728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product111 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(77)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product111 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best investment I've made this year.

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to trim all my trees. This would have cost $500 by a contractor. Cuts smooth and reaches high.
Includes a 3 year warranty..
Love It.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little attachment

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thought this was a cool gadget when I bought it and with Home Depot's easy return policy I figured I could return it, if it was just cool toy.
It is not a toy, it is a full blown tool.
But folks lets be serious here it is not going to make you a lumber jack!!!
That being said;
I did not give the Pruner 5 stars for two reasons;
I own a couple of chain saws and am familiar with how much Chain oil they use and this little trimmer uses way too much.
It went through the entire reservoir in under 10 minutes.
While on the bright side it kept the chain nice and sharp.
The Chain Guard for storage is JUNK and difficult to put on I have to figure out another solution.
I found no issues others have reported about poor quality, not so at all.
As for jamming, NOPE no problem either.
As for stuff getting caught in the clutch area,,, not much at all.
Cut through two 5 inch Dutch Elm bundles that I could not reach with my Chain Saw in just a couple of minutes.
One was old and hard as a rock!!
Overhead branches 2 and 3 inches in seconds.
I have not had the need to use the add on extension yet but it will come into play in the future.
All being said it is a great and useful tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, cuts fast
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid. Works as expected

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am 30 days into this purchase after replacing a similar product that had lasted me 3 years. I have used this product a dozen times already and it appears to be handling the work load. The previous unit leaked oil out of the box and that has not been a problem with the new one.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Northwest Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have plenty of oak trees that had low hanging branches that needed trimming. I wasn't comfortable with using a ladder and chain saw. This pruner attachment was the solution. Easy to use and maneuver. I also have two large crepe myrtles that require pruning every winter. I usually do this with a ladder and loppers- at least 45 mins to an hour each tree. With the pruner attachment I spent maybe 15 mins per tree. Highly recommend this attachment for those that have annual trimming to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from suwanee, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Who Needs a Chainsaw

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a lot of tree branches that needed to be trimmed due to the fact that they overhung my roof in several places allowing squirrels to not only chew my eves and enter my attic but also to access a lower roof and look into my windows. They had to go. I called tree trimmers to get a price and they quoted $1500- $2000 for the job. Wow wish I had that money laying around. I decided to buy this trimmer even though I thought some of the branches were too large for this puny looking tool. I was so wrong. This trimmer cut them with ease. Of course I had to purchase a chipper for disposal but it was on sale at Home Depot with 1 year free financing. Some problems. The chain oil leaks out the fill cap when turned up side down which has to happen on some branches. The extension pole really makes it hard to control the trimmer and I could not use it even though I really could have used the extra length. Had to climb up into the tree to get some of the branches and use a ladder for some others. I am considering buying a conventional chain saw to cut up all the downed branches but I really think I can just use this tool. I had a gas powered chain saw but it never worked so good and you can do much better trimming branches with this attachment. Final verdict buy it. Saved me $1000.00 now and I will have the trimmer and chipper for years to come.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Lodi, Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of my best purchases

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From stumps to small limbs. I have been able to use this saw on numerous different sections of my yard. Its easy to assemble,operate, and store. I'm totally pleased with the use I get out of it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Best bang for your buck!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used it as a trimmer and as a chain saw, thing is amazing, I cut through a huge maple tree in front of my house and pierce through pine trees with a breeze.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Great

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does a great job for what I need it to do trimming trees and vines
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Whitsett N.C
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect addition to lawn and garden tools

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect tool for pruning my tall bushes and trees. No more need for a step ladder. Much safer and easy to use. It cuts pruning chore time to a reasonable time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

_Great_ for clearing heavy brush!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My new favorite tool! I use it with a compatible Toro power head. It gives you the power & reach to cut thick briars like multiflora rose without getting into them. I can cut bittersweet vines at the ground without stooping as with a regular chainsaw. And it has the power to cut thru dried oak logs 6" in diameter. Caution: The much cheaper 'reconditioned' version does _not_ come with the chain tension adjusting tool that's packed with the new ones.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: reconditioned ones lack chain adjusting tool
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from shelby mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't work w/ extension

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item worked fine for awhile but then stopped working with the extension. Will work fine with the extension eliminated but that's why I bought it; for the added reach!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

very satisfied

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this attachment to work with another brand weed eater. Fits and works perfectly. Couldn't be happier.
Used it right out of the box to cut some bushes that we were using hand cutters last year. This attachment made easy work of the job. Our yard and property looks so much better now.
If you don't need a chain saw, but need something to cut thick plants, this is the product to use.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Does not work well with poulan

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product may work fine with Ryobi Power units. It does not, however, work with poulan pro as advertised. The flex shaft is just long enough to round out the end of the drive receptacle in the power unit. Basically I now have a string trimmer I can not, use and a pole saw that has nothing wrong to justify warranty. On top of that Ryobi makes you create an account for customer support. It seems like a fair tool other than that. For 99 dollars that is.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Floyds Knobs, Indiana

expand it pruner/saw

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical about this tool prior to purchase, but have been pleasantly surprised with the performance. Ordinarily I buy heavier tools & go for a quality name brand, but this unit has performed very well & convinced me to keep an open mind about the "house" brand. The power head is light & powerful & the saw cuts great. The overall quality is less heavy built than other name brand manufacturers like Stihl, Echo, etc, but the price is considerably less too. I haven't owned it long, but the warranty is excellent & I've been pleased with Home Depot's history of backing up their products. I would definitely recommend this saw for the homeowner and have been pleased with my experience with it so far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

pruner attachment

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works for me Use it for to trim around 1/4 acre lot. My neighbors seem to love trees and let them grow wildly everywhere.so they hang over my lot and I trim quite often.with this handy attachment I can reach some pretty high branches. The saw comes with a nice strap,handle and an extension shift that you can use with or without. Does not require much assembly.The first few time I tried to cut some small branches the motor sputtered out on me and I had a really hard time cutting through, I was almost ready to return it. I put it away and read the manual again and watched some YouTube videos. I then noticed I had the blade cutting in the wrong direction, I needed to rotate the shift to th opposite side.I felt like an idiot , I then tried cutting some 3 inch branches and Wow what a nice tool just like a hit knife through butter.It now hangs in my garage wait to workout.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Florid, Hennepin, IL 61327, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A tree trimming service had given my Mother an estimate of $350 to trim an oak tree in her front yard. The estimate was for some dead wood and branches within 12 ft of the ground.
I recalled seeing the Expand-it pruner at Home Depot. Being an avid DIYer, I suggested that I could do it for the price of the attachment. Admittedly, I was a little apprehensive about this little gizmo taking on a 40 ft Goliath. But what the heck--go for it.
One thing I am thankful for. The manufacturers of interchangeable attachments for weed wackers have standardized. I attached it to my Homelite trimmer and took on the oak.
We should all agree that oak is pretty tough. Expand-It took exception and went right through it. This took on branches up to 4". For the harder to reach branches, I used a shaft extension and a step ladder.
What I did find was that using sharp chains, keeping the chain oiled and limited pressure made cutting a breeze. I did not find the weight of the pole saw offensive and found the length of the shaft to be a benefit when trimming the branches on the ground. Needless to say, I was totally impressed.
So, for the $250 difference, I had to cut the limbs into 3' sections for curb pickup. The profession would have taken it with him.
But, this is not the end of the story. Hurricane Charley cracked off a section of the oak and it landed on the roof.
After the storm, I went onto the roof to survey the damage. There appeared to be no structural damage.
Expand-It to the rescue. From my perch on the roof, branches were carefully removed to avoid damaging the house. Because of the shaft length, the saw could reach in to make strategic cuts without jeopardizing my safety. I would not have felt comfortable doing this with a chain saw.
This saw lived on for a mature orange tree in the back yard and a large orchid tree, both destroyed by Charley.
Yes, a chain saw was necessary for the largest cuts. But for the hard to reach? Expand-it hands down.
My only complaint is that I could not find parts. For the times it saved me, I could not save it. May it rest in peace.
I will buy another one so I strongly recommend this tool.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>