728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Biscuit Joiner Kit

Biscuit Joiner Kit

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Biscuit Joiner Kit. This tool features a powerful 6-Amp motor that delivers up to 10,000 RPM with it's included carbide tipped blade. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product44 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product44 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Review 1 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strudy, easy to use

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to use right out ofthe box. Very little set up required. I used about a 1/2 a tub of buscuits and it seems like a quality piece. The handel is very ergonomic. The price was right. I looked at the lower priced and higher price. This worked out great. And it comes with a case. the cord is also plenty long.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Seattle, WA

Good tool, bad biscuits

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Ryobi biscuit jointer because the price was right and it suited the light use I was doing. After using a few times, it is a great tool and serves it's purpose well. The only problem I've had with the kit was not with the tool, but with the advertising and the biscuits. First, the box advertises it includes a "biscuit assortment," when in fact it only includes #10 biscuits and no other size. Second, the #10 biscuits that are included are not standard sized anyway so they don't fit in the slot created by the tool. If you're going to buy the Ryobi biscuit jointer, make sure you buy some Porter-Cable biscuits to go with it.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Kansas

Great tool at a great price

PostedJune 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yeah, I checked the other brands out and bought this one for the price. The surprising thing is that it has performed better than I was prepared for. I had one job in mind I needed it for and now I am biscuit joining everything! (Well, not really, but I could!) Just having it around has made other projects turn out even better. And STRONGER! It is really useful and a great addition to my shop. Sturdy and durable. What more do you need?
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from MATTESON, ILL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good For The Price

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this biscuit joiner was easy to learn how to use and built well this was my first experiance using this tool and i was very satisfied how my first small project turned out. i forgot to put the chip/dust bag on and the the chips were flying everywhere, when i placed the bag on securely pretty much of all the chip were captured as far as i can tell. for the price this is a very good tool for someone who will use it every now and then. i gave four stars for quality because i've only had the tool for day, but intend to give it a good workout. i have a slew of ryobi tools and have not been dissapointed yet. i highly reccomend this tool
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice tool

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works very well as you would expect. No problem cutting the biscuits. I love that they designed it to have markings for the different sized biscuits, and the depth knob is pre-set to the different depths. It makes it much easier to use, and very easy to see where your biscuit cuts will be. Definitely better than the old unit I am replacing.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Utah

Great Tool

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a really expensive joiner at a college workshop and also a porter cable joiner and I can honestly say I like this one more than the expensive college tool and just as much as the porter cable tool and the Ryobi costs half as much. Most joiners have the motor mounted the opposite direction than this one. I have used both types and actually prefer the setup of the Ryobi because the other joiners are hard to get a good hold on them while also holding the board. This joiner is easy to get good leverage when pusing the blade into the board and it cuts really well. The fence also works really well and I have not had any problems with it at all. I use this tool a lot and it hasn't failed me yet. Normally I think it is always worth paying more for a better tool because you get what you pay for. However, this is not the case with this tool. It performs flawlessly. Don't spend a fortune just to get a fancier brand name, save yourself the money. This is one tool that doesn't lack in quality.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice Joiner

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had mine for a couple of years with absolutely no complaints. It's easy to use, makes accurate cuts for joints and is reasonably priced. I do woodworking as a hobby and this is a must for any woodworking shop. Buy this joiner and save yourself some money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Ryobi Biscuit Joiner Kit

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good biscuit joiner for the price. Make sure you pull the power trigger before abutting the wood for the cut. The blade needs to get in motion first. There's micro adjustment for the depth of the biscuit cut, so do some tests first. The 20 setting did not cut deep enough for the biscuit until I made the micro adjustment. The instruction booklet is very clear on how to do the adjustment.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Noblesville, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for the price

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was doing a project and got out my other brand biscuit joiner which I had only used a few times. I clicked the on switch and nothing happened. I removed the cover and discovered that the springs that held the brushes in place had broken loose from the junky bracket. I replaced that peice of junk joiner with the Ryobi. It was easy to setup and it did a great job. I especially like the hold down handle on the fence. The dust bag was excellent. It caught every bit of the dust. I cut about 6 slots before I had to empty the bag. I think this Biscuit Joiner is well made and will serve me for many years.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, hold down handle on fence
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Western NY

ryobi biscuit joiner kit

PostedApril 14, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For 99.00 you get what you pay for. I make furniture and do alot of woodworking. This perticular tool might be good for the one time a year tool user. It is difficult to adjust and keep adjusted since the height and angle adjustments are on the same dial. It tends to move after a while and is very difficult to dial in. Not to mention the fact that HD doesn't sell ryobi buscuits so use up what you have and buy the protercable brand. They are labeled differently as well. Then, for an extra 50 you can get a better built biscuit joiner too. However, the 99.00 ryobi table saw is a good introductory level saw and does last.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Fort Worth, Texas

Simple tool, well made

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very useful for cutting biscuit holes, exactly what it does, and the set up is good except for the part where the angle and height are on the same lever. But that's really not an issue because the angle locks out at 90/45, so unless you're doing a strange biscuit joining angle (rare to never), you shouldn't notice this issue.
It seems like a very solid tool that will be around for a while.
Very pleased Ryobi made this product so solidly. It's heavier than I imagined.
For $100, you can't beat it!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought the Ryobi biscuit joiner yesterday and only used it a little bit, but it works great so far. This is the first joiner I've used, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but it helped me make nice tight joints for a cabinet door. It's easy to use, seems pretty accurate and well-made. I had to make micro adjustments to get the size right, but that's really easy. I definitely recommend testing it out on some practice pieces because mine was set too shallow out of the box. I don't think you can do better for the price. It comes with a hard case that was larger than I expected, but it has a place for everything, including a built-in section with a lid for storing biscuits. I comes with about twenty #10 biscuits. I don't know why they call it an assortment, because they all seem the same to me.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Boise, ID

I LIKE IT

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first plate joiner and I love using it. I needed one for a job but now I use it all the time. I hardly ever use my pocket screw jig any more because this thing is easy to set up and use. Not to mention fun.
I love how much dust actually gets caught IN the bag.
Honestly, I have nothing to compare it to., but I can say this much; I'm so glad I didn't spend a couple hundred bucks for a better brand name. I really don't know what else could be done to improve a biscuit joiner beyond what this is.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from San Diego, CA

ryobi biscuit joiner

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked this up a year or so ago for a woodworking project I was working on, which I do pretty infrequently... I hadn't used a biscuit joiner since high school.. (15 years or so) Personally, I thought this one was great for the price, but then again I haven't had any experience with other ones. It runs very smoothly, and every cut I've made has been right on accurate, and I haven't found it to drift from any setting I've set it to. I did add my own lines to the face (and perhaps bottom?) of the cutting area for better visibility of "center", though.. It was either for working with really weird angles, or I had to make a few upside-down cuts, I don't remember.. I just remember I wasn't happy with the center-mark on the slightly-raised see-through guard area.
The one thing, though, as others have mentioned, is that the tightening adjust knob locks both height and angle, so you can't go adjusting it super fast.. You do need to take a moment and make sure as you tighten it down, it doesn't throw off the other measure... I haven't found it to be that much of a problem, but I also only use it for random projects, and I'm not in any sort of rush when I'm doing them.. If I was using it daily or for a job, I would definitely get tired of having to do that every time I made an adjustment.
Oh yea! The plastic storage box it came in is huuuuuge! I have no idea why it's so big.. I like to keep my tools in their protective boxes, and of course I still use it, but it takes up so much space compared to the tool.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Michigan

Biscuit Joiner Kit does the job

PostedMarch 21, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this joiner for woodworking in my shop. I have used this product for 5 years with no problems or wear. I have made wooden chests, picture frames and am currently making an entertainment center-all using the Ryobi biscuiting kit. It's a gem.
You will not be sorry with this beauty.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Ashton

Excellent tool!

PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not a big Ryobi fan, but inherited this from my dad when he passed away. (he never got to use it ) I used it to build his urn out of different types of hard wood that my dad had. Worked great.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Conifer, CO

Good tool and inexpensive

PostedMay 5, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure how this unit would work on hard woods, but it works great on pine. About half the price of other joiners I looked at. I needed it to build a few shevles for a built-in and it was great.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely useful product, very handy, easy to use and very curate, love it!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Guam
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easily adjustable. My only gripe would be that it was not totally zeroed in from the factory. I had to adjust the depth so that it would go in deep enough for the biscuit I had it set for. Very minor, just made me question the quality control. Other wise I have used it a couple times so far and really like it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easily adjustable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
from Portland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool for not a lot of money

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a big Ryobi fan to begin with. Most of my power tools are Ryobi. I have had great fortune with them. This tool did a great job for me while doing interior trim over the past few weeks. Good solid feel to the tool. Good accurate measurements and adjustments, the tool performed well each and every time. Strong motor, very sharp blade gave me great cuts each and every time. I would gladly buy another one if needed.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>