728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

The Williams Furnace Co. Monterey 25,000 BTU Natural Gas Top-Vent Wall Furnace allows you to heat a room without the need for electricity to save you money and keep you warm during power outages. This wall furnace comfortably installs between wall studs and can be converted to run on liquid propane with the use of an optional conversion kit (not included).
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Review 1 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Don't forget to order assessory for two rooms

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The BIG item which you need to know if you are using this unit for two rooms is to order the assessory part number Willaims number #6901 (I don't know the Home Depot number) for a rear vent and cover registery kit to convert it into use for both rooms - this is not stated in the website.
The Williams company has since the 1960's or more has made good products. Don't get the one with the motorized fan blower if the unit is up in flames - then it will blow flames into your room!
The rough in size is about 14 3/4"in width which is not stated on the website so it fits between the studs which is nice. The finish sizes are state on the website.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, Easy Installation

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The furnace arrived earlier than expected, which was great since the one it replaced had quit working. The thermostat that comes with the unit is a nice feature that I didn't have with the last furnace. The installation was relatively simple.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heater works well..

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The heater works very well. The instructions leave a little to be desired in particular as to the installation of the header plate. (My house is not normal drywall and 2x4 construction though.) My Home Depot carried the oval vent plate, oval pipe and round pipe, but the oval to round adapter was not available at my store and I had to call all over town to find one. They do not do store -to store transfers nor ship these items, plan on that. My biggest complaint was the fit of the grill. Way off spec, I had to modify it to get it to fit. Much higher quality of heat than the WW2@ era one it replaced!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Not sure yet

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The furnace appears to be OK but having trouble getting flue pipe required. Home Depot sells this furnace but does not sell the required flue vent pipe. Seems odd they would sell a product but not sell the required material to beable to complete installation.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Atascadero, CALIF.

Just Installed...

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced a Williams Furnace built in '82 as it was warn out. You could hear the old furnace creak and crack while it heated up, the new furnace you can't hear at all. The installation is pretty simple and fit right into the old spot. I didn't use the thermostat they provied as the one I have is programmable, the one they provide is similiar to the old dial type, and mine hooked right up.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Looks nice and appears to work great thus far

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this in May in my rental unit. It appears to work great, I purchased the optional fan unit and I was really suprised how well this unit pushed air as the fan sits on top as a last ditch effort to suck heat from the flue. It was not very cold outside so I will not be able to contest how well it works in cold weather. The instructions were a bit confusing at times but if you take your time and logically breakdown the install it's not bad at all. It does look very nice installed. I will say like most modern devices they use cheap thin metal and can easily be damaged. But look at the price and one cannot complain :)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater / Thermostat is Junk

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have installed two of these in our building this past fall and both heaters came with faulty thermostats. Heaters work great but the thermostat is garbage.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: thermostat is junk.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Lander, WY 82520, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, Very Good

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This would have earned 5 stars if the thermostat was better. We bought a different one because it was not keeping the room consistant.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Effective wall-mounted Gas Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I converted this Williams wall heater to propane and it is performing as expected. It really throws the heat and I wish there was a convenient way to control that burn level, rather than just on or off.
The thermostat is fairly accurate and stable, but I'm still replacing it with a programmable unit for better and more convenient control.
I've installed several of these units in rentals and they have proven to be durable and long lasting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no heat level control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad instructions, product, and no customer support

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you purchase this product, you will notice that the web instructions, packaged instructions, and the sticker on the header all have different measurements for the header height - I had to make a decision on using the top header dimensions. If you use the bottom header instructions, your header may not fit properly. The face panel will not fit without forcing it on the heater. After careful measurements, I noticed that the opening for the face panel is about a 1/8 inch smaller than the screws they used to assemble the heater - no wonder it doesn't fit. I have been trying to resolve this by contacting williams distributing by email. Note, the packaged instructions have only a mail contact for williams distributing - guess they don't want you to contact them. I have emailed repeatedly, however the person that keeps responding is robo responding, he does not even read the email. I am so tired of this company and this product. I spent so much money and time to replace an ugly furnance, however I wish I can keep the old furnance now.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very reliable

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
porduct will not have to be replaced for 10 years .good product. home depot carrys them. price iis lower than other places,also have item oon hand
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Great heater / didn't by it for thermostat

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replaced heater for older 40 year old williams heater . had to trim
sheet metal on gas line side with tin snips to slide right in didn't feel like pulling gas line out to install. buy a programable thermostat it will work way better than the cheap one provided but your buying the heater . after lightning I was sweating before I could put the cover on the unit watch out for sharp edges on sheet metal . drew a little blood ha but that's what I get for wearing shorts when installing .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Joplin, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for an inside wall installation

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The exhause venting is specialized (oval), not available locally here in Joplin, and expensive online but, if you want to install a wall furnace on an inside wall, you will need oval venting and this heater is an excellent option.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Ripon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was so easy to install just fit where we took the other one out.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works better than our old one and heats fast is more efficient saves us money on gas bill. we are very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Arizona

Monterey Furnace-25000 Btu

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The furnace install was very straight forward but you would have to be knowledgeable in the trades to do a new install. A replacement for an existing similar one with the gas and vent in place would only take several hours. It comes with a good manual and a better one even is downloadable on-line.
The furnace is designed for a 4" oval vent so that would be required to the roof or an adapter to round somewhere along the line. I bought the vent pipe (4+3ft), connector plate and vent cap on-line for sixty dollars or so, that is enough to go three feet above the roof. The company wants $150 for the base plate connector and a few feet of pipe so I saved there. I used self tapping sheet metal screws on the vent connections just to make sure they did not come apart.
It is very sturdy, 110 pounds, quiet and heats up very quickly. It will not burn fingers but the upper portion is hot when on. The thermostat, it comes with one, should be mounted at least a few feet away from the unit so it does not cycle too much. I still might add the accessory fan to circulate the air better in the two rooms, I have 500 sq. ft. to heat. Just had it a little while but it seems fine to me. If cheap heat is what you want this is it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good heater for a good price. The oval adaptor is not available at my store.

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I order online and p/u at store. It's ready pretty quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Louisville Ky

good product

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The furnace works great. The pilot is louder than I would like. I plan to get a tech to come in and check the gas flow settings. This furnace requires 4" BW vent. (4" oval double wall. dura vent brand) This is not available locally. I had to order it online. There was some minor damage to the outer cover. I just installed the furnace yesterday and will contact Home Depot Monday about that.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Austin, TX

economical and efficient

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already had a Monterey wall heater that I was replacing with this newer model. The old one was probably 20-30 yrs old and it was time to toss out. I am using this heater for a small 500 sqft rental house for which central heat and air does not make sense. This heater is by far the most efficient and cheapest way to provide heat. It does not need electricity. My HVAC guy replaced the whole assembly which was very easy. The new one was shaped the same way as the old one and it fit right in the existing space. He was done in less than an hour, of course that is because the vent system was already in place. I probably could have done it myself but I don't like to deal with anything that involves gas. I did put in a carbon monoxide alarm in the nearby bedroom just in case. Note that you have to buy the vent system separately and you may also need a flex gas line if you put in a heater for the first time in your house. From looking around on the internet, the price was very economical even including the shipping charges. This heater does not have a blower and that is why it does not need electricity. If you have the option of running electricity to your heater, I would opt for a heater with a blower because it disperses the heat more effectively. However, five stars for this heater as is.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from New Bedford, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Alright, should've bought the blower

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Install was extremely easy. Make sure you order all the vent parts online at the same time, Home Depot does not stock vent adapters for this unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no parts in stock at any home depot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Collinsville, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Monterey Williams 25,000 Nat Gas Wall Furnace

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to replace one unit in rental home. It's great for small 2 bd home. Appearance on wall takes up less space than reg furnace.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>