728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.356 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product153 of 171reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(118)
4
(33)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product153 of 171reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chicago is 5 degrees, no heat in house. Running this heater for the last 3 days. House is 70 degrees. This will run for 13 - 15 hours on a tank. I do have it set a bit lower but 1100sq house is toasty until furnace is fixed. There is a slight kerosene odor after filling tank but great for any emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater, great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this originally for my garage to do work in the winter, but found I needed it in my house during an ice storm. I was out of power for days and this heater heated up my 1700 square foot house with no problem on low heat setting. It took about 12 hours to use 1 tank of fuel on low setting. It cost me about 6-7 dollars a day to run for those few days during the ice storm. The fumes were minimal. The fumes were stronger when I got close to the end on my tank of fuel. I just opened a window about 2 inches to keep it ventilated because my house is pretty air tight. I used a k-1 cleaner mix in my fuel which also helped keep the fumes to a minimal, that cost me around 7 dollars and will last you atleast a month or more of continuous use. I would reccommend this heater to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just buy it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this little gem because my rented palace has a reverse cycle AC unit that eats power like a starving army eats food. Did the math---kero (at a gas station, supposedly the "right" kind) costs about $4.00 a gallon. The tank capacity on this unit is about 2 gallons. So--eight bucks to fill it. One tank of fuel lasts about 10 to 12 hours. My power bill was about $60 a month in the coldest part of the winter while using this heater.
Now--as to operation and maintenance. If you can, fill the tank outside. You will spill kerosene no matter how careful you are. The design of this unit anticipates that and if you overfill the tank (easy to do with the supplied siphon pump) a catch plate below the unit will get most if not all of the overfill. Follow the instructions to the letter the first time you light it up. Let the wick soak up the kero for at least 30 minutes--and preferrably longer. Light it outside the first time and play with the wick height control until you get heat and no smoke or smell. Then grab it by the wire cage and bring it inside--quickly.
It will get hot fairly fast. Peek at the flame and keep adjusting the wick down by putting one hand firmly on the control knob and release the safety lever with the other as the unit heats up to do this. Chances are the first time you try it you will see the wick disappear and the fire will go out. Relight it and do it again. IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT YOU CHECK THE FLAME LEVEL EVERY FIVE MINUTES DURING INITIAL START UP. It will get bigger and bigger and start to smell if you don't reduce the wick level. The unit will settle down and burn evenly in about 30 minutes.
How well does it work? Here's an example--my mobile home (yeah, yeah, I know) was about 1000 sq ft. The temp in the morning was about 48 degrees inside. Within 30 mins of operation the temp rose to about 65 degrees and climbing. Within an hour it was 75.
I replaced the wick once--and once you get the bits taken apart and do it wrong once or twice you will figure out the right way to do it. Youtube has pretty good instructions as does the manual. Wicks are cheap--replace it once a season.
Now--here's the acid test. Would I buy another one? In a heartbeat.
Tip--I bought some kerosene deodorizer and added it to the fuel. It doesn't ake much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+127points
133out of 139found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must have in cold climates

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a basic appliance that keeps you warm in an outage very easily and without any hassle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Life Saver!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this the day after Sandy. It did a beautiful job of heating my home. When my power came back, I sent it across town to my sister. This heater kept her toasty for four days. This thing is great in an emergency!
+41points
45out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works extremely well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the unit. Purchased it to supplement the central air heat in the house on cold days, but realized it was able to heat the entire 2.5 story (non-vaulted ceilings) 2,200sqft house to 71 degrees when outside temps were around 9 degrees. Leaves no smell during normal operation and only a very slight smell on startup, but shutdown generates a noticeable kerosene smell that usually dissipates in 5 minutes. It's better to shut it down in a well ventilated area if the smell is a problem. Operation time on a full tank(1.9 gals) is 10 hours following the recommended flame height setting in the product manual.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceeded our expectations - great emergency resource

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these heaters for emergency backup in case of power failure. We decided to test them by shutting down the heat for a day with temps in the 20's and wind about 25mph. I put one in our great room and another in our basement. The house was already down to about 60* when I started. Within a half hour the lower level and main level were at 72* and the heat wa starting to work its way to the rooms on the second story level. We are thrilled with the heat output, ease of use and these were very simple to setup out of the box. We were able to get 12 hours out of a tank of fuel on each unit. In addition they provide light in the area that they are heating. I would recommend this kerosene heater to anyone that wants a good backup source for heat or to use to take the chill off large open areas of a home at any given time. The other appeal are the safety features as well as the ability to cook on the heater if necessary. Actually feel ready for an outage.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly
+44points
45out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lakewood, NJ

Nice - but one downer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this heater to allow me to work on my enclosed porch this winter. It really beats the electric strip heater I had there. Then I got my December electric bill $396.61 vs Nov 205.64! I am in a Senior community - all individual strip heaters for each room So the heater came inside. My house is about 1200 sq ft. This heater can keep the whole place about 80degrees, on its low setting! At 0 - 10 below it still keeps me in the good 70s! Its only bad point is the cheap batteries provided. Don't waste time installing them - get Energizers (2@C-size)!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great Unit

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have been heating a 600 sq ft log cabin with a 1:1 pitch roof for the past three winters with the unit and find it an excellent product. Top the tank at 9 pm and it runs well into the morning hours. I can bring the cabin from 5 degrees to 50 degrees in under 20 minutes with no kero smell. I tried elec base board units but extremely expensive in comparison. Maintenance of the wick is very important and I had the same problem as another reviewer in that the unit has not operated properly since changing the wick this past spring. There are probably a few tricks to getting the wick properly replaced and I would recommend you find a local plumbing/heater repair shop to do the work.
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Virginia Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like it a lot!

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these heaters in a large open home, 3500 sq ft. I put one in the basement and one in the mid-level hallway and it heats the entire house to where my heating system shuts off. They run most efficiently when they are full, so when they get to 1/2 a tank, I refill them and that helps save on Kerosene. They do stink a little when you turn them off, never run them when you aren't home or sleeping. Other than that, if your looking for a back up heat source in case power goes out, or just to save a couple dollars, this is your heater. Built well, easy to light and even easy to repair. By repair I mean install a replacement wick which I did after 4 years of solid winter months use. Not sure why everyone else's comments are negative, this is a great bang for your buck. My parents had one when I was growing up and I now have two....so I am speaking from 20+ years of using these heaters.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great back up system in areas where heat is critical!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these as a back-up to my home heating system up here in Eagle River Alaska. It saved our bacon during an extended power outage in mid-winter! I have a large two-story home and it managed to keep us very comfortable! Tip: Always burn the highly purified (Kleen) Kerosene rather than the stuff at your local gas station as It will reduce the smell almost completely and ensure reliable operation every time.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Elizabethtown Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemed very fragile

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this heater for about three days. I typically would use it about eight hours a day in my shop. Beginning the third day the automatic starter stopped working, although I could see the element heating, but it was not reaching the fuel source. A few days later the control knob for the fire began to jam and I had to lower the flame by easing down on the kill switch. Finally tonight, the spring came undone and we had to use a fire extinguisher to get it to stop burning. No harm done, but I did have a frustrated wife. I have had it less than 90 days, so going to return it tomorrow and see how that goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, fragile
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Southern Virginia

Don't let the word Kerosene scare you!

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Setup took about 10 minutes, and I strongly suggest adhering to the safety warnings.
The heat produced was incredible. This unit brought the garage (4900 cubic feet - 13' ceiling) up to 65 (at 5' off the ground) in less than an hour.
I started it and stopped it outside to avoid getting a kerosene smell. The four hours it ran used 2/3 of a gallon. I do recommend using high grade K-1 to avoid soot issues.
As long as the wick is set at the lowest position there is no odor or smoke. I love this heater.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rindge, NH

Flash back from the past

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My folks had a kerosene heater when I was a kid, so I was very familiar with these kinds of heaters, now 30 years later married with kids. Our house has a new oil furnace well about 6 years old and we also have a programmable thermostat to drop the heat down when we were not home and also up the heat about 2 hours before we get home I would keep the house about 65 to 67 my wife seemed to be always cold she would have a blanket or two on all the time while reading. I decided to try to heat the living room a little more with an electric heater since we spend the most time in that room reading and watching TV etc. It work ok but it’s expensive to run but it gave some relief. I kept reading about heaters and came across this one and remembered when I was a kid that my father had one and if was very warm. I decided to make a purchase and let me tell you, it’s awesome the heat it puts out I had my downstairs at 82 degrees, it will run for about 12 hours on a tank full. One thing with a kerosene heater all that great heat does require maintence and common sense for this heater to work properly and if you’re not up to it don’t bother to purchase. Also when I first received the package I opened it and read all the instructions above that I also took apart the heater and took my shop vacuum to make sure it was all clean, there was a few little flakes of the Styrofoam that I vacuumed up. I just wanted to make sure there was nothing that was going to affect the heater. You can also check on YouTube on how to change a wick and gather more information for yourself. The more you know about kerosene heaters the better off your going to be. Also make sure you do have carbon monoxide detectors in your home to keep your kids, family safe, this is a must!! For my Family and I this heater works great 5 stares here
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Tulsa, Ok

Buy it

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this unit for 10 yrs, best heater I have ever bought. I turn it on and off in the garage, small odor lingers after shut off, I should take it outside to turn off, but the odor dissapates within a few minutes.
Heated my 3 car garage within a hour or so, then I shut it down. I now have a barn that is 1200 sqft. 10 ft high ceilings, works great. Left the batteries in the compartment for years and they corroded. So the electric igniter does not work, I use a lighter.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great back up heat source & emergency heater!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had our Kerosun heater for 30+ years and used it to offset our high electrical heating costs. But the greatest value was when we had the October 2011 power outage for 9 days & were able to heat our home & cook meals on it. Pot roast, tacos, eggs, tea anything you can cook on a stove top we could do with this. Kept us comfortable & warm. Getting a new one this year. LOVE IT!
+30points
38out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Upstate, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Quality

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great for a month and a half and noticed a high odor, would not stay lit, and stopped working all together.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Seattle, WA

Very Good Product

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this is a very good product. Heats up our drafty old turn of the century (the last century) home quick and has no noticable odor while running. Having used the heater for a month, there are a few items a prospective purchaser should be aware of: (1) While in operation the heater produces almost no odor, turning the unit off, however, produces excessive odor. Therefore, shutting down the unit outside is an absolute must for us. Some people can tollerate the unpleasant kerosene smell. Our family cannot. (2) Be aware, this unit produces lots of heat, more that we need. So we find ourselves turning off the unit quite a bit so we don't roast. Admittedly, heat production, not much of a drawback. But it is a bit of a nuisance hauling the thing outside for shutdown. In retrospect, a smaller heater would have better. As stated above, overall very good.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chico, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent fot the price

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put it together myself and it worked the 1st time. A little bit of smell when you turn it off. Not sure when I have to change the wick and am a little worried about that. The heater has an 800 toll free number for help. This heater has cut my PG&E in 1/2. It cost me about $50.00 for 2 large containers of Kerosene and I get about 16 uses at 4 hours. You can run it for about 6-8 hours on one fill up.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent back-up heater for your home or small office

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The reason I bought a 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater is to secure the extra heat for our home in anticipation of unexpected power outages. It was simple to assemble and easy to operate. The beauty of this product is that It operates without electricity. It provides good source of heat at your home or small office and we simply love to use it occasionally during the winter nights. I am very satisfied with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>