728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(278 reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product237 of 263reviews
Rating Breakdown 278 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(171)
4
(69)
3
(17)
2
(9)
1
(12)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product237 of 263reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Hollywood FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Awesome Edger!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm NOT paid to write this.. IT ROCKS! It's awesome! I've only used it one time, and had to rave about it. It's easy to use and works like a champ. If your looking for an electric edger, THIS IS IT! I had read a lot of the reviews before my purchase, and I must say.... "They are correct, IT's KILLER!" Enjoy!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Spokane Valley Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger ever

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Read the reviews on this edger and even though they were good i was still skeptical. But purchased it I got it home and with very little difficulty i had it together and put it to use. I have over 1100 hundred feet of edging and was not sure how it would handle a big job. Since it never had been done it took me awhile with little effort to complete. Depending on your length to do, you will need a long extension cord. Very Happy !!!!!! P.S. it recommends going 1 inch deep, but for me i liked the inch and a half better, It did take me a little bit to figure out how to change the depth, but that was more my mistake than the machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from West Columbia, S.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After 11 years of use, I'm going to buy my 2nd B&D LE750!!!

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 11 years of what I'd call ordinary use, my motor finally started wearing out and quit, blade started wobbling. I use it probably 10x per season on mostly the edge of my driveway (approx. 600 ft of centipede beside concrete driveway) with a few times aroud plant beds. I am looking at my original receipt from Lowes, my fist was purchased there on 6/29/04 for $89.00, here it is 7/2/15 and the price is still the same! Can't beat that! Repeat customer here!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor edger

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not understand how a lot of people found this to be the perfect edger. Are you people getting paid to write a good report? This edger does a very poor job. It does not cut the grass. It messes up the grass and rather digs than cutting the grass. You need to go over the same areas multiple times. The final result is poor. If the grass is rather thick and over the edge forget it, this edger is useless. I would normally had to prepare the area by hand to ease the job for it. Pretty much worthless. You need a fast blade, at least 4 blades (not 2 like this one) and far more power. You need a gas driven edger. Do not buy.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

I found my driveway edge again

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This edger does the job perfectly...I call it my "Skilsaw on wheels" because it is a beast! I've only had it for a few months now so not sure on the durability yet and I'm not a firm contributor to Black and Decker now a days and I'm more of a Rigid fan but I took a chance and I'm so happy for the leap to purchase this product. Huge power (i jumped a little when i initially turned it on) and stability for a corded edger, easy to control, very comfortable to handle, plus doesn't take up too much room in my garage when removing the shaft nuts to make it smaller. To give you an idea on my body frame to ensure the comfortable operations, I am 5'5" at 125lbs and about 32yrs old...I am in the construction industry so I know and use power tools on a daily basis, I'd Def recommend this Black and Decker Edger.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this edger for over a year now, and it actually works very well. Its light weight so anyone can use it, and will be comfortable to work with at anyone's height. This edger makes a nice straight cut every time, and leaves my driveway and landscaping looking like a professional did it. When operating this edger, you want to make sure that your ground is not wet, or it will probably clog the blade up. It is easy to clean out, but just make sure you unplug it first! Also, if you are edging for the first time, make sure that you go forward a bit, them pull back to redo the spot. If you just try to force the edger, you will have a very hard time, but once you get your first line established, it will be easy to edge week after week. I also used this edged to bury my low voltage electrical lines, and was able to get them down about 3 1/2" after I adjusted the bade depth. There is one thing that I wish I could change about this edger, and that is to add bigger wheels. If you don't have this edger on a hard flat surface, it is hard to push. I think bigger wheels would definitely help with this, but other that that, it has been going strong. The blade has held up very well even after I have ran it into many hard objects. Easy to sharpen, and cheap to replace if needed. I would definitely recommend this edger to anyone that takes pride in his/her yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: wish it had bigger wheels
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+121points
134out of 147found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Melbourne, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and bad!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First off, I am on my second one. The first one I bought went completely dead in less than 1 month. Not a good sign. Home Depot returned it very quickly, and I took a chance on another one. It cuts good, I like the 2 level trench or trim. BUT, it has a major fault. At the angle that it sits you have to lean it down all the time when not cutting or the blade just cuts the concrete, very annoying. Also, not a fault, but keep in mind it is electric and you must drag your cord everywhere.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, bad angle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Bradenton, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, works geat

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The edger works like a trooper. Light weight and easy to use. Only thing I would change is the side where the blade is positioned, I would make it so it opens for easier cleaning.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: needs to open on blade side for easier cleaning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Cape Corall, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more oil and gas and priming routines to make a nice clean edge to that driveway of yours!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a powerful, super-light weight edger that cuts a nice clean edge. Far easier than a gas - no maintenance or oil and gas to add. My previous 2 gas model weed whacker were heavy and needed constant repairs. You had to be a gorilla to start both (one is a 2 cycle, the other a 4 cycle) and follow a wizard's routine for priming to get them started. Now, with just a 100 foot extension I can get both edges of the driveway and our front flower bed. The design is not intended to cut high grass or grass/weeds around trees. At it's price, you can now afford an electric weed whacker to do that job!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: for edging only!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well. Light weight.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does a good job. After this is used to edge, a string trimmer can keep the edge much faster than trying to do the edge from scratch using a string trimmer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Landscape edeger. Black and decker.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works good on driveways and side walks. Doesn't work as good on curbing especially where there are rounded areas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Corner performance

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use it on my flower beds in the front of my property, which are fully comprised of curves. It works excellent ... likely because of its size. It has a relatively small distance blade/head and comfortable handle placement which makes it easy to navigate curves and corners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Mountain West
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product which edges very good

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced a forty year old black and decker with the Edge Hog. It does a very good job but unlike the old one doesn't open for cleaning. It does edge better and will power through most anything.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: not easy to clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Columbus, OHIO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Item

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The edger is very simple to use and hardly required any assembly - just had to position one piece. I'm not very familiar with tools used for outdoors, but found this one to be comfortable for gripping and it did a wonderful job on my flower beds ... cut through all the roots and made a nice edging! I'm rating features, value, and quality as GOOD simply because I don't have anything to compare it to since this was my first time purchasing and using an edger. But I love it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Bladensburg, Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Purchase

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, lightweight, works just as advertised. Just what I wanted for a good price.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>