728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.301 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(176 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product145 of 162reviews
Rating Breakdown 176 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(99)
4
(51)
3
(12)
2
(8)
1
(6)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product145 of 162reviews
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
SusieLawnQueen
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
phifedog
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+105points
116out of 127found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
marco
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice product

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really leaves the edging in a stray cut, I love it
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
PcTech
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Joseph
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Great Edger for Small Jobs

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this edger to replace a gas-powered edger that quit after two seasons. I was a little bit anxious about using an electric edger due to the need for a long electric cord, but even with a 100' cord, the edger does not draw so many amps that it will not work with a standard 15-amp household circuit. I really like the very heavy-duty and thick blade on this machine. It digs through hard, dry dirt and makes a nice finger-width trench. It is adjustable for depth and has guards to prevent the blade from contacing the sidewalk or driveway while edging. It is easy to transport (by tilting and rolling it on the back wheels). Note: You can't roll it "flat" (on all three wheels) because the blade contacts the surface. Assembly out of the box was simple. Construction seems sold. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. I have a small-medium size typical neighborhood yard to edge. If you own a landscape business, however, this product is probably not for you.
+47points
49out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Richard
from Wylie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a guy who reads reviews before purchasing a product. In the case of this edger, after years of using my heavy-duty battery operated weed wacker to edge my front sidwalks I took the plunge on this unit.
I could not be any happier with the product after 2 weekend uses. I set it on the deepest cut, which after years of using the week wacker required a lot of dirt to be moved from the edge of the sidewalk. This edger did the job great.
Now, each time it will be that much easier to get that professional look now that the trench has been created. Two thumbs up!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Anonymous
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edge Hog

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After years of neglect on a courner lot, the edger easily helped the clean up. It was easy to use, light weight and did the job! I'm a 55 year old women, with not much experience with lawn equipment. I'm thrilled with the results
+41points
45out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
BAH14

Great edger that makes my job quicker and easier.

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am coming from using a spade edger and rotary edger in the past. Those tools actually work well but it takes a lot of time and work. With spade edger, I am jumping on the spade edger like a pogo stick and moving a measly 6 inches at a time. With the rotary edger, you get a tremendous workout but the rotary edger clogs and the wheels don't always spin. And edging with a string trimmer is good just for maintenance of the the edge but not with the first initial edging. With time and effort, those tools work and have pretty nice results but I needed an easier way and the Edge Hog was the answer. First, I went over the edging that I did before and I zoomed over and the edging came out more polished than I ever did before. It looked like it was professionally done. Then I went over the part where the edge had lots of overgrowth with tough dirt. Was I able to go over it in one pass? No. Did I expect to? No because this is tough overgrowth grass with tough roots where I was literally jumping and kicking the spade edger just to dig in. I went over the edge with Edge Hog, used the spade edger to help get a little dig and then went over it one more time with the Edge Hog again. Sure I wish I had a gas powered $300 edger that I can zoom everything in just one swipe but I don't want to spend that much money and this Edge Hog made my lawn job so much easier and quicker even if it takes multiple passes on the initial edging.... After that first tough dig, I am zooming over the edges in a couple minutes with no more multiple passes. You should be too. I heard some cons on here like that they felt the need to push hard against tough dirt (*Don't do that. Let the blade do the work. Slow and steady on the initial edging), Edge Hog not working nicely in wet dirt (*manual says don't use it in moisture/wet environment), swerving? (*use the guide and the 2 black arrows that line up perfectly), multiple passes on initial edging? (*unfortunately that is somewhat expected because it is electric and not the powerful and very expensive gas models... Is it worth to go over a couple times just on the initial edging to save like $200? I think so.) I can't comment about the durability as I haven't had it that long. And I can't comment about the trencher because I haven't tried it yet. If I have issues, I will update this review. I would give this Edge Hog a 4.5 out of 5 and recommend it but don't expect the performance of $200-300 gas powered edgers that go through the INITIAL edging quickly in one swipe. After that initial edging, the edging becomes very easy, very quickly and looks very polished.
+59points
65out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
beast757
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second one of these I have purchased, as the first one lasted 11 years. Light enough to carry around, yet with enough power to cut a nice straight edge.The only downside is that the blades tend to be a bit 'pricey'. All in all, still a good value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
jmn12

Money well spent

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading several positive reviews on this edger, I picked one up for myself. Yes, the convenience of no electrical cord is nice with the gas powered models, but the thought of saving a few hundred dollars outweighed the convenience. Works great overall. If you have some really rough and overgrown sections you'll have to run the edger over the area a couple of times but it's no issue at all. Easy to assemble, easy to run, and excellent results.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
mdrussell24
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than anticipated

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went to HD to purchase the Echo PAS system for a straight edge trimmer and edger. While looking around I saw this and though "I might as well try it for that price". I am usually fairly adamant on on non corded tools, but the price difference is huge.
My brother and I tried it out on my lawn and it made a big difference in just a few minutes! My brother goes, "Man, this little thing works awesome! Do you think your neighbor would mind if I do his lawn; I swill want to use it?" The answer was no. May neighbor did not mind...at all.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
1man3houses
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Getting it done!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had two of these. The first I gave to my parents because they didn't have one and purchased another (the 1st worked great, rather than buy a new that could have been a dud I gave them the working one). The second one is great as well. The first has been working since approx. 2003 and the second since approx. 2005. I will purchase another when (if) the need arises.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: must open blade cavity door in thick grass.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Mari
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the 2nd B & D Hedge Hog I've owned. After not needing to do my own yard-work for a few years, I gave away my original. Now I'm back to owning a home with a small yard and I didn't hesitate in purchasing the same model I had before. Its a reliable product and true to my memory, it does the job. I just find it a little expensive...I would have thought it might have come down in price.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Bing
from Southern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed, so much better than a weed whacker for edging

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed this to replace my old edger that gave me many years of service. Tried to use a weed whacker, too hard on my back. Had to carry the weight of the whacker all the time. This one is very easy to put together, simple height adjustments, powerful and best of all, it is on wheels, now weight to carry. Hope this one will last me a life-time.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Lance
from Huron, OH 44839, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good - but handle not sturdy

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this for both edging around sidewalks and drive and as a trenching tool. It was very easy to switch it from one task to another. It is powerful and the motor bogged down only once or twice throughout the day while in the trenching mode. The only issue I have with it is that it is not sturdy. Although the long pole going up to handle held up to the trenching work, there were occasions when the pole was twisting and I was concerned it would bend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
BossHog
from Sidney, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product for under 90 bucks!

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got this today so I can't tell you how long it will last. Took about five minutes to put together, very easy and no tools needed. For the price the handle bar and unit is very sturdy even during use. The weight is very acceptable. Who wants a flimsy piece of junk that will break the first time you put a little pressure on it!!? I noticed the black handle bar can be attached either way for both right or left handed people, very nice. I don't under stand other reviews I read about it hurting their backs. The handle bar has two adjustable slots. I'm about 5' 11" and had it on it's lowest setting and stood perfectly straight. I ran it for a few hours and never once felt fatigued.
I haven't edged my yard in about 4 years so the growth was pretty extensive. Once I got used to it, it was extremely easy and zipped right thru the dirt and grass with very minimal bog down. What bog down there was, was due to myself pushing down and forcing it to cut through the really thick spots rather than letting the machine glide over the top and letting it cut through. Once I figured that out I was off to the races, even did the next door neighbors yard.
Overall I am very glad I made this purchase. I wish I hadn't waited this long to buy it. I honestly thought edgers were more than this thing was (I should say a good quality edger). I will be using this thing all the time and if I only get a few seasons out of it, I only spent 84 bucks including tax! With a factory two year warranty and a local Home Depot this was a no brainer!! I also own a electric Black&Decker hedge trimmer that I have used for over 7 years now without a single issue!! Another great product and pleased customer.
I only gave it 4 stars because I have only used it for the first time today. It feels and runs like it will last a long time though!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
nanbpamb
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is easy to use and a snap to assemble right out of the box.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lost my husband 8 months ago, and felt very intimated an unsure of myself because all the responsibility and yard work was up to me now. This product is so easy to use and handle. It made a beginner like me feel more confident in herself.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Wabashbud
from Florida

Great machine for little bucks

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well its the third or fourth week and this baby is doing great. The only problem I've had was from the sod above the sidewalk level interfered with the safety guard. The problem was easily solved with info from a previous post. Just use your Dremel and trim off about 2 inches of the lower rear of the outside of the guard and presto no more problem. I love it, it cuts a great straight line and easy to use on a corner lot with curbs and driveways. I just hope it lasts a bunch of years. Florida St. Augustine Grass requiring at least weekly edging.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
LutzFL4U
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This unit is Awesome

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this unit for less than a year and use it every week and it is so easy and does such a good job. I would not give it up and go back to a gas unit or string type. Thumbs up for this product. The price is great, Its very easy to use, and the quality has been excellent. I truly look forward to using it each week on my lawn.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 11 Amp 2-In-1 Electric Landscape Edger
wb119
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took me 19 months to kill it.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well for LIGHT DUTY. I have 300 feet of sidewalk plus another 200 feet of islands to edge, live in Florida, so edging is needed very frequently. I wore out the gearbox "bearings" which are only sleeves in pot metal. I also wore out the gears and the handle broke. I would like to see a heavy duty model for more $$, but for now it is a yearly throwaway.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy, eats $10 blades like crazy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>