728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(244 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 229reviews
Rating Breakdown 244 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(143)
4
(67)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 229reviews
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Hollywood FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Awesome Edger!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm NOT paid to write this.. IT ROCKS! It's awesome! I've only used it one time, and had to rave about it. It's easy to use and works like a champ. If your looking for an electric edger, THIS IS IT! I had read a lot of the reviews before my purchase, and I must say.... "They are correct, IT's KILLER!" Enjoy!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Nashville, TN

Will never use a weed eater again to edge!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've thought about switching to an edger like this instead of a weed eater for a while. I bought this B&D today and will never go back to edging with a weed eater! I can't really comment too much on this particular model b/c of only having used it once today. But for the price of under $100, it's worth not having to fight a weed eater. My only "meh" about this model is I wish the metal bracket used to keep the blade from hitting the sidewalk was a little longer. Other than that, I think this is a good tool to have around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from St Augustine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Somewhat hard to use with St Augustine Grass

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
A little awkward to use, especially with St Augustine Grass along the edge of the driveway.
It doesn't make a very wide cut, just a narrow slit. I expected a wider cut. The grass along the edge of my driveway is higher than the driveway and it is difficult to get this unit to cut/edge and go straight.
I have never used another edger so I don't know how it compares to other brands/types.
I probably wouldn't buy this unit again.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+118points
131out of 144found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from BOULDER CITY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT PRODUCT GREAT PRICE

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EASY TO USE EASY TO HANDLE. NICE LONG EXTENSION. EASY TO STORE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

So easy to use!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So easy to use. Works fabulously. Makes edging a breeze along driveway, sidewalk and around
flower beds.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product for the price

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
item was very easy to assemble. haven't really used it yet due to weather. Looks and sounds easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Wylie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a guy who reads reviews before purchasing a product. In the case of this edger, after years of using my heavy-duty battery operated weed wacker to edge my front sidwalks I took the plunge on this unit.
I could not be any happier with the product after 2 weekend uses. I set it on the deepest cut, which after years of using the week wacker required a lot of dirt to be moved from the edge of the sidewalk. This edger did the job great.
Now, each time it will be that much easier to get that professional look now that the trench has been created. Two thumbs up!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Great Edger for Small Jobs

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this edger to replace a gas-powered edger that quit after two seasons. I was a little bit anxious about using an electric edger due to the need for a long electric cord, but even with a 100' cord, the edger does not draw so many amps that it will not work with a standard 15-amp household circuit. I really like the very heavy-duty and thick blade on this machine. It digs through hard, dry dirt and makes a nice finger-width trench. It is adjustable for depth and has guards to prevent the blade from contacing the sidewalk or driveway while edging. It is easy to transport (by tilting and rolling it on the back wheels). Note: You can't roll it "flat" (on all three wheels) because the blade contacts the surface. Assembly out of the box was simple. Construction seems sold. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. I have a small-medium size typical neighborhood yard to edge. If you own a landscape business, however, this product is probably not for you.
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Merritt Island, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's very easy to use

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only used gas powered edgers in the past, and like many I was hesitant in buying an electric. It had been many years that the property I had purchased had been edged. After setting up the extension cord, it took only 45 min. to complete the driveway. The sidewalks and even the expansion joints in the driveway and sidewalks and the street joints encasing the whole property. Believe me, I was completely amazed.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item works GREAT!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So, my husband finally decided that it was time to get a new edger because our old one broke when we loaned it to someone. After over a year of edging manually, he bought this one.
As is typical of him, he did NOT read the directions, so it took longer for him to put it together than it should have. In fact, he put the handle on backwards and had to redo it. But, once it was assembled, he went right out and edged the entire front lawn. He had to do a little bit of tweaking on angles, but once he got it right it was smooth sailing from then on.
We have both used the gas ones that are a combination weed whacker and lawn edger and neither of us like them. They are too awkward and always leave the edges looking choppy.
We would both definitely recommend this item to anyone looking for an electric lawn edger.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edge Hog

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After years of neglect on a courner lot, the edger easily helped the clean up. It was easy to use, light weight and did the job! I'm a 55 year old women, with not much experience with lawn equipment. I'm thrilled with the results
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

First time user

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am 69 years old (female) and have never used an edger before. This one was very easy to assemble and is light weight. There is a learning curve for me, and I have only used it twice so far. The second time went much better that the first time, so hopefully, it will get better with each use. I am very happy with it and hope that I will continue to be for years to come.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great edger that makes my job quicker and easier.

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am coming from using a spade edger and rotary edger in the past. Those tools actually work well but it takes a lot of time and work. With spade edger, I am jumping on the spade edger like a pogo stick and moving a measly 6 inches at a time. With the rotary edger, you get a tremendous workout but the rotary edger clogs and the wheels don't always spin. And edging with a string trimmer is good just for maintenance of the the edge but not with the first initial edging. With time and effort, those tools work and have pretty nice results but I needed an easier way and the Edge Hog was the answer. First, I went over the edging that I did before and I zoomed over and the edging came out more polished than I ever did before. It looked like it was professionally done. Then I went over the part where the edge had lots of overgrowth with tough dirt. Was I able to go over it in one pass? No. Did I expect to? No because this is tough overgrowth grass with tough roots where I was literally jumping and kicking the spade edger just to dig in. I went over the edge with Edge Hog, used the spade edger to help get a little dig and then went over it one more time with the Edge Hog again. Sure I wish I had a gas powered $300 edger that I can zoom everything in just one swipe but I don't want to spend that much money and this Edge Hog made my lawn job so much easier and quicker even if it takes multiple passes on the initial edging.... After that first tough dig, I am zooming over the edges in a couple minutes with no more multiple passes. You should be too. I heard some cons on here like that they felt the need to push hard against tough dirt (*Don't do that. Let the blade do the work. Slow and steady on the initial edging), Edge Hog not working nicely in wet dirt (*manual says don't use it in moisture/wet environment), swerving? (*use the guide and the 2 black arrows that line up perfectly), multiple passes on initial edging? (*unfortunately that is somewhat expected because it is electric and not the powerful and very expensive gas models... Is it worth to go over a couple times just on the initial edging to save like $200? I think so.) I can't comment about the durability as I haven't had it that long. And I can't comment about the trencher because I haven't tried it yet. If I have issues, I will update this review. I would give this Edge Hog a 4.5 out of 5 and recommend it but don't expect the performance of $200-300 gas powered edgers that go through the INITIAL edging quickly in one swipe. After that initial edging, the edging becomes very easy, very quickly and looks very polished.
+61points
68out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great Product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The edger was a breeze to use and worked better then I expected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>