728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

The Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo Mailbox bring quality and craftsmanship to your yard and is a beautiful addition to any curbside landscape. This mailbox is made from heavy-duty cast aluminum with an aluminum post. The weather durable powder coated finish will not rust for lasting durability and features decorative embellishments and an embossed "U.S. Mail" text and eagle to add character and style to the unit. The mailbox serves as a full service locking unit providing added security from theft. The extra-wide slot provides plenty of room for high volume mail delivery and the large capacity mailbox holds several days of mail. Assembly hardware is included for easy installation.
Overall rating:
3.265 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product55 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(17)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(30)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product55 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
Review 1 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant MailBox, Very nice size.

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far it is Looking great - not the easiest thing to put together, the post comes in 4 parts... We did do as others suggested and after we set it up, we filled the base with sand for even more structural stability. Making a concrete base with Quick-crete, not the easiest task. But the mailbox can handle a lot of mail and is easy to unlock, and we were able to set it up to the measurements the post office demands for curbside mail, with no problems.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: would not be easy to install for a lot of people
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from ATL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love The Look!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a super mailbox. It looks great curbside, and is sufficiently large and safe! My husband put it together in no time at all and says that it was very easy to assemble. There is nothing that I do not like about it. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Tampa, FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not for outdoor use!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It looks great at first, but after a few months the paint began to peel and fall off in chunks! I called the company and since 90 days had passed, the warranty expired! They would not do anything to help & suggested I buy a new one! So unless you want to replace it every few months, I strongly suggest you buy from a different manufacturer!
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, does not last outdoors!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

Wish I could just buy a latch

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I intend to put it up as soon as possible but have not gotten to it yet. But the latch on the front door works fine and I can use my old mailbox until I get to put up the new one.
Pros: latch replaces old well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Van Buren AR

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this mailbox in July of this year, and it has already cracked and completely fell apart. It is made out of very poor grade cast aluminum and is not sturdy at all. Luckily I am a Metal Fabricator, so I had to "modify" the mailbox to make it stronger. Not to mention, it leaks when it rains. I had to caulk the inside of the box so it did help the leaks to an extent. I would of been better off fabricating my own mailbox instead of shelling out over $150.00 on this piece of junk.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Customer Servicehomedepot.comDecember 18, 2009
We are happy to report that this product has been completely redesigned and new units started shipping out in mid September (2009). Improvements to the design included a stronger post that should no longer experience wobble, cracked seams, or paint failure, as well as a new gasket at the top of the mailbox to prevent leaks around the finial. Parts were also adjusted to ensure easier assembly, a tighter fit, and a positive snap to indicate when components are properly fitted together. We believe overall satisfaction with the newly designed product will be much higher, and we look forward to seeing those new product reviews come in. If you’ve purchased one of the newer units, please let us know what you think. Thanks!
Review 6 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Washington, DC

Installation

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Assembly was not possible with the instructions. It is very important to get a stable and secure fit. The center rod was too long and not threaded enough. This was very apparent early. So I took my unit to a nearby Home Depot store and explained the problem. They put the unit together in a very solid manner, i.e., no shakes and no wobbles. Another important warning regards the size of the cement pedestal you need to create. The instruction indicate a pedestal size just larger than the base. You must consider lateral motion of the unit when you apply moderate torque force at the top. A reasonable estimate of the size of the pedestal is 18 inches from the center of the base of the mailbox. The best advice for this mailbox is to try (home depot should offer this) and get Home depot online to ship you mailbox to a local store and offer professional installation. My mailbox should last a long time with the now correct installation.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

looks nice but leaks

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this mailbox because we liked the looks of it and the fact that it locks.
The only problem we have with it is that it leaks whenever it rains. Wondering how it will handle snow when that comes. Disappointed.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

Great Mailbox if you upgrade some parts.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A couple of suggestions.
Put a couple of washers on the screws behind the rubber washers on the little top piece so the screws don't pull through the washers and cause a leak. I don't know what size they are, I just had some lying around the house. This is way easier than caulking the top.
Don't use the 4 cheap anchors that come with the mailbox for the base of the pedestal. The washers and nuts are practically too small for the holes in bottom and the bolts aren't going to give you a sturdy mount. Instead, use 4 (3/8 x 5 inch) Galvanized Carriage Bolts for the anchors. Get the 3/8 washers, lock washers, and nuts to go with them.
I built a box for the concrete base out of a 2x6 so that the inside of the box was 1 inch larger than the bottom of the pedestal itself. (I measured the base of the pedestal and added an inch to each side first). I then cut a piece of 3/8 inch plywood to cover the top. I screwed the box together with 3" deck screws and fastned the plywood down with sheetrock screws every few inches or so all around the box. Then, with the plywood side up, measure in from the side 2.5 inches on each side of one corner of the box. Draw on each side to show where those 2 measurments will intersect (this lets you know where the corner of the pedestal base will be). Set your mailbox on top of your box (align it to your lines) and use a pencil to mark where the holes go. Remove the mailbox, and drill 4 holes at those marks with a 3/8 drill bit. Now turn your box on it's side and insert the bolts from the inside out until each bolt protrudes past the plywood an inch Put a washer and the nut on each bolt. Flip the box over and place 3 pieces of 2x4 under the box to keep the weight off of the bolts. (One across each end and one in the middle.) Mix an 80lb bag of concrete and carefully pour in the box, using a paint stirrer or other small object to work the concrete in around the bolts. Be careful not to push the bolts through the bottom (If you do, just reach under the box and push them back up with your finger.. that's why we put the nuts on the end of the bolts.) Also, make sure the bolts stay straight in this process so they line up with your base when the concrete has set.
After a day or so, unscrew your box. Dig a hole to place your new base into, making sure the base is level with a small level, and place and bolt down your mailbox.
Good luck!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Millstone Township, New Jersey

large cast aluminum pedestal mailbox

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mailbox is wobbling and it looks like it's falling apart I wish I could include a photo as it looks so comical, the metal used to make this product seems inferior, the rod holding it together bent , the pieces do not seem to meld or snap together very well, all in all this product is not worth anything. In all fairness I've just noticed the company issued a statement that states it's been totally redesigned, that was in mid September of 2009.I will get in touch with them and see what they can do about fixing my mailbox
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mixed review

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This mailbox system is not the most sturdy and I wonder if it will make it through the winter snow clearing season.
It is all aluminum and the design is interesting, but the unit is very light with thin wall sections.
It does not come in a version without the security features so I enlarged the front opening so bigger mail pieces can be inserted and all mail can also be removed from the front.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

FABULOUS MAILBOX LOOKS LIKE A MILLION BUCKS

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I WAS ONLINE SEARCHING FOR MAILBOXES AND ALMOST BROKE THE BANK AND SPENT 300. SO GLAD i DIDN'T AND PURCHASED THIS INSTEAD. LOOKS GREAT, SIMPLY A WONDERFUL PRODUCT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Mailbox is junk and overpriced

PostedJune 20, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this mailbox because it looked niced and locked. I am very disappointed. It leaks during a hard rain, which is very common in the summer in South Florida. I have soaking wet mail quite often. The black finish has chipped off in areas and is quite an eyesore. I will never purchase a mailbox from this manufacturer again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Texas

Pedastal Mailbox

PostedMay 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being a first time home owner in the country, I thought I needed a bit more security expecially on any legalities that may appear in the mail. I purchased the Pedastal Mailbox. I only had to create a block of cement and install the box. It has already served it's purpose. Some young people decided to destroy others mailboxes. Whilst my stood strong and held it's contents. I only fear that 'if' a vehicle hits this box, the vehicle will survive. I'm confident and don't even think of anything being 'taken'. Good luck to you, and may you always have a surprise in your box. HD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Opelika, AL

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 19, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Attractive design; locks; and the price is much lower compared to similar-styled products.
Cons: Very poor quality, "cheap", not "inexpensive"
1) This mailbox leaks so our mail gets soaked every single time it rains. I have to dry the box out with a towel otherwise the water would stand on the bottom for days.
2) The locking mechanism is cheap forcing me to wiggle and fight with the key every time I retrieve the mail.
3) The pedestal is completely unstable even though we have our's bolted down to a solid concrete base. The constant wobbling (mail delivery and retrieval....heck even the wind) has created a stress crack down the pedestal. It is only a matter of time before the whole thing falls apart.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Santa Maria, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking mailbox

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The stand is a little lightweight for the box. I filled the stand with cement with rebar to make the stand more solid and it worked fine. I do however, like the product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: stand is too light weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black

Great Mailbox

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife found this mailbox online and ordered it and had me put it in. The all aluminum construction is sturdy and lightweight. It was easy to install and my mail carrier even commented on how nice it was. The only drawback was that the mail carrier was disappointed that he could not put a package as large as the capacity of the box. It always gets good comments from our guests and neighbors.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Houston, TX, USA

Attractive Mailbox Option

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. I used 3/8" drive-in anchors in an existing sidewalk, a lot better option than the little 1/4" L-bolts that come with the kit. Mail does get wet when the wind blows a little during a rain shower.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Clear Lake, Iowa

Victorian Mailbox Review

PostedJuly 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What an elegant addition to the front of my century home. The product arrived promptly and in perfect condition. The mailbox has ample room for several days of mail and the slot is large enough to accommodate magazines (or telephone books). The whole side opens, making removal of the mail a breeze and I love the fact that it is secure until I get home. It is even better looking than the picture on line and I couldn't be more pleased. It was exactly what I was looking for!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Miami, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like the mailbox

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only change i made, was that I utilized 7/16 stainless steel bolts to anchor the mailbox. the L bolts that were provided were thin and appeared flimsy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedestal Mailbox and Post Combo in Black
from Land O Lakes, FL

Buy this if you want WET MAIL!!!

PostedJuly 24, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our HOA decided on this mailbox for our entire neighborhood. Well, it LEAKS! During summers in FL, it rains almost everyday. Every single one of else (all 36 homes) have wet mail because these mailboxes leak! We are attempting to have all of them replaced now! What a hassle!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>