728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

The Ryobi Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmers features a 10 in. bar that can cut through limbs with up to a 6 in. diameter. An automatic lubrication feature helps keep the attachment well-oiled as you use it.
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product102 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(30)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product102 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
Review 1 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best investment I've made this year.

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was able to trim all my trees. This would have cost $500 by a contractor. Cuts smooth and reaches high.
Includes a 3 year warranty..
Love It.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little attachment

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thought this was a cool gadget when I bought it and with Home Depot's easy return policy I figured I could return it, if it was just cool toy.
It is not a toy, it is a full blown tool.
But folks lets be serious here it is not going to make you a lumber jack!!!
That being said;
I did not give the Pruner 5 stars for two reasons;
I own a couple of chain saws and am familiar with how much Chain oil they use and this little trimmer uses way too much.
It went through the entire reservoir in under 10 minutes.
While on the bright side it kept the chain nice and sharp.
The Chain Guard for storage is JUNK and difficult to put on I have to figure out another solution.
I found no issues others have reported about poor quality, not so at all.
As for jamming, NOPE no problem either.
As for stuff getting caught in the clutch area,,, not much at all.
Cut through two 5 inch Dutch Elm bundles that I could not reach with my Chain Saw in just a couple of minutes.
One was old and hard as a rock!!
Overhead branches 2 and 3 inches in seconds.
I have not had the need to use the add on extension yet but it will come into play in the future.
All being said it is a great and useful tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, cuts fast
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Jackson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product was very easy to use and attached

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as you can see from the photo the trimmer works well to trim tall bushes and it is light weight when it is attached to the power unit
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Koloa, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Expand-it pruner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Aloha from Hawaii. I researched and checked several of the possible pruners that would fit the LHER Propane power head. None fit very good to not at all, until I found the Ryobi-Expand it pruner. This unit fit perfect and worked as advertised. I took it out of the box, read the manual, filled the oil reservoir and went to work. Within an hour I had pruned 6 trees high enough t let in the sun. The reach is good and the power head light enough for an guy like me of 68. Just for reference the Lehr and Craftsman Propane trimmers are the same.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, fit the lher propane trimmer/powerhead.
Cons: don'y know of any yet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Best bang for your buck!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it as a trimmer and as a chain saw, thing is amazing, I cut through a huge maple tree in front of my house and pierce through pine trees with a breeze.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Small but powerful

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the trimmer attachment to use around my in-law's place. We often visit and help keep their fence line in shape but their tool selection is a bit worn and they don't always have the right item for the job. It's taken forever to clear some of the branches in the past but with this little guy I can zip along, finish the cleaning, and still have time to enjoy a cold one while hanging out on horseback!
It may not see a lot of use around my place given that we're in a planned subdivision with little to no tree cover but for the amount of time it's saved me at their place... priceless!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Poulsbo, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Made my day better than what I thought it would be!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pruner did everything that it was suppose to do and it did a great job. I had a lot of tree's to trim and it did all of them. The only problem I had was I had to keep the fuel tank full or the motor would run out of gas, I could had just turned the attachment around and solved that problem. I had been looking for something like this for a long time, it was great. Take breaks in between tree's. I also have a 4 cycle head which I love, it's all great to work with. Well worth the money, the time you'll save!!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

pruner attachment

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works for me Use it for to trim around 1/4 acre lot. My neighbors seem to love trees and let them grow wildly everywhere.so they hang over my lot and I trim quite often.with this handy attachment I can reach some pretty high branches. The saw comes with a nice strap,handle and an extension shift that you can use with or without. Does not require much assembly.The first few time I tried to cut some small branches the motor sputtered out on me and I had a really hard time cutting through, I was almost ready to return it. I put it away and read the manual again and watched some YouTube videos. I then noticed I had the blade cutting in the wrong direction, I needed to rotate the shift to th opposite side.I felt like an idiot , I then tried cutting some 3 inch branches and Wow what a nice tool just like a hit knife through butter.It now hangs in my garage wait to workout.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Salt Lake City, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Convienent but needs close attention

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item to trim some tree branches and cut down lilac bushes. The saw is powerful and quickly cuts through branches. The chain tension needs to be closely watched or it jumps off track. The biggest problem I had was the chain saw head often twists out of alignment where it attaches to the pole. The retaining pin tends to retract on it's own causing the head to twist, which was really annoying. I solved the problem by drilling a small hole in the retaining pin and using a codder pin to keep it in place. Once the twisting issue was solved, the unit works great.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from AR

Not That Good

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Ryobi pole saw attachment that I have bought. Both had leaks in the chain oil tank when straight from the box. The chain adjustment gets slack very quickly and requires adjustment too often. The chain stretches way too quickly and the bar wears way too fast. If you are only trimming a few limbs it is okay but for bigger projects I do not recommend it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from San diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I expect. Very happy with my purchase

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, an easy to handle pole chainsaw for trimming my trees. I am a 52 female, and this was perfectly manageable for me. My arms were tired, but that is okay. It cut the branches with ease and the 5 inch trunk of the small tree I was removing.
I did read the directions thorougly, and I used the strap, I wanted to be careful, I had never used a chainsaw before...or universal pruner attachment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Monticello, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Twice

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seemed like a good deal and a well-constructed unit out of the box. Unfortunately I used it on exactly two occasions, and something in the gearbox bound up and it no longer cuts. I was really excited to use it too :(
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Works Great!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to trim a few tree limbs. Easy to use and worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Small Jobs

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi Pruner is great for small jobs around the yard. It has excellent reach and will build your arm muscles in no time. I had a chain saw but always knew, one day, it would land me in the emergency room. I got this and gave the chainsaw to a friend. Obviously, if you are cutting large trees you need something bigger but I like to be able to attach this to my Ryobi trimmer when I see a wayward branch and not have to make it an ordeal. It does suck up chain oil pretty fast so you may want to keep that bottle with you and not in the garage if you'll be using this for more than 15 or 20 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from shelby mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't work w/ extension

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item worked fine for awhile but then stopped working with the extension. Will work fine with the extension eliminated but that's why I bought it; for the added reach!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Smithfield, RI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful RYOBI customer service

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible Ryobi service! No chain oil in box (there was supposed to be according to paperwork). Called and e-mailed Ryobi customer service and they told me "too bad." I would have to go buy it myself they; won't send me any. I was literally stunned by the awful service. I could not believe they would upset a customer over a $3 bottle of oil THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE IN THE BOX IN THE FIRST PLACE!! I was not asking for anything extra. I will be returning this product just because of the aggrivation and disrespect shown by Ryobi.
Cons: missing item, bad service
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Iowa City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good puner

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pruner is a good buy and expands my trimmer well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from CO

Great reach

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my Toro trimmer to help a family member cut back some of their large Pine Trees. It cut through 4" branches with surprising ease. The best part was with the extention the saw comes with I was cutting braches at the trunk of the tree without reaching into the tree. This attachment is perfect for light to moderate tree trimming without much effort. The bar oil resivor is on the small side, make sure to check it every once and a while.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer

Does not work well with poulan

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product may work fine with Ryobi Power units. It does not, however, work with poulan pro as advertised. The flex shaft is just long enough to round out the end of the drive receptacle in the power unit. Basically I now have a string trimmer I can not, use and a pole saw that has nothing wrong to justify warranty. On top of that Ryobi makes you create an account for customer support. It seems like a fair tool other than that. For 99 dollars that is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 10 in. Universal Pruner Attachment for Trimmer
from Hampton, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for pruning

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This attachment is easy to use and adjusting chain is easy. Sometimes chain cover clogs with cutting debree.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>