728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.347 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product85 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(23)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product85 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Smithfield, RI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful RYOBI customer service

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible Ryobi service! No chain oil in box (there was supposed to be according to paperwork). Called and e-mailed Ryobi customer service and they told me "too bad." I would have to go buy it myself they; won't send me any. I was literally stunned by the awful service. I could not believe they would upset a customer over a $3 bottle of oil THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE IN THE BOX IN THE FIRST PLACE!! I was not asking for anything extra. I will be returning this product just because of the aggrivation and disrespect shown by Ryobi.
Cons: missing item, bad service
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Bainbridge, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Unit does more than I could ever ask for.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had borrowed a neighbor's in the past and was VERY impressed with the quality and performance. I have used it to cut limbs much bigger than the 10 inch capacity by going slowly and making four cuts. The auto oiler for the chain provides more than adequate lubrication for the chain. I own a 4 stroke power head and have had no problems with the motor trying to bog down, even on dry wood. I was able to trim some dry fire wood for my smoker, although, I have to admit, that is not what the pruner was intended for, with no issues. Had to use pruner due to chain saw not starting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Minneapolis, MN

Pruner, and whole system, work very well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spring I needed a new weed whacker, so bought the Ryobi 40v expandable weed whacker along with the blower attachment. Was very skeptical about the blower. Turns out that both the weed whacker and blower work great. The blower is powerful enough for my small yard, but not so powerful that everything gets blown into my neighbor's yard. Had a tree that needed significant trimming, so bought the pruner. I am used to using a Stihl chainsaw and was really impressed at the stuff this thing can go through. I cut through branches as big as 4 or 6 inches in diameter and, yes, it had plenty of power. The battery, too, lasted surprisingly long. If you have a huge yard you undoubtedly want gas-powered, industrial-strength tools. But for a small to medium-sized city or suburban lot, this system is great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Poulsbo WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for its intended purpose

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to prep. Easy to install. Works well as a glorified pruner. Don't expect to get chainsaw results from this. Leaves a puddle from the oil reservoir and blades. Binds easily if used improperly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: oil leak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from knoxville tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have purchased this before, and it is a great product to attach for tree limbs, bushes, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Mechaincsville VA 23111
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have used this tool a lot in the last few weeks. Works perfect.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Such an easy saw to use and love the long pole. So useful.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had the older reciprocating pruner saw from the 90s that just didn't cut it ( no pun intended). I got this thinking that if it wasn't any better then I would return it. Boy was I surprised! This thing made light work of two out of control apple trees. I wish I had bought it years ago. We'll worth the price. You can get these reconditioned for about half price on the Home Depot web site if you want to save money.
Pros: Cuts Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Zumbrota Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was using a friends and liked it so much I bought one for myself.I live surrounded by hundreds of trees and use it a lot to trim off limbs up to about 15 ft high.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Kennesaw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

been needing one of these for years

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to use fill with bar oil (included) click it on the end of the trimmer, and go!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great atatchment!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This goes on easy and just slices threw limbs with hardly any work. Trimmed my tree with dead limbs and low hangers and next season tree came up stronger. Would only suggest to drain extra chain oil after use as it will leak out. I love ryobi had it for yrs and will recommend it to everyone
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Batesville, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A most important tool. Due to a tornado, we had lots of broken trees. This saw was perfect for clean up.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are very pleased with the weight and easy use. It is perfect for trimming low ganging limbs after the last storm.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Solon, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to use. But when it is stored after use, lubricating oil is released.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

_Great_ for clearing heavy brush!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new favorite tool! I use it with a compatible Toro power head. It gives you the power & reach to cut thick briars like multiflora rose without getting into them. I can cut bittersweet vines at the ground without stooping as with a regular chainsaw. And it has the power to cut thru dried oak logs 6" in diameter. Caution: The much cheaper 'reconditioned' version does _not_ come with the chain tension adjusting tool that's packed with the new ones.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: reconditioned ones lack chain adjusting tool
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Highland, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very satisfied

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to use with my 40v string trimmer head. Reading the reviews I could only find examples of use with gas powered power heads. The 40v did a great job of powering it. I cut for 20 min. on 3 to 8 in. diameter branches & still had plenty of battery life. Cut very quickly & cleanly. Probably not something a professional trimmer would want but for guys like me who only use it ocassionally its perfect. Reaches quite high & I really like the ability to use it without the extension for low branches & even though your not supposed to I bucked the limbs in that configuration. I have a bad back & that was very convenient as I did not have to bend. The only con, they could not possibly make a cheaper more flimsy blade sheath, will have to look for a replacement. I would have given it 5 stars but I have not had it long enough to know if it will hold up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, can be used without the extension
Cons: useless blade sheath
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Clearwater, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paid for itself in a day! Everything else is gravy.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am sure that you can buy better pruning saws for more money. For my needs, however, (slightly heavier than usual homeowner use) this is a perfect product. Fit my existing trimmer/edger/hedge-trimmer power unit. With the extension included, provides good reach.
I previously had an electric pruning saw, which had substantially less reach and was so heavy on the business end that it was all but useless.
On the first day of use, I cut back a very tall viburnum hedge that had been growing over my fence for three years. I previously paid almost twice the price of the attachment to pay somebody else to do the job. With my old equipment, the job was next to impossible.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: leaks oil from the chain when stored after use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This attachment works as advertised. I've had mine for about a month now and have used it almost daily since then. Have had no problems what-so-ever and my only complaint is it is a little heavy and unwieldy with the extension bar on. Other than that I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>