728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

The AMERIMAX HOME PRODUCTS 4 ft. Gutter Cover features rigid, PVC construction to withstand heavy rainfall and keep leaves, pine needles and debris out of the gutter. The flex design accommodates different roof pitches and the low profile enhances the appearance of your gutters. This gutter cover installs easily and fits standard 4 in., 5 in. and 6 in. gutters. To install, slide under the shingles and hook to the front edge of the gutter.
Overall rating:
3.663 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product65 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product65 of 90reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Review 1 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Duluth, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reviewing two years after installation

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After cleaning 2-year-old gutters in fall 2012, my wife and I decided to install these after trying a few of the flat diamond screen version. Installation takes some effort to get the edge between the decking and the shingle. A putty knife would probably make raising the shingles easier. Once the entire back edge was under the shingle I using a paint can opening tool to snap the cover into place. (That idea came from another reviewer.)
Fast forward two years; I had been working out of state and my wife noticed a lot of rain spill over from the gutters outside the kitchen. I removed a couple of covers for cleaning and cleared a clog at the downspout screen. I also found the drainage slots clogged with dirt and cleaned them with a wire brush. I suspect that accumulation was due to water backup. But I find it easier to clean the outer slot every two years than to clean the gutters.
One more thing: I didn't read the instruction download until today. The mfr recommends 1-1/2 inch overlap cover to cover (to improve appearance and prevent gaps), and describes how to make a bird guard at the outside corners. Because I had not read this, I improvised with duct tape and had critters crawl into the gutters.
Pros: Performs Well, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Richmond VA

Not for down pours

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These work in gentle rains but not summer down pours. I have to remove mine and find something else.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Whidbey Island, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter Covers for un-handy folks!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older woman, and installed these from a ladder. It's wasn't too hard - the only tricky parts were 1) getting the shingles separated so I could slip the cover between the last two rows (I didn't want it under the last row, against the wood) and 2) getting the gutter cover to "click" over the edge of the gutter. That took a screwdriver once the cover was in place, to move along the edge lifting it a bit and slipping it over the gutter edge. I think these will work great - I am very happy with them and incredibly happy that I did not pay a professional thousands of dollars for a $200 project. Try them - and good luck!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from North West Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This video is of a 1/2" of rain per hour and no overflow.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing new gutters through Home Depot, we quickly realized that the continuous fall we experience in North West Florida filled the gutters to overflowing with leaves. So we tried these. This video is of a 1/2" of rain per hour and no overflow.
Amerimax Home Products 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover from Home Depot. The Amerimax Home Products 4 ft. Gutter Cover features rigid, PVC construction to withstand heavy rainfall and keep leaves, pine needles and debris out of the gutter. The flex design accommodates different roof pitches and the low profile enhances the appearance of your gutters. This gutter cover installs easily and fits standard 4 in., 5 in. and 6 in. gutters. To install, slide under the shingles and hook to the front edge of the gutter.
They work!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Arnold, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Work very well when new

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using these for a few years now and when new they are really good. I have 6 inch gutter around the entire parameter of my house and have used the old not so rounded noses and the newer rounded noses. The newer rounded ones work better first because they actually hook onto the front of the gutter. The problem cones after they have been installed for a couple of years the narrow slots get crud in them and plug up. am currently trying some that I have widened the slot by 1/2 inch. So far they are functioning well. I'm hoping they will not get clogged up as quickly. The biggest problem in the past is the maple seeds. We'll see how well it goes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: Maintenance, slot should be wider.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works great

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this on 4 rentals for several years. All trash and pine needles just wash off. Easy to install. Use a 1'x4' piece of thin paneling to lift the shingles and slide the guard in. A Stanley Wonder Bar to lock it in the gutter and a self-tapping screw in the middle to keep it from popping out later. You will need a stand-off stabilizer for your ladder. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What you need to know before you start

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Download the complete installation instructions at the bottom of this page under "MORE INFO". Here you will find detailed information for the installation. The most critical info is you must overlap the ends by at least 1 1/2". This detail is not mentioned on the label instructions attached to each piece of gutter guard. Some of the unhappy reviews mentioned that just butting them together isn't a very good method. Well that's because it's wrong. They also mention the use of screws(optional). At the end of the gutter you fashion and end cap by artfully cutting the end piece of gutter guard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Knoxville, TN

Great Product and Good Price

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently replaced my roof and gutters due to a hail storm. I got estimates from several contractors and all of them said the Amerimax plastic gutter covers were junk, and wanted $15 to 22 per foot to install their aluminum gutter guards. My neighbor had installed Amerimax Gutter Covers himself a few years ago and has been very pleased with their performance, and had NO damage from the hail storm, unlike others with aluminum covers.
I decided to save some money and go with the Amerimax Gutter Cover, and did the work myself. Saved over $1000 and have been very satisfied with their looks and performance so far. Highly recommended for someone wanting to save money and able to do the installation themselves.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from easton,pa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to install looks good does the job

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install easy to cut does job in one word great
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

waste of time & money!!! Do not buy!!!!

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product should never be sold again. I installed it then tested it with a simple water hose low volume from the roof ridge line....epic fail! Water in basements is a serious issue. Do not waste a day's with of labor ob this product. I give it a -5 Stars. This app requires that I give at least a 1 star or it won't post....otherwise I would give it what it deserves no stars.....just the trash bin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Madison, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed 3 sections to test. Quality seemed good and install was easy. For my roof they would be only be useful for light rain. Simulating heavy rain with the garden hose caused most of the water sheet off the guards and over the gutters. I was surprised that was the result as my roof is not very steep. In my brief test several Maple "helicopters" also made their way into the channel plugging the "drain" slots. I would not recommend these if you have any small debris to deal with.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Shelton, WA 98584, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maybe it's my shallow roof pitch, but they did not work on my house.

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these last year, and over one winter season I noticed water and debris spilling onto my deck .
So this summer I climbed up and took a look, the little trench along the side where the water is to enter, was packed full of debris. I looked the situation over and the pitch of my roof leaves the gutter covers almost flat due to the way the gutters are attached to the fascia. Being flat, the rolled over edge and the trench area are nearly vertical and everything flows into the trench, nothing drops over the side until the trench area is packed full.
Then everything including the water goes over the edge
as if there were no gutter there at all.
These MAY work on a steeper pitched roof, but not on a
mobile home roof pitch. Buy something different. I am trying just strips of hardware cloth, who knows maybe it will
work.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Lowell, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Oh my aching back no more

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before this purchase I had to clean my gutters on a monthly basis. Usually from on top of the roof. Luckily I didn't take a swan dive from the roof. Since I installed the gutter cover we have had a fairly heavy rain storm. The product worked as advertised. And I don't expect I will have to clean my gutters again.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Joliet Mt.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

pine needle problem solved

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would have been nice to put these on 15 years ago when the garage was roofed. Some difficulty getting them under the old shingles.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Hendersonville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not if you have trees near your house

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed test sections of this product on my home to see if I wanted to cover the whole house. The sections were completely covered; meaning they were short sections of gutter but those sections were totally covered. With the first hard rain, I went out to view the flow. There were small areas where the water overflow was significant. These areas were where the tree debris would more likely to be washed from the roof such as from around the chimney or where the water stream flowed more heavily.
After the rain, I climbed up to view the product to determine the problem. The holes to allow the water to flow into the gutters were clogged with the small debris from the roof everywhere I had observed overflow during the rain. Furthermore, there was some debris where no overflow occurred. Of course, with future rains, these areas would also become clogged.
If you have a lot of trees around your home and significant tree debris on your roof, these covers are not for you. Also, the claim for this product is that it helps to keep gutters clean. I don't doubt that it helps to prevent major build-up in the gutters, but I believe you will still have to clean your gutters now and then because small debris still gets into your gutters through the water transport holes. I would expect that pine needles would be washed into the gutter through the water transport holes.
I need to at least clear the holes in this product even though the product has only gone through one hard rain.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product -- Great Price

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I live on a ridge in the Appalachians surrounded by trees. Our gutters kept getting clogged by leaves, then the rain would overflow the gutters and seep into our basement. Commercial gutter guards would have cost 10 to 15 times what I paid for these. So far (5 months) they have worked as advertised. They have endured wind gusts of 50mph with no problems (I didn't install screws). I had a handyman friend install them for me as I can no longer climb ladders. The instruction sheet that came affixed to each gutter guard needs to contain more information (such as how to create end caps to keep out birds, how to overlap, etc). Amerimax has a web site that gives the information missing on the instruction sheet
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from Conyers, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gutter Cover

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this Gutter Guards on 4 homes, less than 5 years ago, & have taken them off of two homes & in process of taking them off the other two homes.
The Holes catch Debris, such as Oak Acorns & small twigs. They warp in the Heat so water runs back under the Shingles.
Cons: Maintenance, warp catches debris
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover

They really work!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a section of my house that is the 2nd story that is DIRECTLY under an old oak tree that drops lots of acorns, leaves and small branches. It is a pain to take out the extension ladder and clean that gutter... I tried the mesh gutter covers, but found that they allow a LOT of rain water to run right past the gutter...also many leaf stems get caught and end up clogging the mesh.
I saw these and figured I would give them a try as they looked very similar to my neighbors gutter system that she spent thousands on.
Here is the deal with installation...if you have good roof pitch and/or your gutter is not tight to the roof line (meaning you have a few inches below the bottom shingle and your gutter) you will be fine installing these and clipping them in to the gutter as designed.
However, If like my house...your roof does not have a big pitch and your gutters are fairly close to the lowest shingle... you need to get creative... what I did on mine, was NOT clip them in...because if I did-I ended up having an area where water could puddle on the gutter cover - and I did not want that.... so, I installed them without clipping them in and ensuring there was no spot for the water to puddle.
We have had some severe rain, and I am so impressed...the water really does wrap around and go right into the gutter.... I do not plan on going up on that roof for a long long time.
Price is great too....Very happy I bought these...matter of fact I put them on the rest of the house this past weekend !
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from charlotte,nc

Already clogged on debris before leaf season

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with these covers is that the curved lip dumps down onto the flat portion which mounts to the gutter edge, causing any debris to pile up there. After that the cover is blocked and completely useless. They will probably do better with leaves, as these should slide over the edge. If the opening was larger this issue might go away.
I live on a heavily wooded lot, mainly oak, hickory, and maple trees.
My gutter maintenance continues............
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. White Solid Gutter Cover
from ala

4 foot vinyl gutter guards

PostedSeptember 3, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing the guards is easier if two people are involved..The corners are difficult to make without practice...The new improved gutter guards states, in small print, for a detailed instructions go to the website...Instructions indicate that screws might be needed to secure to the top of the gutter, but no pilot holes or screws are provided...The biggest problem with these guards is that if the rain gutter edge is higher than the roof line sheathing, then the water will flow back under the eaves and cause water damage over time...I had to remove all of these guards because of this....In all fairness, the design concept is good, but this product just might not be right for your situation...
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>