728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Carbon Monoxide Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

The digital readout of the Kidde Plug-In Digital Carbon Monoxide Alarm with 9-Volt Backup continuously displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 parts per million (PPM) and will sound an 85 dB alarm when dangerous levels are reached. The carbon monoxide level sensed is continuously displayed and updated every 15 seconds, and the peak level memory shows the highest level of carbon monoxide present since the last time the unit was reset or unplugged. Protection continues during power outages thanks to a 9-volt battery backup.
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Review 1 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product very user friendly. Very easy to install; basically put the backup battery in and plug it in. Excellent design to rotate the plug to fit the wall outlet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very versatile

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because of its digital readout and max CO level memory. After reading the directions I realized that it has a built-in power adapter ("wall wart" style) with a long cord neatly stowed in back, which allows this unit to be directly plugged into an outlet, or the adapter can be plugged into any outlet while the main unit is resting on a table top (stand included) or is mounted on a wall at a more comfortable reading height than the outlet is located.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Gibsonia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Second one I have owned. The first one lasted 10 years without any problems at all. Just remember to change the battery backup when you change the batteries in your smoke detectors or it will start beeping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Trouble free

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to do. Good battery life although unit will shut down automatically after about 8 years
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saved my butt

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Nighthawk plug in in 1996. It's now 2012 and I never realized it need to be replaced. OMG, it just went off at 5:00AM this morning. I found that the side venting furnace had a large hole on the top side of the duct due to rust. CM was leaking into the basement and carried up stairs. My wife had complained about headaches, but we never connected the dots until the alarm went off.
Needless to say I'm buying 3 more today! Thanks, NH
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built in self destruct

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought two of these and they both lasted almost exactly seven years. I purchased them in Feb of 06 and they both displayed Err messages within a week of each other in Feb of 2013. I called Kidde and they told me that they normally last 7 years and then need replacement. Hard to believe but I need to more. Be aware that I was told that it seven years from production date, the date is on the back of the unit. My alarms were both made in Sept of 03 so they had been on the shelf for three years when I bought them. Make sure they are current year production when you buy yours.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Battery Length
Cons: Burns Out
+27points
40out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Livingston, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read instructions carefully. Works very well

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a carbon monoxide detective alarm and this one fit the bill. Reasonably priced a good value for the money. I have recommended this product to my family and friends. Some have already purchased.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from New Jersey

A true nighthawk

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had 3 nighthawks and I am purchasing the fourth one. This last one lasted 8 years. We love this product. It never fails. The alarm went off once. And it was due to the gas burner being left on accidentally by someone in the household (could have been me). We leave one upstairs (kitchen) and one downstairs (basement). I personally have encouraged people to buy it and will continue to do so. I am a kidde safety fanatic. We have 3 combo alarms, 2 nighthawks and 2 home fire extinguishers. Can you guess what I do for a living? I am an ER nurse.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Defective

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
ok, brought this product in January or Feb of 2014 after my first have showed the ERR message. The first CM lasted 7 years, so replaced with same. Only this time every 2-3 weeks it beeps and shows low battery, replaced the battery each time, long story short after 4-5 months I have replaced the battery several times. Called the company told them the problem, first thing he told me when he asked where I had it, I said the livingroom, he stated "they don't normally recommend it being in LR". Stated I had the last one the same place. Now I am awaiting the replacement from Kidde. Year made is July 2013.
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Kasilof, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Standard CO Alarm

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the standard that others are judged by. It has battery backup and peak level readout. it should last more than 5 years, and could very well be the thing that saves your life.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for a few days - then posted "Lb" on the display

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The "Lb" display indicates a low battery - it continued to display "Lb" even with two different new battery. I couldn't find an exchange at the Home Depot - the model may not be carried any longer.
I had good luck with the previous one I purchased but didn't realize it only had 5 years of life and then displays "end" or something like that. The new version had 10 years of life before it shuts down.
Pros: Lots of Features, Loud, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Plug in is Easy To Install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No special tools or batteries needed. Bring it home and plug it in... That works for me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what I needed!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to install. . .works as advertised! You can count on Home Depot for the right product at a fair price. Staff are always knowledgable, friendly and helpful. . .i am a happy HD customer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from lapeer michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

peace of mind

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this because I feel it is very important to have a carbon monoxide alarm in my home, you cannot smell the gas in your home if their is a problem. this product gives me peace of mind because I know that it will detect a problem if their is one and set the alarm off so we are able to call for help and also get ourselves and pets out of our home safely.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and reliable

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is as described on the packaging. Easy to install. Power Cord with battery backup means never having to be worried about being without protection.
Pros: Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Shelton, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked exactly like advertised and met my requirements.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Lake Anna, Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product with right features.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Third and fourth units we've had in homes. Both previous units lasted 10 years and performed perfectly. Features AC power, 9v battery back-up for power outages, loud alarm, easy to test, easy to read digital display, ability to monitor low CO levels and re-set. Competitive price.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Loud, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

7 year life

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I finallly got an error message and the manual said to call the company. They asked me for the manufacturing date, which was 8 years ago (which is probably how long I've had it), and said it is simply time to be replaced. I plan on buying another one just like it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product as always.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thought the new CO detectors only can with a direct plug-in but found this Kidde with a detachable plug. Works great as a direct replacement for my other 10 year old CO detector .
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Owned two of these prior to purchasing the same model for replacements. An excellent choice
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>