728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Biscuit Joiner Kit

Biscuit Joiner Kit

The Ryobi Biscuit Joiner Kit features a powerful 6-Amp motor that delivers up to 10,000 RPM. This jointer uses a bag for convenient dust collection and has overmolded handles for improved user comfort and lessened fatigue. Its accurate fences are adjustable with a rack and pinion, and its cutter depth is adjustable with positive stops at 0, 45, 90 and 135-degrees.
Overall rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(19)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Review 1 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
kheailtlh
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strudy, easy to use

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to use right out ofthe box. Very little set up required. I used about a 1/2 a tub of buscuits and it seems like a quality piece. The handel is very ergonomic. The price was right. I looked at the lower priced and higher price. This worked out great. And it comes with a case. the cord is also plenty long.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Chopmobile71
from Seattle, WA

Good tool, bad biscuits

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Ryobi biscuit jointer because the price was right and it suited the light use I was doing. After using a few times, it is a great tool and serves it's purpose well. The only problem I've had with the kit was not with the tool, but with the advertising and the biscuits. First, the box advertises it includes a "biscuit assortment," when in fact it only includes #10 biscuits and no other size. Second, the #10 biscuits that are included are not standard sized anyway so they don't fit in the slot created by the tool. If you're going to buy the Ryobi biscuit jointer, make sure you buy some Porter-Cable biscuits to go with it.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Tommy4Cheeks
from Guam
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easily adjustable. My only gripe would be that it was not totally zeroed in from the factory. I had to adjust the depth so that it would go in deep enough for the biscuit I had it set for. Very minor, just made me question the quality control. Other wise I have used it a couple times so far and really like it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easily adjustable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Rick
from Noblesville, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for the price

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was doing a project and got out my other brand biscuit joiner which I had only used a few times. I clicked the on switch and nothing happened. I removed the cover and discovered that the springs that held the brushes in place had broken loose from the junky bracket. I replaced that peice of junk joiner with the Ryobi. It was easy to setup and it did a great job. I especially like the hold down handle on the fence. The dust bag was excellent. It caught every bit of the dust. I cut about 6 slots before I had to empty the bag. I think this Biscuit Joiner is well made and will serve me for many years.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, hold down handle on fence
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
wendlermg
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely useful product, very handy, easy to use and very curate, love it!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Larze
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Ryobi Biscuit Joiner Kit

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good biscuit joiner for the price. Make sure you pull the power trigger before abutting the wood for the cut. The blade needs to get in motion first. There's micro adjustment for the depth of the biscuit cut, so do some tests first. The 20 setting did not cut deep enough for the biscuit until I made the micro adjustment. The instruction booklet is very clear on how to do the adjustment.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Cutworm
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice Joiner

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had mine for a couple of years with absolutely no complaints. It's easy to use, makes accurate cuts for joints and is reasonably priced. I do woodworking as a hobby and this is a must for any woodworking shop. Buy this joiner and save yourself some money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
Michael
from Kansas

Great tool at a great price

PostedJune 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yeah, I checked the other brands out and bought this one for the price. The surprising thing is that it has performed better than I was prepared for. I had one job in mind I needed it for and now I am biscuit joining everything! (Well, not really, but I could!) Just having it around has made other projects turn out even better. And STRONGER! It is really useful and a great addition to my shop. Sturdy and durable. What more do you need?
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
wesley

good value

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This biscuit jointer does exactly what it is designed to do and it does it well. If you want to be picky there is a piece of sandpaper over the mouth for the cutter head that is poorly adhered but some two side tape fixes that and makes for a great tool at an unbeatable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
demille
from Utah

Great Tool

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a really expensive joiner at a college workshop and also a porter cable joiner and I can honestly say I like this one more than the expensive college tool and just as much as the porter cable tool and the Ryobi costs half as much. Most joiners have the motor mounted the opposite direction than this one. I have used both types and actually prefer the setup of the Ryobi because the other joiners are hard to get a good hold on them while also holding the board. This joiner is easy to get good leverage when pusing the blade into the board and it cuts really well. The fence also works really well and I have not had any problems with it at all. I use this tool a lot and it hasn't failed me yet. Normally I think it is always worth paying more for a better tool because you get what you pay for. However, this is not the case with this tool. It performs flawlessly. Don't spend a fortune just to get a fancier brand name, save yourself the money. This is one tool that doesn't lack in quality.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
cycle003
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought the Ryobi biscuit joiner yesterday and only used it a little bit, but it works great so far. This is the first joiner I've used, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but it helped me make nice tight joints for a cabinet door. It's easy to use, seems pretty accurate and well-made. I had to make micro adjustments to get the size right, but that's really easy. I definitely recommend testing it out on some practice pieces because mine was set too shallow out of the box. I don't think you can do better for the price. It comes with a hard case that was larger than I expected, but it has a place for everything, including a built-in section with a lid for storing biscuits. I comes with about twenty #10 biscuits. I don't know why they call it an assortment, because they all seem the same to me.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
snow
from Fargo, ND, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It really makes the job of aligning boards together for gluing a simple task.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
chucky1mn
from Caledonia, MN 55921, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

With the biscuit jointer I had to make one adjustment to the depth then it worked great.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The saw dust bag works great. I try to keep a clean area.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
pinecarpenter1
from Western NY

ryobi biscuit joiner kit

PostedApril 14, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For 99.00 you get what you pay for. I make furniture and do alot of woodworking. This perticular tool might be good for the one time a year tool user. It is difficult to adjust and keep adjusted since the height and angle adjustments are on the same dial. It tends to move after a while and is very difficult to dial in. Not to mention the fact that HD doesn't sell ryobi buscuits so use up what you have and buy the protercable brand. They are labeled differently as well. Then, for an extra 50 you can get a better built biscuit joiner too. However, the 99.00 ryobi table saw is a good introductory level saw and does last.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
frosty29315
from Maysville, GA 30558, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more batteries

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was tired of buying batteries for my biscuit cutter. Ryobi seemed to have a lightweight, corded model that meets my needs. Cuts cleanly, and has multiple settings for various size biscuits.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
RobV
from Fort Worth, Texas

Simple tool, well made

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very useful for cutting biscuit holes, exactly what it does, and the set up is good except for the part where the angle and height are on the same lever. But that's really not an issue because the angle locks out at 90/45, so unless you're doing a strange biscuit joining angle (rare to never), you shouldn't notice this issue.
It seems like a very solid tool that will be around for a while.
Very pleased Ryobi made this product so solidly. It's heavier than I imagined.
For $100, you can't beat it!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
ThMcJr
from Portland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool for not a lot of money

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a big Ryobi fan to begin with. Most of my power tools are Ryobi. I have had great fortune with them. This tool did a great job for me while doing interior trim over the past few weeks. Good solid feel to the tool. Good accurate measurements and adjustments, the tool performed well each and every time. Strong motor, very sharp blade gave me great cuts each and every time. I would gladly buy another one if needed.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
DIY Guy
from Conifer, CO

Good tool and inexpensive

PostedMay 5, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure how this unit would work on hard woods, but it works great on pine. About half the price of other joiners I looked at. I needed it to build a few shevles for a built-in and it was great.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
bw1069

easy to use

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pick it up to do a little job but looks like i will be msking more wood this with this bisket jointer kit
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Biscuit Joiner Kit
paulrdallas
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first bisucit joiner and I am very pleased. It's very easy to use and appears to be made very well. I suspect that I will be able to use it for years. I didn't rate it 5 stars for the following two reasons: 1. The biscuits that came with the saw fit VERY tight in the slots, too tight in fact that I didn't use them. 2. When depressing the trigger, there is a slight delay before the blade starts up. Not sure why...it doesn't impede anything so I decided to keep the joiner and live with the minor annoyance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Cons: delayed start when depressing trigger
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>