728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

The Amerimax Home Products 4 ft. Gutter Cover features rigid, PVC construction to withstand heavy rainfall and keep leaves, pine needles and debris out of the gutter. The flex design accommodates different roof pitches and the low profile enhances the appearance of your gutters. This gutter cover installs easily and fits standard 4 in., 5 in. and 6 in. gutters. To install, slide under the shingles and hook to the front edge of the gutter.
Overall rating:
3.718 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product52 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product52 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Review 1 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Rotorhead100
from North West Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This video is of a 1/2" of rain per hour and no overflow.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing new gutters through Home Depot, we quickly realized that the continuous fall we experience in North West Florida filled the gutters to overflowing with leaves. So we tried these. This video is of a 1/2" of rain per hour and no overflow.
Amerimax Home Products 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover from Home Depot. The Amerimax Home Products 4 ft. Gutter Cover features rigid, PVC construction to withstand heavy rainfall and keep leaves, pine needles and debris out of the gutter. The flex design accommodates different roof pitches and the low profile enhances the appearance of your gutters. This gutter cover installs easily and fits standard 4 in., 5 in. and 6 in. gutters. To install, slide under the shingles and hook to the front edge of the gutter.
They work!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
George
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works great

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this on 4 rentals for several years. All trash and pine needles just wash off. Easy to install. Use a 1'x4' piece of thin paneling to lift the shingles and slide the guard in. A Stanley Wonder Bar to lock it in the gutter and a self-tapping screw in the middle to keep it from popping out later. You will need a stand-off stabilizer for your ladder. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
arnoldtoolman
from Arnold, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Work very well when new

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using these for a few years now and when new they are really good. I have 6 inch gutter around the entire parameter of my house and have used the old not so rounded noses and the newer rounded noses. The newer rounded ones work better first because they actually hook onto the front of the gutter. The problem cones after they have been installed for a couple of years the narrow slots get crud in them and plug up. am currently trying some that I have widened the slot by 1/2 inch. So far they are functioning well. I'm hoping they will not get clogged up as quickly. The biggest problem in the past is the maple seeds. We'll see how well it goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: Maintenance, slot should be wider.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Koiman
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What you need to know before you start

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Download the complete installation instructions at the bottom of this page under "MORE INFO". Here you will find detailed information for the installation. The most critical info is you must overlap the ends by at least 1 1/2". This detail is not mentioned on the label instructions attached to each piece of gutter guard. Some of the unhappy reviews mentioned that just butting them together isn't a very good method. Well that's because it's wrong. They also mention the use of screws(optional). At the end of the gutter you fashion and end cap by artfully cutting the end piece of gutter guard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
trogo
from Knoxville, TN

Great Product and Good Price

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently replaced my roof and gutters due to a hail storm. I got estimates from several contractors and all of them said the Amerimax plastic gutter covers were junk, and wanted $15 to 22 per foot to install their aluminum gutter guards. My neighbor had installed Amerimax Gutter Covers himself a few years ago and has been very pleased with their performance, and had NO damage from the hail storm, unlike others with aluminum covers.
I decided to save some money and go with the Amerimax Gutter Cover, and did the work myself. Saved over $1000 and have been very satisfied with their looks and performance so far. Highly recommended for someone wanting to save money and able to do the installation themselves.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Cornhusk64
from Shelton, WA 98584, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maybe it's my shallow roof pitch, but they did not work on my house.

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these last year, and over one winter season I noticed water and debris spilling onto my deck .
So this summer I climbed up and took a look, the little trench along the side where the water is to enter, was packed full of debris. I looked the situation over and the pitch of my roof leaves the gutter covers almost flat due to the way the gutters are attached to the fascia. Being flat, the rolled over edge and the trench area are nearly vertical and everything flows into the trench, nothing drops over the side until the trench area is packed full.
Then everything including the water goes over the edge
as if there were no gutter there at all.
These MAY work on a steeper pitched roof, but not on a
mobile home roof pitch. Buy something different. I am trying just strips of hardware cloth, who knows maybe it will
work.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Innovator
from Hendersonville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not if you have trees near your house

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed test sections of this product on my home to see if I wanted to cover the whole house. The sections were completely covered; meaning they were short sections of gutter but those sections were totally covered. With the first hard rain, I went out to view the flow. There were small areas where the water overflow was significant. These areas were where the tree debris would more likely to be washed from the roof such as from around the chimney or where the water stream flowed more heavily.
After the rain, I climbed up to view the product to determine the problem. The holes to allow the water to flow into the gutters were clogged with the small debris from the roof everywhere I had observed overflow during the rain. Furthermore, there was some debris where no overflow occurred. Of course, with future rains, these areas would also become clogged.
If you have a lot of trees around your home and significant tree debris on your roof, these covers are not for you. Also, the claim for this product is that it helps to keep gutters clean. I don't doubt that it helps to prevent major build-up in the gutters, but I believe you will still have to clean your gutters now and then because small debris still gets into your gutters through the water transport holes. I would expect that pine needles would be washed into the gutter through the water transport holes.
I need to at least clear the holes in this product even though the product has only gone through one hard rain.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Grampy
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product -- Great Price

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I live on a ridge in the Appalachians surrounded by trees. Our gutters kept getting clogged by leaves, then the rain would overflow the gutters and seep into our basement. Commercial gutter guards would have cost 10 to 15 times what I paid for these. So far (5 months) they have worked as advertised. They have endured wind gusts of 50mph with no problems (I didn't install screws). I had a handyman friend install them for me as I can no longer climb ladders. The instruction sheet that came affixed to each gutter guard needs to contain more information (such as how to create end caps to keep out birds, how to overlap, etc). Amerimax has a web site that gives the information missing on the instruction sheet
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Barry

They really work!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a section of my house that is the 2nd story that is DIRECTLY under an old oak tree that drops lots of acorns, leaves and small branches. It is a pain to take out the extension ladder and clean that gutter... I tried the mesh gutter covers, but found that they allow a LOT of rain water to run right past the gutter...also many leaf stems get caught and end up clogging the mesh.
I saw these and figured I would give them a try as they looked very similar to my neighbors gutter system that she spent thousands on.
Here is the deal with installation...if you have good roof pitch and/or your gutter is not tight to the roof line (meaning you have a few inches below the bottom shingle and your gutter) you will be fine installing these and clipping them in to the gutter as designed.
However, If like my house...your roof does not have a big pitch and your gutters are fairly close to the lowest shingle... you need to get creative... what I did on mine, was NOT clip them in...because if I did-I ended up having an area where water could puddle on the gutter cover - and I did not want that.... so, I installed them without clipping them in and ensuring there was no spot for the water to puddle.
We have had some severe rain, and I am so impressed...the water really does wrap around and go right into the gutter.... I do not plan on going up on that roof for a long long time.
Price is great too....Very happy I bought these...matter of fact I put them on the rest of the house this past weekend !
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
teacher77
from ala

4 foot vinyl gutter guards

PostedSeptember 3, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing the guards is easier if two people are involved..The corners are difficult to make without practice...The new improved gutter guards states, in small print, for a detailed instructions go to the website...Instructions indicate that screws might be needed to secure to the top of the gutter, but no pilot holes or screws are provided...The biggest problem with these guards is that if the rain gutter edge is higher than the roof line sheathing, then the water will flow back under the eaves and cause water damage over time...I had to remove all of these guards because of this....In all fairness, the design concept is good, but this product just might not be right for your situation...
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
yardduck
from charlotte,nc

Already clogged on debris before leaf season

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with these covers is that the curved lip dumps down onto the flat portion which mounts to the gutter edge, causing any debris to pile up there. After that the cover is blocked and completely useless. They will probably do better with leaves, as these should slide over the edge. If the opening was larger this issue might go away.
I live on a heavily wooded lot, mainly oak, hickory, and maple trees.
My gutter maintenance continues............
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Mark
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These ARE the gutter guards you are looking for

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home is basically a gutter guard torture test. I live in the Northeast in a cape-cod style home (steep with a large surface area) with a large maple tree overhanging it in the back (which drop large leaves, thick leaf stems, and helicopters) and large pine trees that drop needles in the front. Before I installed these guards, no matter how many times I cleaned the gutters, they'd just fill right back up within a week or two. I know from experience that the standard gutter guards don't work, but I wasn't about to spend big money for a professionally installed, brand name installation with a similar design. As soon as I saw these in my store, I bought some for my home.
Installation was a bit tricky, but not bad. I had to trim some pieces down to get them to slip under the shingles; I used some tin snips for this. Getting the front edge locked into the gutter was a bit trickier. I used a hook-end pick tool to accomplish this. Despite living in a windy area, I did not bother with the optional screwing down step, and to date no panels have come off during windstorms. I estimate it took me roughly 5 minutes per section to install.
Water test: Yes sometimes a few drips do not flow into the gutter, but they really do an amazing job at channeling the water into the gutter like they're supposed to.
Leaf/stem/helicopter test: Leaves, stems, and helicopters fall right off. They do not seem to get lodged in the channel.
Pine needle test: The majority of pine needles also seem to fall right off. Some may still get into the channel, but they then fall into the gutter rather than clogging the channel.
Ice test: If your home is prone to icicles like mine is, some bad news- these don't help the situation at all. They probably make it even worse.
Christmas light test: I hang Christmas lights from my gutters using gutter clips. Gutter clips don't work with the guards in place. I was able to creatively modify the gutter clips I had so they would work, and there are certainly other creative solutions that could address this. I wanted to point it out though because I doubt most people realize that gutter guards could impact their Christmas light decorating!
All in all, a great product I highly recommend. I've had them installed for about 6 months at this point. They're a bit pricier than other DIY gutter guard options, but these really work so they're well worth it!
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Averagematt
from Bettendorf, IA

Awesome

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased 1 section to test fit and water test on my home. I usually have to clean out my gutters 5-10 times a year. I must say it works flawlessly. I will return next week or this weekend and buy the supplies to finish. A gutter company quoted me $2000 for the sheet metal version that dents easily. This a really thick vinyl and easy to install and the don't dent at all.
I live where winds can be high, so it recommends that you use 2 color coded sheet metal screws per section. This is a good idea and also it is unnoticable. Good luck. Oh by the way the quote was $2000 from the pro. I will do it my self for $140 give or take a couple bucks. Hhmmmm. I say DIY baby.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
jdw320
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It may be that my gutter angle is not low enough and not a continuation of the roof pitch.
My gutters extend straight out at the roof edge and the water just rolled right over the guards onto the ground below.
Easy to install....and uninstall.
Pros: Easy to Install, easy to uninstall
Cons: didn't work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
gutters4u
from Chicago, IL

they work

PostedJanuary 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use these all the time and they provide my gutter customers leaf protection which keeps the gutters clog free and operating at maximum efficiency all year long, even in the fall when you could be cleaning leaves daily and still not keep up.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Chuck
from Reston, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

They only work when they reach the second shingle

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried these gutter covers on two different gutters on the same roof with very different results. I works great on the one gutter where the 1st shingle was trimmed and I was able to slip the edge of the cover under the second shingle. The cover did not work on the second gutter where the 7 inch cover did not reach the second shingle. As others have written, there are all sorts of problems when slipping this cover under the first shingle because the first shingle edge is actually lower than the gutter's edge that the water needs to flow over. Before buying this product you should measure the gutter edge to the second shingle. If the gap is wider than 7 inches, you need a wider gutter cover and a different product.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Inconsistent
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Anonymous
from St. Louis, MO

Tips/Review

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
*They install fairly easily. Just sandwich between the shingles and paper, pull forward, and snap into place.
*I recommend installing them from a ladder FACING the gutter. Getting on the roof and attacking the job from behind is quite difficult BUT do-able.
*I recommend doing this on a cloudy day.
*I understand the design, but there will be a very small gap when installing these end-to-end. I think the company should sell a companion sealing tape OR manufacture the product with one tapered end. That way they can flush together with no gap.
*Again, there are NO pilot holes or screws included. I think they added the "For Windy Climates" suggestion to cover themselves.
*If a couple sections become too difficult to install, slightly stretch the lip.
*Scissors work, but Tin Snips are much more effective.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Tony345
from Louisville KY

They Work Great

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently installed these, and was waiting for a good test. That test came with the October 26 2010 storm that blew through Louisville. My location got 45 to 50 MPH winds, and a half inch of rain in a few minutes.
The Amerimax Gutter Covers worked great. They put the rain in the gutters (didn't overflow) and they did not blow off.
Pros:
Gutter Helmut would want about $3000 to install their product on my house. I bought enough Amerimax Gutter Covers to do my house for about less than $150 (plus tax).
The Amerimax plastic has a nice high quality feel. Flexible and tough. Cuts well with tin snips.
No more gutter cleaning!
Cons:
Installation takes a while to get the hang of it. What worked for me: I put the tip of my closed tin snips into the groove that snaps onto the gutter edge. Turning the snips sideways, I ran the closed snips the length of the groove, widening the lips noticeably. That made it a lot easier to snap onto the gutters.
If you house has gutters with corners (such as a hip roof), trimming the pieces at a 45 angle is inconvenient. It would be nice if Amerimax sold precut corner pieces.
Unlike the high dollar Gutter Helmet, be prepared to see some visible seams where one 4” piece meets another.
Summary: Amerimax gets the job done at a great price.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
BudB
from Black Forest of Colorado

Substantial Product

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleased to see the quality and strength of the product when I received it. Installation went fairly easy, with the only difficulty occuring when I attempted to insert the flange under the existing shingles. I had to take care not to break the shingles when I pried them up to make room to insert the flange of the gutter screen. Very effective in keeping pine needles out of gutter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Skip
from Zelienople, Pa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No good for me!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's great for white gutters, but no good for all of us with brown gutters and trim.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>