728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.373 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(185 reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product161 of 179reviews
Rating Breakdown 185 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(124)
4
(35)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product161 of 179reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Killeen, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a similar heater from a different manufacturer last year and had to return it after 2 days of operation due to fumes. Purchased this heater from my local Home Depot with the thinking that if Home Depot was selling it, it had to be the real deal. After several days of operation, I can find no fault with this heater. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and operate, and wonderful heat for our 1300 sq ft apartment. Heater burns for about 10-12 hours for each tank of fuel. With respect to performance and heat output, this heater reminds me of the old Toyostove heaters from the 1980s-90s. Thanks to Home Depot for a great product at a great price. If you are thinking about getting one, you had better hurry. My store only had 2 units left and Winter is only beginning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, excellent value, great heat output, no fumes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater, great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this originally for my garage to do work in the winter, but found I needed it in my house during an ice storm. I was out of power for days and this heater heated up my 1700 square foot house with no problem on low heat setting. It took about 12 hours to use 1 tank of fuel on low setting. It cost me about 6-7 dollars a day to run for those few days during the ice storm. The fumes were minimal. The fumes were stronger when I got close to the end on my tank of fuel. I just opened a window about 2 inches to keep it ventilated because my house is pretty air tight. I used a k-1 cleaner mix in my fuel which also helped keep the fumes to a minimal, that cost me around 7 dollars and will last you atleast a month or more of continuous use. I would reccommend this heater to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chicago is 5 degrees, no heat in house. Running this heater for the last 3 days. House is 70 degrees. This will run for 13 - 15 hours on a tank. I do have it set a bit lower but 1100sq house is toasty until furnace is fixed. There is a slight kerosene odor after filling tank but great for any emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just buy it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little gem because my rented palace has a reverse cycle AC unit that eats power like a starving army eats food. Did the math---kero (at a gas station, supposedly the "right" kind) costs about $4.00 a gallon. The tank capacity on this unit is about 2 gallons. So--eight bucks to fill it. One tank of fuel lasts about 10 to 12 hours. My power bill was about $60 a month in the coldest part of the winter while using this heater.
Now--as to operation and maintenance. If you can, fill the tank outside. You will spill kerosene no matter how careful you are. The design of this unit anticipates that and if you overfill the tank (easy to do with the supplied siphon pump) a catch plate below the unit will get most if not all of the overfill. Follow the instructions to the letter the first time you light it up. Let the wick soak up the kero for at least 30 minutes--and preferrably longer. Light it outside the first time and play with the wick height control until you get heat and no smoke or smell. Then grab it by the wire cage and bring it inside--quickly.
It will get hot fairly fast. Peek at the flame and keep adjusting the wick down by putting one hand firmly on the control knob and release the safety lever with the other as the unit heats up to do this. Chances are the first time you try it you will see the wick disappear and the fire will go out. Relight it and do it again. IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT YOU CHECK THE FLAME LEVEL EVERY FIVE MINUTES DURING INITIAL START UP. It will get bigger and bigger and start to smell if you don't reduce the wick level. The unit will settle down and burn evenly in about 30 minutes.
How well does it work? Here's an example--my mobile home (yeah, yeah, I know) was about 1000 sq ft. The temp in the morning was about 48 degrees inside. Within 30 mins of operation the temp rose to about 65 degrees and climbing. Within an hour it was 75.
I replaced the wick once--and once you get the bits taken apart and do it wrong once or twice you will figure out the right way to do it. Youtube has pretty good instructions as does the manual. Wicks are cheap--replace it once a season.
Now--here's the acid test. Would I buy another one? In a heartbeat.
Tip--I bought some kerosene deodorizer and added it to the fuel. It doesn't ake much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+147points
154out of 161found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must have in cold climates

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a basic appliance that keeps you warm in an outage very easily and without any hassle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works extremely well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the unit. Purchased it to supplement the central air heat in the house on cold days, but realized it was able to heat the entire 2.5 story (non-vaulted ceilings) 2,200sqft house to 71 degrees when outside temps were around 9 degrees. Leaves no smell during normal operation and only a very slight smell on startup, but shutdown generates a noticeable kerosene smell that usually dissipates in 5 minutes. It's better to shut it down in a well ventilated area if the smell is a problem. Operation time on a full tank(1.9 gals) is 10 hours following the recommended flame height setting in the product manual.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Life Saver!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this the day after Sandy. It did a beautiful job of heating my home. When my power came back, I sent it across town to my sister. This heater kept her toasty for four days. This thing is great in an emergency!
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Must Buy

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product and it heats perfectly. I actually got hot and had to turn it off. First day, the kerosene smell was a bit much. I Had To Open The Window To Air out. But the 2nd day the odor was not there. Very nice product. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hudson, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great money saver for heating only one room, instead of the whole house!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several of these over the years. I find that I can set the home thermometer lower, and light the kerosene heater and stay toasty in the room where I am. Just GREAT in the AM & I don't have to use the furnace to be comfortable when I get out of bed. I wouldn't be without one in the Ohio winters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lakewood, NJ

Nice - but one downer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this heater to allow me to work on my enclosed porch this winter. It really beats the electric strip heater I had there. Then I got my December electric bill $396.61 vs Nov 205.64! I am in a Senior community - all individual strip heaters for each room So the heater came inside. My house is about 1200 sq ft. This heater can keep the whole place about 80degrees, on its low setting! At 0 - 10 below it still keeps me in the good 70s! Its only bad point is the cheap batteries provided. Don't waste time installing them - get Energizers (2@C-size)!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a very good item for emergency use in the home that is safer than electric heaters

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am very pleased with this purchase. the item does exactly what is needed, when it is needed. i usually have 2 of these items in the event of an emergency.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wicks are hard to replace
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Heats up great. Warms the entire house.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy and it works great. Heats up the entire house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

23K DuraHeat Kerosene Self Standing Heater

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently received this kerosene heater from Home Depot. I have not used this heater yet, but, I did open the box to check for any shipping damage. This unit was as little bigger than I thought it would be ( a pleasant supprise) By being a decent size, the unit will not be as prone to tipping over during use. I would also recommend buying additional heater wicks, if you plan to use this item regularly . The proper wick for this heater is "Model # DH-145." I would suggest purchasing 2-3 additional wicks, as there is one included with this heater. My purchase of this heater is really just to be prepared if we experienced a long term power outage (2 days to over a week), as it requires no external power source to operate. Because this is a wick type heater, you will also want to use the K-1 (or 1K) kerosene, as any other grade kerosene may cause excessive odor, or smoke during use. I personally think that this is a good, sound, well built heater.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no external electric power required
Cons: possible difficulty re-filling heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceeded our expectations - great emergency resource

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these heaters for emergency backup in case of power failure. We decided to test them by shutting down the heat for a day with temps in the 20's and wind about 25mph. I put one in our great room and another in our basement. The house was already down to about 60* when I started. Within a half hour the lower level and main level were at 72* and the heat wa starting to work its way to the rooms on the second story level. We are thrilled with the heat output, ease of use and these were very simple to setup out of the box. We were able to get 12 hours out of a tank of fuel on each unit. In addition they provide light in the area that they are heating. I would recommend this kerosene heater to anyone that wants a good backup source for heat or to use to take the chill off large open areas of a home at any given time. The other appeal are the safety features as well as the ability to cook on the heater if necessary. Actually feel ready for an outage.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Elizabethtown Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemed very fragile

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this heater for about three days. I typically would use it about eight hours a day in my shop. Beginning the third day the automatic starter stopped working, although I could see the element heating, but it was not reaching the fuel source. A few days later the control knob for the fire began to jam and I had to lower the flame by easing down on the kill switch. Finally tonight, the spring came undone and we had to use a fire extinguisher to get it to stop burning. No harm done, but I did have a frustrated wife. I have had it less than 90 days, so going to return it tomorrow and see how that goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, fragile
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Virginia Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like it a lot!

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these heaters in a large open home, 3500 sq ft. I put one in the basement and one in the mid-level hallway and it heats the entire house to where my heating system shuts off. They run most efficiently when they are full, so when they get to 1/2 a tank, I refill them and that helps save on Kerosene. They do stink a little when you turn them off, never run them when you aren't home or sleeping. Other than that, if your looking for a back up heat source in case power goes out, or just to save a couple dollars, this is your heater. Built well, easy to light and even easy to repair. By repair I mean install a replacement wick which I did after 4 years of solid winter months use. Not sure why everyone else's comments are negative, this is a great bang for your buck. My parents had one when I was growing up and I now have two....so I am speaking from 20+ years of using these heaters.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great Unit

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have been heating a 600 sq ft log cabin with a 1:1 pitch roof for the past three winters with the unit and find it an excellent product. Top the tank at 9 pm and it runs well into the morning hours. I can bring the cabin from 5 degrees to 50 degrees in under 20 minutes with no kero smell. I tried elec base board units but extremely expensive in comparison. Maintenance of the wick is very important and I had the same problem as another reviewer in that the unit has not operated properly since changing the wick this past spring. There are probably a few tricks to getting the wick properly replaced and I would recommend you find a local plumbing/heater repair shop to do the work.
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great back up system in areas where heat is critical!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these as a back-up to my home heating system up here in Eagle River Alaska. It saved our bacon during an extended power outage in mid-winter! I have a large two-story home and it managed to keep us very comfortable! Tip: Always burn the highly purified (Kleen) Kerosene rather than the stuff at your local gas station as It will reduce the smell almost completely and ensure reliable operation every time.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+57points
62out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Discard when the wick is done

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wick is not replaceable. This burner works great, however, when the wick is past it's best, it cannot be replaced. I've tried and spoke to 2 family members (who are both general contractors and allround handymen) and neither of them had any success replacing the wick. They ended up just throwing it out.
I tried to replace mine and now I have to remove the cover everytime I want to shut it down. The unit works great but it's just ridiculous.
The wick lasted at least 4 seasons, but it needs regular clean burning. The clean burning process is also very long and can take at least 4 hours (if you remove all kerosene from the tank on the first clean burn cycle).
It's a shame since the unit works great when the wick is clean. But I tried 5 times to replace the wick and I am just not able to move the wick up and down anymore once I replaced it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, high maintenance
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from amarillo, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Heater by far.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this heater for emergency use only. we are total electric, when lights go out this heater keeps us warm. Great product and worth the money
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>