728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(197 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product171 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 197 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(132)
4
(36)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product171 of 191reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Killeen, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a similar heater from a different manufacturer last year and had to return it after 2 days of operation due to fumes. Purchased this heater from my local Home Depot with the thinking that if Home Depot was selling it, it had to be the real deal. After several days of operation, I can find no fault with this heater. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and operate, and wonderful heat for our 1300 sq ft apartment. Heater burns for about 10-12 hours for each tank of fuel. With respect to performance and heat output, this heater reminds me of the old Toyostove heaters from the 1980s-90s. Thanks to Home Depot for a great product at a great price. If you are thinking about getting one, you had better hurry. My store only had 2 units left and Winter is only beginning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, excellent value, great heat output, no fumes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hudson, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great money saver for heating only one room, instead of the whole house!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several of these over the years. I find that I can set the home thermometer lower, and light the kerosene heater and stay toasty in the room where I am. Just GREAT in the AM & I don't have to use the furnace to be comfortable when I get out of bed. I wouldn't be without one in the Ohio winters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater, great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this originally for my garage to do work in the winter, but found I needed it in my house during an ice storm. I was out of power for days and this heater heated up my 1700 square foot house with no problem on low heat setting. It took about 12 hours to use 1 tank of fuel on low setting. It cost me about 6-7 dollars a day to run for those few days during the ice storm. The fumes were minimal. The fumes were stronger when I got close to the end on my tank of fuel. I just opened a window about 2 inches to keep it ventilated because my house is pretty air tight. I used a k-1 cleaner mix in my fuel which also helped keep the fumes to a minimal, that cost me around 7 dollars and will last you atleast a month or more of continuous use. I would reccommend this heater to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+54points
56out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chicago is 5 degrees, no heat in house. Running this heater for the last 3 days. House is 70 degrees. This will run for 13 - 15 hours on a tank. I do have it set a bit lower but 1100sq house is toasty until furnace is fixed. There is a slight kerosene odor after filling tank but great for any emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great and heats up fast. Not impressed with the hand siphon that is included.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: hand siphon is useless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little disappointed...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I would recommend this product with the following caveats:
1) Auto light feature doesn't work and the Instruction manual does not address the issue which is the heating element/starter does not come close enough to the wick. I guess I can tear it all apart and "adjust" but one would think that it SHOULD work out of the box.
2) There is a fairly strong smell of kerosene while operating; the best K-1 kerosene money can buy, flame adjusted as recommended, burner centered and a fresh air supply (window open).
It does heat my garage... but it would have to be the worst of emergencies before I would bring it into my house.
Quality of materials is good and it assembles easily.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor auto light adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just buy it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little gem because my rented palace has a reverse cycle AC unit that eats power like a starving army eats food. Did the math---kero (at a gas station, supposedly the "right" kind) costs about $4.00 a gallon. The tank capacity on this unit is about 2 gallons. So--eight bucks to fill it. One tank of fuel lasts about 10 to 12 hours. My power bill was about $60 a month in the coldest part of the winter while using this heater.
Now--as to operation and maintenance. If you can, fill the tank outside. You will spill kerosene no matter how careful you are. The design of this unit anticipates that and if you overfill the tank (easy to do with the supplied siphon pump) a catch plate below the unit will get most if not all of the overfill. Follow the instructions to the letter the first time you light it up. Let the wick soak up the kero for at least 30 minutes--and preferrably longer. Light it outside the first time and play with the wick height control until you get heat and no smoke or smell. Then grab it by the wire cage and bring it inside--quickly.
It will get hot fairly fast. Peek at the flame and keep adjusting the wick down by putting one hand firmly on the control knob and release the safety lever with the other as the unit heats up to do this. Chances are the first time you try it you will see the wick disappear and the fire will go out. Relight it and do it again. IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT YOU CHECK THE FLAME LEVEL EVERY FIVE MINUTES DURING INITIAL START UP. It will get bigger and bigger and start to smell if you don't reduce the wick level. The unit will settle down and burn evenly in about 30 minutes.
How well does it work? Here's an example--my mobile home (yeah, yeah, I know) was about 1000 sq ft. The temp in the morning was about 48 degrees inside. Within 30 mins of operation the temp rose to about 65 degrees and climbing. Within an hour it was 75.
I replaced the wick once--and once you get the bits taken apart and do it wrong once or twice you will figure out the right way to do it. Youtube has pretty good instructions as does the manual. Wicks are cheap--replace it once a season.
Now--here's the acid test. Would I buy another one? In a heartbeat.
Tip--I bought some kerosene deodorizer and added it to the fuel. It doesn't ake much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+157points
164out of 171found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works extremely well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the unit. Purchased it to supplement the central air heat in the house on cold days, but realized it was able to heat the entire 2.5 story (non-vaulted ceilings) 2,200sqft house to 71 degrees when outside temps were around 9 degrees. Leaves no smell during normal operation and only a very slight smell on startup, but shutdown generates a noticeable kerosene smell that usually dissipates in 5 minutes. It's better to shut it down in a well ventilated area if the smell is a problem. Operation time on a full tank(1.9 gals) is 10 hours following the recommended flame height setting in the product manual.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must have in cold climates

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a basic appliance that keeps you warm in an outage very easily and without any hassle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64

Excellent Kerosene Heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These heaters are WONDERFUL for heating a medium size area! There is just SO much difference between central heating an having one of these babies running, it's a much cozier type of warmth.
As long as you follow the instructions and buy CLEAN fuel they will serve you very well. I bought one for my kids in case of power outage or other emergency situations. I also bought a spare wick, not that we've had to change the original one yet, and I also bought a Carbon Monoxided monitor when I got the first unit... NO problems and we're into our second winter. :-)
Warm and cozy!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: read the instructions before you start it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kerosene Heater

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had the opportunity to use the heater, yet, but I felt comfortable giving it an overall excellent rating. It doesn't have the easiest instructions to go by, and they could be more clearly written...the reason for the "Good" rating. I purchased the heater as a backup in case of a power failure or if my furnace stops working. It was an excellent value, and associates at HD were very willing to help me with things I was having difficulty with. All I can do now is wait until I need it. to see how well the heater works.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality
Cons: instruction difficult to follow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Elizabethtown Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemed very fragile

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this heater for about three days. I typically would use it about eight hours a day in my shop. Beginning the third day the automatic starter stopped working, although I could see the element heating, but it was not reaching the fuel source. A few days later the control knob for the fire began to jam and I had to lower the flame by easing down on the kill switch. Finally tonight, the spring came undone and we had to use a fire extinguisher to get it to stop burning. No harm done, but I did have a frustrated wife. I have had it less than 90 days, so going to return it tomorrow and see how that goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, fragile
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, MI

Horrible

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this junk to heat my garage. Had problems right from the start. The knob never would lock unless I very delicatly moved it or it would spin and go all the way to the shut off position. after we did get it lit we were surprised to find out that it stayed lit after we put it out all night burning up a whole tank of K1! So this happened twice after double making sure the flame was out, causing the wick to be ruined. I replaced the wick with a duraheat replacement and now the wick doesn't even compact the top of the rim. Pure junk, taking it back tomorrow. DON"T BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Life Saver!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this the day after Sandy. It did a beautiful job of heating my home. When my power came back, I sent it across town to my sister. This heater kept her toasty for four days. This thing is great in an emergency!
+44points
48out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pawling NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not very pleased

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I set up this heater which was very easy, however, the wick could not be lowered to a proper height so the unit s flame was too high and therefore extremely smokey. Tried the unit three times, the fourth time, unit would not ignite. Returned the unit
Pros: Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm I just had to replace the provided batteries. Easy to follow instructions the hardest part was waiting the required time after filling the tank the let the wick absorb the kerosene. Use K1 kerosene as recommended. The only time you smell kerosene is when you start it up or shut it off and the smell dissipates rapidly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent true as advertised

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am impressed with the heat output of this unit. The only difficulty is that the heat is not able to be as regulated as I thought. 23k BTU is very strong for a fifth wheel unless the temperature is really low. I would recommend this for any heating needs specially for additional heating or emergencies. Would still get this unit any way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lakewood, NJ

Nice - but one downer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this heater to allow me to work on my enclosed porch this winter. It really beats the electric strip heater I had there. Then I got my December electric bill $396.61 vs Nov 205.64! I am in a Senior community - all individual strip heaters for each room So the heater came inside. My house is about 1200 sq ft. This heater can keep the whole place about 80degrees, on its low setting! At 0 - 10 below it still keeps me in the good 70s! Its only bad point is the cheap batteries provided. Don't waste time installing them - get Energizers (2@C-size)!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Summerville SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we wanted!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We did not notice any fumes with this as we had with our old one. Only time there were fumes was when soaking the wick. The heater provide the perfect back up heat we needed for both home and using in the garage on those cold days!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Raleigh, N.C.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very warm heater

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great heater. It puts out a lot of heat. I just wish it could be dialed down a bit. Because it produces a lot of heat, it does use kerosene quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>