728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.343 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(242 reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product211 of 236reviews
Rating Breakdown 242 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(160)
4
(46)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product211 of 236reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Evansville, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly as advertised, described!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product performed flawlessly, and precisely as described. No odor from K1 gasoline pump kerosene.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Westerly, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid purchase.

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an awesome kerosene heater. I purchased this after losing power last winter season when my pipes froze. Although we were not in danger of that happening this heating season, it was peace of mind having this heater to keep my basement and basement pipes warm. I have used this several times to take the chill out of my 800 square foot basement. It does the job no problem. My only issue is that you really can't regulate the heat setting as much as I would like to. The high setting is fine but I would like it better if the low setting went lower. All in all, I would purchase this unit again without hesitation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: wish it has a lower "low" setting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Eastern Shore of Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Heat, Easy to fill and operate

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were reluctant to purchase another of the round heaters because of past history with other brands but found a good review and recommendation on this unit. It has lived up to expectations. This is the first season so will see what next year will bring.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great Reliable Heater

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Definetly a great back up heating source. I purchased this heater to help on those extremely cold nights for my basement to keep my pipes from bursting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lenoir City, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this unit :)

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our electric bill went from over $200.00 down to $140 two months in a row this Winter which was a big surprise! What you save on electric pays for the kerosene to run the heater with money left over. I love the amount of heat it puts out and it's so quiet you only hear the low ficker of the flame. Very little oder mostly when it's started or shut off. I can live with that. So easy to start with the one touch egnition and one button to push to shut it off. Will save sooo much money next Winter. All and all I would say you are crazy if you don't try one. We love it so much we bought two!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Orange, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase Ever

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is excellent. Our furnace stopped working and we had to wait for one week before we could have our furnace repaired. We tried multiple sources of heat during this time period and nothing provided us with heat like this heater. There was a significant difference and I am thrilled that I purchased this heater. Also, please use Klean Strip Orderless Kersonse Heating Oil. I felt safe from carbon monoxide fumes so we burned this heater continuously for several days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great heats well

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble works great delivered on time heats all downstairs
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Aberdeen, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best purchase item for winter

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the best purchase made for the winter months. It has saved us alot of money on heating our home. It does not require electricity and is extremely important should the power go out. I wish we would have purchased this years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from freeport,pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

owner

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
my old heater a kero-sun was at least 15 yrs old. it did not have much heating ability left. the new heater works better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AN EXCELLENT CHOICE

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND PUT INTO OPERATION. NEVER TRIED SYNTHETIC FUEL BUT UNDERSTAND IT IS USED BY MANY WITHOUT A PROBLEM. IT REALLY PUTS OUT THE HEAT AND IS VERY ADEQUATE FOR A TWO CAR GARAGE SIZE ROOM.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rochester, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kerosene Heater

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked as listed and easy to use. Heat was very good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

great emergency heat source

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have not yet needed it, but have tested it and it warmed the main area of our home very effectively. We purchased as an emergency heat source. NH can get cold in a power outage, and this will really help make the experience less painful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from huntsville AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate at best

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
wick has to be Fully raised, even with full tank, to have complete flame burn. called OEM, that was no help. should have bought a Toyoset or Kerosun.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from lawrenceville, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Purchase came right on time!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we bought this just in time, we had power failure and days before had gotten kerosene to go in the heater. This heater kept us warm by covering over 400 sq ft. We are so glad we had it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Tilton NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had purchased this long ago!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The home we are renting has a room that was converted from a 3 season porch to the living room. There is little insulation and no heat source. We are in NH and this room was averaging in the upper 50's for temperature. Certainly not warm enough to enjoy spending time in. We first purchased an oil filled radiator, that worked for November. In December we purchased an infared heater after hearing great things about them. (Not sure why to be honest I found that to be a total waste of money) So after freezing through January, we put aside our fears of having a kerosene heater in our living space....Can't tell you how happy we are! We run it for about 2 hours at a time because it gets so warm in the room. It has also upped the temp in the rest of the house as well! Don't be afraid of the fuel...get yourself a CO2 monitor to be safe and enjoy the warmth! I should add we have pets....and they haven't bothered it at all, this is a sturdy little unit not tippy at all. It is easy to assemble. Great purchase for us!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, great heat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Victor,Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Reliable heats the area needed in great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THE HEATER WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE FILLED WITH FUEL LIGHTED RIGHT UP HAS PROFORMED JUST AS I HAD EXPECTED IT TO .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: fuel cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent space heater

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this heater for a month and have used it in my garage and workshop. Both spaces are around 400 sq ft. This heater does an excellent job warming up these areas. I used it on my open air patio. If you were standing or sitting next to it, it would help to keep you warm. So, it's definitely better for enclosed areas.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heater was a great price easy to put together had a small problem with the push button igniter called customer service and I had it working in little time it was just a simple adjustment overal this is a nice Hester for the price
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Great heat

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible fumes I can't imagine sniffing the fumes everday. You have to Becareful fueling the kersone .Although the heat is great. This more like for a cabin home or in the garage not the bedrooms
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Keeps us toasty and warm

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this in the event of a power outage. Our house is all electric. Tested it and worked perfectly! You MUST follow the instructions precisely. I see is using it many times and possibly buying another one for upstairs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>