728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension

Brown Downspout Extension

The Amerimax Home Products Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension has a brown color and corrugated design for versatility. This flexible downspout extension easily bends and holds its shape and can be extended from 25 in. to 55 in. Featuring a durable vinyl construction, this extension can be buried, bent or connected to additional sections. Use this downspout extension to divert water away from a foundation, or connect it to a drainage pipe and catch basin in order to control drainage.
Overall rating:
4.473 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(275 reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product254 of 269reviews
Rating Breakdown 275 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(181)
4
(67)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product254 of 269reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension
Review 1 for Brown Downspout Extension
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Not the same as shown in the ad :(

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item shown in the online ad is what they USED to sell...and that actually WAS a great product. What is actually in the store is a different design that makes it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to interconnect multiple spouts. When you follow the directions on the spout and the sticker, cutting off the squared area and try to insert one rounded end into the other, you can't. Both rounded ends are exactly the same diameter, which makes it impossible to feed one end into the other...maybe the Hulk can do it, but no normal person can. the old design was easy to connect...I really wish they'd bring back the old one...if it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, not as shown
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brown Downspout Extension

Cannot join two of these.... not possible

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To confirm..... there is no physical way to properly join two of these products. Cutting-off the rectangular ends results in two ends that are exactly the same diameter, and will NOT mate together. Simply not possible without "special" (meaning "highly inconvenient, and difficult" ) effort. The ONLY viable options are (1) to purchase the extension pieces that do not have the rectangular ends.... these are the by-design mating pieces. But Lowes & HD do not carry them in my area. ...or (2) buy std black corrugated drain line (in plumbing dept, usually, 10ft lengths), and insert the flex-a-spout end (after cutting off the rectangular part).
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Sun Prairie, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice product.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleased with the ease it took to install the downspout. I enjoyed the color options at the store, too.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Ohio
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased two units to join together, no clear instructions on how to do this.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Mentor OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

DOES THE JOB

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
easy to install, more costly than competitor's item.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Socialist People's Republic of New Yorkistan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Useful, but limited life span

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Useful for when water flow must be redirected and adjustable, but these do not last more than a few years if moved periodically, which is sometimes needed when reapplying mulch or cutting grass. They become brittle and can crack/break which I assume is due to UV exposure. Wouldn't mind a more durable plastic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: becomes brittle with age
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Farmington Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

As advertised

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these online - they were delivered within days. The color matched my brown downspouts perfectly, they were easy to put on and they to not come off in a heavy rain. The brown matches my dark mulch very well and do not stand out in the garden. I'm happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brown Downspout Extension
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad to find these in colors and in stock

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted. Works very well. Glad to find these in colors and in stock
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brown Downspout Extension
from SLC UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Too Short

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
this product works for what it is intended that's why i would recommend it, but it is overpriced i feel and it is way shorter than i expected. it only expands to like 4 feet. i thought it was 6 feet long. the end flanges are all bent so its hard to get on and off my spout. but it is durable feeling. it can be adapted to add length or ad pipe or other material, so in that way it is good, i was just disappointed when i got home and it was only 4 feet long. and I'd paid that much.
Pros: Performs Well, Lots of Features, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, overpriced, short length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brown Downspout Extension
from State College PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Redirects like a dream!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fit the gutter ends effortlessly. Extended the water drainage away from the home to the french drain. No more water buildup within the old stone foundation for the first time...ever!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Downspout

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product has performed as expected. I would recommend this product as a easy add on to existing gutter systems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brown Downspout Extension
from arlington, VA

Great way to get water away from the house

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
extend the spout from the gutter, works great and easy to install
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Brighton MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and economical high quality product
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Greeley CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Downspout for extension of spout

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our down spout was too close to the house. We purchased an extension, which helped to direct the water to our flower bed. It does an excellent job when we get our rains in the spring of the year. It was a quality extension, which definitely solved our problem. Would recommend it to a friend, if they had similar problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Thornton, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Nice Product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I liked the spout extension but it would be nice if it can in longer options.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Reston, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The extension slid on to the downspout with no additional attachments. I extended it to nearly it's full length to get the output to where I needed it. It did rain hard in the last couple weeks and I did not see any significant leaks. The brown color helps hide it in the bushes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great temporary fix for a much more expensive permanent repair

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was facing a really expensive repair with a couple of downspouts on the house, but found these, and they'll be a great temporary fix until I want to get the metal downspots fixed longer term.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brown Downspout Extension
from BONITA SPRINGS FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED GREAT!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
YOU NEED TO MEASURE YOUR DOWNSPOUT. I WAS SURE I KNEW IT AND HAD TO MAKE A TRIP BACK!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for a rain barrel

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got two of these to divert water from my gutters to my 275 gallon rain barrel. I just took off the downspout below the transition piece and screwed the Flex-a-spout right on where the downspout had been attached. The old bracket from the gutter even fit around it for mounting it to the exterior wall of my house.
As for joining two of them together, it couldn't be easier. The Flex-a-spouts interlock perfectly when you use the pre-marked cut lines: take off the 2"x3" square end on one, and the 3"x4" square end on the other. Then use some stainless sheet metal screws to lock them together. Then I used a few zip ties and some window screen to keep bugs out of the rain barrel.
The first heavy rain filled the whole barrel right up. No leaks or breakage from the Flex-a-spouts. I couldn't be happier with the whole setup!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brown Downspout Extension

brown downspout

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Isis a good item but it is so light that falls or gets desconected because if the water weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>