728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Carbon Monoxide Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

The digital readout of the Kidde Plug-In Digital Carbon Monoxide Alarm with 9-Volt Backup continuously displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 parts per million (PPM) and will sound an 85 dB alarm when dangerous levels are reached. The carbon monoxide level sensed is continuously displayed and updated every 15 seconds, and the peak level memory shows the highest level of carbon monoxide present since the last time the unit was reset or unplugged. Protection continues during power outages thanks to a 9-volt battery backup.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product37 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product37 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Review 1 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
dkingma1986
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product very user friendly. Very easy to install; basically put the backup battery in and plug it in. Excellent design to rotate the plug to fit the wall outlet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Tom34
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very versatile

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because of its digital readout and max CO level memory. After reading the directions I realized that it has a built-in power adapter ("wall wart" style) with a long cord neatly stowed in back, which allows this unit to be directly plugged into an outlet, or the adapter can be plugged into any outlet while the main unit is resting on a table top (stand included) or is mounted on a wall at a more comfortable reading height than the outlet is located.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
RJS1

Trouble free

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to do. Good battery life although unit will shut down automatically after about 8 years
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Polock
from Livingston, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read instructions carefully. Works very well

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a carbon monoxide detective alarm and this one fit the bill. Reasonably priced a good value for the money. I have recommended this product to my family and friends. Some have already purchased.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Jaybird
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saved my butt

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Nighthawk plug in in 1996. It's now 2012 and I never realized it need to be replaced. OMG, it just went off at 5:00AM this morning. I found that the side venting furnace had a large hole on the top side of the duct due to rust. CM was leaking into the basement and carried up stairs. My wife had complained about headaches, but we never connected the dots until the alarm went off.
Needless to say I'm buying 3 more today! Thanks, NH
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Rodo
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and reliable

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is as described on the packaging. Easy to install. Power Cord with battery backup means never having to be worried about being without protection.
Pros: Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
qrgtbh1
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built in self destruct

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought two of these and they both lasted almost exactly seven years. I purchased them in Feb of 06 and they both displayed Err messages within a week of each other in Feb of 2013. I called Kidde and they told me that they normally last 7 years and then need replacement. Hard to believe but I need to more. Be aware that I was told that it seven years from production date, the date is on the back of the unit. My alarms were both made in Sept of 03 so they had been on the shelf for three years when I bought them. Make sure they are current year production when you buy yours.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Battery Length
Cons: Burns Out
+25points
38out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Tara
from Lake Anna, Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product with right features.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Third and fourth units we've had in homes. Both previous units lasted 10 years and performed perfectly. Features AC power, 9v battery back-up for power outages, loud alarm, easy to test, easy to read digital display, ability to monitor low CO levels and re-set. Competitive price.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Loud, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Sipp
from New Jersey

A true nighthawk

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had 3 nighthawks and I am purchasing the fourth one. This last one lasted 8 years. We love this product. It never fails. The alarm went off once. And it was due to the gas burner being left on accidentally by someone in the household (could have been me). We leave one upstairs (kitchen) and one downstairs (basement). I personally have encouraged people to buy it and will continue to do so. I am a kidde safety fanatic. We have 3 combo alarms, 2 nighthawks and 2 home fire extinguishers. Can you guess what I do for a living? I am an ER nurse.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
MillBrooke
from Endwell, NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this alarm to replace the same thing that I've had for ten years. it beeped telling me that it was time to replace!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Boffman
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product as always.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thought the new CO detectors only can with a direct plug-in but found this Kidde with a detachable plug. Works great as a direct replacement for my other 10 year old CO detector .
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
beedo
from Olean, In
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product was just what I thought it would be.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed the Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide alarm and the product was received in good condition and was just what I needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
JM082212070109
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Price for Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Provides desired protection from Carbon Monoxide. We got one for each level of our house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
viraldoc
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

7 year life

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I finallly got an error message and the manual said to call the company. They asked me for the manufacturing date, which was 8 years ago (which is probably how long I've had it), and said it is simply time to be replaced. I plan on buying another one just like it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
MES13
Gender:Female

This product has a nice compact design.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice design to sit out on table in clear view and easy to read LED read out
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
peaceWithin

Works well

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works well but is quite expensive for a carbon monoxide alarm
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Battery Length
Cons: Too Heavy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
weld387
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Important Safety Equipment

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For most of my adult life I have worked with gases and flamable's. I have seen first hand what deadly things we can't see, can do. It just makes sense not to want to be killed by something you don't know is there. CO gas can't be smelled, or seen. This Kidde Unit measures the air for dangerous levels of this culprit. It constantly monitors your homes air for the dangerous killer. You just put the back up battery in and plug it into the wall. I would hate to get the the pearly gates and have to explain how I got there, when this thing is available. It's a small price to pay for your families safety.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Loud, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, digital display to see the co levels
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
mebreck
from Boise, ID
Gender:Female

Easy to install. Instructions have good information.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be good. Instructions have good information about CO poisoning and what to do. Easy to install. Internet or ding was easy and free shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
VOvo
from Parma, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as sensitive

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
its Okay, not as sensitive as i though i would be. Battery include but ran short.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
DIYer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a good value for the price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made, good value. Would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>