728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(235 reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 235 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(137)
4
(65)
3
(14)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product197 of 220reviews
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

First time user

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 69 years old (female) and have never used an edger before. This one was very easy to assemble and is light weight. There is a learning curve for me, and I have only used it twice so far. The second time went much better that the first time, so hopefully, it will get better with each use. I am very happy with it and hope that I will continue to be for years to come.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Merritt Island, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's very easy to use

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used gas powered edgers in the past, and like many I was hesitant in buying an electric. It had been many years that the property I had purchased had been edged. After setting up the extension cord, it took only 45 min. to complete the driveway. The sidewalks and even the expansion joints in the driveway and sidewalks and the street joints encasing the whole property. Believe me, I was completely amazed.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item works GREAT!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, my husband finally decided that it was time to get a new edger because our old one broke when we loaned it to someone. After over a year of edging manually, he bought this one.
As is typical of him, he did NOT read the directions, so it took longer for him to put it together than it should have. In fact, he put the handle on backwards and had to redo it. But, once it was assembled, he went right out and edged the entire front lawn. He had to do a little bit of tweaking on angles, but once he got it right it was smooth sailing from then on.
We have both used the gas ones that are a combination weed whacker and lawn edger and neither of us like them. They are too awkward and always leave the edges looking choppy.
We would both definitely recommend this item to anyone looking for an electric lawn edger.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great tool for the money

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this tool. It is very powerful and light weight. The only drawback is the cord, but for the price it is worth the minor inconvenience.
I have only used gas models in the past so i was a little worried about the power output of an electric unit in comparison. There is no problem. My yard had some decently overgrown edges and this thing had very little difficulty producing a good clean cut.
This is the third Black and Decker electric yard appliance I have purchased and I haven't been let down yet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Great Product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The edger was a breeze to use and worked better then I expected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+118points
130out of 142found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Wylie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a guy who reads reviews before purchasing a product. In the case of this edger, after years of using my heavy-duty battery operated weed wacker to edge my front sidwalks I took the plunge on this unit.
I could not be any happier with the product after 2 weekend uses. I set it on the deepest cut, which after years of using the week wacker required a lot of dirt to be moved from the edge of the sidewalk. This edger did the job great.
Now, each time it will be that much easier to get that professional look now that the trench has been created. Two thumbs up!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edger

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's lightweigh, so need several passes for good results. First time had to use edger, but the result was great.
Main and maybe the only inconvenience is the power extension cord.
Very aggravating when the cord comes loose or when have to switch the receptacles or extend the cord.
Will be the last tool for me to use with extension cords.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Great Edger for Small Jobs

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this edger to replace a gas-powered edger that quit after two seasons. I was a little bit anxious about using an electric edger due to the need for a long electric cord, but even with a 100' cord, the edger does not draw so many amps that it will not work with a standard 15-amp household circuit. I really like the very heavy-duty and thick blade on this machine. It digs through hard, dry dirt and makes a nice finger-width trench. It is adjustable for depth and has guards to prevent the blade from contacing the sidewalk or driveway while edging. It is easy to transport (by tilting and rolling it on the back wheels). Note: You can't roll it "flat" (on all three wheels) because the blade contacts the surface. Assembly out of the box was simple. Construction seems sold. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. I have a small-medium size typical neighborhood yard to edge. If you own a landscape business, however, this product is probably not for you.
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Houston, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife and I bought a new house, we needed all new lawn equipment. It was easier to purchase the edger than to purchase a gas powered tool with all the attachments. I love how easy it is to edge the sidewalks!!!!!!! I would highly recommend this his edger to anyone (my neighbors have commented on it too).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smooth operator

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product replaces my previous B&D edger I had for 20 plus years. It was an easy choice to go back to B&D. This particular unit operates in more ways and much smoother than my old one. Easy to assemble, easy to use and with great results. I would recommend this over the attachments to a gas powered trimmer-turned-edger. The latter simply doesn't have enough power and is more difficult to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy-to-use, affordable edger

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a few hundred ft. of concrete and concrete curbing that had been neglected for at least a couple of years. I didn't want to wait for the adjacent lawn to dry out before trimming it back from the concrete, so I did have to stop the unit every few feet to clean out the mud and grass around the blade. (Unplug first!) It got the job done quickly and beautifully. I was impressed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from River Ridge, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Edge Hog 7.5" 11 amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to put together! Does a great job! Price was very good!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edge Hog

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After years of neglect on a courner lot, the edger easily helped the clean up. It was easy to use, light weight and did the job! I'm a 55 year old women, with not much experience with lawn equipment. I'm thrilled with the results
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from IL

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great edger, would purchase it again.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>