728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump

Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump

The Basement Watchdog Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump pumps 2,000 GPH at 0 ft. of lift or 1,000 GPH at 10 ft. of lift. This convenient pump fits next to the main AC pump and automatically begins pumping during power outages, when the main pump fails or when water flow exceeds the capacity of the main pump. Its unique monitoring system sounds an alarm when maintenance is needed or a problem arises. A display panel indicator light will identify the cause of the alarm and the proper corrective action.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product36 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product36 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Review 1 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Hammerhead
from Western, NY, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It surprised me...

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the equivalent of this pump at the Home Depot in 2003. I live in an area that has a lot of groundwater...my 1/2 hp primary pump runs every 10 mins during peak flow, approx 40 gals per min @ 8' head (lift). I always thought if the main pump went out, this thing would be dead in 1/2 a day at best. In 2006, we had a horrendous ice storm here, some areas without power for over 10 days. This pump ran faithfully every 5-10 mins (using a 2 year old 925 cca boat deep cycle battery), and was still running when the power came back on after almost 4 days! It truly surprised me for a product in the entry level range. I attribute this partially to: 1. a careful installation with special routing to keep the discharge lift under 5' (I cheated and went directly through the foundation wall into a storm sewer, rather than up-and-over the foundation), and 2. A good battery. But be sensible folks- know what your primary main pump capacity is, the lift, and how much it is pumping (hint: check the charts at your primary pump manufacturer web site, then charts at the basement watchdog site). That will tell you if this pump can handle it. If your primary pump runs nonstop during storms, 1. its probably too small, and 2. you better plan on multiple backups, or something else with high capacity. And by the way, although the battery is not included, most Home Depots DO carry 2 models of the dry battery and also the acid to be added, the benefit here is a truly "new" battery, which can be serviced (not sealed), and accepts the voltage probe (although the unit will still function with the probe). The higher the amps of the battery, the longer it will pump, and the more you will pay. If the HD doesn't have it, you could also consider a serviceable deep cycle marine battery. After almost 10 years of service, 4 batteries, and multiple power failures without mishap, I have decided to get a new one...you guessed it...this one again. One welcome improvement is the fact that the alarm can now be switched off during an event, and the float switch is now redundant (2 floats). Advice? 1. Keep the discharge pipe completely separate (after all this IS an emergency system) from other plumbing and as LOW as possible. 2. test the system regularly and expect to change out the battery every 2-3 years (don't forget you can recharge the battery from your car in a pinch or even use the car's battery in a real emergency). 3. try to mount the pump with support UNDER the pump. I had a neighbor with this exact model and their basement DID flood...our investigation found that the installing plumber hung the pump by the discharge pipe which cracked the base housing, so the pump ran but did nothing. 4. Be sensible and make sure this pump has the capacity you need...you can even call their tech support- I have found them to be very helpful- the system will only be as good as the installation. I hope you have the same good luck I have had with this pump.
Pros: Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+70points
70out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
BadDog
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) I have a 10' lift and this puppy struggles moving the water.
2) The battery lasts less than a year (and I maintained it according to the instructions) - the charger basically overcharges the battery to death.
3) It doesn't recognize a dead battery until it attempts to use the battery, and then it's too late.
Bottom line, I would not recommend wasting your money on this unit. I honestly don't know if there's a completely reliable system out there for under $600, but buying this system just gives you a false sense of security and you'll find yourself replacing it anyway.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Slow, terrible charger, cheap electronics
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
DrySoFar
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate Low-End Emergency Backup, but...

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this myself about 8 years ago after we moved in and the former owner told us horror stories about coming home to a flooded finished basement. It does an adequate job of draining the sump pit properly when the power's out (happens once or twice a year, on average). I haven't been careful about maintaining the battery, and it's lasted until just a few days ago, so no complaints there. Only time it gave me pause was when we had an extended outage that lasted several days; it was Spring, so we probably had more water than usual, and the battery gave out after about 24 - 36 hours of intermittent usage, after which I ended up hooking up a generator to the house anyway.
Overall, I'm glad I have this thing, but it doesn't give me complete peace of mind when we're away for extended periods and in that case I have the house-sitter double-check it. However, I have to say that this pump has never let me down so far.
I do have one massive complaint, though: there is NO WAY TO SHUT OFF THE ALARM, and if your power goes out, the alarm will sound whenever the pump cycles. (There's a reset button that shuts it up, but only until the next pump cycle while on battery). In other words, if you have an extended outage, the alarm will be screaming continuously and can't be stopped. I fixed this by adding my own switch to cut out the speaker (which almost certainly voided the warranty). Wish they had built this option into the alarm somehow.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: unstoppable alarm
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Chris
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install & Peace of Mind

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just installed this backup sump pump. It was a pretty easy install. It took me about 3 hours, but that included draining and cleaning/scrubbing the sump pit. I also installed all new drain lines and check valves.
I tested the unit and it worked as expected. I only have about 6 ft of lift from the bottom of the pit, so it handled the water fine. However, I am not sure how it would hold up if it were to run continuously. When the power goes out, I have a backup generator that will provide power to the main sump, but it is nice to have the battery backup to give me more time to get the generator fired up (or if I am not home when the power is out). It is also nice to know that it will kick in as a secondary sump if the main pump is not functioning correctly. Overall, worth the price for the peace of mind.
Speaking of the price, when I went to the store to buy the unit, I was not aware "batteries sold separately." So, although the backup kit is only $140, add another $100 for the battery, and another $25 for the battery acid. That trip to Home Depot cost me $320 for the above, plus the new check values, 1-1/2" pipe, Y-connector, 45 degree connector, PVC primer & glue, and a new surge protector to help protect the investment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: cost (incl. battery+acid)
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
JonK
from Chicago

Economical backup system but watch OUT for Watchdog glitches.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for first 4 years considering that it never was called into service since our power never failed during a flood. I had a problem one day, the battery alarm went off. Okay, so checked all the internet sites, and checked the FAQs for Watchdog. Unfortunately, none of these gave me the correct answer. I first assumed battery was dead, so I replaced it which is a lot of work lugging 60-lb batteries, and cost $150+. But the alarm started again, so my friend brought his multimeter and we tested it. Seemed that the charger was dead, so brought that into Glentronics headq which LUCKILY was only about 15 min drive away. The guy there replaced the charger, and billed me for it but did NOT even mention any other probable cause of failure. So... when that charger again went dead soon after, I came back and the support guy there now says right away likely it's a failure of the main control unit itself. This is not something even mentioned in the website FAQs, It SHOULD be mentioned by them (hint hint guys, put it out there). So, I did have to tear out the control unit (snipping wires) take it in and have it fixed which they did charge me for (hmm, I could see them doing it gratis since it was a part failure).
So I have mixed reactions. The thing does work but if it does fail you may have to spend some time/effort/money to fix. I suppose you get what you pay for so my advice, check your options when considering your backup system! Perhaps a few hundred dollars more for a pro system may save you some grief in the long run.
Pros: gives some peace of mind
Cons: heavy on maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
motordar
from Cary, IL on the Fox River

Watchdog is short lived and needs to be put down.

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought a home with this system professionally installed 15 months ago. I am ripping this out and installing something new. It did pump as a back up, but audible alarm will not silence even when turned off. If battery drains a little due to pumping, alarm will sound until battery is completely charged. Imagine a smoke alarm that will not shut off. You have to dissconect from battery (with wrench) and power brick from wall. After my unit screamed all night and battery would not take full charge....it's got to go (Yes water level in battery was maintained) Bottom line..does work, but will drive you insane.
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Pvargs
from Round Lake Beach, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install, Pumps thus far works great

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pump was very easy to install. When tested, works great. My piping from pump to discharge out of house is about 9-10ft - pump has no problems pushing out. Size of the Watch Dog easily allows for two pumps to sit in bottom of tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Rockfish
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The 10 foot lift is extreme...more like 8 feet

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found that 10feet of lift is the extreme limit of the standpipe is filled with water already due to the return to the backflow valve. Remember that the lift is measured at the bottom of the sump tub so most homes will need about 13 feet. As a consequence the yellow supplement is useless and when needed will just run until it drains the battery out. This is not recommended unless the pump is in a crawl space.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
JohnB007
from Waldorf, MD

Basement protection made easy

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This all-in-one kit is very easy to install and gives me (and my wife) the piece of mind we need. Our finished basement is our central area for lounging and TV viewing and is also the home of my in-home office. A basement flood would be the end of most of our electronic gadgets (PC's, TV's, DVD/BluRay, etc) as well as our memories (digital pics and videos stored on our PCs).
Our standard sump pump is a trooper and never makes us doubt it's ability to remove water from the basement, when we the power is on. We've had a couple bad storms this year with extended power outages and we were very anxious about basement flooding the entire time.
This is the 2nd one of these kits I have installed. I hooked up one at the in-laws house and was so pleased by theirs that I added the same setup in my own home.
The pump, while compact, will move water and move it fast. It's a nice unit and comes with everything you need EXCEPT: Battery and check-valve(s), and of course PVC pipe and accessories to hook it up.
I would buy this product again, and if I ever have to install a battery backup sump pump, this will be my first choice. I would recommend this to my friends and family!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Robert
from Englewood, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as advertised but...

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed this system with the large watchdog battery as a back up to my Wayne 1/3 HP A/C pump in February 2013. It works well when tested. One problem is the battery charger. My battery specific gravity readings have been 1.285 on 3/29/13 ; 1.275 on 4/11/13 and 1.250 on 5/10/13 . As you can see, the battery is slowly discharging while sitting in ready mode. Others have stated that the charger is not up to the job. I have to agree. I recommend a supplemental charger or replace the charger with a 750 ma charger or larger. I am currently using a 10 amp 6/12 volt charger my grandfather left me to charge the battery occasionally when needed until I can get a better trickle charger. Good Luck.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: battery charger too weak
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
toolkiks

Ok for light duty

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Id recommend this for anyone who doesnt see a lot of activity in your pit, mainly for peace of mind when you get that rare storm or snow melt. Ive had days when a zoeller pump handling 3000 gph was nonstop busy. Clearly this watchdog pump wouldnt have a chance if i lost power in a storm like that. Decent if you just need some sort of backup, look elsewhere if your sump pit means business.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Pumpsalot
from Long Island, NY

Not enough power

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently purchased the Watchdog Emergency Pump for a backup system to an existing pump in a home I just purchased. The directions were very good and made the setup a breeze. My only problem with it is that it is not powerful enough for my needs and upgrading to The Big Dog is just a little too steep. Although I like the fact that the Watchdog systems check the Batttery fluid level, I will probably be opting for the Wayne 3300 gph wich comes in a lot less $$. Overall though if you don't have a severe sump intake as I do this pump is a great value.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
rawdawg
from Virginia

Piece of Mind

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy. Make sure you follow the instructions as outlined. It took me a little over 30 mins to complete installation. I chose to use one of my Marine Deep Cycle batteries to defer cost. As the instructions state, "attach the probe to the positive terminal to turn the alarm off". BTW, the battery works just fine. I hope I don't have to use it but I'm glad it's there.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
famattjr
from Northen NJ

Backup pump

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this pump for about 13 years and it has worked well, the other day I tested it & did not work, took it apart and the pump motor was filled w/water, I guess the seal failed, but after that time that is to be expected. I dried it out and is now working but probably is due to be replaced. I am going to buy the same thing to replace it. My main pump is a 1/2 hp. If power does fail it is likely to be during a big storm and if you have a high water table and bad water problem like me, this pump would be greatly taxed and would probably have to run continuously. Therefore you'd better pray that the power comes back w/in 6 hrs or have a generator.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
chrisb321

Failed to start in emergency situation

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was installed about 2 years ago. I would check it every 6 months and everything seamed fine.
The first time it was actually needed (last week) it did not start.
The light showed that the pump was running, charge and battery were fine.
Afterwards I tried the test button. Showed the pump running but in fact it wasn't. Pump fail.
Not a cheap item to replace and I have lost faith in a product that is designed for an emergency and doesn't work when needed.
I see the higher models cycle themselves once a month to test. Does this actually test that water is moving or just that it has told the pump to work? If it is the latter, then it is a pointless test as it would have the same result as my problem.
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
innovations1
from Keyport, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

$150 for something like this is awsome.....

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
there is problem with keeping the battery charged i installed a trickel charger besides the built in charger an it saved my house many times.....just bought 2 more today to install at a job ...if you have a wet basement and dont install one of these you deserve to get wet....i do this for a living...after it saved me several times anyone that complaines about this has something wrong with them
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
engin409
from highlands Ranch, colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. Connections were easily accomplished. It was easy to test and its performance was as expected.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
Jpod

Big Disappointment

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has never worked. First the connections corroded away within weeks of having it installed. We sent back the corroded piece and the company did promply return, however, upon installing once again the unit never stops beeping and we cannot figure out why. Save your money and go with another brand, this one is too frustrating.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
move

the page should offer a battery that is required for the pump

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
pump required a battery but no battery was offered on line or anywhere on the page to choose from. The representative from Home Depot had to call the company upstate for battery information
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Emergency Battery Backup Sump Pump
KimberlyA
from Philly

Worked When I needed it to work

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fairly simple install. More trouble getting client's belongings out of way than installing.
Client lost power during Hurricane Irene and the battery back-up worked beautifully. Very quiet.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>