728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Carbon Monoxide Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

The digital readout of the Kidde Plug-In Digital Carbon Monoxide Alarm with 9-Volt Backup continuously displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 parts per million (PPM) and will sound an 85 dB alarm when dangerous levels are reached. The carbon monoxide level sensed is continuously displayed and updated every 15 seconds, and the peak level memory shows the highest level of carbon monoxide present since the last time the unit was reset or unplugged. Protection continues during power outages thanks to a 9-volt battery backup.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product55 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(16)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product55 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Review 1 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product very user friendly. Very easy to install; basically put the backup battery in and plug it in. Excellent design to rotate the plug to fit the wall outlet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Camp Hill, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a life saver

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to plug in to the wall. Everyone should have @ least one, it saved my mother's life a few years ago, when her furnace malfunctioned.
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good. To. Great if it lasts

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It looks nice for laundry room setting. Acts sensitive when I. Move it around. Getting ready to double sided tape it down to a chill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very versatile

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this because of its digital readout and max CO level memory. After reading the directions I realized that it has a built-in power adapter ("wall wart" style) with a long cord neatly stowed in back, which allows this unit to be directly plugged into an outlet, or the adapter can be plugged into any outlet while the main unit is resting on a table top (stand included) or is mounted on a wall at a more comfortable reading height than the outlet is located.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saved my butt

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a Nighthawk plug in in 1996. It's now 2012 and I never realized it need to be replaced. OMG, it just went off at 5:00AM this morning. I found that the side venting furnace had a large hole on the top side of the duct due to rust. CM was leaking into the basement and carried up stairs. My wife had complained about headaches, but we never connected the dots until the alarm went off.
Needless to say I'm buying 3 more today! Thanks, NH
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't go wrong with this item!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second unit of this particular model we have owned. The first unit was only supposed to last 4-5 years (the detector has a limited lifespan by design), and it lasted over 7 years! This new unit has a supposedly longer lasting detector, which brings me more peace of mind. This unit is so convenient, you can either plug it straight into a wall outlet, or, it will let you take the AC adapter out of the housing, so you can move the unit to the top of a cabinet if needs be (the lead will go to almost 5 feet without difficulty). Price is still reasonable, and even though we could get a combo smoke/monoxide detector now, we have chosen to repeat this purchase. In my opinion, you will not be disappointed. And yes, it DOES detect monoxide levels, works when power goes down (battery back up), and lets you know when the battery gets low, and is loud enough to be heard from 2 stories up!
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Kidde co detector

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This co detector is an excellent unit that was easy to install and gives us peace of mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well functioning and easy to install.

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instructions were easy to follow for installation, and the unit doesn't look too bad on the wall. Alarm is very audible!
Pros: Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Trouble free

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to do. Good battery life although unit will shut down automatically after about 8 years
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from New Jersey

A true nighthawk

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had 3 nighthawks and I am purchasing the fourth one. This last one lasted 8 years. We love this product. It never fails. The alarm went off once. And it was due to the gas burner being left on accidentally by someone in the household (could have been me). We leave one upstairs (kitchen) and one downstairs (basement). I personally have encouraged people to buy it and will continue to do so. I am a kidde safety fanatic. We have 3 combo alarms, 2 nighthawks and 2 home fire extinguishers. Can you guess what I do for a living? I am an ER nurse.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Rochester NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good detector

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Install was easy, no problems with my equipment (furnace, ect.) noted.
will rest assured of no silent dangers
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built in self destruct

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I bought two of these and they both lasted almost exactly seven years. I purchased them in Feb of 06 and they both displayed Err messages within a week of each other in Feb of 2013. I called Kidde and they told me that they normally last 7 years and then need replacement. Hard to believe but I need to more. Be aware that I was told that it seven years from production date, the date is on the back of the unit. My alarms were both made in Sept of 03 so they had been on the shelf for three years when I bought them. Make sure they are current year production when you buy yours.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Battery Length
Cons: Burns Out
+34points
48out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

7 year life

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I finallly got an error message and the manual said to call the company. They asked me for the manufacturing date, which was 8 years ago (which is probably how long I've had it), and said it is simply time to be replaced. I plan on buying another one just like it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Brookeville, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little expensive but a good value

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This replaced the same purchased years ago that had outlived its usable life. Easy to install and test and reset the devise.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Defective

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
ok, brought this product in January or Feb of 2014 after my first have showed the ERR message. The first CM lasted 7 years, so replaced with same. Only this time every 2-3 weeks it beeps and shows low battery, replaced the battery each time, long story short after 4-5 months I have replaced the battery several times. Called the company told them the problem, first thing he told me when he asked where I had it, I said the livingroom, he stated "they don't normally recommend it being in LR". Stated I had the last one the same place. Now I am awaiting the replacement from Kidde. Year made is July 2013.
Cons: Short Battery Life
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
One can' reall measure how good or bad a CO detector is, so far this one seems to be working well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Livingston, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read instructions carefully. Works very well

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed a carbon monoxide detective alarm and this one fit the bill. Reasonably priced a good value for the money. I have recommended this product to my family and friends. Some have already purchased.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Important Safety Equipment

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For most of my adult life I have worked with gases and flamable's. I have seen first hand what deadly things we can't see, can do. It just makes sense not to want to be killed by something you don't know is there. CO gas can't be smelled, or seen. This Kidde Unit measures the air for dangerous levels of this culprit. It constantly monitors your homes air for the dangerous killer. You just put the back up battery in and plug it into the wall. I would hate to get the the pearly gates and have to explain how I got there, when this thing is available. It's a small price to pay for your families safety.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Loud, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, digital display to see the co levels
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from NJ

Like the battery backup

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our previous CO detector lasted for seven years and we bought this one as a replacement. We have it plugged in, but am glad that it has a battery backup. This would be an ideal gift for a new home owner.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide Detector

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought two of these 8 years ago. One the same day, eight years later, BOTh units displayed an ERR msg which indicates they no longer work and need to be replaced. They obviously have some sort of "self destruct" built in. I don't believe it's a coincidence they died on the same day. Needless to say, it's a necessary item and worked fine for 8 years, so I'll likely buy two more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>