728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension

Brown Downspout Extension

The Amerimax Home Products Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension has a brown color and corrugated design for versatility. This flexible downspout extension easily bends and holds its shape and can be extended from 25 in. to 55 in. Featuring a durable vinyl construction, this extension can be buried, bent or connected to additional sections. Use this downspout extension to divert water away from a foundation, or connect it to a drainage pipe and catch basin in order to control drainage.
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(246 reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product227 of 240reviews
Rating Breakdown 246 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(161)
4
(61)
3
(10)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product227 of 240reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Brown Downspout Extension
Review 1 for Brown Downspout Extension
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Not the same as shown in the ad :(

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item shown in the online ad is what they USED to sell...and that actually WAS a great product. What is actually in the store is a different design that makes it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to interconnect multiple spouts. When you follow the directions on the spout and the sticker, cutting off the squared area and try to insert one rounded end into the other, you can't. Both rounded ends are exactly the same diameter, which makes it impossible to feed one end into the other...maybe the Hulk can do it, but no normal person can. the old design was easy to connect...I really wish they'd bring back the old one...if it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, not as shown
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brown Downspout Extension

Cannot join two of these.... not possible

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To confirm..... there is no physical way to properly join two of these products. Cutting-off the rectangular ends results in two ends that are exactly the same diameter, and will NOT mate together. Simply not possible without "special" (meaning "highly inconvenient, and difficult" ) effort. The ONLY viable options are (1) to purchase the extension pieces that do not have the rectangular ends.... these are the by-design mating pieces. But Lowes & HD do not carry them in my area. ...or (2) buy std black corrugated drain line (in plumbing dept, usually, 10ft lengths), and insert the flex-a-spout end (after cutting off the rectangular part).
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Ohio
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased two units to join together, no clear instructions on how to do this.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Thornton, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Nice Product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I liked the spout extension but it would be nice if it can in longer options.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Greeley CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Downspout for extension of spout

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our down spout was too close to the house. We purchased an extension, which helped to direct the water to our flower bed. It does an excellent job when we get our rains in the spring of the year. It was a quality extension, which definitely solved our problem. Would recommend it to a friend, if they had similar problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Reston, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The extension slid on to the downspout with no additional attachments. I extended it to nearly it's full length to get the output to where I needed it. It did rain hard in the last couple weeks and I did not see any significant leaks. The brown color helps hide it in the bushes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great temporary fix for a much more expensive permanent repair

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was facing a really expensive repair with a couple of downspouts on the house, but found these, and they'll be a great temporary fix until I want to get the metal downspots fixed longer term.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brown Downspout Extension
from BONITA SPRINGS FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKED GREAT!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
YOU NEED TO MEASURE YOUR DOWNSPOUT. I WAS SURE I KNEW IT AND HAD TO MAKE A TRIP BACK!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brown Downspout Extension

brown downspout

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Isis a good item but it is so light that falls or gets desconected because if the water weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

the extension works well and was easy to install on an existing downspout

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with the flexibility of the spout which took a lot of guess work out of the angles needed and also served to slow rain flow. The fact that there were different spout sizes on either end was great too. There was no problem attaching and trimming ends to needs.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for a rain barrel

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got two of these to divert water from my gutters to my 275 gallon rain barrel. I just took off the downspout below the transition piece and screwed the Flex-a-spout right on where the downspout had been attached. The old bracket from the gutter even fit around it for mounting it to the exterior wall of my house.
As for joining two of them together, it couldn't be easier. The Flex-a-spouts interlock perfectly when you use the pre-marked cut lines: take off the 2"x3" square end on one, and the 3"x4" square end on the other. Then use some stainless sheet metal screws to lock them together. Then I used a few zip ties and some window screen to keep bugs out of the rain barrel.
The first heavy rain filled the whole barrel right up. No leaks or breakage from the Flex-a-spouts. I couldn't be happier with the whole setup!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brown Downspout Extension
from seattle

Good way to direct rain water

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Neat easy way to move water away from the house
Better than a flat style splash block as this is flexible and bendable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Bradenton Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worked great for what I needed to connect to the existing drain.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The extension was easy to extend and connect to the existing hard drain pipe.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: cost could be less
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Flowery Branch Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

perfact

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Did the job I needed it to do, As always I can go find it and install
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Winston-Salem, NC

It Works

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed a 3x4 Aluminum Downspout B elbow in brown but could not find one locally. This was the next best thing. It works. I have had a white one on the other side of the house for the past few years. Seems to hold up well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Toledo, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Thanks HD staff that hooked me up with this product.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Clerk pointed out the extension had two different standard hook-up openings. Just cut off the one you don't need, attach the extension to the down spout, and you're all set to attach another extension away from the house. Great setup, easy to put together, and looks good. A really great buy for me.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brown Downspout Extension

Good Enough

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
OK for what it is. It is not what I would call high quality but is is good enough. This purchase was a replacement for one that a neighbor's dog ripped off. The older ones have remained durable and color-fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brown Downspout Extension
from alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Versatile, convenient problem solver

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
product works like they advertise, and is easy to install and adapt to any situation.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Pinellas Park, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very effective.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product actually worked! Other things I've tried...not so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brown Downspout Extension
from Harahan, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product does exactly what is supposed to

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works perfectly it is very flexible so you can adjust it to where it works best for you. It has kept rain water from washing away soil at our home foundation. Great buy & it came in different colors so it comlpiments our home
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>