728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(219 reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product190 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 219 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(142)
4
(43)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product190 of 213reviews
Customer reviews for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Good Heater

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good Heater. Does most of what is advertised. A couple of faults though. Handle design is awful,fall apart way easy and I've bough two of these and one has a faulty ignitor. New batteries and nothing happens. I have to use a BBQ grill lighter.
Great for small enough room but take a while to get hot. Kerosene for this is way too expensive and only available at the stores that sell the heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: bad handle design, fuel too expensive., faulty igntion wiith new batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Acceptable performance

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Somewhat difficult to deal with. Technical drawings and instructions are of marginal quality and sometimes leave you guessing. The provided wick tore on bottom after two tanks of fuel causing uneven burning and shut off problems, requiring service and replacement after a short run time. Does produce good heat and minimal smell/fumes, just somewhat tempromental
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kerosene Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like the product, it gives off good heat in the winter. The only thing about this product. keep the wick clean and check it often. Good for the garage or emergency heat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
Cons: check and clean unit often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this for my son's family in Vermont. It was very easy to assemble. The heat out put is just great, heats the whole floor of their home.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pottstown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 for 2 on workmanship

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second DH-2304. The first worked flawlessly for years until it was damaged beyond repair. My second purchase has a manufacturing defect which allows the gear attached to the the wick raising knob to slip out of alignment with the rack gear and drop the wick. When I disassembled to see if it was the wick, I noticed the rack gear has a failed spot weld. Contacting the MFG to get it replaced now.
When it was working, it was able to heat my entire house during power outages. The only odor was at start up and shut down but nothing overwhelming.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Lacey, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent heat source

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item in December 2014 during our cold weather. I've use at least almost everyday. I'm retired now and on fix income. The monthly savings alone has actually paid for this product. I use the heater in my shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater makes our 215 square foot living room very toasty. The heater helps a bit on the rest of the floor, about 600 square feet, but it doesn't warm up the adjacent rooms very well. The only draw back so far is that it is difficult to find cheap kerosene around. Home Depot and other hardware stores sell it for $10/gallon, but with some searching I have found it for $5.77/gallon at a gas station way out of town.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from galion ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great buy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is a great unit much better than other heaters out there. lights up first time easy on fuel. heats up very quickly. over all it's the best out there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Afraid of kerosene heat at first.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I contemplated getting a kerosene heater for many years but never did because of my intense fear of carbon monoxide, a house fire and just liquid fuels in general. We were hit with single digit arctic air recently and of course we lost power right in the middle of it. You are now at the mercy of mother nature and waiting and hoping the utility company is able to restore power asap. It was only three hours this time but it was very stressful and COLD! I did a lot of research and settled on this heater. I am so happy I did. I have found that a lot of the fears attached to kerosene heat are unfounded. Follow the directions to the T and just use your plain common sense. Kerosene is safe and very easy to store and use. I cannot tell you how great it feels to know that we can protect and provide for ourselves in an emergency situation. We will be warm! I intend to get another unit soon.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no odor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

midwest must!!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cannot believe ive never had one before. i wouldnt want to get stuck in winter without this heater. one of the best purchases made for my house. love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Hockley, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Source of Heat

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heater works great. I use it warm-up my garage when watching football or just sitting out there relaxing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: fuel is expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from New Freedom, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My first experience with a kerosene heater

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions were less than steller for a first timer with this type of heater. Viewed a YouTube video which was 100% more helpful. Not much to starting it once you know. The first time I started it I placed it outside as suggested to insure minimal oder moving forward. Throws out allot of heat and the kerosene smell is minimal. The hand pump that came with it did not work too well. I used a funnel instead and it worked great. I use it in the two car garage and it warms things up guickly. I won't mind working in the garage during the winter.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Northern Virginia

Good Alternative Heat Source

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Easy to transport. When using high-quality kerosene produces little to no smoke. Much better than the models I used when I lived in Italy almost thirty years ago. Have only tested and not used, but previous experience with kerosene heaters showed they heated quickly and efficiently. The ease of transport to place where needed is a plus.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Canon City Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Colorado Cold-snap

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Saturday after this Christmas our furnace went down, I bought one of these the month prior in case we lost power during winter. I am glad we did! The first day we ran it was pretty much the only day we had the kerosene smell, break-in time I guess, but we ran it for seven more days more with no issue. Except for the night temperatures dropped in the minus digits, the house stayed at 70 degrees and no water pipes lost. I would fill it and found if you ran it on low a tank would last almost 12 hours, with a 2.5 gallon jug filling it three times.
I liked the guard on it since we have two medium sized dogs, and it wasn't hard to put together especially if you are in panic mode with low temps like I was (worried about the family and the house).
I liked it and was VERY glad to have it, it didn't let us down!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, easy to setup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

Very expensive to use!

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
K-1 Kerosene cost $8 per gallon!!!! I live near Dallas Texas. The heater will run for 12 hours on a full tank which is 2 gallons.
I own a 1400 square foot single story home in Cedar Hill Texas. I was trying to lower energy costs. But what I saved I spent on kerosene! So I returned heater after two weeks.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Prospect, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Puurchase

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I tried a different heater for the garage before going to this heater. Works great. I should have checked a couple other stores ads I found this item for a much lower price. I would recommend that before having customers do a review that they give you several months to use the item purchased. I have used this item for 2 tank fulls and would recommend it confidently.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Minot, North Dakota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke after three uses

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this heater in my garage, and after I used it three times, the inside broke and will not stay lit anymore. Would not recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater

great reliable heater

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Inexpensive reliable portable heater that looks great
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from new mexico

Soot, smell, a big mess

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know what I am doing wrong, but first I found this to be a real pain in the butt to put together. The pieces are plentiful and quite flimsy. On the first burn it poured out black soot, I let it burn for 30:00 hoping it would die off but it got worse. I shut it down, let it cool, took the whole thing apart, cleaned it up and started again. I followed the manual exactly, tried again and the wick adjuster knob moves clockwise but not counter clockwise so I could not lower the wick. Took it apart played with the wick, it still does not raise and lower properly. I lit it again, no soot, but no heat either. I let it run for 2 hours, and temperature in my 750 square foot garage did not change, but the kerosene air way eye watering. I have no idea how the rest of you did it.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Kerosene Portable Heater
from Brigham, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second heater of this kind we have bought. We liked the first one so much that we wanted a second one for emergencies for our children or anyone else in trouble. It puts out a lot of heat with very little smell or smoke. Always remember to light it and extinguish it outside of the house as this is when it can smoke. Once it is burning, it is very clean. Very worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>