728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Instant Drain Opener

Instant Drain Opener

Kleer drain instant drain opener is a super powerful compressed air drain opener. Kleer Drain instant drain opener utilizes efficient air burst technology to quickly clear the toughest clogs and obstructions in drains for showers, bathtubs, sink, toilets and exterior decks or yard drains. It is environmentally safe.
Overall rating:
4.539 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product122 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(119)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product122 of 136reviews
Customer reviews for Instant Drain Opener
Review 1 for Instant Drain Opener
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product better then the old style using a plunger w/stick attachment

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the old style which was using a plunger with a stick attachment, and this is one of the best way to clear any type of clogs. I have used this on toilet bowl, sinks, and also pipe drain system. The instruction are pretty easy to read and easy to understand on how to use this kleer drain tool. I had this tool for over four years, and today I used my last CO2 cartridge. although the picture I attached is a clean toilet bowl, but I was too eager and could not wait to use the Kleer drain instant drain opener. I really recommend this tool for all your back up drain problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Instant Drain Opener
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poof! All gone!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent almost an entire Saturday trying to unclog my toilet. I am not helpless when it comes to fixing things around the house, and I have tools, gadgets, and equipment for just about everything. But, nothing worked. Before calling a plumber, I decided to shop online and found this product. I decided to buy it. After reading the instructions, I gave it a try. To my absolutely happy amazement, one try and my toilet is flushing like a champ. All I can say is that for an aging woman alone, this was the easiest thing I have ever used and it worked exactly as it said it would. My only question is "why didn't I go online earlier?"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Drain Opener

It was the magic item that worked!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 2 days of frustation, hours of plunging, gallons of drain opener, and tearing the sink apart on News Year's Eve day - and no way to get a plummer, I had given up on actually clearing my kitchen sink drain. We have a disposal and I think we just had put too much through it the day before.
Then I decided to go to Home Depot to purchase some more chemicals to put in the drain. As I was wondering through the plumbing isle, a sales associate suggested I try this device. All I can say is WOW!!! It worked, although I had to "shoot" it five times total.
Do youself a favor - buy the additional 4 pack of cartridges. Problem solved for about $30!! I have already picked up an additional pack of cartridges for "future" drain issues!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Instant Drain Opener
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked Perfectly!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After four days of trying plunging, hot water and detergent, enzymes, and chemicals, I was ready to give up and call the plumber for our clogged toilet. As a final attempt to fix it myself, I read the reviews for various products sold by Home Depot for opening up toilet clogs. The Kleer Drain Instant Drain Opener had such a preponderance of rave reviews, I tried it. Only one try and the drain was open. It was easy, no mess, and worked perfectly. Follow the directions, use the plastic splash guard (I used a little plastic wrap around the edges of the guard, just as insurance), and your results should be great!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Instant Drain Opener
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item. Saved hundreds NOT having to call the plumber.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use: Kitchen sink with garbage disposal. At first we thought we had a garbage disposal issue but we determined that was working fine. Then we figured out that we had a clogged drain. Our daughter had cleaned out the refrigerator and dumped about five containers of left-over dinners down the sink - using the garbage disposal but obviously not enough water. We tried a regular plunger and then chemicals; they didn't work. Then we used 2 different snakes without success (one hand cranked, the other electric). At this point we thought we were going to have to break down and call a plumber. Ugh! Then we went on-line and found this item with all of its rave reviews. Bought it for under $30 including tax. It took 4 all four cartridges but blasted through the clog without damage or leakage from any pipes. Just be sure to use the splash guards!. Hubby didn't and I had about an hour of clean-up to do!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Instant Drain Opener

Great Product

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm always skeptical on trying new things. I usually like to stick to what I know works. But I figured if this thing works it would be worth every penny. I had a clogged toilet(there's no telling what my two year old daughter put in it) and a clogged shower which is from my wife's hair. I used a plunger on the toilet for a half hour and nothing gave. I went to get a drain snake and found the Kleer Drain. Within five minutes of getting home both drain were clear. This thing is AWESOME. It's very easy to use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Drain Opener
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW this is a money saver.

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a bathroom sink clog in behind the wall. Started with Mr. Plumber and that did nothing. Then got a 25ft. snake that got a ball of hair out but it actually was worse after it came out. Water went from very slow drain to standing water now. Then tried Hair and Grease Drain Opener because of the high reviews here but that did nothing as well. Last resort was Kleer Drain. First shot popped the tube out of the wall, so I held the tube in and did another shot from the sink and viola, you could hear rumblings going into the pipe and then a big swoosh as the water went down. Awesome product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Instant Drain Opener
from Pottsville, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FINALLY after 12 years, the upstairs toilet works!!!

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had moved into our home about 12 years ago.
The upstairs toilet in the full bathroom would never flush correctly, could not put toilet paper or anything in/down it at all, it would overflow on our floor causing water damage on a few occasions due to this.
We used 3 different length drain snakes, several chemical drain openers/cleaners, replaced the toilet 5 years ago...
All to no avail...
Walking through Home Depot other day, we came across this. I was skeptical and just wanted to get a 30' drill powered drain snake. My girlfriend argued and said NO! No more snakes. let's try this!
I was VERY VERY skeptical about the product...
Seriously? it's just a small can of CO2...what's that going to do? can't be powerful at all right?
WRONG.
I put the disc in, and the can of CO2 in, put the splash guard over the toilet (Use it! trust me... lol.) and inserted the kleer drain opener in the opening with the plunger in the opposite direction so the cone faces up. Pushed down on it and BANG! Thought I set off a small explosive! Water did get me even WITH the splash guard on the toilet, but no big deal. stunned/shocked, lifted it out of the toilet, seen some debris floating and the toilet's water just went down the drain. flushed it again. Worked perfectly! and is still working flawlessly. Just follow the directions and go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it works!
Cons: could include more toilet splash guard covers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Instant Drain Opener
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this goes both ways

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We had a horrible blockage in both of our main floor toilets. We had plunged, snaked, used enzymes (that really helped) then plunged and snaked some more. I decided to pick this up before calling roto rooter. It worked! It was amazing. It was simple and complicated at the same time. Loading the co2 cartridge was easy, figuring out what head to use was more difficult. Getting it positioned correctly and getting the plastic secured around the toilet while holding the plunger in place was very difficult. When I went around to the master bathroom (directly behind that one) I found ... an awful mess. They have you block the sink next to the toilet you are using, i figured it had something to do with suction or something. Nasty nasty water had sprayed all over my bathroom from both the sink and the toilet. It was dripping from the ceiling. Plus side (i guess) is that that toilet was cleared as well. Next time I tried to use the plunger I covered both sinks and the other toilet. I tried to tape garbage bags around the plunger because it only came with one cover and they were not available at my store. No mess in the other bathroom but the bags exploded off of the toilet and sprayed all over me. Again, the toilet worked but there was a huge (horrifying) mess.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, makes a huge mess, too powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Instant Drain Opener
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Real Deal

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a clogged tub drain. I tried all different types of chemicals to clear the drain nothing worked. I finally came across this product read some of the reviews and thought why not if this does not work call a plumber. Purchased the product read the instructions and one shot cieared the drain. I'm really impressed you have a customer for life Kleer drain thanks much.( Oh make sure you plug any attached openings to the one you are trying to unplug water will shoot up through the other opening)
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Instant Drain Opener
from WV

The Superman Tool of drain openers!

PostedMay 29, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to use a Profi drain unclogger but this one wins out as #1 in air power & simplicity to open a clogged drain or a toilet. If this won't open your drain; you must have a big problem! It even comes with a plastic cover when using on toilets. Just be sure to get a couple refill kits when ordering in case your friends need to use it.
Alot cheaper & quicker than calling a plumber! Highly recommended!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Instant Drain Opener
from Collingswood, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I've tried them all - this one works the best and the quickest

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think I've tried most of these types of products on the market. I tried this a couple of years ago, and believe me, it works. My bathroom tub slows down periodically, and nothing worked consistently til I tried Kleer Drain. It works, especially for maintenance every 4-6 months. I think I need a new one, the center pin is wearing, I'll buy a new one without considering anything else. It works. I've also used it for other family members, and recommend it to them.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Instant Drain Opener

IT WORKS

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've got a 70 year old house with 70 year old pipes. The upstairs bathroom sink has been a slow drain at best. Over the past five years, I've tried every chemical and home remedy (baking soda, vinegar, salt, bleach, etc.) you could name. I stumbled across this product and decided it would be my last pointless purchase before ripping up the floor and replacing the pipe. I flubbed the first shot, but the second one did the trick. I'm truly amazed!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Instant Drain Opener

this product is great-worked right away

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ok so we finally plugged the kids toilet solid. it's 18 yrs old, one of the first edition of low water use toilets and yes, we've had many plunges over the years. This time I plunged multiple times, bought a vacuum plunger, tried vinegar and baking soda. Still a VERY slow flush and every 3rd flush it was plugged again. Really did NOT want to spend 200 bucks plus for a plumber. Found this product online and immediately went to HD and bought it. Was still skeptical, did not think that it would work but willing to try. Took it home, sliced it outa the packaging (that's always a complaint!) and learned the simple directions. Needed two shots, it's now clear as a bell and flushes perfectly. Best tool I've purchased in a long time. It really is ingenious and worth every penny!! I'm gonna pick up some additional co2 canisters in case I need them (probably will unless I replace the toilet!). They have the canisters at HD available as a 4 pack. Good Luck!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Instant Drain Opener
from Mansfield, TX, USA
Gender:Female

Awesome Product!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a clogged toilet :/ I tried plunging, dishwashing liquid, bleach and liquid plumber... With no luck. I noticed this on website. Went to the store bought an auger instead... SMH that didn't work. Went back to store and purchased this. It worked on 1st try... Saved me from having to call plumber... All smiles :))))
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Instant Drain Opener
from Rahway, NJ

Saved Us From Pluming Costs

PostedAugust 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were having trouble with a stopped-up toilet for 3 days on the second floor of our new home. We tried a regular plunger, multiple flushings followed by emptying water via a small bucket and then a failed attempt using a wire hanger. Finally went online to Home Depot and came across Kleer Drain. My wife and I immediately went to our local HD and purchased Kleer Drain. On returning home and reading the easy directions with its 1-2-3 setup...we used it right away and WHOLA!....no more stubborn clog. I will no longer worry about the possibility of having stopped-up drains. This will save you possible plumbing costs and time spent trying other methods.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Instant Drain Opener
from Arizona

Blows number 2 away

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tried my 6 foot auger and it did not work. Instead renting a 75 foot auger and removing toilet from flange I bought this. The only thing would help is if the cup was more adjustable to fit the different sizes holes in the toilet. We ended up using a towl to wrap around and cover the remaining space and held down. Did two shots and it worked.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Instant Drain Opener

Amazing Results!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my last attempt at clearing my clogged bathroom sink in my 65 year old home. I was a little nervous to give it a try because NOTHING had worked up to this point. I tried all the different baking soda, vinegar, cream of tartar, salt, and boiling water combinations with no result. I tried flushing the drain pipe with the garden hose, which has worked in the past, but got nothing this time. My first attempt failed due to me not covering the overflow hole like the directions said. My second shot was perfect! The water went rushing out of my sink and the water flow is better than it has ever been. Couldn't be happier to have tried this product!!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Instant Drain Opener
from Anaheim CA

Great Product!

PostedDecember 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased this at Home Depot and used it today with excellent results. This is a very affordable product that works wonders on clogged drains. FIrst I did the bathtub - truly an instant drain opener. The toilet was a little trickier because I couldn't get a good seal with the plunger that they provide. After wasting a couple of cartridges, I unscrewed the rubber part of my manual plunger and put it on the Kleer Drain. Luckily it fit and Voila! It not only did the trick but seated into the toilet bowl so well that I didn't need the splash guard.
Don't forget to use the power disks for more velocity. Use a couple for tough jobs.
Plumbing services aren't cheap and this product pays for itself with just one usage. I highly recommend this product as a valuable and common household tool cuz who knows what evil lurks...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Instant Drain Opener

Really works.. Follow directions

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cleared a very large and stubborn tub clog. Had to use two cartridges. Must block off overfill drain on tub or pressure won't build up. Worth every penny.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>