728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.322 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product202 of 227reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(152)
4
(45)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product202 of 227reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AN EXCELLENT CHOICE

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND PUT INTO OPERATION. NEVER TRIED SYNTHETIC FUEL BUT UNDERSTAND IT IS USED BY MANY WITHOUT A PROBLEM. IT REALLY PUTS OUT THE HEAT AND IS VERY ADEQUATE FOR A TWO CAR GARAGE SIZE ROOM.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rochester, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kerosene Heater

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked as listed and easy to use. Heat was very good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

great emergency heat source

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have not yet needed it, but have tested it and it warmed the main area of our home very effectively. We purchased as an emergency heat source. NH can get cold in a power outage, and this will really help make the experience less painful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from huntsville AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate at best

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
wick has to be Fully raised, even with full tank, to have complete flame burn. called OEM, that was no help. should have bought a Toyoset or Kerosun.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from lawrenceville, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Purchase came right on time!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we bought this just in time, we had power failure and days before had gotten kerosene to go in the heater. This heater kept us warm by covering over 400 sq ft. We are so glad we had it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Tilton NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had purchased this long ago!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The home we are renting has a room that was converted from a 3 season porch to the living room. There is little insulation and no heat source. We are in NH and this room was averaging in the upper 50's for temperature. Certainly not warm enough to enjoy spending time in. We first purchased an oil filled radiator, that worked for November. In December we purchased an infared heater after hearing great things about them. (Not sure why to be honest I found that to be a total waste of money) So after freezing through January, we put aside our fears of having a kerosene heater in our living space....Can't tell you how happy we are! We run it for about 2 hours at a time because it gets so warm in the room. It has also upped the temp in the rest of the house as well! Don't be afraid of the fuel...get yourself a CO2 monitor to be safe and enjoy the warmth! I should add we have pets....and they haven't bothered it at all, this is a sturdy little unit not tippy at all. It is easy to assemble. Great purchase for us!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, great heat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Victor,Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Reliable heats the area needed in great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THE HEATER WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE FILLED WITH FUEL LIGHTED RIGHT UP HAS PROFORMED JUST AS I HAD EXPECTED IT TO .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: fuel cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent space heater

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this heater for a month and have used it in my garage and workshop. Both spaces are around 400 sq ft. This heater does an excellent job warming up these areas. I used it on my open air patio. If you were standing or sitting next to it, it would help to keep you warm. So, it's definitely better for enclosed areas.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heater was a great price easy to put together had a small problem with the push button igniter called customer service and I had it working in little time it was just a simple adjustment overal this is a nice Hester for the price
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great heat

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible fumes I can't imagine sniffing the fumes everday. You have to Becareful fueling the kersone .Although the heat is great. This more like for a cabin home or in the garage not the bedrooms
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Keeps us toasty and warm

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this in the event of a power outage. Our house is all electric. Tested it and worked perfectly! You MUST follow the instructions precisely. I see is using it many times and possibly buying another one for upstairs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hopewell Junction NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Winter Life Saver

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this for back up heat in case of a power outage!! I put it on to take the chill out of the house and I cannot bring myself to shut it down. I put the heater in the basement and it is warming the whole house which is 2 stories high. It is -7 degrees outside and the house is nice and warm. I have no worries about a power outage or storm knowing I have this wonderul heater to get me through..
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Chicago IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I Expected - Happy with Purchase

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery was fast. The kerosene heater is well built and easy to setup. I chose this based on product reviews of several heaters and so far I'm happy with the purchase. I only tested it for 1 hour (to be used for emergencies) but it puts out a lot of heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kerosene heater

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
nice clean unit that heats up nicely, albeit slowly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Good Heater

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good Heater. Does most of what is advertised. A couple of faults though. Handle design is awful,fall apart way easy and I've bough two of these and one has a faulty ignitor. New batteries and nothing happens. I have to use a BBQ grill lighter.
Great for small enough room but take a while to get hot. Kerosene for this is way too expensive and only available at the stores that sell the heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: bad handle design, fuel too expensive., faulty igntion wiith new batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Acceptable performance

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Somewhat difficult to deal with. Technical drawings and instructions are of marginal quality and sometimes leave you guessing. The provided wick tore on bottom after two tanks of fuel causing uneven burning and shut off problems, requiring service and replacement after a short run time. Does produce good heat and minimal smell/fumes, just somewhat tempromental
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kerosene Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like the product, it gives off good heat in the winter. The only thing about this product. keep the wick clean and check it often. Good for the garage or emergency heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
Cons: check and clean unit often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this for my son's family in Vermont. It was very easy to assemble. The heat out put is just great, heats the whole floor of their home.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pottstown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 for 2 on workmanship

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second DH-2304. The first worked flawlessly for years until it was damaged beyond repair. My second purchase has a manufacturing defect which allows the gear attached to the the wick raising knob to slip out of alignment with the rack gear and drop the wick. When I disassembled to see if it was the wick, I noticed the rack gear has a failed spot weld. Contacting the MFG to get it replaced now.
When it was working, it was able to heat my entire house during power outages. The only odor was at start up and shut down but nothing overwhelming.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lacey, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent heat source

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item in December 2014 during our cold weather. I've use at least almost everyday. I'm retired now and on fix income. The monthly savings alone has actually paid for this product. I use the heater in my shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>