728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.34 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product210 of 235reviews
Rating Breakdown 241 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(159)
4
(46)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product210 of 235reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hopewell Junction NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Winter Life Saver

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this for back up heat in case of a power outage!! I put it on to take the chill out of the house and I cannot bring myself to shut it down. I put the heater in the basement and it is warming the whole house which is 2 stories high. It is -7 degrees outside and the house is nice and warm. I have no worries about a power outage or storm knowing I have this wonderul heater to get me through..
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Afraid of kerosene heat at first.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I contemplated getting a kerosene heater for many years but never did because of my intense fear of carbon monoxide, a house fire and just liquid fuels in general. We were hit with single digit arctic air recently and of course we lost power right in the middle of it. You are now at the mercy of mother nature and waiting and hoping the utility company is able to restore power asap. It was only three hours this time but it was very stressful and COLD! I did a lot of research and settled on this heater. I am so happy I did. I have found that a lot of the fears attached to kerosene heat are unfounded. Follow the directions to the T and just use your plain common sense. Kerosene is safe and very easy to store and use. I cannot tell you how great it feels to know that we can protect and provide for ourselves in an emergency situation. We will be warm! I intend to get another unit soon.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no odor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Canon City Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Colorado Cold-snap

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Saturday after this Christmas our furnace went down, I bought one of these the month prior in case we lost power during winter. I am glad we did! The first day we ran it was pretty much the only day we had the kerosene smell, break-in time I guess, but we ran it for seven more days more with no issue. Except for the night temperatures dropped in the minus digits, the house stayed at 70 degrees and no water pipes lost. I would fill it and found if you ran it on low a tank would last almost 12 hours, with a 2.5 gallon jug filling it three times.
I liked the guard on it since we have two medium sized dogs, and it wasn't hard to put together especially if you are in panic mode with low temps like I was (worried about the family and the house).
I liked it and was VERY glad to have it, it didn't let us down!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, easy to setup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pottstown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 for 2 on workmanship

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second DH-2304. The first worked flawlessly for years until it was damaged beyond repair. My second purchase has a manufacturing defect which allows the gear attached to the the wick raising knob to slip out of alignment with the rack gear and drop the wick. When I disassembled to see if it was the wick, I noticed the rack gear has a failed spot weld. Contacting the MFG to get it replaced now.
When it was working, it was able to heat my entire house during power outages. The only odor was at start up and shut down but nothing overwhelming.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Killeen, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased a similar heater from a different manufacturer last year and had to return it after 2 days of operation due to fumes. Purchased this heater from my local Home Depot with the thinking that if Home Depot was selling it, it had to be the real deal. After several days of operation, I can find no fault with this heater. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and operate, and wonderful heat for our 1300 sq ft apartment. Heater burns for about 10-12 hours for each tank of fuel. With respect to performance and heat output, this heater reminds me of the old Toyostove heaters from the 1980s-90s. Thanks to Home Depot for a great product at a great price. If you are thinking about getting one, you had better hurry. My store only had 2 units left and Winter is only beginning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, excellent value, great heat output, no fumes
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lenoir City, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this unit :)

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our electric bill went from over $200.00 down to $140 two months in a row this Winter which was a big surprise! What you save on electric pays for the kerosene to run the heater with money left over. I love the amount of heat it puts out and it's so quiet you only hear the low ficker of the flame. Very little oder mostly when it's started or shut off. I can live with that. So easy to start with the one touch egnition and one button to push to shut it off. Will save sooo much money next Winter. All and all I would say you are crazy if you don't try one. We love it so much we bought two!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Westerly, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid purchase.

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an awesome kerosene heater. I purchased this after losing power last winter season when my pipes froze. Although we were not in danger of that happening this heating season, it was peace of mind having this heater to keep my basement and basement pipes warm. I have used this several times to take the chill out of my 800 square foot basement. It does the job no problem. My only issue is that you really can't regulate the heat setting as much as I would like to. The high setting is fine but I would like it better if the low setting went lower. All in all, I would purchase this unit again without hesitation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: wish it has a lower "low" setting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hudson, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great money saver for heating only one room, instead of the whole house!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used several of these over the years. I find that I can set the home thermometer lower, and light the kerosene heater and stay toasty in the room where I am. Just GREAT in the AM & I don't have to use the furnace to be comfortable when I get out of bed. I wouldn't be without one in the Ohio winters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicago IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I Expected - Happy with Purchase

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery was fast. The kerosene heater is well built and easy to setup. I chose this based on product reviews of several heaters and so far I'm happy with the purchase. I only tested it for 1 hour (to be used for emergencies) but it puts out a lot of heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Freedom, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My first experience with a kerosene heater

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions were less than steller for a first timer with this type of heater. Viewed a YouTube video which was 100% more helpful. Not much to starting it once you know. The first time I started it I placed it outside as suggested to insure minimal oder moving forward. Throws out allot of heat and the kerosene smell is minimal. The hand pump that came with it did not work too well. I used a funnel instead and it worked great. I use it in the two car garage and it warms things up guickly. I won't mind working in the garage during the winter.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works extremely well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very impressed with the unit. Purchased it to supplement the central air heat in the house on cold days, but realized it was able to heat the entire 2.5 story (non-vaulted ceilings) 2,200sqft house to 71 degrees when outside temps were around 9 degrees. Leaves no smell during normal operation and only a very slight smell on startup, but shutdown generates a noticeable kerosene smell that usually dissipates in 5 minutes. It's better to shut it down in a well ventilated area if the smell is a problem. Operation time on a full tank(1.9 gals) is 10 hours following the recommended flame height setting in the product manual.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth it!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Chicago is 5 degrees, no heat in house. Running this heater for the last 3 days. House is 70 degrees. This will run for 13 - 15 hours on a tank. I do have it set a bit lower but 1100sq house is toasty until furnace is fixed. There is a slight kerosene odor after filling tank but great for any emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+54points
55out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater, great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this originally for my garage to do work in the winter, but found I needed it in my house during an ice storm. I was out of power for days and this heater heated up my 1700 square foot house with no problem on low heat setting. It took about 12 hours to use 1 tank of fuel on low setting. It cost me about 6-7 dollars a day to run for those few days during the ice storm. The fumes were minimal. The fumes were stronger when I got close to the end on my tank of fuel. I just opened a window about 2 inches to keep it ventilated because my house is pretty air tight. I used a k-1 cleaner mix in my fuel which also helped keep the fumes to a minimal, that cost me around 7 dollars and will last you atleast a month or more of continuous use. I would reccommend this heater to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+58points
63out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from freeport,pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

owner

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
my old heater a kero-sun was at least 15 yrs old. it did not have much heating ability left. the new heater works better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little disappointed...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would recommend this product with the following caveats:
1) Auto light feature doesn't work and the Instruction manual does not address the issue which is the heating element/starter does not come close enough to the wick. I guess I can tear it all apart and "adjust" but one would think that it SHOULD work out of the box.
2) There is a fairly strong smell of kerosene while operating; the best K-1 kerosene money can buy, flame adjusted as recommended, burner centered and a fresh air supply (window open).
It does heat my garage... but it would have to be the worst of emergencies before I would bring it into my house.
Quality of materials is good and it assembles easily.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor auto light adjustment
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great heats well

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble works great delivered on time heats all downstairs
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Elizabethtown Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemed very fragile

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this heater for about three days. I typically would use it about eight hours a day in my shop. Beginning the third day the automatic starter stopped working, although I could see the element heating, but it was not reaching the fuel source. A few days later the control knob for the fire began to jam and I had to lower the flame by easing down on the kill switch. Finally tonight, the spring came undone and we had to use a fire extinguisher to get it to stop burning. No harm done, but I did have a frustrated wife. I have had it less than 90 days, so going to return it tomorrow and see how that goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, fragile
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just buy it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this little gem because my rented palace has a reverse cycle AC unit that eats power like a starving army eats food. Did the math---kero (at a gas station, supposedly the "right" kind) costs about $4.00 a gallon. The tank capacity on this unit is about 2 gallons. So--eight bucks to fill it. One tank of fuel lasts about 10 to 12 hours. My power bill was about $60 a month in the coldest part of the winter while using this heater.
Now--as to operation and maintenance. If you can, fill the tank outside. You will spill kerosene no matter how careful you are. The design of this unit anticipates that and if you overfill the tank (easy to do with the supplied siphon pump) a catch plate below the unit will get most if not all of the overfill. Follow the instructions to the letter the first time you light it up. Let the wick soak up the kero for at least 30 minutes--and preferrably longer. Light it outside the first time and play with the wick height control until you get heat and no smoke or smell. Then grab it by the wire cage and bring it inside--quickly.
It will get hot fairly fast. Peek at the flame and keep adjusting the wick down by putting one hand firmly on the control knob and release the safety lever with the other as the unit heats up to do this. Chances are the first time you try it you will see the wick disappear and the fire will go out. Relight it and do it again. IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT YOU CHECK THE FLAME LEVEL EVERY FIVE MINUTES DURING INITIAL START UP. It will get bigger and bigger and start to smell if you don't reduce the wick level. The unit will settle down and burn evenly in about 30 minutes.
How well does it work? Here's an example--my mobile home (yeah, yeah, I know) was about 1000 sq ft. The temp in the morning was about 48 degrees inside. Within 30 mins of operation the temp rose to about 65 degrees and climbing. Within an hour it was 75.
I replaced the wick once--and once you get the bits taken apart and do it wrong once or twice you will figure out the right way to do it. Youtube has pretty good instructions as does the manual. Wicks are cheap--replace it once a season.
Now--here's the acid test. Would I buy another one? In a heartbeat.
Tip--I bought some kerosene deodorizer and added it to the fuel. It doesn't ake much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+163points
170out of 177found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lakewood, NJ

Nice - but one downer

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I originally bought this heater to allow me to work on my enclosed porch this winter. It really beats the electric strip heater I had there. Then I got my December electric bill $396.61 vs Nov 205.64! I am in a Senior community - all individual strip heaters for each room So the heater came inside. My house is about 1200 sq ft. This heater can keep the whole place about 80degrees, on its low setting! At 0 - 10 below it still keeps me in the good 70s! Its only bad point is the cheap batteries provided. Don't waste time installing them - get Energizers (2@C-size)!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must have in cold climates

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a basic appliance that keeps you warm in an outage very easily and without any hassle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>