728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac

The powerful VAC Attack II is a 3-in-1 tool which converts from blower to vacuum or mulcher. ZipStart technology: Easier to Pull, Quicker to Start, make starting up the 30 cc Powerstroke engine a cinch. Once started the VAC Attack II produces 200 MPH air velocity with 420 CFM of air volume. The light 9.8 lbs. unit is combined with a vibration absorbing handle to provide comfortable operation. Switching from blower to vacuum has never been easier with no tools necessary to make the switch. Packaged with Vacuum/Mulcher kit and 2.6 oz. bottle of exact mix oil. 2-years warranty.
Overall rating:
3.966 / 5
4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product18 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(2)
62%of customersrecommend this product18 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
Review 21 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from new york

PostedOctober 12, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked good and started easily but after using the vac attachment a few times the impeller got chewed up and wore the bearing out,now it's just flopping around. I've only had it a year. I'm going to try to order the part right now.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from North Carolina

Pay More, Get Better

PostedNovember 11, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had bought 2 gas blowers in last 3 years, both died and were never replaced. Had backup 7 year old electric Toro Power Sweep (GREAT PRODUCT) but got tired of lugging extension cords. Bought Homelite Vac Attack II. Figured it would be a better blower than the Homelite unit at $80. The specs on CFM and MPH are higher. I was not planning to use the vacuum feature but decided to spend the extra $20. First impression based on specs were good, 200+ MPH and 400+ CFM are both great. Bought new gas can and fresh gas (87 octane) and used oil provided in box to make 1 gallon of fuel/oil mix. Blower was used on concrete driveway to blow leaves and pine needles. Worked fine but made a rattling noise and engine surged as I made passes side to side to blow leaves. It even surged when I kept unit still. This is what happened to my last blower after 6 months, before it started blowing oil out of the engine and finally died. Gas fill location make it hard to fill with air tube in the way. Air Tube kept loosening. Had to tighten metal band holding tube several times. Also smoked quite a bit after shutting down from full throttle the first time, probably just new paint burning off muffler. Maybe I got a unit that was bad, may try another one or try the more expensive (but highly rated for engine life) Echo at Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from West Monroe, LA

Great Product

PostedSeptember 21, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The handle needs more room, and the engine guard gets a little hot. But very powerful on the blower part, does as good as a backpack blower. Very easy to start, not to heavy. The cruise control is very nice feature. Great product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from Cattaraugus, NY

Blower/Vac/Mulcher

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really a great item and very easy to start.Like the way I can lock the throttle at any speed I want .Had a lot of very wet leaves but was able to blow them away easily.Sure beats raking them.Price was great as well as the free shipping.I have already recommended it to my friends. It was also lighter than I expected and that was a big help for me as I cannot lift a lot of weight for any length of time due to my age of 83 years young.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from Killeen, Tx

Very Powerful

PostedAugust 6, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price for alot of power. I've only used it a few times so I hope it lasts longer than the other 2 homelite blowers I have owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from Athens, GA

Homelite 30 cc blower/vac

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great blower, much better than my previous one. My wife said it seemed heavy to her. The op of the unit gets somewhat hot around the handle area if you are not wearing gloves. Seems like the muffler could have been positioned lower towards the bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from New Orleans, LA

Seems Better Than It Is

PostedMay 28, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blower put out a strong air flow, but has far to many flaws in it's design. The frame and engine are of extremely poor construction. THE ENGINE HAS A SINGLE SIDED CRANKSHAFT! There is a tricky routine you have to do with the cheap plastic choke to get it to start and warm up. Once running it vibrates, rattles, and the engine hesitates with any motion. The attachments constantly vibrate loose during use, and require tape or adhesive to stay in place. The intake tends to pull your clothes in, and it blows dirt into your face when used as a vacuum/mulcher. Clanging sounds can constantly be heard coming from the machine while running. The impeller is made of cheap plastic, so just about any stick, bark, etc... will destroy it. Basically, this unit should last you a couple of years.... only as a blower, much less as a vac/mulcher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from Atlanta, GA

Don't Buy It

PostedApril 21, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked good for about 1 1/2 years as a blower and very little vac. work. Started having trouble end of last year then it just would not start. This is the second one in 6 years. I'm switching to electric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for VAC Attack II 200 mph 420 CFM Gas Blower/Mulcher/Vac
from Dallas, Texas

Not worth even the cheap price - terrible engine

PostedAugust 19, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this blower on sale for $89.99 about a year ago and it worked fine for 2-3 months. After that, it has been a nightmare.
First, the engineering behind this product is quite inferior. There is no physical/optional "choke" feature, so it's impossible to control how much you choke the engine. In addition, the fuel tank is in entirely the wrong place - in order to maximize the flow of fuel into the engine, you have to point the blower straight up (you won't blow away many leaves that way).
Now, a year later, I have to give the engine about 30 (yes, 30) pulls before it will even think of starting. If I am able to get it to start, I have to leave it idling for at least 10-15 minutes for it to be of any use. Then, once it is working, the power of the blower is intermittent, largely depending on the angle of the fuel tank (as I indicated above, it is very difficult to get the fuel to flow properly into the engine.
I also have a HomeLite string trimmer that is five years old, which still works like the day it was bought. I don't know where HomeLite went wrong on this product, but they definitely missed the mark here.
In short, the price of this blower is too good to be true. I wish I would have spent more money on a higher quality blower, and suggest you do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2