728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Exclusively at The Home Depot: Professional grade, domestic decorative hardwood plywood featuring soy-based PureBond formaldehyde-free assembly technology. These features ensures the panels are high quality and do not have added urea formaldehyde resins which can emit formaldehyde over time after manufacturing. Formaldehyde has been shown by the state of California to degrade air quality.
Overall rating:
2.391 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
Review 1 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Use of This Product

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used (4) sheets of this product for first time to construct an 84" width Home Theater cabinet. HD red oak used for base runners, facings, doors and trim. They oak plywood was flawless on one side and had a few minor blemishes on backside. Unlike others, I didn't have any major void or bowing issues, however outer veneer is way too thin to sand appreciably, especially if needing to remove glue stains. I did have some minor veneer splintering problems on crosscuts, even when using a 80T table saw blade.
I used pocket screws and PC-7 epoxy for joints and trim attachments. I wouldn't use pocket screws in this type of plywood again as socket holes slightly splintered thin veneer. This cabinet is extremely strong, with both epoxied and screwed joints, double thick top, bottom and sides. It weighs in at over 280 lbs. because it supports several vintage amps and a large, heavy plasma display. Regardless, it's still easy to move on laminate since I mounted (4) full depth laminated oak runners on base with 3/16" heavy felt bottom liners.
I stained all wood with water based Ebony dye stain and sealed with Waterlox marine sealer/finish. No problems on plywood, but solid oak facings has some raised grain issues, solved by intermediate sanding. I wanted grain texture to show through so I opted not to use poly varnishes. If HD would buy similar wood with thicker veneer then I think most problems would be eliminated, and I would purchase again. But now, no thanks. Solid oak wood or Baltic Birch plywood for my next project!
Pros: looks good
Cons: thin veneer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

CDX with a sprayed veneer

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Recent 14 sheet purchase. Like a previous commenter, this used to be a decent product, now it's trash.
Several years ago I built cabinets etc. with good results. This time around no such luck. The sheets I purchased have warped and twisted. On two sheets I ran a string from the end to end and there was a 1.5" and 2" bow in the center. I've tried joining two pieces using biscuits, TnG and dowels - didn't work. No luck with router or shaper due to the 'wavy' edges - I won't even try finger joining. The joints had highs and lows (and yes, I used a glue press). When sanded to even out the disparity the veneer went away. Not being able to join, the drop was devastating. Six pieces out of two sheets rather than nine. Oh yeah, the voids in the laminate were plentiful and BIG, some just below the veneer. The more I worked with this the more I just wanted to use hammer and nails and spray paint. HD was gracious about refunding my money but I was out a LOT of miles and HOURS of work with no alternative.
Pros: looks good on the outside
Cons: thin veneer voids bows and twists
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+72points
72out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from CASTLE ROCK, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BUYER BEWARE

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product for years in my cabinet shop. I purchased a sheet of the plywood for a project in my own home. I looked at two sheets, the first had big void visible on the edges of the plywood, the second sheet looked good, I cut it up into shelves for cabinets that I had built, edged the plywood and then finished sanding the panels. I noticed that circular bubbles appeared during the finish sanding process. I made the mistake of pushing on the bubble and found a void was under the bubbles. There were eight additional bubbles found in the the one sheet of plywood, and those were the ones that I noticed, there may be more.
Based on the quality of this product, I will be discontinuing the use of this material in my cabinet shop and seek out other suppliers.
Pros: price
Cons: poor quality
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garbage! Don't Waste Your Money

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used veneered plywood for cabinet and furniture making for years. This is the worst quality "cabinet" grade plywood I have ever seen. I hand picked 6 sheets out of the middle of an unopened bunk thinking I would be able to tell if they would be ok, wrong. There are numorous voids, it warps to the point of being unusable. On some pieces the veneer would bubble. Countless hours I have wasted continuously repairing the veneer. I would have come out cheaper and spent less time gluing solid oak together than using this trash.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really wanted to love this, but...

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose this product this because I loved the idea of a formaldehyde free product in my kids bedroom. At the store I had very high hopes. The face was lovely, the edges seemed fine, but once I started cutting into it, I was really disappointed by all of the voids in the lamination. The oak veneer was so thin and combined with the voids, about half of my cut edges were a mess. Wish it had lived up to the hype, especially considering how expensive it is compared to regular ply.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality went down hill

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
About 3 years ago I used this 3/4 oak laminate and then it was very good quality, the laminate was thicker and out of the six sheets I found no voids. Today this product is not the same as it was 3 years ago, it is junk. I believe back then the product came from China. The current product is fine if you are not going to cut/rip it.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

PureBond? More like PureCrap

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The veneer is so thin you can barely sand it. The glue is so bad that the veneer chips off with the slightest provocation. And there are huge amounts of voids in the interior layers, so you keep hitting gaps when you're drilling in the plywood. I cannot believe how bad this plywood is. I'm glad to be avoiding the formaldehyde, but I'm more glad that I'm not using this plywood anywhere that I will be likely to ever look at it closely.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Large Voids

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Carefully check for hidden voids by running your hand over entire surface. The veneer is extremly thin. While running your hand over the board you will hear where the voids are and probally be able to push your thumbnail right through the veneer. I was able to work around the voids enough to get the pieces needed and then returned the unusable pieces to the store for a full refund.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Lake Zurich, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really subpar product

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two sheets for a cabinet and found the same deficiencies that others have described here....poor lamination, voids, bows and warps. Unfortunately I started cutting, thinking I could draw the bows in without distortion. Wrong. I'm in the Chicago area, home to one of the great hardwood stores in the world...Owl Hardwood, so ended up going there, paying less for two beautiful sheets of A1 grade 2s and built my cabinets. Bottom line, I've got some expensive 3/4" oak ply to make some nice birdfeeders out of...I hope the cardinals enjoy their $100 homes.
Pros: it was in stock
Cons: it should never have been stocked.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Horrible expensive plywood

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The veneer is paper thin and there are a lot of voids. Also the internal laminations are poplar, an ugly green and white pattern. I will never buy this awful wood again.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from St. Paul, Ks

Be Careful

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had pretty good luck with HD's Oak Veneer Plywood until last month. I purchased a sheet of 3/4" Oak ply and the quality was very poor. When I got it home and began to rip it, the sheet had multiple, large voids, just beneath the veneer on both sides. One section was so poor I ran my finger into a 1-2 inch square void. If it wasn't for a 70 mile round trip I would have returned it immediately.
Then, just to add frosting to my disappointment, they placed a paper price tag about six inches from each corner ON THE GOOD SIDE!. I have had to peel these off with my fingernail, and clean with spirits before. However, this one was absolutely un-removable.
I'll pay more at the local yard before I'll buy another one of these.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Red Oak

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read some of the other reviews and was skeptical of buying. I wanted to see for myself and had no problems some of the other reviewers had. Used it for a bookcase and it turned out looking very nice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from WA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marginally decent quality at low-ish price

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After carefully examining the surface and edges, I purchased several sheets at what I felt was a reasonable price given their C3 quality. Unfortunately, two of the sheets had several large voids varying from 2-3" wide and up to 7" long under the micro-thin veneer. The ply between the veneer was just... missing in places. Overall it was decent wood, but it took much more work and re-work to build the projects the wood was purchased for.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Consider the grade before you buy

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Keep in mind this is C3, which means the good side scores a C (Not an A, best or B second best), the back side scores a 3 (not 1, the best or 2 second best). Don't shop just by price....
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Massachustts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After sorting through many sheets to try and find acceptable ones it was disappointing two days later to find that the boards had a good 3+ inch bow and twist from end to end. So they were returned. And I didn't buy any more from Home Depot.
Cons: poor quality, expensive for what you get
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is no good!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will never buy this awful wood again.
.
The veneer is paper thin and there are a lot of voids.
Cons: can't be cut even with a new plywood blade.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Save your money

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Very poor quality. Looked through about 6 sheets and founed none to be furniture quality. wood filler on back, many pieces scarred. and it appeared face side veneer was from rotten trees. Worse quality i've seen at "The Home Depot". To the contrairy I found the 1/2" to be of the highest quality but only needed 2. Still need 3/4".
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood

Oak vernier is too thin

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Vernier is just too thin although it was clear with few blemishes. Sanding alone can wear it right through. If you can work with that the piece represents an average value.
Cons: vernier too thin
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from Maine

oak ply

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have built several projects with this material.Hope chests to china cabinets i find this product top notch.easy to work with and the finished product looks great,,
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. C-3 Red Oak Domestic Plywood
from central pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no problems with HD Columbia wood products

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Despite all the bad reviews I still buy my popular core oak and birch and maple veneer plywood at HD. It is made in the USA by Colmbia Wood Products and I just cut up 15 sheets and had no problems with voids or veneer problems. I love this good quality plywood for cabinets or any other projects I am working on. I do not know why other people had so many problems but in central PA HD carries Columbia Wood Products unlike the blue store where you do not know who or where it is made.
Pros: High Quality of Material
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>