728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.374 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(187 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product163 of 181reviews
Rating Breakdown 187 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(125)
4
(36)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product163 of 181reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great and heats up fast. Not impressed with the hand siphon that is included.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: hand siphon is useless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from asheboro,nc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best heater ever

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to put together ,heat almost from the start very nice package
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Must Buy

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product and it heats perfectly. I actually got hot and had to turn it off. First day, the kerosene smell was a bit much. I Had To Open The Window To Air out. But the 2nd day the odor was not there. Very nice product. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Killeen, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a similar heater from a different manufacturer last year and had to return it after 2 days of operation due to fumes. Purchased this heater from my local Home Depot with the thinking that if Home Depot was selling it, it had to be the real deal. After several days of operation, I can find no fault with this heater. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and operate, and wonderful heat for our 1300 sq ft apartment. Heater burns for about 10-12 hours for each tank of fuel. With respect to performance and heat output, this heater reminds me of the old Toyostove heaters from the 1980s-90s. Thanks to Home Depot for a great product at a great price. If you are thinking about getting one, you had better hurry. My store only had 2 units left and Winter is only beginning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, excellent value, great heat output, no fumes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a very good item for emergency use in the home that is safer than electric heaters

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am very pleased with this purchase. the item does exactly what is needed, when it is needed. i usually have 2 of these items in the event of an emergency.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wicks are hard to replace
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hudson, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great money saver for heating only one room, instead of the whole house!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several of these over the years. I find that I can set the home thermometer lower, and light the kerosene heater and stay toasty in the room where I am. Just GREAT in the AM & I don't have to use the furnace to be comfortable when I get out of bed. I wouldn't be without one in the Ohio winters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Heats up great. Warms the entire house.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy and it works great. Heats up the entire house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

23K DuraHeat Kerosene Self Standing Heater

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently received this kerosene heater from Home Depot. I have not used this heater yet, but, I did open the box to check for any shipping damage. This unit was as little bigger than I thought it would be ( a pleasant supprise) By being a decent size, the unit will not be as prone to tipping over during use. I would also recommend buying additional heater wicks, if you plan to use this item regularly . The proper wick for this heater is "Model # DH-145." I would suggest purchasing 2-3 additional wicks, as there is one included with this heater. My purchase of this heater is really just to be prepared if we experienced a long term power outage (2 days to over a week), as it requires no external power source to operate. Because this is a wick type heater, you will also want to use the K-1 (or 1K) kerosene, as any other grade kerosene may cause excessive odor, or smoke during use. I personally think that this is a good, sound, well built heater.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no external electric power required
Cons: possible difficulty re-filling heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from amarillo, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Heater by far.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this heater for emergency use only. we are total electric, when lights go out this heater keeps us warm. Great product and worth the money
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have not used it yet. (not cold yet) I had one years ago and it was a good heater. Hope this one is as good as the other one.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Outstanding heat output, quick and simple.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding heat output, quick and simple to put together. Heats a substantial area. Exceedingly Fuel Efficient.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had one of these for close to 16 years. The bottom tank
started to leak. It was my own fault for letting it get wet in the garage a number of times. Would buy another in a
heartbeat. Hope the new one lasts as long as the first.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from kennewick, WA, 99337
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost excelent, but not quite.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it heats great! No smell, heats a large area without a fan, easy to fill. Easy to operate.
However, the automatic igniter doesn't work well. Often it doesn't work at all. Manual igniting is so easy I didn't care.
I'm very pleased with the product even though it doesn't totally function as designed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't function as designed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, NE 68601, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

House Saver, Literally

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Long story short, my wife and I purchased our first home a few weeks ago. We switched over all utilities prior to closing but due to a Columbia Gas mix up they shut off our gas. This was at the worst possible time of year with temperatures ranging between 5 and 10 degrees F during the day and down to -20 at night. Columbia Gas said the soonest they could come out to turn the heat back on was a minimum of 12 days. I ran out to home depot and picked up two of these heaters because our home is 2,600sqft and for 12 days I had these heaters running night and day. An average burn time with a full tank was 8 hours and the house never fell below 50 degrees. They never had any issue lighting and since we were unable to stay in the home we needed to leave them unattended (not recommended) and never had a single issue. Easily the best $300 I have ever spent and worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product worked for 2 months

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought this heater and it worked good for 2 months.It then quit working and I called the maker and got big time run around, I will contact home depot to see if they can take care of replacing this unit..
Cons: didnt last more then 2 months
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this about a month ago. It works for what I needed it for. It puts off really good heat.The price was excellent in my opinion. I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater works great, is easy to operate and a real value for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Discard when the wick is done

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wick is not replaceable. This burner works great, however, when the wick is past it's best, it cannot be replaced. I've tried and spoke to 2 family members (who are both general contractors and allround handymen) and neither of them had any success replacing the wick. They ended up just throwing it out.
I tried to replace mine and now I have to remove the cover everytime I want to shut it down. The unit works great but it's just ridiculous.
The wick lasted at least 4 seasons, but it needs regular clean burning. The clean burning process is also very long and can take at least 4 hours (if you remove all kerosene from the tank on the first clean burn cycle).
It's a shame since the unit works great when the wick is clean. But I tried 5 times to replace the wick and I am just not able to move the wick up and down anymore once I replaced it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, high maintenance
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product that was easy to get going for those extra cold nights! Warms the whole bottom floor of my home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This iteration of the upright kerosene heater is much easier to assemble than earlier models. It puts out slightly over its 23,000 BTu rating. Clean K-1 kerosene is a must (it is in any heater) for an odorless burn. We've been using the previous model for almost 10 years with no problems - just change the batteries and the wick as needed.
This newer model also came with a new siphon pump - I'd recommend an electric (battery powered) pump, but the hand pump is good in a pinch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>