728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

The Williams Furnace Co. Monterey 25,000 BTU Natural Gas Top-Vent Wall Furnace allows you to heat a room without the need for electricity to save you money and keep you warm during power outages. This wall furnace comfortably installs between wall studs and can be converted to run on liquid propane with the use of an optional conversion kit (not included).
Overall rating:
4.03 / 5
4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product28 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product28 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Review 1 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from western New york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice furnace , easy to install

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a 50 yr old wall furnace with this unit. Installation was very easy due to the fact the new furnace fit almost exact to the old unit. Exhaust was already in and new vent attached the same as the old, gas line had to be shortened , all in all , the installation was straight forward , with no hassles.The new furnace was no match for weight , quality , and durability compared to the old. But then again, nothing is made as good as it was 50 yrs ago.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: instructions leave a lot to be desired
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Don't forget to order assessory for two rooms

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The BIG item which you need to know if you are using this unit for two rooms is to order the assessory part number Willaims number #6901 (I don't know the Home Depot number) for a rear vent and cover registery kit to convert it into use for both rooms - this is not stated in the website.
The Williams company has since the 1960's or more has made good products. Don't get the one with the motorized fan blower if the unit is up in flames - then it will blow flames into your room!
The rough in size is about 14 3/4"in width which is not stated on the website so it fits between the studs which is nice. The finish sizes are state on the website.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Chesapeake,Va.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product needs help

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The furnace itself works fine, however the fan accessory is poorly designed. It would not come on. I had to engineer changes myself so that it came on automatically. This is not something I recommend for the novice.
The BIGGEST PROBLEM was with the online ordering. The store clerk ordered as home delivery which I had to personally clear up with the online store. Secondly my order arrived first later than promised by online order and then even later by the shipper (Non-Stop). I found out later the order was actually in town for a week before they delivered it to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck finding the oval to round vent pipe converter...

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was thrilled to find the heater on home depot.com for such a great price. We purchased the heater, the wall brace to avoid cutting into the wall, and the fan. The heater and accessories were shipped & arrived within a few days - so far, so good. Surprisingly, Home Depot does not carry all of the required parts to install the heater. The heater requires a 4" Oval to 4" Round vent pipe converter which is very difficult to find. After hours of searching for the converter online - we were able to find the "kit" which was over $100 plus shipping - we couldn't wait ten to fourteen days to receive the parts. ... so much for easy and so much for purchasing the heater at a bargain price... Finally, we were able to find the converter at a local mom & pop hardware / plumbing store for a fraction of the price than it was online.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, Easy Installation

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The furnace arrived earlier than expected, which was great since the one it replaced had quit working. The thermostat that comes with the unit is a nice feature that I didn't have with the last furnace. The installation was relatively simple.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Florence, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top-vent gravity wall furnace natural gas with thermostat

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wall furnace placed in my garage is an amazing buy for a great price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from live oak florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wall top vent dual room Williams gas heater

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered the heater, paid for the heater on line, friend picked up the heater 200 miles away and took it home. Altogether a most efficient purchase experience
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Not sure yet

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The furnace appears to be OK but having trouble getting flue pipe required. Home Depot sells this furnace but does not sell the required flue vent pipe. Seems odd they would sell a product but not sell the required material to beable to complete installation.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Atascadero, CALIF.

Just Installed...

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced a Williams Furnace built in '82 as it was warn out. You could hear the old furnace creak and crack while it heated up, the new furnace you can't hear at all. The installation is pretty simple and fit right into the old spot. I didn't use the thermostat they provied as the one I have is programmable, the one they provide is similiar to the old dial type, and mine hooked right up.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Montana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price, on a great furnace.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This furnace was really easy to install, and heats most of our top floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Looks nice and appears to work great thus far

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this in May in my rental unit. It appears to work great, I purchased the optional fan unit and I was really suprised how well this unit pushed air as the fan sits on top as a last ditch effort to suck heat from the flue. It was not very cold outside so I will not be able to contest how well it works in cold weather. The instructions were a bit confusing at times but if you take your time and logically breakdown the install it's not bad at all. It does look very nice installed. I will say like most modern devices they use cheap thin metal and can easily be damaged. But look at the price and one cannot complain :)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Furnace

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have not used the furnace at this time, due to the weather but we are anxious to find out how it works
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater / Thermostat is Junk

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have installed two of these in our building this past fall and both heaters came with faulty thermostats. Heaters work great but the thermostat is garbage.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: thermostat is junk.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heater works well..

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The heater works very well. The instructions leave a little to be desired in particular as to the installation of the header plate. (My house is not normal drywall and 2x4 construction though.) My Home Depot carried the oval vent plate, oval pipe and round pipe, but the oval to round adapter was not available at my store and I had to call all over town to find one. They do not do store -to store transfers nor ship these items, plan on that. My biggest complaint was the fit of the grill. Way off spec, I had to modify it to get it to fit. Much higher quality of heat than the WW2@ era one it replaced!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad instructions, product, and no customer support

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you purchase this product, you will notice that the web instructions, packaged instructions, and the sticker on the header all have different measurements for the header height - I had to make a decision on using the top header dimensions. If you use the bottom header instructions, your header may not fit properly. The face panel will not fit without forcing it on the heater. After careful measurements, I noticed that the opening for the face panel is about a 1/8 inch smaller than the screws they used to assemble the heater - no wonder it doesn't fit. I have been trying to resolve this by contacting williams distributing by email. Note, the packaged instructions have only a mail contact for williams distributing - guess they don't want you to contact them. I have emailed repeatedly, however the person that keeps responding is robo responding, he does not even read the email. I am so tired of this company and this product. I spent so much money and time to replace an ugly furnance, however I wish I can keep the old furnance now.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very reliable

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
porduct will not have to be replaced for 10 years .good product. home depot carrys them. price iis lower than other places,also have item oon hand
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Lander, WY 82520, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, Very Good

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This would have earned 5 stars if the thermostat was better. We bought a different one because it was not keeping the room consistant.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Joplin, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for an inside wall installation

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The exhause venting is specialized (oval), not available locally here in Joplin, and expensive online but, if you want to install a wall furnace on an inside wall, you will need oval venting and this heater is an excellent option.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Effective wall-mounted Gas Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I converted this Williams wall heater to propane and it is performing as expected. It really throws the heat and I wish there was a convenient way to control that burn level, rather than just on or off.
The thermostat is fairly accurate and stable, but I'm still replacing it with a programmable unit for better and more convenient control.
I've installed several of these units in rentals and they have proven to be durable and long lasting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no heat level control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 25,000 BTU/Hr Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Ripon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was so easy to install just fit where we took the other one out.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works better than our old one and heats fast is more efficient saves us money on gas bill. we are very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>