728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater

2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater

Installing an Ariston electric mini-tank water heater under the sink puts hot water right where you need it at the point-of-use. Lightweight and compact this heater is available in three space-saving sizes: 2.5, 4, and 6+ gallons. These heaters are aesthetic on the outside, glass-lined on the inside, and offer superior insulation for higher efficiency.
Overall rating:
4.38 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product126 of 140reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(95)
4
(37)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product126 of 140reviews
Customer reviews for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Dave

Thermostat only flaw

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed this unit under our bathroom sink which was at the opposite end of the house from our tankless hot water heater. Before installation it could take 2 minutes for hot water to reach the faucet.
Installation was a breeze once the electrical was in and took literally 10 minutes. Only drawback is that there appears to be a big jump in temperature settings from one "notch" to another on the thermostat. One side of the notch is not hot enough and the other side is a bit warmer than we need. Can't comment on reliability but we have it hooked up to a timer as we only really need it on for an hour in the AM and an hour in the PM, saving money. Works great at the moment. Highly recommended.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Mathew
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install. Fittings are a challenge but doable.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is no need for plumber. This water heater was very easy to install. Make sure you have reinforced backing if hanging on side wall of cabinet under sink. Flush heater before hooking to faucet.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
DIYRay
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Point-of -use hot water heater

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I instaled the unit several weeks ago and it is great to have hot water right away. Before we would have to wait several minutes and a couple of gallons of water. By the time the hot water is used up in the unit under the sink, the hot water from the main heater is at the kitchen sink. The Point-of-use heater doesn't even turn on because the main hot water has filled the unit. I have had a Watt meter connected to the circuit since I installed the unit and my estimated monthly cost is only $1.10. I save more then that in the cost of the water saved. It was easy to install and I would recommend this unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, saves water
Cons: no cons
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Mickey

Completely satisfied

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas present to my wife, who was having to wait many long minutes for warm water to arrive at her bathroom sink, on the opposite end of the house from our on-demand main water heater. This small heater has been the perfect solution. It fits nicely under the sink. Drawing only 1500 watts meant that an existing 120 volt, 15 amp circuit was used for the installation. I was easily able to plumb it in myself, tapping into the cold water supply under the sink, and running the hot-water line from the water heater to both bathroom sinks. (See attached photo.) I plugged the electrical cord into a timer, heating the water only between 6 and 9 AM. The water heats up from a cold start in about 15 minutes. For our morning wash-up, we never use more than the 2.5 gallon capacity, and the remaining water stays warm well into the afternoon. We’ve used it now for a couple of weeks, and couldn’t be happier. Although I don’t expect it, just in case a leak should develop, I placed the heater in a pan and built a small, electronic water alarm that will alert me to any problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: none so far!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Chris
from Dallas TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, pretty simple to install

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was considering a tankless point of use water heater for under my kitchen sink (which is very far from our house water heater), but the reviews for them were pretty bad (Rheem EcoSense) or the larger models would require re-wiring my house to get to 220V. So the Ariston 2.5 gal electric got the job, and I installed it in 2-3 hours; the most difficult part of which was configuring the pressure relief hose to a new drain. Everything is working great and we now have immediate hot water in the Kitchen for 2-3 minutes of frequent use - exactly what we needed.
Only cautions to similar installers:
-We plugged the water heater into an outlet that was switched (for our sink disposal); but you want the heater to stay on, not the disposal. I will have to run a 2nd line to a 2nd socket, so one can be "always hot" (for the heater) and the other "switched" (for the disposal).
-Make sure you have enough room under the sink. We did, but it required some careful reconfiguring of pipes & hoses. You'll also lose some under-sink storge.
Other than these (relatively minor) concerns, it's been several weeks and the product is working great so far.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
bluzfanmr
from Troy, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Product

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a long run from the water heater to the kitchen. This results in wasting a lot of water, waiting for it to get hot. It also results in less than optimal results from the dishwasher.
So I purchased this and me and the Mrs. couldn't be happier about the results. We now have instant hot water and cleaner dishes.
Installation was a breeze. I have a large area under the kitchen sink, which is next to the dishwasher. I simply routed the hot water pipe to the input of the heater with flexible hose and connected the dishwasher and sink to the output on the heater. As someone else suggested, I used a disposable aluminum pan as a drain catch. I used a T to connect the overflow to the dishwasher drain hose that attaches to the garbage disposal.
All in all it took a couple of hours but only because I had to make a trip to the hardware store. Very very happy with this purchase!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
moteknuk1
from Dallas, OR 97338, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Ariston 2.5 gallon water heater really made a difference in my art studio!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Ariston 2.5 gallon water feature provides me with instant hot water and fits nicely under the sink in the bathroom of my art studio.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
DonT
from Ohio

Outstanding unit

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit for a kitchen sink and dishwasher that are located a significant distance from the house water heater and it took 2-3 minutes to get hot water flowing. I had to install a GFCI outlet (as this unit will pull almost 15 amps by itself and there weren't any existing outlets in range of the fairly short power cord). Re-plumbed a couple areas...nothing major as I used the existing hot water feed flex pipe for the inlet and the ends fit (1/2") and used CPVC for the rest. Also, a very compact design...I was really pleasantly surprised to see how little space it took....and it is very conjested under my sink with a disposal and double sink drain pipes taking up a large amount of space. My only complaint is the water temperature adjustment control is really a pain to get to. You have to pry open a face plate, unscrew a second plate (one screw), then unscrew (2 screws) another cover just go get to the dial, and then put it all back just to adjust water temperature.....that is a poor design. Otherwise, great little unit and really does the job of nearly instant hot water. Hopefully my water bill will reflect the savings too.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
DaveF
from Cleveland, OH

Pretty good

PostedJune 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easier to install than I expected, worked well immediately. Follow the instructions, no problem except it didn't make it clear if I needed to add a temp and pressure control. Took me a few readings before I found it was built in. Only dislike about the product: have to remove the screw cover (#1) to remove the screw to remove the cover (#2) so that I could remove the two screws to remove the cover (#3) to slightly increase the water temp setting. Each cover covered a cover, what the heck is that all about? Redundancy is a waste . . . I left the first two covers off for easier faster access in the future.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Birdgirl
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So worth it!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With my hot water heater at the opposite end of the house, it took forever (and how many wasted gallons of water) to get water hot enough to my kitchen sink. This little tank is a genie! Super-fast, and you can set the temperature to your liking. I keep the "regular" water heater at a lower level and this one much hotter, since it's not accessible to little kids. I love this thing!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
April
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great thing to have.

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had another heater (same brand) but it lived it's life and served us well. We purchased this one because of the value and the endurance of the first one. It is great to have hot water instantly when you want it and not having to wait for the pipes to send it to you. Saves water thus saving money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Anonymous

hope this replacement is better

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This replaces another of exact same heaters. Comes with 6-year warranty. Last one gave out at 6 years, 1 month.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
happie

product was as advertised

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm been using the product for 3 months now and it is doing everything I was looking for. I installed the unit on my hot water supply since my water heater is a long distance from my bath sink. I now have hot water in 3 seconds compared to almost a minute. The most difficult task was coming up with a way to discharge water for the pressure relief valve. I used a dishwasher attachment after the 'p' trap to accomplish this making sure to have a 'p' in the hose between the water heater and drain to insure I have a water stop for gases coming from septic.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Geodsr
from Indian River michigan

water heater

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the 2 Half gall. water heater under my kitchen sink in about in hour. before i in stalled the heater it took about a gallon of water before it got hot. so if you wash dishes 3 times a day that 3 X 365 days that's 1095 gall. water I'm saving a year. plus the cost of my water pump running. I think it was a good buy. if you live in the city you could save on your water bill.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Coddike
from San Diego, CA

Perfect Size and Capacity

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect size for under the bathroom vanity. Supplies plenty of hot water for shaveing and washing up. By the time it runs low on hot water, the heater is on and hot water is already comeing from the main tank. The adjustable thermostat is under two covers, but you will probably only adjust it once. Easy to install.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
EddyK
from Concord, CA

easy install but needs drain

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was a snap; requires only typical 15A 110V outlet but you won't want to share that circuit with your garbage disposal or dishwasher, so running another line may be necessary. It does require installing a pressure release/overflow pipe to somewhere it can drain. I installed it under the kitchen sink and since I have a raised-floor construction, I merely directed this pipe through the opening left by the hot water piping I removed, to the earth below. The unit was small enough to fit behind my garbage disposal. Only 4 stars because it seems a little bit pricey compared to fullsize tanks. If these were cheaper, I'd get two more for the bathroom sinks too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Joey
from Millington, TN 38053, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ariston2.5 Gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this unit for appx. 3 months. Easy to install and provides instant hot water for washing hands and a few dishes. It only holds 2.5 gallons of water so don't expect constant hot water after heavy use. Perfect for hand sink. So far so good, I hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
Doctorfox
from Staten

Nice unit and a fair price

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a plumber and this unit took about 15 minutes to install using flexible connectors, and I had hot water about 10 minutes after that. I like the fact you can adjust how hot you want the water easliy on the dial in front of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
mbnchen
from Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meet my expectation

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took a bit longer than I thought to receive the heater. It was shipped from Baltimore. No big deal. The unit installation is quite straightforward because I could install the unit on the other side of the wall from where the sink is. There was no need to crawl underneath the sink counter.
The heater unit works as expected. Just like the coffee pot, I do notice the heater element requires periodic maintenance to remove the calcium deposit.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5 gal. 6-Year 1500W 120 Volt Point-of-Use Mini Electric Water Heater
ChuckW

Needs factory QC

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Was easy to install and is compact, but the on/off switch is supposed to light up when heating and go off when at the right temp...my first one didn't and the one Home Depot replaced it with doesn't either. At this point, I'll just tell by hand when it's hot and quit replacing the unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>