728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

This 8 ft. Cherrytone Landscape Timber Edging is rounded on 2 sides and straight on the other 2 sides. A cherry-colored, water-based stain has been applied. It is good for use in landscaping and other outdoor projects.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
Review 1 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wanted to keep the look of natural products in my garden and this works great as a barrier between my grass and flower bed that has mulch. The guys at HD are always helpful with cutting wood to size for me!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from San Diego, CA

watch for splinters

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these to border my garden edge, in a few weeks one of them bowed severely in the middle. When I returned to the store to replace it, the ones the store had were all bowed also. I recommend sawing these in half before using to prevent this from happening.
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

Great for making a raised bed or border but smaller then previous timbers from last year.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These are great for making raised beds. They are not pressure treated just stained. My biggest problem with them is they didn't match the leftover ones I had bought last year. The new ones have about a 1" smaller circumference. Wait till these go on sale for a cost of only $1-2 per timber. Also be prepared to sift through the pile to find straight ones since these are always store outside.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, cheap
Cons: not easy to find straight ones
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Hurricane, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product , Great Price

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these to build a raised flower bed in the front yard to divide our lawn from the neighbor. Worked out so beautifully that we bought more to use in the backyard... And you just can't beat the great price. The only issue you need to watch for is that some of the timber was warped and if you are using them one on top of the other, they need to match up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from oroville,ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cant complain at that price.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used these 2 years ago and they all stayed straight. I did predrill my holes to build a large planter out in the parking area of my property. I did drill and screw them together every 2 feet too.They were easy to work with but as you have already read ,use gloves.I treated them with copper any surface that would touch soil. They are holding up rather well so far. Got alot of positive comments on the results. I had planned on using behr blue stain to make it match my house but so many people said not to ,as they liked the rustic look.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
Cons: a little rough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Mt. Hood, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the pieces had a little crack in it, but it still held up well and worked great for our project. Just looks beautiful!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Castaic, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FYI

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just starting my project with the timber. The actual dimensions are 3" x 3-1/2" not 2-1/2" x 3-1/2" as listed in the specifications. Most are relatively straight but plan on some being slightly twisted or bowed. Lots of cracks so I treated boards by spraying with wood protector. We'll see how it goes!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from camano island, wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

landscaping timbers

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always wait until these are under $2, which happens once a year. This batch had a lot of splits in it, but still work to separate areas in my yard/gardens. Remember to use gloves, and wear icky clothes - the stain will stain you!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Straight, Economical
Cons: stained so wear gloves
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)

Pretty good for the price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The timbers are great for the value when on sale. The wood splits easy if you don't pre drill your holes, but overall still a good product. Just wish the color didn't fade so fast.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the price.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the timbers to build a retaining wall. I needed pressure treated wood since the retaining wall is outside. The timbers were easy to cut. The only issue I had with them is that they had a lot of splits in them, but these did not seem to degrade the wall once it was up.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from CATHEDRAL CITY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8FT CHERRYTONE LANDSCAPE TIMBER

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE WOOD WAS STILL GREEN SO WHEN PUTTING THE BOARDS TOGETHER TO FORM A BOX, THE WOOD SPLIT! SOME BOARDS WERE A FRACTION OF AN INCH LONGER THAN OTHERS AND A SAW HAD TO BE USED TO EVEN THEM OFF. WE BUILT AN 8X8 BOX HAD TO USE 50 BAGS OF SAND AND DIRT TO MAKE THE 4" HEIGHT - AND NOW SOD LAID OVER IT - I HAVE TO SAY - IT WAS A TOUGH JOB - BUT THE BOX LOOKS BEAUTIFUL! GOING TO PUT A TARP OVER THE TOP OF SUN SCREEN MATERIAL TO KEEP THE GRASS FROM BURNING....ALL IN ALL - I LOVE IT
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Landscape Timber Cherrytone (Common: 8 ft.; Actual: 96 in.)
from Westchester, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value but some logs unusable

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some logs were badly bent or milled poorly. Although these logs are not intended ot be perfect, they need to be straight in order to build a garden bed or retainimg wall.
I was lucky to get these on sale, so this was a good value.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.