728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED

UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED

The UV Home Air Sanitizer is a safe and silent way to make your home a healthier place to live. It installs directly inside your home's heating/air conditioning forced air ductwork. Installation is easy (installation video included). Maintenance is simple, just clean the bulb periodically. Lamp life 9000 hours and needs to be replaced annually. The unit plugs into any 120 volt outlet. One year warranty on the unit, 30 days on lamp. 90 day moneyback guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product35 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product35 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Cincinnati

UV home air sanitizer

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered the product through homedepot.com and the item arrived promptly and in perfect condition. The installation only took about ten minutes. The product included the some of the actual items recommended for the installation process. The installation video on the included dvd was very informative. The Uv home sanitizer appears to be a reasonably priced option for eliminating airborne allergens in the home. Some homes may require more than one unit based on the square footage of living space.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Bowie, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have for any Home

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Irene flooded my basement and gave me a mold problem. Long story short, I ended up with airborne mold in the upstairs bedrooms. Mold travels via spores so I bought this product and had a relative install it for me. Days later, tested for the mold again and it was gone. In addition, I no longer awaken with congestion so I'm definitely happy with this product. My sister noticed the change in air quality almost immediately, she's sensitive to these things. Installation seemed easy. You will need a drill and an outlet near the point of installation. Be sure to take measurements of the duct itself before installing as the bulb is quite long. I know now that whatever home I live in will have a UV system installed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from West Virginia

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am an Indoor Air Quality guru and I know that the C Band of ultra violet light is great but I could not get in contact w/ the mfg. to get any detailed specs on this light like how many watts of power it produces to kill airborne germs. Easy installation and includes everything needed. Price is very inexpensive.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Kentucky

jkcouchman

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got to me well packed and safe. Read instructions and went to work . Easy to install. Took only about 15 minutes. Thinking of running a circuit from one side of the blower so that it only comes on when the blower is running to save on bulb life.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cleared up my Nasal Problems

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am ordering a second UV Sanitizer for my Mother's home.
When I installed my first one in my Home, the difference was unbelievable!
I no longer suffer from a stuffy nose at night, and Nasal drip in the Mornings, this is the best product I have ever used that made such a huge difference, in two days time it Sanitized our entire 1800 sq ft under air home, and it was a breeze to install, less than 1/2 hour, they give you excellent templates and even a hole saw cutter. I opted for the plenum / fiberglass duct install and they also supply a clever adaptor for that. I highly recommend this product to anyone who suffers from allergies or contaminated Air systems.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from LAS VEGAS

AIR+HEALTH AIR PURIFYING SYSTEM/MODEL AH-1

PostedMay 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
INSTALLATION OF THE AIR+HEALTH UNIT LOOKED VERY EASY UNTIL I REALIZED I HAD TO GO INTO THE ATTIC. ONCE IN THE ATTIC, I MADE MYSELF AT HOME SINCE THERE IS A LIGHT AND AN OUTLET WHERE THE FURNACE CONNECTS TO READY TO GO. I INSTALLED IT AT 10:00 PM SO THE HEAT FACTOR WAS BEARABLE IN LAS VEGAS IN THE MONTH OF MAY. THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FAIRLY EASY TO FOLLOW. HOWEVER, THE MOUNTING TEMPLATE SUPPLIED DIDN'T MATCH THE HOLES THAT ARE DRILLED FOR THE AIR+HEALTH MOUNTING BASE. I HAD TO BEND THE TABS BACKWARDS VS. INWARDS TOWARDS THE DUCT BOARD, IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN THE CENTER HOLE OF MOUNTING BASE AND THE VIEWPOINT HOLE INTACT. MY HUSBAND AND I, ARE BOTH EXPERIENCING LESS NASAL DRIP AND SNEEZING EVER SINCE I INSTALLLED IT LAST NIGHT. THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT SIGNIFICANT AND INSTANT. WE HAVE BEEN SUFFERING FROM SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF ALLERGIES ALL OUR LIVES. MONITORED UV LIGHT IS A WONDERFUL THING. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR A MUCH NEEDED PRODUCT.
SINCERELY YOURS, SABRINA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Dearborn, MI

Was skeptical..

PostedDecember 8, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was originally skeptical but I went ahead and made the purchase. Fifteem minutes to install with no hitches. I noticed an improvement in air quality almost immediately. Both my son and myself can breathe easier. I only wish that the kit was available in the stores.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Fairfax, VA

Amazing product

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently bought a 40-year old home and the air smelled moldy. So we had the duct cleaned, put in a higher grade air filter and installed this UV sanitizer. Although the first two steps improved the feel and smell of the air much, we noticed a drastic change in the air quality after the UV sanitizer installation. Both my wife and I are extremely glad we installed it to a successful outcome. Most people do not realize how important indoor air quality is. At the recommendation of the Sears duct cleaning professional, we plan to install another UV sanitizer, this time on the return side of the HVAC system whereas the first one was installed right over the coil on the supply side.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from New port Richey, FL

Keep your air clean

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had two of these for 4 years. Help keep the air clear and pure. Easy to install. You just need to replace the bulbs yeary year at $50 each. They used to carry them in the stores now online only.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh, PA

Simple to install

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation took 5 minutes topps, only downside is the drillbit they give you is a wood bit not a metal bit.
I have no idea if it is killing the bacteria or not, but the light is on, you can see it through the sight glass. I wish they would have put a sail switch on it, or a G lead on it to sense the fan was running, so it wasn't on during times the fan isn't turning.
Bought one for a friend and installed it in their house also, no issues with the install.
Wish it was available in the stores also. Great simple installation, I have faith that it will do the job advertised.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from North Texas

AIR+HEALTH AIR PURIFYING SYSTEM/MODEL AH-1,

PostedMay 24, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just completed the installation of this UV-c light in both of my home air handelers.
Once I completed the 115Vac run to a convenient location near the units, the actual installation of the mounting plates was very simple and straight forward. ( The second unit took about ten minutes to install!
Pros:
Simple design.
Long power cord. (6' I believe)
Clear instructions.
Kit includes Hole saw, Saftey glasses and mounting hardware for most situations and a DVD "How To" video.
Cons:
The supplied mounting screws are slotted sheetmetal.. difficult to drive with a cordless driver.
I substitued self-tapping sheetmetal screws. By doing this I was able to skip predrilling the mounting holes, a real timesaver.
Overall I am quite satisfied.
BobM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from McAlester, OK 74501, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would recommend to a friend

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family could tell a difference within a week of installing. I'll probably buy a another unit to put in my return duct, do to the fact that my house is over 2000 sq.ft. plus this time of year my HVAC isn't running near as much as it needs to, I'll turn the fan on manually only for a little while I just can't see leaving it on all the time. Installation was easy, only took a few minutes after the fact of having to install another electrical outlet in the closet. All in all it was definitely worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent purchase

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installs with an electric drill and hand tools.
Similar models to this special lamp costs much more and as far as I can tell now, it does what I want it to do. I am running another much more expensive unit on my other air handler as a comparison. I will know for sure at some future date as to how long the bulbs lasts and if any growth on the coils appear.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install, instructions were clear and easy to understand. It seems to make a difference in air quality and the inside of the ducts dont look at dirty as they normally do when we spring clean. The downside is it only cleans when there is air flow. So even on those day I dont need heat or AC, I might run the furnace fan for a while to circulate the air.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from FL

UV Light

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to install - instructions easy to follow. Reasonable price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX

Cleaner Air

PostedNovember 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a 20 year old house. When we moved in several years ago my wife had 3 sinus infections in a row. We had the AC system inspected and found out that the ducts were covered in Black Mold. We paid $500 to have the ducts sanitized, a chemical process, but they would not guarantee the work for more than a year.
Since then I've been looking for a simple UV-C system but did not have much luck until I stumbled onto this. The install was a breeze and the effects were noticiable after 24 hours. The old musty house smell is virtually gone. We hope to see more benefits as we enter the Cold/Flu season with 2 little girls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Spencerport New York USA

Works Nice

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was easy and straight forward to install. I put it in the cold air return line.
The power cord did not reach any outlet in my home. Right now I have it plugged into a heavy duty extension cord. Should be OK until I run another outlet.
Others commented that the hole saw is for wood, not metal. This is true. That being said, the saw worked fine. It would not last long drilling through a lot of metal. A couple times should not be a problem.
I didn't see it discussed anywhere but there is an included adapter plate that is to be used with fiberglass/composite insulated duct work.
I can't speak to the health benefits others discussed. I think the air is better, but ... I buy it again and suggest others consider it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from cincinnati, OH

Louise

PostedOctober 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think this is a very important product for everyone to put in there home. I found it very easy to install. I called the help line about making sure I put it in the right place. They were very helpful. The only glitch I had was, when drilling the pit hole, I didn't realize I had my drill on reverse. My brother figured that out for me.
I am recommending this product to everyone I know!
I can tell my air in my home is much better. I have year round allergies. I have an air cleaner, and the UV lamp has definitely made me feel better!
Thanks,
Louise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey

Best Value

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great installation instructions; hole saw that is provided does do the job; best price I could find. The quality is solid. Safety was definitely a priority in the design; it is interlocked so it will go out if removed from the mount without unplugging it. I don't suffer from allergies, so I can't provide a personal story of relief, but I have faith in UVC and I won't be recycling any virus I bring home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UV Home Air Sanitizer-DISCONTINUED
from Florida

UV Light for A/C Unit

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product came packaged beautifully with very complete and easy to follow instructions. The package included all the key components as well as some additional "tools" to make the installation straight forward. It took less than 15 minutes to install. The jury is out as this point as to how effective it will be as it has only been in place for about a week, If it eliminates the mold growth in the A/C cabinet (I live in SW Florida) then it will be worth every penny.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>