728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sockets, Ratchets & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece

Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece

The Irwin 5-Piece Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover is designed to work with multiple drive options, including ratchets, impact wrenches and locking pliers. The reverse-spiral flute design securely grips and removes stubborn nuts and bolts.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
Review 1 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
240sxdriver
from Perris, California

Best/greatest invention ever

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i was taking off one of my rims on my car and i stripped the nut sooo much that it was almost a full circle. I literally took 2 days trying to take it off, then i read up online and found this product. it took me like 5 minutes to take it off and came off easily. Best $20 i ever spent. I even used the 16mm to take off the nut that usually would need a 17mm. If u strip ANY BOLT OR NUT buy this product and you will save time and stress.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
JP21671
from VA Beach, VA

Awesome

PostedNovember 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was removing the rear axles off of a 67 Firebird and two of the bolts holding the driver's side rear drum backplate were rusted on tight and they got stripped out. I bought these sockets and they worked as advertised!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
AJM216
from Upper Marlboro, MD

Brought a used car w/o wheel lock key

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchase a used 2006 G35 got home with the car and did a inventory of the car there was no lug nut wrench. My 4-way lug nut with no luck I tried my Stanley socket set and none fit. Once a looked closely I could see that all 20 lugs were wheel locks and I did not have the key. I looked in every hiding place I could think of in the car with no luck.
I went on a mission to multiple auto parts stores I could not find anything that would work. One socket tore the edges off of the wheel lock but it did not move. I saw a few pages on the net where people used the Irwin Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover I found a kit at Home Depot for $19.88.
The first attempt resulted in scraping the hole were the lug goes but it did come off black touch up paint will fix that. I took the plastic cap off of an aerosol can and cut it to form a sleeve that I could use to prevent further scratching and tried the next smaller size Irwin socket attached to a breaker bar. I tried using tape to protect the wheel but it was to thin.
It spun one rotation the locked solid a little muscle and the wheel lock came right off as if it had the key attacked to it.
The best $20 I’ve spent in a long long time. I was ready to purchase a wheel lock removal kit on the web for between $50 – $150 dollars not know if it would even work. I did not want to do the caveman method of pounding a socket on the lock to remove it, for 20 lugs that is a lot of pounding!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
ILOVEgoodtools
from Everett, WA

This thing rocks!

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to remove an alternator belt tension bolt, which in my opinion was just engineered to be way too small: 10mm.
When I tried to loosen it, the head stripped, and everything I tried after that just made matters worse. So I went online, and found a forum thread in which someone had the same problem, and someone else recommended this tool.
I searched online, found it at Home Depot, and went and got it. When I got home, I pulled it out of its packaging, and applied the proper socket to the bolt, mentally crossed my fingers, and turned the wrench.
It grabbed instantly, and the bolt came out easily. If there is a downside to this tool, it is that it grabs the bolt so well that it took me some effort with a pair of vice-grips and a wrench to get it to let go once I had the bolt out. But that's okay, I had to replace the bolt anyway,
Anyone who works on anything with bolts needs this tool. In the past I have cut slots in bolts for a screwdriver, tried to file the heads down to the next smaller size, and so on. Doing either of these things is a giant pain, and doesn't always work because most bolts are case-hardened, and the metal you expose by cutting away the surface is often relatively soft.
This tool, however, grabs instantly and solidly, and makes removing stubborn bolts a snap. If you are in a similar position as I was, stop dithering and BUY THIS TOOL. What it will save you is worth at least twice the price in cussing, knuckle-busting, and so on. Ever have a wrench slip and bash your knuckles when it was cold out? I rest my case. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
jbasol

No toolset should be without these

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many others, I purchased these in desperation. A bolt holding a bracket to the head of my vehicle had stripped. My standard bag of tricks was not working to remove it, and due to space restrictions I could not get my welder in to weld a nut to the head. I was getting closer and closer to having to cut the bracket, and remove the cylinder head in order to remove the offending bolt.
2 minutes with this set, and the bolt was out. Best $20 I've spent in a long time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
mdolla904

This product was a time and life saver

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this Irwin bolt grip kit and i thought it would not work but it did. I was changing my rear brake pads on my car and the 12mm bolt holding the caliper in place got stripped from trying to get it off. I put the bolt grip fastener on with my impact wrenches and it did not work i was like oh no but i used my flat wrench with all my strength and it came lose. This bolt grip set even works on non stripped bolts. I recommend this set trust me it will work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
rtbrandt
from Michigan

I'm sorry that you might need this tool.

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this set after rounding the head of a 12mm bolt on the top of my Volvo 240's transmission - not enough room for locking pliers, and no way to get a lefty drill bit in without drilling through the car's floorboard or dropping the transmission.
I spent about an hour trying to get the bolt out with the Bolt-Grips, but now I'm inside my house and the thing's out. Further, I know that I'll have my xmas shopping done for the people I know who turn a wrench on a regular basis.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
limestang
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed!

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had the classic problem of one nut completely halting the repair of my car. A 9/16" nut was rounded, and everything I tried made it worse. I took a shot on this socket set, and what a difference. I used a piece of wood to apply pressure on the back of the socket towards the nut, and then used a long socket wrench for leverage. I had the nut loosened and off in under a minute. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
JerryY
from Dallas, TX

I hate using it but I love having it.

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a tool I love to have but hate to use. If you're using this tool you've encountered a broken or stripped bolt which is a major pain to remove without the proper tool.
I've used it once to remove a stripped caliper bolt (pre-owned SUV and it looks like the mechanic used a Hex with an air tool and forced a Torx bolt into the caliper) and a few other times when assembling things with cheap bolts (the instructions tell you to use a certain sized socket and low and behold the bolt isn't precise and you strip the head... ugh).
For only $20 this kit will save you hours of frustration trying to remove a stripped bolt (believe me, I've tried without using this tool before).
A nice feature is that the plastic case has some extra slots for smaller bolt extractors which tells me there is/will be an expansion set to these available and you can keep them all stored neatly together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover 5-Piece
burkie
from lake orion,mi

Irwin Bolt-Grip Fastener Remover

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a must have for the garage. I had a rounded off 12 mm bolt. With in 2 minutes both bolts where loose and off!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.