728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.293 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product120 of 135reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product120 of 135reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pruner is lightweight and easy to maneuver. Works well with our TORO string trimmer. Attaching the pruner was simple and a perfect fit. The pruner cut through surprisingly large branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from 30122
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

chain keeps loosening up

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this today to use with my husky 128LD. It worked ok for a short while but then the chain loosened up and it jammed. I unjammed it and tightened it only to have it loosen up again 20 mins later. This happened at least 5 more times in the 2-3 hours I used it. Finally, The chain fell off the bar and wouldn't go back on without taking everything apart. I'm not messing with this piece of junk anymore. It is going back tomorrow. I hope to find a pruner that isn't made of mostly plastic and won't need to be tightened over and over and over.
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made, mostly plastic it seems
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best investment I've made this year.

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to trim all my trees. This would have cost $500 by a contractor. Cuts smooth and reaches high.
Includes a 3 year warranty..
Love It.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little attachment

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thought this was a cool gadget when I bought it and with Home Depot's easy return policy I figured I could return it, if it was just cool toy.
It is not a toy, it is a full blown tool.
But folks lets be serious here it is not going to make you a lumber jack!!!
That being said;
I did not give the Pruner 5 stars for two reasons;
I own a couple of chain saws and am familiar with how much Chain oil they use and this little trimmer uses way too much.
It went through the entire reservoir in under 10 minutes.
While on the bright side it kept the chain nice and sharp.
The Chain Guard for storage is JUNK and difficult to put on I have to figure out another solution.
I found no issues others have reported about poor quality, not so at all.
As for jamming, NOPE no problem either.
As for stuff getting caught in the clutch area,,, not much at all.
Cut through two 5 inch Dutch Elm bundles that I could not reach with my Chain Saw in just a couple of minutes.
One was old and hard as a rock!!
Overhead branches 2 and 3 inches in seconds.
I have not had the need to use the add on extension yet but it will come into play in the future.
All being said it is a great and useful tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, cuts fast
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Leaks a lot of oil.

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Saw attaches to my Ryobi 2 cycle gas trimmer powerhead. Works fine as a small chain saw/pole pruner. Price is right, and it has a better warranty. But when you fill the chamber with chain oil and use the saw, it tends to have a slow leak of oil all the time. So the unit is always dirty and oily. When I hang it up for storage, it continues to leak constantly. So you will use a lot more oil than normal, and you will always have a puddle of oil on the ground under where you hang it/store it. I finally placed some cardboard and rags under it to catch the mess. I might start emptying the chamber each time before storage to see if that helps. You might be better off buying a different brand.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Leaks, messy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from ST. LOUIS MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Universal Pruner Attachment

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Universal Pruner attachment easily fitted on my existing weed eater. I used it to prune small branches on a number of trees. Following instructions to run it fast before starting to cut and it worked well. Unhooked it and reinstalled weedeater attachment and hung this on the wall for next time
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Central Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a little monster

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I cut down about 4 pickup truck loads of branches with this attachment. The slight angle on the actual chain head makes a huge difference. I didn't experience any of the issues others had stated with the extension. I could see how the plastic around the head could clog up, but I didn't experience this either. My one critique would be the cover that goes over the blade for storage is a little cheap.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from St Petersburg, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy add-on, good value

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put together, easy to use (for me at least) Like any chainsaw, it requires you to get a bit physical when using it, but I had no trouble. Very handy for trimming back the mangroves & banyan tree in my yard. The whole Ryobi expand-it thing is great, I already had an edge trimmer attachment and I will be getting a weed-wacker attachment next. The build quality is perfect for occasional home use, I wouldn't recommend this for professional use. Get a Stihl if you plan on trimming everyday. But for my situation, it is great!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

weighs a lot

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was pleased with the cutting power and the ease of assembly. However the cutting head is quite heavy and a bit challenging to use over head. The engine is difficult to start no matter what attachment is connected.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

This little guy is a beast!!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this attachment yesterday and it was everything I expected and some! It had no problem with thick 8" branches or even pesky little vines growing on the trees. The extended pole makes it easy to reach high up. It is very heavy with the extended pole and attachment but that is expected. I would compare this to a stihl kombi system. Can't speak on longevity because I just bought it but so far very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For a fraction of the price of a Sthil or Echo, I wasn't expecting a whole lot. What I got was a great product. Don't over tighten the cover for the blade and this thing cuts tree limbs like butter. Very impressed as with all my Ryobi tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Chase City VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised how well this unit worked. I've used it about 5 times without any issues. Time will tell if it holds up over the long term.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: hard to keep chain off the ground during startup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Not Disappointed

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works advertised. Cut limbs and small trees with ease.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Northwest Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have plenty of oak trees that had low hanging branches that needed trimming. I wasn't comfortable with using a ladder and chain saw. This pruner attachment was the solution. Easy to use and maneuver. I also have two large crepe myrtles that require pruning every winter. I usually do this with a ladder and loppers- at least 45 mins to an hour each tree. With the pruner attachment I spent maybe 15 mins per tree. Highly recommend this attachment for those that have annual trimming to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid. Works as expected

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am 30 days into this purchase after replacing a similar product that had lasted me 3 years. I have used this product a dozen times already and it appears to be handling the work load. The previous unit leaked oil out of the box and that has not been a problem with the new one.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from suwanee, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Who Needs a Chainsaw

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a lot of tree branches that needed to be trimmed due to the fact that they overhung my roof in several places allowing squirrels to not only chew my eves and enter my attic but also to access a lower roof and look into my windows. They had to go. I called tree trimmers to get a price and they quoted $1500- $2000 for the job. Wow wish I had that money laying around. I decided to buy this trimmer even though I thought some of the branches were too large for this puny looking tool. I was so wrong. This trimmer cut them with ease. Of course I had to purchase a chipper for disposal but it was on sale at Home Depot with 1 year free financing. Some problems. The chain oil leaks out the fill cap when turned up side down which has to happen on some branches. The extension pole really makes it hard to control the trimmer and I could not use it even though I really could have used the extra length. Had to climb up into the tree to get some of the branches and use a ladder for some others. I am considering buying a conventional chain saw to cut up all the downed branches but I really think I can just use this tool. I had a gas powered chain saw but it never worked so good and you can do much better trimming branches with this attachment. Final verdict buy it. Saved me $1000.00 now and I will have the trimmer and chipper for years to come.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>