pruning and topping all the trees in my yard in one afternoon. It usually takes days. I'll probably be little sore tomorrow because it does get heavy after awhile. I used it with the Ryobi four stroke power head and it functioned great. I did cut several limbs about 6" diameter with relative ease. It's not a powerhouse but definitely works great with very convenient reach. I didn't have to get on a ladder once. The only problem was when the fuel tank got below about half full, the engine would stall out when I was pointing the saw end higher than about a 30 degree angle. The fuel all goes to the opposite end from the fuel pickup tube. So you have to keep it topped off if your going to be reaching up high with it. The chain will get loose after a short while of use right out of the box, but all new chains stretch out for awhile, even motorcycle chains. It will stretch less with age and adjustment will be less frequent, that's just part of using a chain saw.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, versatile, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
LSSS
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for smaller limbs.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for trimming back smaller branches. A buddy had warned that it wouldn't cut bigger stuff, so I was pleasantly surprised. It was brand new and had a very sharp blade, so it cut well. It is heavy, especially with both extensions locked on. Easy to exchange attachments. Keep in mind it is on a weedeater motor, so it will bog down, but cutting 2-3" branches is no problem.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
yardpunk
from Floyds Knobs, Indiana

expand it pruner/saw

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this tool prior to purchase, but have been pleasantly surprised with the performance. Ordinarily I buy heavier tools & go for a quality name brand, but this unit has performed very well & convinced me to keep an open mind about the "house" brand. The power head is light & powerful & the saw cuts great. The overall quality is less heavy built than other name brand manufacturers like Stihl, Echo, etc, but the price is considerably less too. I haven't owned it long, but the warranty is excellent & I've been pleased with Home Depot's history of backing up their products. I would definitely recommend this saw for the homeowner and have been pleased with my experience with it so far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
jerseyprice
from Dover, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extends your reach

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One of the best tools I've bought because it extends my reach to trim higher branches from tall trees without having to climb a ladder. I love the extend-it system because using the same engine for many tools is cost efficient and makes sense.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
pepineagles
from Florid, Hennepin, IL 61327, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A tree trimming service had given my Mother an estimate of $350 to trim an oak tree in her front yard. The estimate was for some dead wood and branches within 12 ft of the ground.
I recalled seeing the Expand-it pruner at Home Depot. Being an avid DIYer, I suggested that I could do it for the price of the attachment. Admittedly, I was a little apprehensive about this little gizmo taking on a 40 ft Goliath. But what the heck--go for it.
One thing I am thankful for. The manufacturers of interchangeable attachments for weed wackers have standardized. I attached it to my Homelite trimmer and took on the oak.
We should all agree that oak is pretty tough. Expand-It took exception and went right through it. This took on branches up to 4". For the harder to reach branches, I used a shaft extension and a step ladder.
What I did find was that using sharp chains, keeping the chain oiled and limited pressure made cutting a breeze. I did not find the weight of the pole saw offensive and found the length of the shaft to be a benefit when trimming the branches on the ground. Needless to say, I was totally impressed.
So, for the $250 difference, I had to cut the limbs into 3' sections for curb pickup. The profession would have taken it with him.
But, this is not the end of the story. Hurricane Charley cracked off a section of the oak and it landed on the roof.
After the storm, I went onto the roof to survey the damage. There appeared to be no structural damage.
Expand-It to the rescue. From my perch on the roof, branches were carefully removed to avoid damaging the house. Because of the shaft length, the saw could reach in to make strategic cuts without jeopardizing my safety. I would not have felt comfortable doing this with a chain saw.
This saw lived on for a mature orange tree in the back yard and a large orchid tree, both destroyed by Charley.
Yes, a chain saw was necessary for the largest cuts. But for the hard to reach? Expand-it hands down.
My only complaint is that I could not find parts. For the times it saved me, I could not save it. May it rest in peace.
I will buy another one so I strongly recommend this tool.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Dragon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is simple to assemble and easy to use.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers is so easy to use on the Ryobi trimmer. I have used it for two days and have had no problems at all. This tool is amazing how well it cuts limbs of 6" in diameter. The 12' reach is such a time saver.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
BigDaddyR
from Westminster, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would have been nice had it worked

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be the pole saw for me with the 10" bar vs the 6-8" bar the rest had. I got it to use with my 128LD. It has good reviews so I thought it would be a decent piece of gear. Two of them broke within 5 minutes of using them each. The first one I was topping off some bushes for a neighbor and it stopped working. The second one I used to cut a 3" tree tree down and was going to cut the small stump off lower and the saw just stopped working. I use chainsaws all the time and know how to use them and can just say that this product did nothing for me but waste my time. It looked good, Had decent quality look. The best part of this was the harness that was included. . Maybe it might work okay with Ryobi equipment but not with my higher end trimmer. I wonder if it had to much power for the saw.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, did not last.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
star
from Connecticut

Great attachment

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a surprisingly powerful pruning saw. I used it to cut branches up to 4" with no problem. The length makes it somewhat unwieldly, but they do provide a harness which is helpful. It would be good if there was a wing nut on the harness which would make it easier to adjust as needed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Andy
from Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great pruner

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pruner works great for around the yard prunning of tree limbs. I was happy to see that it comes with an extension bar so that it can be used up close or at a distance of 10-12 feet. The chain cut very well right out of the box.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>