728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.313 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(217 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product181 of 202reviews
Rating Breakdown 217 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(127)
4
(59)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(10)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product181 of 202reviews
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item works GREAT!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, my husband finally decided that it was time to get a new edger because our old one broke when we loaned it to someone. After over a year of edging manually, he bought this one.
As is typical of him, he did NOT read the directions, so it took longer for him to put it together than it should have. In fact, he put the handle on backwards and had to redo it. But, once it was assembled, he went right out and edged the entire front lawn. He had to do a little bit of tweaking on angles, but once he got it right it was smooth sailing from then on.
We have both used the gas ones that are a combination weed whacker and lawn edger and neither of us like them. They are too awkward and always leave the edges looking choppy.
We would both definitely recommend this item to anyone looking for an electric lawn edger.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Merritt Island, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's very easy to use

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used gas powered edgers in the past, and like many I was hesitant in buying an electric. It had been many years that the property I had purchased had been edged. After setting up the extension cord, it took only 45 min. to complete the driveway. The sidewalks and even the expansion joints in the driveway and sidewalks and the street joints encasing the whole property. Believe me, I was completely amazed.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

First time user

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 69 years old (female) and have never used an edger before. This one was very easy to assemble and is light weight. There is a learning curve for me, and I have only used it twice so far. The second time went much better that the first time, so hopefully, it will get better with each use. I am very happy with it and hope that I will continue to be for years to come.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great Product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The edger was a breeze to use and worked better then I expected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great tool for the money

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this tool. It is very powerful and light weight. The only drawback is the cord, but for the price it is worth the minor inconvenience.
I have only used gas models in the past so i was a little worried about the power output of an electric unit in comparison. There is no problem. My yard had some decently overgrown edges and this thing had very little difficulty producing a good clean cut.
This is the third Black and Decker electric yard appliance I have purchased and I haven't been let down yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy-to-use, affordable edger

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a few hundred ft. of concrete and concrete curbing that had been neglected for at least a couple of years. I didn't want to wait for the adjacent lawn to dry out before trimming it back from the concrete, so I did have to stop the unit every few feet to clean out the mud and grass around the blade. (Unplug first!) It got the job done quickly and beautifully. I was impressed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Callahan, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to use!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply put; the easiest edger I have ever used! Well built and simple operation makes this a great buy!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for pride gets the job done

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool.I bought this because my weed eater was getting to heavy to lift up to do edging. This is gets the job done.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+115points
127out of 139found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Homer Glen, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great edger and resonable price!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this edger for my husband for his birthday and he loves it. It makes a huge difference in the appearance and neatness in your grass. I would highly recommend this and the price is very reasonable for this edger.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

B&D 11 amp 2-1 electric edger

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to use this edger but it does not have power to do very difficult jobs. This product is great for easy mantainence jobs and easy to move the blad up and down to meet the needs of different jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Jenison, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good purchase

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble. It took a couple of times to use it before I got the hang of it, but I should have read the instructions more carefully.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Parma,OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Edger

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to put together. It was easy to use, and made the driveway look awesome.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Portage, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use. Adjustable height a plus. Light weight.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quick assembly. Easy to handle. Just as pictured. Quality.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight and plenty of power! Easy to use and performs well ( a bit loud )
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>