728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product151 of 169reviews
Rating Breakdown 175 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(116)
4
(33)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product151 of 169reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Smitty
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chicago is 5 degrees, no heat in house. Running this heater for the last 3 days. House is 70 degrees. This will run for 13 - 15 hours on a tank. I do have it set a bit lower but 1100sq house is toasty until furnace is fixed. There is a slight kerosene odor after filling tank but great for any emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
itisb4me
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater, great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this originally for my garage to do work in the winter, but found I needed it in my house during an ice storm. I was out of power for days and this heater heated up my 1700 square foot house with no problem on low heat setting. It took about 12 hours to use 1 tank of fuel on low setting. It cost me about 6-7 dollars a day to run for those few days during the ice storm. The fumes were minimal. The fumes were stronger when I got close to the end on my tank of fuel. I just opened a window about 2 inches to keep it ventilated because my house is pretty air tight. I used a k-1 cleaner mix in my fuel which also helped keep the fumes to a minimal, that cost me around 7 dollars and will last you atleast a month or more of continuous use. I would reccommend this heater to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
gillian2008
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just buy it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little gem because my rented palace has a reverse cycle AC unit that eats power like a starving army eats food. Did the math---kero (at a gas station, supposedly the "right" kind) costs about $4.00 a gallon. The tank capacity on this unit is about 2 gallons. So--eight bucks to fill it. One tank of fuel lasts about 10 to 12 hours. My power bill was about $60 a month in the coldest part of the winter while using this heater.
Now--as to operation and maintenance. If you can, fill the tank outside. You will spill kerosene no matter how careful you are. The design of this unit anticipates that and if you overfill the tank (easy to do with the supplied siphon pump) a catch plate below the unit will get most if not all of the overfill. Follow the instructions to the letter the first time you light it up. Let the wick soak up the kero for at least 30 minutes--and preferrably longer. Light it outside the first time and play with the wick height control until you get heat and no smoke or smell. Then grab it by the wire cage and bring it inside--quickly.
It will get hot fairly fast. Peek at the flame and keep adjusting the wick down by putting one hand firmly on the control knob and release the safety lever with the other as the unit heats up to do this. Chances are the first time you try it you will see the wick disappear and the fire will go out. Relight it and do it again. IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT YOU CHECK THE FLAME LEVEL EVERY FIVE MINUTES DURING INITIAL START UP. It will get bigger and bigger and start to smell if you don't reduce the wick level. The unit will settle down and burn evenly in about 30 minutes.
How well does it work? Here's an example--my mobile home (yeah, yeah, I know) was about 1000 sq ft. The temp in the morning was about 48 degrees inside. Within 30 mins of operation the temp rose to about 65 degrees and climbing. Within an hour it was 75.
I replaced the wick once--and once you get the bits taken apart and do it wrong once or twice you will figure out the right way to do it. Youtube has pretty good instructions as does the manual. Wicks are cheap--replace it once a season.
Now--here's the acid test. Would I buy another one? In a heartbeat.
Tip--I bought some kerosene deodorizer and added it to the fuel. It doesn't ake much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+122points
128out of 134found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Hodgeagha
from Detroit, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must have in cold climates

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a basic appliance that keeps you warm in an outage very easily and without any hassle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Life Saver!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this the day after Sandy. It did a beautiful job of heating my home. When my power came back, I sent it across town to my sister. This heater kept her toasty for four days. This thing is great in an emergency!
+38points
41out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Roger66
from Elizabethtown Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemed very fragile

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this heater for about three days. I typically would use it about eight hours a day in my shop. Beginning the third day the automatic starter stopped working, although I could see the element heating, but it was not reaching the fuel source. A few days later the control knob for the fire began to jam and I had to lower the flame by easing down on the kill switch. Finally tonight, the spring came undone and we had to use a fire extinguisher to get it to stop burning. No harm done, but I did have a frustrated wife. I have had it less than 90 days, so going to return it tomorrow and see how that goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, fragile
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Lancorod
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceeded our expectations - great emergency resource

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these heaters for emergency backup in case of power failure. We decided to test them by shutting down the heat for a day with temps in the 20's and wind about 25mph. I put one in our great room and another in our basement. The house was already down to about 60* when I started. Within a half hour the lower level and main level were at 72* and the heat wa starting to work its way to the rooms on the second story level. We are thrilled with the heat output, ease of use and these were very simple to setup out of the box. We were able to get 12 hours out of a tank of fuel on each unit. In addition they provide light in the area that they are heating. I would recommend this kerosene heater to anyone that wants a good backup source for heat or to use to take the chill off large open areas of a home at any given time. The other appeal are the safety features as well as the ability to cook on the heater if necessary. Actually feel ready for an outage.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly
+44points
45out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Tango
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works extremely well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the unit. Purchased it to supplement the central air heat in the house on cold days, but realized it was able to heat the entire 2.5 story (non-vaulted ceilings) 2,200sqft house to 71 degrees when outside temps were around 9 degrees. Leaves no smell during normal operation and only a very slight smell on startup, but shutdown generates a noticeable kerosene smell that usually dissipates in 5 minutes. It's better to shut it down in a well ventilated area if the smell is a problem. Operation time on a full tank(1.9 gals) is 10 hours following the recommended flame height setting in the product manual.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Blackbean
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Discard when the wick is done

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wick is not replaceable. This burner works great, however, when the wick is past it's best, it cannot be replaced. I've tried and spoke to 2 family members (who are both general contractors and allround handymen) and neither of them had any success replacing the wick. They ended up just throwing it out.
I tried to replace mine and now I have to remove the cover everytime I want to shut it down. The unit works great but it's just ridiculous.
The wick lasted at least 4 seasons, but it needs regular clean burning. The clean burning process is also very long and can take at least 4 hours (if you remove all kerosene from the tank on the first clean burn cycle).
It's a shame since the unit works great when the wick is clean. But I tried 5 times to replace the wick and I am just not able to move the wick up and down anymore once I replaced it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, high maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Andy
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great back up system in areas where heat is critical!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these as a back-up to my home heating system up here in Eagle River Alaska. It saved our bacon during an extended power outage in mid-winter! I have a large two-story home and it managed to keep us very comfortable! Tip: Always burn the highly purified (Kleen) Kerosene rather than the stuff at your local gas station as It will reduce the smell almost completely and ensure reliable operation every time.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Chapin
from Mableton GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very safe for kids

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first got this device my main concern was the safety of my family. Even though, it specified on the box that it was safe for indoors I was still a little concerned but it worked well. It exceeded my expectations
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Hipeaks

Great Unit

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have been heating a 600 sq ft log cabin with a 1:1 pitch roof for the past three winters with the unit and find it an excellent product. Top the tank at 9 pm and it runs well into the morning hours. I can bring the cabin from 5 degrees to 50 degrees in under 20 minutes with no kero smell. I tried elec base board units but extremely expensive in comparison. Maintenance of the wick is very important and I had the same problem as another reviewer in that the unit has not operated properly since changing the wick this past spring. There are probably a few tricks to getting the wick properly replaced and I would recommend you find a local plumbing/heater repair shop to do the work.
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Chill22
from Virginia Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like it a lot!

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these heaters in a large open home, 3500 sq ft. I put one in the basement and one in the mid-level hallway and it heats the entire house to where my heating system shuts off. They run most efficiently when they are full, so when they get to 1/2 a tank, I refill them and that helps save on Kerosene. They do stink a little when you turn them off, never run them when you aren't home or sleeping. Other than that, if your looking for a back up heat source in case power goes out, or just to save a couple dollars, this is your heater. Built well, easy to light and even easy to repair. By repair I mean install a replacement wick which I did after 4 years of solid winter months use. Not sure why everyone else's comments are negative, this is a great bang for your buck. My parents had one when I was growing up and I now have two....so I am speaking from 20+ years of using these heaters.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Jofaboards
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for my workshop

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently built a small workshop where I do woodworking and I needed a way to heat it in a very cold New Jersey winter this year. I previously bought one of those propane disk heaters (sits on top of the 20gal propane tank) and it did ok in my smaller shop but it definitely wasn't up to the task in the larger shop.
I kicked around the idea of welding my own wood stove but the lack of portability and the expense of real stove pipe just made it something I didn't want to undertake (this year). So I bought this kerosene heater.
Have to say, this is a quality product. It was simple to put together, simple to light and puts off a fantastic amount of heat, especially for the footprint. Literally within ten minutes, I'm able to work in my shop in a t-shirt (shop is not insulated).
Very slight kerosene odor on startup and shutdown but really nothing to be concerned about. While it's running, it puts off zero odor. Note, this heater calls for 1-K kerosene and it burns hot and very clean.
I've been through a couple of tanks and it's just really nice to know that I can work in comfort. For me, this means the ability to make money with my small business so this heater was a great investment.
NOTE: Read the instructions. I was excited about getting it started and failed to let the wick soak up the kerosene for an hour as instructed. Fortunately I didn't damage the wick and shut it off immediately after reading the instructions. (c'mon, do we really read instructions guys?). Let it soak up into the wick for an hour before starting it.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
DickO
from Lakewood, NJ

Nice - but one downer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this heater to allow me to work on my enclosed porch this winter. It really beats the electric strip heater I had there. Then I got my December electric bill $396.61 vs Nov 205.64! I am in a Senior community - all individual strip heaters for each room So the heater came inside. My house is about 1200 sq ft. This heater can keep the whole place about 80degrees, on its low setting! At 0 - 10 below it still keeps me in the good 70s! Its only bad point is the cheap batteries provided. Don't waste time installing them - get Energizers (2@C-size)!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Joseph
from Westbury, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Duraheat 23.000BTU Heater Excellent Product !

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this heater based on online review rating and let me tell you it is really one of the best kerosene heater.
First off this heater during burning session is REALLY REALLY ODORLESS. The only time it produces ODOR is during shutdown and start up. So what you do is Start up in Garage for 30 min before bringing into your living spaces and shut off in garage and bingo no smell inside your home.
Second is DRY BURNING your wick is CRUCIAL KEY for ODORLESS and max efficiency out of your heater.
If you are not using HOME DEPOT CLEAR K1 Kerosene which is about 10 dollars a gallon, then you will need to DRY BURN unit after every 2 gallon which is about 12 hours
Operation. If you do not dry BURN your unit often your flame will get smaller and smaller and what will happen is eventually incomplete combustion will occur.
THIRD MOST IMPORTANT is WICK CONTROL KNOB
This is used to control COMBUSTION efficiency (Flame Height), not a TEMPERATURE CONTROL. Most people got it wrong using this as a TEMPERATURE control, do not TURN FLAME all the way down thinking this will reduce heat and save fuel. You will be inducing odor and possibly Carbon Monoxide, the heater is design to be only on for one BTU setting no other options either ON or OFF that's it.
P.S You can buy clear K1 kerosene at gas stations for HALF the price but do remember to DRY BURN every 12 hour.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
change
from Byhalia, MS 38611, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You will do better lighting it with a match or lighter than using the automatic start. The automatic start took too long to ignite the wick, but once it's lit it throws out the best heat. If you don't want to smell the kerosene smell don't turn it off in the same room that you will be sitting or you will be overwhelmed by the smell. Otherwise it is a good purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: automatic start takes too long
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
HappyBuyer
from Columbus, NE 68601, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

House Saver, Literally

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Long story short, my wife and I purchased our first home a few weeks ago. We switched over all utilities prior to closing but due to a Columbia Gas mix up they shut off our gas. This was at the worst possible time of year with temperatures ranging between 5 and 10 degrees F during the day and down to -20 at night. Columbia Gas said the soonest they could come out to turn the heat back on was a minimum of 12 days. I ran out to home depot and picked up two of these heaters because our home is 2,600sqft and for 12 days I had these heaters running night and day. An average burn time with a full tank was 8 hours and the house never fell below 50 degrees. They never had any issue lighting and since we were unable to stay in the home we needed to leave them unattended (not recommended) and never had a single issue. Easily the best $300 I have ever spent and worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Jonathandragon
from kennewick, WA, 99337
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost excelent, but not quite.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it heats great! No smell, heats a large area without a fan, easy to fill. Easy to operate.
However, the automatic igniter doesn't work well. Often it doesn't work at all. Manual igniting is so easy I didn't care.
I'm very pleased with the product even though it doesn't totally function as designed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't function as designed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Fuzzface
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great emergency heater

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great heater. I used it along with a smaller Kero-Sun unit to warm up the fellowship hall in our Church. Our boiler quit during last month's cold snap and we are still a couple of weeks away from having the new unit installed. Other than a slight kerosene smell when lighting and shutting down the unit, it is virtually odorless otherwise. A tank will last most of the day at high output. I do advise people to not let the wick go dry as it takes at least an hour for the fuel to saturate a dry wick. We do store the kerosene outside and fill the stoves outside per the instructions and local fire codes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>