728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension

Brown Downspout Extension

The Amerimax Home Products Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension has a brown color and corrugated design for versatility. This flexible downspout extension easily bends and holds its shape and can be extended from 25 in. to 55 in. Featuring a durable vinyl construction, this extension can be buried, bent or connected to additional sections. Use this downspout extension to divert water away from a foundation, or connect it to a drainage pipe and catch basin in order to control drainage.
Overall rating:
4.525 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product168 of 179reviews
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(130)
4
(36)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product168 of 179reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension
Review 1 for Brown Downspout Extension
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Not the same as shown in the ad :(

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item shown in the online ad is what they USED to sell...and that actually WAS a great product. What is actually in the store is a different design that makes it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to interconnect multiple spouts. When you follow the directions on the spout and the sticker, cutting off the squared area and try to insert one rounded end into the other, you can't. Both rounded ends are exactly the same diameter, which makes it impossible to feed one end into the other...maybe the Hulk can do it, but no normal person can. the old design was easy to connect...I really wish they'd bring back the old one...if it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, not as shown
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for a rain barrel

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got two of these to divert water from my gutters to my 275 gallon rain barrel. I just took off the downspout below the transition piece and screwed the Flex-a-spout right on where the downspout had been attached. The old bracket from the gutter even fit around it for mounting it to the exterior wall of my house.
As for joining two of them together, it couldn't be easier. The Flex-a-spouts interlock perfectly when you use the pre-marked cut lines: take off the 2"x3" square end on one, and the 3"x4" square end on the other. Then use some stainless sheet metal screws to lock them together. Then I used a few zip ties and some window screen to keep bugs out of the rain barrel.
The first heavy rain filled the whole barrel right up. No leaks or breakage from the Flex-a-spouts. I couldn't be happier with the whole setup!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brown Downspout Extension

Cannot join two of these.... not possible

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To confirm..... there is no physical way to properly join two of these products. Cutting-off the rectangular ends results in two ends that are exactly the same diameter, and will NOT mate together. Simply not possible without "special" (meaning "highly inconvenient, and difficult" ) effort. The ONLY viable options are (1) to purchase the extension pieces that do not have the rectangular ends.... these are the by-design mating pieces. But Lowes & HD do not carry them in my area. ...or (2) buy std black corrugated drain line (in plumbing dept, usually, 10ft lengths), and insert the flex-a-spout end (after cutting off the rectangular part).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Toledo, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Thanks HD staff that hooked me up with this product.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clerk pointed out the extension had two different standard hook-up openings. Just cut off the one you don't need, attach the extension to the down spout, and you're all set to attach another extension away from the house. Great setup, easy to put together, and looks good. A really great buy for me.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brown Downspout Extension
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

functional

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install. I had purchased this product before and it has worked well
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brown Downspout Extension

Good Enough

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OK for what it is. It is not what I would call high quality but is is good enough. This purchase was a replacement for one that a neighbor's dog ripped off. The older ones have remained durable and color-fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Fort Walton Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It Works!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Attached to my downspout with no problems at all. Very satisfied with this product!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brown Downspout Extension

Great for directing water away from flower beds

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Reasonably priced and well made. Easy to adjust direction of the flow of wTer. Brown color blends with soil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Bartlett, IL

It works

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With two people, it was easy to join pieces together - just cut at the appropriate lines and screw together while the pieces are still unexpanded. Make sure you are joining the correct ends together. The brown color blends in with mulch. Works great to keep water away from the house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Leesburg ,va

Drain extension

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Matching color and helpful draining water away rom house
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brown Downspout Extension
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Daily

worked like a charm!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flex-a-spout worked perfectly. The fit was perfect and it did what I needed it to do - move water away from my foundation. The color was perfect too - it matched my mulch!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Harahan, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product does exactly what is supposed to

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works perfectly it is very flexible so you can adjust it to where it works best for you. It has kept rain water from washing away soil at our home foundation. Great buy & it came in different colors so it comlpiments our home
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fixed the problem

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great For Getting Water Away From The House. Easy To Install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

brown flex a spout downspout extension

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install; would like if it could have extended longer 2 out of the ten purchased
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: too short in some cases
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well, good value for money

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a period of lots of rain, and I really needed these extensions. They are easy to install and work well. The only thing I would have liked to see is a longer version or the ability to connect two extensions together to get the water farther away from the house.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
Cons: could be longer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Dallas, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Rain away drain

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This were easy to install and was plenty of length I needed to get the water away from the house and over and around the edging i installed. The product matched well with the mulch to not stand out. Only suggestion is to install it coming down off the spout and not off the elbow to prevent back flow or water drip and make sure water is completely ran away from where you want it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Deerfield Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just what I needed

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was searching for a way to push the water from my gutters farther away from my foundation and the guy at Home Depot showed me the Flex A Spout downspout extension. Fit perfectly over my gutter down spout and carries the water several feet away from my home. Perfect, just what I was looking for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Berkley, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

just what I needed

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good Product. Does the job intended. It will, hopefully last a long time.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Cañon City, CO 81212, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very affordable but not enough extension and difficult to extend.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was very difficult to exend. Requiring abnormal effort and then the amount of extension was inadequate. I expected it to at least double in length but it only extended about a foot or so.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Exactly what I needed!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for these guys to be in stock for almost a year now! I was beginning to worry that they might be discontinued. I really needed the brown ones to match the rest of the landscaping and fencing around our property! Actually this recently saved me from the storms and some landscaping work that I was doing by redirecting drainage away from my work area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>