728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.356 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product153 of 171reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(118)
4
(33)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product153 of 171reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Outstanding heat output, quick and simple.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding heat output, quick and simple to put together. Heats a substantial area. Exceedingly Fuel Efficient.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had one of these for close to 16 years. The bottom tank
started to leak. It was my own fault for letting it get wet in the garage a number of times. Would buy another in a
heartbeat. Hope the new one lasts as long as the first.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from kennewick, WA, 99337
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost excelent, but not quite.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it heats great! No smell, heats a large area without a fan, easy to fill. Easy to operate.
However, the automatic igniter doesn't work well. Often it doesn't work at all. Manual igniting is so easy I didn't care.
I'm very pleased with the product even though it doesn't totally function as designed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't function as designed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbus, NE 68601, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

House Saver, Literally

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Long story short, my wife and I purchased our first home a few weeks ago. We switched over all utilities prior to closing but due to a Columbia Gas mix up they shut off our gas. This was at the worst possible time of year with temperatures ranging between 5 and 10 degrees F during the day and down to -20 at night. Columbia Gas said the soonest they could come out to turn the heat back on was a minimum of 12 days. I ran out to home depot and picked up two of these heaters because our home is 2,600sqft and for 12 days I had these heaters running night and day. An average burn time with a full tank was 8 hours and the house never fell below 50 degrees. They never had any issue lighting and since we were unable to stay in the home we needed to leave them unattended (not recommended) and never had a single issue. Easily the best $300 I have ever spent and worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Columbia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product worked for 2 months

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought this heater and it worked good for 2 months.It then quit working and I called the maker and got big time run around, I will contact home depot to see if they can take care of replacing this unit..
Cons: didnt last more then 2 months
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this about a month ago. It works for what I needed it for. It puts off really good heat.The price was excellent in my opinion. I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater works great, is easy to operate and a real value for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Discard when the wick is done

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wick is not replaceable. This burner works great, however, when the wick is past it's best, it cannot be replaced. I've tried and spoke to 2 family members (who are both general contractors and allround handymen) and neither of them had any success replacing the wick. They ended up just throwing it out.
I tried to replace mine and now I have to remove the cover everytime I want to shut it down. The unit works great but it's just ridiculous.
The wick lasted at least 4 seasons, but it needs regular clean burning. The clean burning process is also very long and can take at least 4 hours (if you remove all kerosene from the tank on the first clean burn cycle).
It's a shame since the unit works great when the wick is clean. But I tried 5 times to replace the wick and I am just not able to move the wick up and down anymore once I replaced it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, high maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product that was easy to get going for those extra cold nights! Warms the whole bottom floor of my home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This iteration of the upright kerosene heater is much easier to assemble than earlier models. It puts out slightly over its 23,000 BTu rating. Clean K-1 kerosene is a must (it is in any heater) for an odorless burn. We've been using the previous model for almost 10 years with no problems - just change the batteries and the wick as needed.
This newer model also came with a new siphon pump - I'd recommend an electric (battery powered) pump, but the hand pump is good in a pinch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Works we'll

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The heater was easy to set up and works well. Have to get used to the oder when turning it off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: fuel odor cost of k-1 kerosene
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Kerosene Heater

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This kerosene heater was easy to assemble and set up, took us a few minutes. The top handle was tricky to align, other than that the heater starts up and warms up a small area quickly, highly recommended (only complaint is that kerosene prices have skyrocketed the past few years).
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: top cover handle assembly is tricky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Have not use it, but previous years, did what it was suppose to do.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The one i had years ago did an great performance, brought this one for back up in case eletricity fells or goes out, shipping was great came 2 days early.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Dover, De and Belleville, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect garage heater!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater on impulse, 5 years later it still works perfectly, burns efficiently and heats my garage in a relatively short time. I have replaced the batteries once in the time I have owned it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is easy to use and warms a large area.

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift to replace the same heater that no longer worked.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lake City, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent heater

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heats my double wide trailer that is a 28x70 with ease. Keeping it at a comfortable 70 degrees for up to 12 hours before needing to be refilled with fuel.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from East Lansing
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love our Portable heater!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT product. Exactly what we needed. We use this to keep our garage more reasonably heated so that we can work out there when weather is not fitting or warm enough. With a non-insulated garage, this does a GREAT job keeping the temp workable!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for my workshop

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently built a small workshop where I do woodworking and I needed a way to heat it in a very cold New Jersey winter this year. I previously bought one of those propane disk heaters (sits on top of the 20gal propane tank) and it did ok in my smaller shop but it definitely wasn't up to the task in the larger shop.
I kicked around the idea of welding my own wood stove but the lack of portability and the expense of real stove pipe just made it something I didn't want to undertake (this year). So I bought this kerosene heater.
Have to say, this is a quality product. It was simple to put together, simple to light and puts off a fantastic amount of heat, especially for the footprint. Literally within ten minutes, I'm able to work in my shop in a t-shirt (shop is not insulated).
Very slight kerosene odor on startup and shutdown but really nothing to be concerned about. While it's running, it puts off zero odor. Note, this heater calls for 1-K kerosene and it burns hot and very clean.
I've been through a couple of tanks and it's just really nice to know that I can work in comfort. For me, this means the ability to make money with my small business so this heater was a great investment.
NOTE: Read the instructions. I was excited about getting it started and failed to let the wick soak up the kerosene for an hour as instructed. Fortunately I didn't damage the wick and shut it off immediately after reading the instructions. (c'mon, do we really read instructions guys?). Let it soak up into the wick for an hour before starting it.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Mableton GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very safe for kids

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first got this device my main concern was the safety of my family. Even though, it specified on the box that it was safe for indoors I was still a little concerned but it worked well. It exceeded my expectations
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Marion, OH 43302, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great for a good price!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reaaly enjoy the service every time I shop at home depot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>