728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging

8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging

This 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging is rounded on 2 sides and straight on the other 2 sides. A cherry-colored, water-based stain has been applied. It is good for use in landscaping and other outdoor projects.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Review 1 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Picklesandpie

Great for making a raised bed or border but smaller then previous timbers from last year.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These are great for making raised beds. They are not pressure treated just stained. My biggest problem with them is they didn't match the leftover ones I had bought last year. The new ones have about a 1" smaller circumference. Wait till these go on sale for a cost of only $1-2 per timber. Also be prepared to sift through the pile to find straight ones since these are always store outside.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, cheap
Cons: not easy to find straight ones
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
namenik
from San Diego, CA

watch for splinters

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these to border my garden edge, in a few weeks one of them bowed severely in the middle. When I returned to the store to replace it, the ones the store had were all bowed also. I recommend sawing these in half before using to prevent this from happening.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
mutterma
from camano island, wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

landscaping timbers

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always wait until these are under $2, which happens once a year. This batch had a lot of splits in it, but still work to separate areas in my yard/gardens. Remember to use gloves, and wear icky clothes - the stain will stain you!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Straight, Economical
Cons: stained so wear gloves
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
pegola1
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the price.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the timbers to build a retaining wall. I needed pressure treated wood since the retaining wall is outside. The timbers were easy to cut. The only issue I had with them is that they had a lot of splits in them, but these did not seem to degrade the wall once it was up.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Lefty84720

Pretty good for the price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The timbers are great for the value when on sale. The wood splits easy if you don't pre drill your holes, but overall still a good product. Just wish the color didn't fade so fast.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Kamsmom
from Hurricane, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product , Great Price

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these to build a raised flower bed in the front yard to divide our lawn from the neighbor. Worked out so beautifully that we bought more to use in the backyard... And you just can't beat the great price. The only issue you need to watch for is that some of the timber was warped and if you are using them one on top of the other, they need to match up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Geee
from Castaic, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FYI

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just starting my project with the timber. The actual dimensions are 3" x 3-1/2" not 2-1/2" x 3-1/2" as listed in the specifications. Most are relatively straight but plan on some being slightly twisted or bowed. Lots of cracks so I treated boards by spraying with wood protector. We'll see how it goes!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
MGMORENO
from CATHEDRAL CITY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8FT CHERRYTONE LANDSCAPE TIMBER

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE WOOD WAS STILL GREEN SO WHEN PUTTING THE BOARDS TOGETHER TO FORM A BOX, THE WOOD SPLIT! SOME BOARDS WERE A FRACTION OF AN INCH LONGER THAN OTHERS AND A SAW HAD TO BE USED TO EVEN THEM OFF. WE BUILT AN 8X8 BOX HAD TO USE 50 BAGS OF SAND AND DIRT TO MAKE THE 4" HEIGHT - AND NOW SOD LAID OVER IT - I HAVE TO SAY - IT WAS A TOUGH JOB - BUT THE BOX LOOKS BEAUTIFUL! GOING TO PUT A TARP OVER THE TOP OF SUN SCREEN MATERIAL TO KEEP THE GRASS FROM BURNING....ALL IN ALL - I LOVE IT
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging
Foghorn
from Westchester, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value but some logs unusable

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some logs were badly bent or milled poorly. Although these logs are not intended ot be perfect, they need to be straight in order to build a garden bed or retainimg wall.
I was lucky to get these on sale, so this was a good value.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.