728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED

13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED

The BRUTUS 13 in. Professional Tile Cutter is designed to cut ceramic and porcelain tile. This powerful, lightweight and durable cutter can cut tiles up to 1/2 in. thick, rip cut tiles up to 13 in. and diagonally cut tiles up to 10 in. The cutter includes an adjustable rip guide to make multiple rip and angle cuts easier and faster. The cutter comes with two high quality, replaceable 7/8 in. titanium-coated, tungsten-carbide cutting wheels, one on the tool and one in the handle storage compartment. This is another Job-Ready, Job-Tough quality tool from QEP.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Cincinnati, Ohio

Good tool to have

PostedAugust 28, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just completed laying tile in our bathroom using this tile cutter. It made the job much easier and quicker. This was my first time ever laying tile and I was pleased with the ease of using it. The cuts were clean. Of course, it took a couple of tries before I got used to it, but after that smooth sailing. I recommend this product for any do-it-yourselfer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh

Best $50 I ever spent!

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After using a borrowed tile cutter for most of my tub surround tiling job, I went through countless bad cuts and breaks. My final row required 19 cut tiles and I wasn't about to mess up any more tiles and decided to buy a new cutter. Debating between the cheaper $20 cutter, and reading the mixed reviews, I figured since I had more tiling to do around the house, I would spent the extra for this cutter. I breezed through my cuts! Every cut was one score and a clean break. It actually makes me excited to do the floor because I'm not afraid to cut tile anymore. This will make your job so much easier. Best $50 I ever spent!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from bosotn, ma

great cutter!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this tool is just awesome. it took me one try to get it right. the only thing that you need to master is to make sure to cut the tile with enough force. the instruction says "medium" force but that's hardly definitive. just try it on a spare tile a couple of times and you'll be able to cut it to perfection.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED

Good product worth its money

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was unsatisfied with this product because I couldn't get any tile to snap cleanly on the score line. But I decided to do a little online research (watched tile cutting videos, read forums, etc) and noticed that everyone else seemed to be able to cut tile with very straight and accurate cuts. I decided to look at the BRUTUS instructions again and noticed 2 things immediately: the breaker foot must be positioned slightly back from the tile edge during the snap, and you must snap the tile by gripping the handle and rail bar in order to squeeze in a scissor type action (look at the picture in the instructions - it clearly demonstrates the required gripping action). Once I did these 2 things my tiles suddenly started to cut cleanly with very straight edges. Because I wasn't positioning the breaker foot correctly I was damaging the cutter wheel; it rubs against the adjustable ruler edge when plunging the handle which dulls the cutter wheel and put dings in its edge. The poor performance was a result of unclear instructions that failed to emphasize the proper technique. The only reason I give this product 4 stars instead of 5 is a result of the adjustable ruler and breaker foot positioning. BRUTUS should have designed the tile cutter to auto position the breaker foot so the cutter wheel never rubs against the ruler edge. I had to replace the cutter wheel as a result of this design oversight. This is a very solid tile cutter - you can't beat if for the price. If you position the breaker foot correctly and use the scissor grip method when squeezing the handle, your tile will snap cleanly on the score line. After a few cuts you will no longer need to focus on the positioning since the correct technique becomes ingrained.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Cedarburg, WI

Excellent Tile Cutter

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cutter is just like ones I've rented, it makes a clean score line and transmits a nice snap to cut the tile. I've snapped off lengths as narrow as an inch. I bought this after returning the QEP 14 inch cutter, which was terrible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Poughkeepsie NY

Worth every penny.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great cutter! takes about a second to make a cut.
Perfect for showers and tub enclosures. No jumping up and out compared to using a tile saw.
Guide bumps into screw adjuster around 2.5 inches but I think if the adjuster is ground down or the back end of the guide stop is filed open it should stop problem.
I had to make 50 or more cuts for a windows in a Jacuzzi and it went very fast.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Phila.

13 In. Manual Tile Cutter

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is pretty much identical to a unit I bought about 10 yrs ago, but is half the weight. Not too sure about the stability of this one due to the extreme light weight, but time will tell. I have used this one for about 200 cuts so far on 6" square floor tile and the blade is SHARP ! If it lasts as well as the previous unit, It is a 5 STAR. The cost for this cutter is a bargin.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Johnson City, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy a jig saw.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not waste your money, go buy a jig saw for making cross cuts on 12mm laminate and a small table saw for ripping. This cutter's blade doesn't even have an edge, let alone a sharp edge. I had to use all of my weight and all it does is bust it and some of the laminate on top chips off. I tried it twice and went and bought a jig saw. Taking it back for a refund.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Professional Porcelain Tile Cutter-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for small tile cutting

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
probably would be great for thin, 12 x 12 tiles cuts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.