728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(197 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product171 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 197 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(132)
4
(36)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product171 of 191reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kerosene Heater

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had the opportunity to use the heater, yet, but I felt comfortable giving it an overall excellent rating. It doesn't have the easiest instructions to go by, and they could be more clearly written...the reason for the "Good" rating. I purchased the heater as a backup in case of a power failure or if my furnace stops working. It was an excellent value, and associates at HD were very willing to help me with things I was having difficulty with. All I can do now is wait until I need it. to see how well the heater works.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality
Cons: instruction difficult to follow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pawling NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not very pleased

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I set up this heater which was very easy, however, the wick could not be lowered to a proper height so the unit s flame was too high and therefore extremely smokey. Tried the unit three times, the fourth time, unit would not ignite. Returned the unit
Pros: Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Raleigh, N.C.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very warm heater

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great heater. It puts out a lot of heat. I just wish it could be dialed down a bit. Because it produces a lot of heat, it does use kerosene quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64

Excellent Kerosene Heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These heaters are WONDERFUL for heating a medium size area! There is just SO much difference between central heating an having one of these babies running, it's a much cozier type of warmth.
As long as you follow the instructions and buy CLEAN fuel they will serve you very well. I bought one for my kids in case of power outage or other emergency situations. I also bought a spare wick, not that we've had to change the original one yet, and I also bought a Carbon Monoxided monitor when I got the first unit... NO problems and we're into our second winter. :-)
Warm and cozy!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: read the instructions before you start it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from richmond.virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent product durable excellent for money excellent deal
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little disappointed...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I would recommend this product with the following caveats:
1) Auto light feature doesn't work and the Instruction manual does not address the issue which is the heating element/starter does not come close enough to the wick. I guess I can tear it all apart and "adjust" but one would think that it SHOULD work out of the box.
2) There is a fairly strong smell of kerosene while operating; the best K-1 kerosene money can buy, flame adjusted as recommended, burner centered and a fresh air supply (window open).
It does heat my garage... but it would have to be the worst of emergencies before I would bring it into my house.
Quality of materials is good and it assembles easily.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor auto light adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm I just had to replace the provided batteries. Easy to follow instructions the hardest part was waiting the required time after filling the tank the let the wick absorb the kerosene. Use K1 kerosene as recommended. The only time you smell kerosene is when you start it up or shut it off and the smell dissipates rapidly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Summerville SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we wanted!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We did not notice any fumes with this as we had with our old one. Only time there were fumes was when soaking the wick. The heater provide the perfect back up heat we needed for both home and using in the garage on those cold days!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent true as advertised

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am impressed with the heat output of this unit. The only difficulty is that the heat is not able to be as regulated as I thought. 23k BTU is very strong for a fifth wheel unless the temperature is really low. I would recommend this for any heating needs specially for additional heating or emergencies. Would still get this unit any way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Detroit, MI

Horrible

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this junk to heat my garage. Had problems right from the start. The knob never would lock unless I very delicatly moved it or it would spin and go all the way to the shut off position. after we did get it lit we were surprised to find out that it stayed lit after we put it out all night burning up a whole tank of K1! So this happened twice after double making sure the flame was out, causing the wick to be ruined. I replaced the wick with a duraheat replacement and now the wick doesn't even compact the top of the rim. Pure junk, taking it back tomorrow. DON"T BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great and heats up fast. Not impressed with the hand siphon that is included.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: hand siphon is useless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from asheboro,nc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best heater ever

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to put together ,heat almost from the start very nice package
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Must Buy

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product and it heats perfectly. I actually got hot and had to turn it off. First day, the kerosene smell was a bit much. I Had To Open The Window To Air out. But the 2nd day the odor was not there. Very nice product. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Killeen, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a similar heater from a different manufacturer last year and had to return it after 2 days of operation due to fumes. Purchased this heater from my local Home Depot with the thinking that if Home Depot was selling it, it had to be the real deal. After several days of operation, I can find no fault with this heater. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and operate, and wonderful heat for our 1300 sq ft apartment. Heater burns for about 10-12 hours for each tank of fuel. With respect to performance and heat output, this heater reminds me of the old Toyostove heaters from the 1980s-90s. Thanks to Home Depot for a great product at a great price. If you are thinking about getting one, you had better hurry. My store only had 2 units left and Winter is only beginning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, excellent value, great heat output, no fumes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a very good item for emergency use in the home that is safer than electric heaters

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am very pleased with this purchase. the item does exactly what is needed, when it is needed. i usually have 2 of these items in the event of an emergency.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wicks are hard to replace
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hudson, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great money saver for heating only one room, instead of the whole house!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several of these over the years. I find that I can set the home thermometer lower, and light the kerosene heater and stay toasty in the room where I am. Just GREAT in the AM & I don't have to use the furnace to be comfortable when I get out of bed. I wouldn't be without one in the Ohio winters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Heats up great. Warms the entire house.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy and it works great. Heats up the entire house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

23K DuraHeat Kerosene Self Standing Heater

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently received this kerosene heater from Home Depot. I have not used this heater yet, but, I did open the box to check for any shipping damage. This unit was as little bigger than I thought it would be ( a pleasant supprise) By being a decent size, the unit will not be as prone to tipping over during use. I would also recommend buying additional heater wicks, if you plan to use this item regularly . The proper wick for this heater is "Model # DH-145." I would suggest purchasing 2-3 additional wicks, as there is one included with this heater. My purchase of this heater is really just to be prepared if we experienced a long term power outage (2 days to over a week), as it requires no external power source to operate. Because this is a wick type heater, you will also want to use the K-1 (or 1K) kerosene, as any other grade kerosene may cause excessive odor, or smoke during use. I personally think that this is a good, sound, well built heater.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no external electric power required
Cons: possible difficulty re-filling heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from amarillo, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Heater by far.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this heater for emergency use only. we are total electric, when lights go out this heater keeps us warm. Great product and worth the money
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have not used it yet. (not cold yet) I had one years ago and it was a good heater. Hope this one is as good as the other one.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>