728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Plungers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Instant Drain Opener

Instant Drain Opener

Kleer drain instant drain opener is a super powerful compressed air drain opener. Kleer Drain instant drain opener utilizes efficient air burst technology to quickly clear the toughest clogs and obstructions in drains for showers, bathtubs, sink, toilets and exterior decks or yard drains. It is environmentally safe.
Overall rating:
4.539 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product122 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(119)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product122 of 136reviews
Customer reviews for Instant Drain Opener
Review 1 for Instant Drain Opener
cc47
from Arlington, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works perfectly!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in an older house and the drains get clogged periodically. Earlier this year we had to call a plumber to unclog the bathtub drain. So when it backed up again this week, we didn't want to have to pay for a plumber again. So I tried the Kleer Drain and it worked perfectly! Drain was cleared after one blast. Easy to set up and use, and will save us a lot of money in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Instant Drain Opener
Preshere
from Capitol Heights, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pow! Game over!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One drain in the washroom clogs every year and I have to pull out the auger to clear out the lint clog. This year, however, after two hours of trying, my 1/4 auger cable wouldn't penetrate the clog, so I figured it was time to upgrade my auger cable from 1/4 to 5/16, until I noticed this product. I remember this device on FLIP MEN, a DIY program, where it was used to clear a problem basement floor drain. The reviews seemed to reinforce this as a truly INSTANT DRAIN OPENER. Just 10 minutes after I got it home, SHAZAM! My clog was gone! IMPORTANT NOTES: 1) read the full instructions or you'll waste those precious cO2 cartridges and the seals; 2) the suction cup is reversible if there is no sink or toilet involved; 3) hold it in place firmly for at least 10 seconds after the cO2 release to ensure the expansion is complete and the clog is pushed all the way down the drain; 4) use a build-up remover after the drain is clear to help prevent clogs in the future; 5) for double sinks, fill the other sink 1/2 way with water, stuff a rag in the drain and put something really heavy on it or have someone hold it firmly in place; 6) make sure any water jet openings in the throat of the drain are blocked (with a rag or paper) or the cO2 will just blow into the tank.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Drain Opener
Kaspasia
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like setting off a cherry bomb in your toilet lol!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My toilet is always clogging. It doesn't help that my teenage sons use about thirty Cottonelle wipes and a half a role of TP every time they go, but usually the plunger every week or so does the trick. Not this time! So I went to HD and bought a snake which didn't do a thing! So after reading some reviews I bought this. WARNING!!!!! If you don't want to spend extra for the splash guard make sure you are not wearing any clothing or shoes you care about and if you have anything floating you may want to buy the splash guard and wrap some plastic around yourself because you will get wet! The canister sounds like a bomb going off and soaked me! Much to my dismay the toilet was stilled clogged. Undeterred I got another canister, changed my clothes and took another whack at it, and to my delight success!!! The toilet was unclogged......until the next day that is! I used the other two canisters and it was still clogged. At this point I became a bit crazed, here I was into HD for almost $40 and I was still going to have to call a plumber, it just wasn't right!!!! So I grabbed the snake, which I had thought was a waste of $12, and went at it like a banshee! Then I noticed some paper coming up and pulled out the snake and had the offending clogging item! I think the drain opener loosened clog which allowed me to pull it out with the snake. Anyway its a pretty good product, they should include the splash guards (this is why I marked average for value) and they should give a stronger warning about how wet you will get after you launch the capsule, but I got it unclogged without paying bank to a plumber and it turns out I didn't waste $12 on the snake, so I'm happy. It is also kind of cool the way it explodes in the toilet, it reminded me of Junior High! Good Luck!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: should include splash guards!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Instant Drain Opener
HappyHomeowner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poof! All gone!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent almost an entire Saturday trying to unclog my toilet. I am not helpless when it comes to fixing things around the house, and I have tools, gadgets, and equipment for just about everything. But, nothing worked. Before calling a plumber, I decided to shop online and found this product. I decided to buy it. After reading the instructions, I gave it a try. To my absolutely happy amazement, one try and my toilet is flushing like a champ. All I can say is that for an aging woman alone, this was the easiest thing I have ever used and it worked exactly as it said it would. My only question is "why didn't I go online earlier?"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Instant Drain Opener
ChaCha
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use, and it worked like a charm in minutes to unclog a toilet on which I had unsuccessfully tried other methods.
Also, very cool to send the blast of air: WHOOOMP, and the problem is solved!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Instant Drain Opener
Gillie
from Old Bridge NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like flushing your Money down the drain.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to get a seal with this plunger. Did not work. Tried 4 times then got rid of it. Regular plunger worked better.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Drain Opener
JayMoney

Outright skepticism

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a stopped sink at home. As we'd just had the plumber out over the weekend to snake the main line leading out of the house, I was less than enthused about calling them back again for another two hundy, so I ran through a laundry list of other options first:
Took apart the trap, it was further down than that.
Sink plunger: It moved some water around.
Draino: Changed the chemical consistency of the still water.
1/4" snake: Old pipes meant sharper turns, so it couldn't make it past the second turn.
This left me with the Kleer Drain and the possibility of calling the plumber after blowing up some pipes and calling the plumber. I took the 25 dollar chance on the Kleer Drain. I figured that I would save the Power Discs for a second burst. I held it down into the stopped sink and pushed down on the handle. A short gaseous thump sounded.
I waited a moment and pulled it out of the drain. The water suddenly went down, faster than it ever had before. Just to be sure I let the hot water run for a few minutes, no problem. It's been a few days now and there are no leaks, a clear drain, and no calls to the plumber. It's not going to be the first thing I reach for next time but it's a great option to have in the arsenal.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Instant Drain Opener
hectorcpr
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for clogged sinks

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the $$! We have an old house that has regular drain issues. This takes care of it QUICK. It took two of us, one to pump and the other to hold the 2nd drain shut as well as a garbage bag taped down so there wasn't back splash. Don't bother with draino!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Instant Drain Opener
JM3103

Amazing Results!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my last attempt at clearing my clogged bathroom sink in my 65 year old home. I was a little nervous to give it a try because NOTHING had worked up to this point. I tried all the different baking soda, vinegar, cream of tartar, salt, and boiling water combinations with no result. I tried flushing the drain pipe with the garden hose, which has worked in the past, but got nothing this time. My first attempt failed due to me not covering the overflow hole like the directions said. My second shot was perfect! The water went rushing out of my sink and the water flow is better than it has ever been. Couldn't be happier to have tried this product!!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Instant Drain Opener
apple
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this goes both ways

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We had a horrible blockage in both of our main floor toilets. We had plunged, snaked, used enzymes (that really helped) then plunged and snaked some more. I decided to pick this up before calling roto rooter. It worked! It was amazing. It was simple and complicated at the same time. Loading the co2 cartridge was easy, figuring out what head to use was more difficult. Getting it positioned correctly and getting the plastic secured around the toilet while holding the plunger in place was very difficult. When I went around to the master bathroom (directly behind that one) I found ... an awful mess. They have you block the sink next to the toilet you are using, i figured it had something to do with suction or something. Nasty nasty water had sprayed all over my bathroom from both the sink and the toilet. It was dripping from the ceiling. Plus side (i guess) is that that toilet was cleared as well. Next time I tried to use the plunger I covered both sinks and the other toilet. I tried to tape garbage bags around the plunger because it only came with one cover and they were not available at my store. No mess in the other bathroom but the bags exploded off of the toilet and sprayed all over me. Again, the toilet worked but there was a huge (horrifying) mess.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, makes a huge mess, too powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Instant Drain Opener
tbone
from Astoria, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great! But use a splash guard

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was going to call the storeDidn't know there was a video. Was apprehensive about using it in my apt. but was tired of calling the super. Have a tankless toilet. While the water was going down the toilet, it didn't "sound right". After using this thing, it flushes normal again, with the right sound. definitely use a splash guard or clear and clean the bowl very well. It came with goggles, but you'd still need a splash guard. I'm really satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Convenient
Cons: makes a mess
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Instant Drain Opener
ceazdog
from El Monte, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.A must have !!!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My toilet was flushing very slow for days.After doing some research online.Everyone was stating to try this product.A must have product.Better than plunger.I bought it today.I Took it out of package.It was very easy to assemble.I put one of the cartridges and huala !!! Toilet flushed normal unclogged within seconds.This is a must have product !!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Instant Drain Opener
Jenn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

YEARS with a clogged tub & standing water - NO MORE

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot sent me an advertisement online for products to unclog drains. I guess they knew what was on my mind. As I browsed through, I saw KLEER DRAIN. It was highly rated so I stopped to read the reviews. Over 120+ reviews and they were mostly highly rated experiences. I knew I had to try it.
We (sadly) had a clogged tub for YEARS. We tried liquid draining products, snake, plunger etc. You name it, we tried it with the exception of a plumber. Nothing worked. Quite frankly a plumber was not in our budget so we just dealt with it and far too long.
Anyway, we went to Home Depot yesterday and bought Kleer Drain along with extra cartridges just in case. I read a lot of reviews that suggested we get the extra set. Anyway, today my husband and I used it. The first time, the towel popped out of the overflow so we pushed it in a little further, I held the towel in place while my husband pushed the KD down. He turned on the water and the drain was working! For good measure, we did it one more time. We let the water run for a little bit to see what would happen. Success! No more standing water. It is draining perfectly.
I can't say enough about this product. After so many failed attempts with so many other products we had become so frustrated and dreading a call to a plumber. With a couple pushes of the Kleer Drain and our tub if finally functioning properly. We saved ourselves so much money with this product. No plumber - Thank goodness.
Give it a try. It can't hurt. If you have to call a plumber at least you know can feel better knowing you tried all other options before going to the pros. Good luck!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Instant Drain Opener
et2560
from grosse ile mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared an impossible toilet blockage!!!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product due to high reviews on the web. Was skeptical at first. Worked great the first time I used it, unlike the plunger and toilet auger. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Instant Drain Opener
jonotaplumber

Didn't work

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used all 4 of the cartridges and the clog is still there. It didn't hurt the pipes, but didn't clear the clog either. Guess its time to call a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Instant Drain Opener

worked great!!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Highly recommended!! this review can only be posted if I write more, however the first 2 words really say it all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Instant Drain Opener
ripley101
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Skeptical at first, but it sure worked!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dealing with a pesky basement toilet that does not seem to flush properly. At first, I was skeptical about this product. (I couldnt even find it in the store because they separated it from the other plungers on display) But one cartridge with one shot, and saved me from the need to use a rubber manual plunger. Excellent product! Now I need to get those replacement cartridges!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Instant Drain Opener
mlasko
from Philadelphia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is unbelievable. I was very skeptical about trying this. It was the last resort before removing the toilet. Our toilet was clogged solid. Over the course of 3 days we had tried everything suggested on the internet. Vinegar and baking soda, plunging, enzymes, toilet auger, Nothing budged. As a last resort before removing the toilet, I tried this. It worked on the first try. I still can't believe it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Instant Drain Opener
Bigron
from Macomb, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Use a good plunger and you'll do just as good for less money.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to unplug a toilet. Problem is not in drain but about 10' down pipe. Used all 4 cartridges and had no affect. I believe this would have worked if the problem was in the toilet trap, however, so would a plunger or Closet auger and both would be cheaper and cost less to maintain. Although, I don't think the pressure would cause any damage. If you have a loose plastic trap on a sink I could see it shooting that off the end.
All in all, the cost of re-fill cartridges and the paper disks? don't make this a cost effective solution for what can easily be performed with a plunger and/or a snake.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: did not work for me., consumable parts too expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Instant Drain Opener
mjakzn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My toilet had a serious clog and my regular go-to's (elbow grease and a plunger, hot water & soap) were not doing the trick. I purchased the Kleer Drain kit after reading the outstanding reviews. I read the directions carefully and quickly assembled parts. For toilets, the cone must be inverted to achieve the best angle and suction (it sounds wrong, but trust me - it's right). Used the included splash guard although I had very little splashing. One pump and my problems were solved. You will not regret purchasing this.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>