728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.345 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(284 reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product241 of 269reviews
Rating Breakdown 284 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(173)
4
(71)
3
(18)
2
(9)
1
(13)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product241 of 269reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Hollywood FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Awesome Edger!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm NOT paid to write this.. IT ROCKS! It's awesome! I've only used it one time, and had to rave about it. It's easy to use and works like a champ. If your looking for an electric edger, THIS IS IT! I had read a lot of the reviews before my purchase, and I must say.... "They are correct, IT's KILLER!" Enjoy!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Spokane Valley Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger ever

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Read the reviews on this edger and even though they were good i was still skeptical. But purchased it I got it home and with very little difficulty i had it together and put it to use. I have over 1100 hundred feet of edging and was not sure how it would handle a big job. Since it never had been done it took me awhile with little effort to complete. Depending on your length to do, you will need a long extension cord. Very Happy !!!!!! P.S. it recommends going 1 inch deep, but for me i liked the inch and a half better, It did take me a little bit to figure out how to change the depth, but that was more my mistake than the machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from West Columbia, S.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After 11 years of use, I'm going to buy my 2nd B&D LE750!!!

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 11 years of what I'd call ordinary use, my motor finally started wearing out and quit, blade started wobbling. I use it probably 10x per season on mostly the edge of my driveway (approx. 600 ft of centipede beside concrete driveway) with a few times aroud plant beds. I am looking at my original receipt from Lowes, my fist was purchased there on 6/29/04 for $89.00, here it is 7/2/15 and the price is still the same! Can't beat that! Repeat customer here!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this edger for over a year now, and it actually works very well. Its light weight so anyone can use it, and will be comfortable to work with at anyone's height. This edger makes a nice straight cut every time, and leaves my driveway and landscaping looking like a professional did it. When operating this edger, you want to make sure that your ground is not wet, or it will probably clog the blade up. It is easy to clean out, but just make sure you unplug it first! Also, if you are edging for the first time, make sure that you go forward a bit, them pull back to redo the spot. If you just try to force the edger, you will have a very hard time, but once you get your first line established, it will be easy to edge week after week. I also used this edged to bury my low voltage electrical lines, and was able to get them down about 3 1/2" after I adjusted the bade depth. There is one thing that I wish I could change about this edger, and that is to add bigger wheels. If you don't have this edger on a hard flat surface, it is hard to push. I think bigger wheels would definitely help with this, but other that that, it has been going strong. The blade has held up very well even after I have ran it into many hard objects. Easy to sharpen, and cheap to replace if needed. I would definitely recommend this edger to anyone that takes pride in his/her yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: wish it had bigger wheels
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor edger

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not understand how a lot of people found this to be the perfect edger. Are you people getting paid to write a good report? This edger does a very poor job. It does not cut the grass. It messes up the grass and rather digs than cutting the grass. You need to go over the same areas multiple times. The final result is poor. If the grass is rather thick and over the edge forget it, this edger is useless. I would normally had to prepare the area by hand to ease the job for it. Pretty much worthless. You need a fast blade, at least 4 blades (not 2 like this one) and far more power. You need a gas driven edger. Do not buy.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

I found my driveway edge again

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This edger does the job perfectly...I call it my "Skilsaw on wheels" because it is a beast! I've only had it for a few months now so not sure on the durability yet and I'm not a firm contributor to Black and Decker now a days and I'm more of a Rigid fan but I took a chance and I'm so happy for the leap to purchase this product. Huge power (i jumped a little when i initially turned it on) and stability for a corded edger, easy to control, very comfortable to handle, plus doesn't take up too much room in my garage when removing the shaft nuts to make it smaller. To give you an idea on my body frame to ensure the comfortable operations, I am 5'5" at 125lbs and about 32yrs old...I am in the construction industry so I know and use power tools on a daily basis, I'd Def recommend this Black and Decker Edger.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

I love this thing!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very tired of looking at sloppy edging around my sidewalk and driveway that my husband did with his weed eater. I kept threatening to buy my own edger and finally did... I wish I would have done it sooner. Does a fabulous job and is SO EASY to use. I like that its electric so I don't have to rely on my husband to start it. Not sure how it will stand up over time, but for the price you can not beat it. LOVE LOVE LOVE this little machine (and my yard looks great too:)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+121points
134out of 147found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Not built to last

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On my 1/4 act yard it died on the first use. I normally do it with my weed eater but I thought this would be a great add to my landscaping artillery. But alas I was wrong, my weed eater does a much better job. Maybe next time I will buy the gas powered edger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from GSO-NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of power

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I previously owned an electric edger and it just didn't have the power to cut through the grass and dirt. The Edge Hog, on the other hand, with the 11 amp motor, just cuts right through. I initially used it on my heavily overgrown driveway (Other manual edger broke) in somewhat wet conditions, making the job even more tough, but the Edge Hog hung in there and got it done without ever really bogging down. The cleanup was a bit messy, but it did clean up easily enough.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: plastic wheels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from st augustine fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as advertised

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product easy to assemble though required some trial and error because of vague instructions. Works well though don;t understand some of use instructions.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Black & Decker Edge Hog -11amp, 7.5 inch blade

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good for light work. Three blades broke from plastic fan, scratching motor rotor winding, as flower bed dirt had more clay.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Wylie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a guy who reads reviews before purchasing a product. In the case of this edger, after years of using my heavy-duty battery operated weed wacker to edge my front sidwalks I took the plunge on this unit.
I could not be any happier with the product after 2 weekend uses. I set it on the deepest cut, which after years of using the week wacker required a lot of dirt to be moved from the edge of the sidewalk. This edger did the job great.
Now, each time it will be that much easier to get that professional look now that the trench has been created. Two thumbs up!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great product

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical at first but this a great edger. Would recommend, especially for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Cape Corall, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more oil and gas and priming routines to make a nice clean edge to that driveway of yours!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a powerful, super-light weight edger that cuts a nice clean edge. Far easier than a gas - no maintenance or oil and gas to add. My previous 2 gas model weed whacker were heavy and needed constant repairs. You had to be a gorilla to start both (one is a 2 cycle, the other a 4 cycle) and follow a wizard's routine for priming to get them started. Now, with just a 100 foot extension I can get both edges of the driveway and our front flower bed. The design is not intended to cut high grass or grass/weeds around trees. At it's price, you can now afford an electric weed whacker to do that job!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: for edging only!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>