728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension

Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension

The Amerimax Home Products Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension has a brown color and corrugated design for versatility. This flexible downspout extension easily bends and holds its shape and can be extended from 25 in. to 55 in. Featuring a durable vinyl construction, this extension can be buried, bent or connected to additional sections. Use this downspout extension to divert water away from a foundation, or connect it to a drainage pipe and catch basin in order to control drainage.
Overall rating:
4.505 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(77)
4
(21)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 106reviews
Customer reviews for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Review 1 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Dolyn
from Harahan, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product does exactly what is supposed to

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works perfectly it is very flexible so you can adjust it to where it works best for you. It has kept rain water from washing away soil at our home foundation. Great buy & it came in different colors so it comlpiments our home
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Kayron
from Conyers, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Standard. Basic. Fits the need.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product is fine. Does the job. No complaints. Need to buy a few more.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Erin
from Thorndale, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Perfect for my gutter extension

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It diverts the water away perfectly where I needed it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Charles
from Maryville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product fulfilled it's intended purpose

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple yet effective. I actually used some 10" spikes (similar to tent spikes) to secure the spout so fast running water wouldn't affect the end of the spout. This ensured the water drained in the direction/location I had it pointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: spikes should be included to secure end of spout
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
DarylB
from Potomac, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It fit many needs. I only wish it was a little longer

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good product, easy to work with. Only negative is needs to be a little
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: needs to be a little longer for my situation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Rick
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just what we expected

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this to extend a downspout. This was exactly what was expected
Pros: Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
mmh53183
from Waukesha, WI 53188, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I know, you get what you pay for!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plastic was stiff an difficult to bend and stretch. If I were to repeat the project I would buy the right elbows, parts, etc and cut the pipes to length. In other words do it the right way. I got what I paid for and if there is fault, it is not with HD
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
mvut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what I need it to

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The item does what I need which was to get the water from the house. This does it very well and allows me to place it in the yard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Scott
from Leawood, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product!!! Blends in with the mulch and makes the gutter spout look stylish.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product performs well and there are no complaints here. Go ahead and buy this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
JimGem
from Auburn, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good quality / well priced.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A single well designed unit which replaces several components. Very versatile useful product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Tabby
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34

Downpour spout flexible and consistent

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this piece because our gutter didn't have an extender. This spout is long and flexible so we were able to divert the water away from not just our house but also our garage. It's perfect for gutter drains in the corners of the house that touch other siding.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Toot
from Rock Hill, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great flexability

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job. Easy to install. Color of product blends in well with surroundings.May extend if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Vcooker
from Chattanooga, TN

Recommended

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a home inspection, it was recommended that I add these to my downspouts. I had cement things to direct the water away but I guess that wasn't enough. Well, this is very inexpensive way to get extra insurance that water is not near the foundation so I highly recommend it. Plus, it makes inspectors happy!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Marty
from Saline, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Brown color of extensions looks great over my mulch.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these before and they do wear over a few years in the Michigan winters, but overall they are a good product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Bikerrider
from Massachusetts, USA

Nice

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to lengthen your drain spout. During some downpours, we were getting flooding near the foundation. This was an easy fix, and big enough to not worry about freezing up here in the north where we have snow and rain intermixed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Alan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This really made my gutter flutter.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got a new roof, but our contractor decided we needed a gutter downspout adjacent to the house, causing rain water to pool beside the foundation.
This downspout extension worked well to channel the water away from the house. The flexible plastic is firm and thick and fairly easily adjusts to accomodate bends and whatnot.
Only downside is the tubular shape, it's a bit bulky.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
Cons: Too Big
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
rja1422

Perfect solution for redirecting water

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several buried Flex-A-Spout Downspout Extensions allowed us to redirect water far away from the house and into the drainage ditch. Prior to this solution we were dealing with serious erosion problems along steep slope against our foundation. Can't get water to go up a hill?... try through a hill with a few of these!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
Moogie
from Blanco, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Extending downspots

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put in a new flowerbed without french drains and this diverts the water just where I wanted it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
okayanyone
from Rocky Face, GA

Rain gutter extension

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
seems to be of superior quality and easy to attach to
gutter. Pull out to the entire length or can make shorter, whatever length you need. Can turn easily the direction
you need. Color is great !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brown Flex-a-Spout Downspout Extension
jbnewsfreek
from home
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

downspout extension

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great product if you need to keep the water away from your foundation.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>