728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product92 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product92 of 102reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Small Jobs

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi Pruner is great for small jobs around the yard. It has excellent reach and will build your arm muscles in no time. I had a chain saw but always knew, one day, it would land me in the emergency room. I got this and gave the chainsaw to a friend. Obviously, if you are cutting large trees you need something bigger but I like to be able to attach this to my Ryobi trimmer when I see a wayward branch and not have to make it an ordeal. It does suck up chain oil pretty fast so you may want to keep that bottle with you and not in the garage if you'll be using this for more than 15 or 20 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Does not work well with poulan

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product may work fine with Ryobi Power units. It does not, however, work with poulan pro as advertised. The flex shaft is just long enough to round out the end of the drive receptacle in the power unit. Basically I now have a string trimmer I can not, use and a pole saw that has nothing wrong to justify warranty. On top of that Ryobi makes you create an account for customer support. It seems like a fair tool other than that. For 99 dollars that is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

pruner attachment

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works for me Use it for to trim around 1/4 acre lot. My neighbors seem to love trees and let them grow wildly everywhere.so they hang over my lot and I trim quite often.with this handy attachment I can reach some pretty high branches. The saw comes with a nice strap,handle and an extension shift that you can use with or without. Does not require much assembly.The first few time I tried to cut some small branches the motor sputtered out on me and I had a really hard time cutting through, I was almost ready to return it. I put it away and read the manual again and watched some YouTube videos. I then noticed I had the blade cutting in the wrong direction, I needed to rotate the shift to th opposite side.I felt like an idiot , I then tried cutting some 3 inch branches and Wow what a nice tool just like a hit knife through butter.It now hangs in my garage wait to workout.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Works great!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the pruner attachment when I bought the trimmer. Used it that day. Worked great! Cut off tree limbs with little effort!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reliable product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and has very good cutting ability
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Smithfield, RI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful RYOBI customer service

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible Ryobi service! No chain oil in box (there was supposed to be according to paperwork). Called and e-mailed Ryobi customer service and they told me "too bad." I would have to go buy it myself they; won't send me any. I was literally stunned by the awful service. I could not believe they would upset a customer over a $3 bottle of oil THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE IN THE BOX IN THE FIRST PLACE!! I was not asking for anything extra. I will be returning this product just because of the aggrivation and disrespect shown by Ryobi.
Cons: missing item, bad service
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This makes pruning branches that are hard to reach much easier

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this saw. At first I wasn't sure if I was happy with how solid it was but after using it and thinking about what it really is and that it's not as durable as a chainsaw I was actually quite pleased with it. I'm able to cut branches from the ground where in the past I would have had to get a ladder. It has an extra extension if you need the extra length and it seems to have enough power to cut 4" branches with ease. Anything bigger and you'll have to get the chainsaw out.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from St.Petersburg Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pruner

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trims beautiful just what I needed, I have nothing else to say
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Bainbridge, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Unit does more than I could ever ask for.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had borrowed a neighbor's in the past and was VERY impressed with the quality and performance. I have used it to cut limbs much bigger than the 10 inch capacity by going slowly and making four cuts. The auto oiler for the chain provides more than adequate lubrication for the chain. I own a 4 stroke power head and have had no problems with the motor trying to bog down, even on dry wood. I was able to trim some dry fire wood for my smoker, although, I have to admit, that is not what the pruner was intended for, with no issues. Had to use pruner due to chain saw not starting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from levittown, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lousy attachment

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is not heavy enough to use. It clogs constantly and was hard to start. the extension pole did not work after 1 use therefore I returned the entire unit for a refund.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from naperville il
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very simple to use

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
simple use and operation great for quick small pruning
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Minneapolis, MN

Pruner, and whole system, work very well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spring I needed a new weed whacker, so bought the Ryobi 40v expandable weed whacker along with the blower attachment. Was very skeptical about the blower. Turns out that both the weed whacker and blower work great. The blower is powerful enough for my small yard, but not so powerful that everything gets blown into my neighbor's yard. Had a tree that needed significant trimming, so bought the pruner. I am used to using a Stihl chainsaw and was really impressed at the stuff this thing can go through. I cut through branches as big as 4 or 6 inches in diameter and, yes, it had plenty of power. The battery, too, lasted surprisingly long. If you have a huge yard you undoubtedly want gas-powered, industrial-strength tools. But for a small to medium-sized city or suburban lot, this system is great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Poulsbo WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for its intended purpose

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to prep. Easy to install. Works well as a glorified pruner. Don't expect to get chainsaw results from this. Leaves a puddle from the oil reservoir and blades. Binds easily if used improperly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: oil leak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had the older reciprocating pruner saw from the 90s that just didn't cut it ( no pun intended). I got this thinking that if it wasn't any better then I would return it. Boy was I surprised! This thing made light work of two out of control apple trees. I wish I had bought it years ago. We'll worth the price. You can get these reconditioned for about half price on the Home Depot web site if you want to save money.
Pros: Cuts Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from knoxville tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have purchased this before, and it is a great product to attach for tree limbs, bushes, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Mechaincsville VA 23111
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have used this tool a lot in the last few weeks. Works perfect.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Such an easy saw to use and love the long pole. So useful.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>