728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

The Black & Decker Edge Hog 11 Amp Electric 2-in-1 Landscape Edger features an 11 amp, high-torque motor that supplies enough power to tackle tough overgrowth and a pull-up edge guide that converts the edger to a landscape trencher. The landscape edger also features a 7-1/2 in. blade with 3/16 in. thickness and 3-position adjustable depth for greater control.
Overall rating:
4.34 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product215 of 238reviews
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(150)
4
(69)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product215 of 238reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Review 1 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Hollywood FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Awesome Edger!

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm NOT paid to write this.. IT ROCKS! It's awesome! I've only used it one time, and had to rave about it. It's easy to use and works like a champ. If your looking for an electric edger, THIS IS IT! I had read a lot of the reviews before my purchase, and I must say.... "They are correct, IT's KILLER!" Enjoy!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A necessary for landscaping!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really affordable tool is great for edging even in the hardest areas. I also used it to create the edge between my grass and my garden and worked great as well since it has 2 settings to do both. Some people use their trimmers to edge but this edging tool gives you a nice & clean cavity between the sidewalk and the grass. I really recommended for a more detailed finish!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, versatile
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Spokane Valley Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger ever

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Read the reviews on this edger and even though they were good i was still skeptical. But purchased it I got it home and with very little difficulty i had it together and put it to use. I have over 1100 hundred feet of edging and was not sure how it would handle a big job. Since it never had been done it took me awhile with little effort to complete. Depending on your length to do, you will need a long extension cord. Very Happy !!!!!! P.S. it recommends going 1 inch deep, but for me i liked the inch and a half better, It did take me a little bit to figure out how to change the depth, but that was more my mistake than the machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Springfield, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger for the price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lots of power and reliable brand. Adjustable and easy to use. I recommend it highly.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger

I found my driveway edge again

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This edger does the job perfectly...I call it my "Skilsaw on wheels" because it is a beast! I've only had it for a few months now so not sure on the durability yet and I'm not a firm contributor to Black and Decker now a days and I'm more of a Rigid fan but I took a chance and I'm so happy for the leap to purchase this product. Huge power (i jumped a little when i initially turned it on) and stability for a corded edger, easy to control, very comfortable to handle, plus doesn't take up too much room in my garage when removing the shaft nuts to make it smaller. To give you an idea on my body frame to ensure the comfortable operations, I am 5'5" at 125lbs and about 32yrs old...I am in the construction industry so I know and use power tools on a daily basis, I'd Def recommend this Black and Decker Edger.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Mountain West
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product which edges very good

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced a forty year old black and decker with the Edge Hog. It does a very good job but unlike the old one doesn't open for cleaning. It does edge better and will power through most anything.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: not easy to clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from stuart fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty well

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Put it together with no problem used it first time very easy and it did a good job. I find it very easy to use
and was surprised how well it worked. I just have to make sure have enough extension cord
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from thermal ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

edge hog 7.5

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to use. height adjustment pleased with product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Dallas, TX

Love this Edger!!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this, you will NOT be sorry!! So easy to use..I wanted something that was NOT big, bulky or used gas & oil. String trimmers are too cumbersome and heavy for me to carry around without back or shoulder issues. The blade made an awesome cut all along the driveway and side walk, takes a bit of getting used to, that blade will leave marks on the concrete when you miss..but that is one strong blade..did 400 linear feet in about 1 hour or less. Yard had not had any edging done since last year. I only edge every 2 weeks, the money I save by not having to hire lawn jockeys will more than pay for this edger in 2 months!!
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black and Decker electric edger

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haul gardening equipment to maintain 2 rentals, don't want to use gasoline so use electric mower. After breaking 2 Sears hand edgers I researched electric ones and did not want to use the filament ones. This one works fine to cut through thick overgrown grass that has not been edged for a long time. Seems to be powerful enough. No complaints so far. Have not tried to use it for digging trenches yet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from St Augustine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Somewhat hard to use with St Augustine Grass

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
A little awkward to use, especially with St Augustine Grass along the edge of the driveway.
It doesn't make a very wide cut, just a narrow slit. I expected a wider cut. The grass along the edge of my driveway is higher than the driveway and it is difficult to get this unit to cut/edge and go straight.
I have never used another edger so I don't know how it compares to other brands/types.
I probably wouldn't buy this unit again.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Lewisville, Texas

Saved a Widow's Lawn

PostedApril 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I lost my husband 5 years ago and one of the more stressful things was lawn work. I have carpal tunnel and was so apprehensive about mowing and edging. I could not hold a weed eater upside down to edge, it hurt too much, and I do not have the strength to do it..I went to the Home Depot and the salesman recommended this edge hog. I told him I had lost my husband, and he asssembled the thing for me and taught me how to use it...I Love it, and except for changing the blade once a summer it is a breeze. I would recommend it to anyone, especially, older women or those with arthritis, carpal tunnel or otherwise.
+119points
132out of 145found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Job

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This edger does the job with little effort, and clean up is minimal.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Edger!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This edger has a powerful motor. It cuts through tough grass, works great!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Powerful and easy to use

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never owned an edger before. For four years I have been watching my neighbors edge their lawns while mine continued to grow over the edges of the sidewalk. It was time to invest in an edger, but wasn't sure whether to go with a weed-eater convertible type with string or the highly rated Edge Hog with a blade. My neighbor recently purchased the type with the string and had commented that it was very difficult to figure out how to use it for edging, and that it took him many long hours. I opted for the blade type, specifically the B&D Edge Hog. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and use. It did take a little bit of additional time to tackle four years of neglect, but it required very little additional effort. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Saint Augustine, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best edger ever!

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This edger is so easy to use! I love the sidewalk guide that keeps my lines perfect, and makes our yard look professionally cared for. I couldn't ask for a better one!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Amarillo, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edger

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product does everything I needed it to at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Wylie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a guy who reads reviews before purchasing a product. In the case of this edger, after years of using my heavy-duty battery operated weed wacker to edge my front sidwalks I took the plunge on this unit.
I could not be any happier with the product after 2 weekend uses. I set it on the deepest cut, which after years of using the week wacker required a lot of dirt to be moved from the edge of the sidewalk. This edger did the job great.
Now, each time it will be that much easier to get that professional look now that the trench has been created. Two thumbs up!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Nashville, TN

Will never use a weed eater again to edge!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've thought about switching to an edger like this instead of a weed eater for a while. I bought this B&D today and will never go back to edging with a weed eater! I can't really comment too much on this particular model b/c of only having used it once today. But for the price of under $100, it's worth not having to fight a weed eater. My only "meh" about this model is I wish the metal bracket used to keep the blade from hitting the sidewalk was a little longer. Other than that, I think this is a good tool to have around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edge Hog 7.5 in. 11 Amp 2-in-1 Electric Landscape Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Great Edger for Small Jobs

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this edger to replace a gas-powered edger that quit after two seasons. I was a little bit anxious about using an electric edger due to the need for a long electric cord, but even with a 100' cord, the edger does not draw so many amps that it will not work with a standard 15-amp household circuit. I really like the very heavy-duty and thick blade on this machine. It digs through hard, dry dirt and makes a nice finger-width trench. It is adjustable for depth and has guards to prevent the blade from contacing the sidewalk or driveway while edging. It is easy to transport (by tilting and rolling it on the back wheels). Note: You can't roll it "flat" (on all three wheels) because the blade contacts the surface. Assembly out of the box was simple. Construction seems sold. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. I have a small-medium size typical neighborhood yard to edge. If you own a landscape business, however, this product is probably not for you.
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>