728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Laser Level

Laser Level

The Strait-Line Laser Level features dual-bubble vials for accurate, easy-to-read horizontal and vertical readings. The laser level projects up to a 15 ft. laser line to help provide accurate readings at a distance. The 360-degree rotation and pivot creates 30 ft. of work space. The level is accurate within 0.1875 in. per 100 ft. for reliability.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for Laser Level
Review 1 for Laser Level
from Aurora, Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value,

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only used tis once so far and it worked very well. It was very helpful working in a tight spot.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laser Level
from Titusville Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good and simple

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The laser level was delivered promptly and it looks like it will do what I need.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laser Level
from Florida

Don't bother with this product.

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laser level to paint some stripes on my wall. The reviews said the main problem was the 3M strip damaging the wall. I don't know how this can happen because these strips don't even hold up the laser level. I put it on the wall and 5 seconds later it falls. It comes with 4 strips (you use one at a time). I ended up trying it with all 4 strips on at once and it still did not hold on. What good is it if it doesn't even stay on? I ended up trying to use it with my girlfriend holding the laser up to the wall. That got really old. I can't wait to return this useless item. I gave it two stars because for the 5 seconds that it stayed on the wall, the line looked pretty straight.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laser Level
from Nampa,ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Fairly good if you have the command sticky tape

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only problem with this is the sticky tape, if you don't have any more you can not use it. It uses the 3m command stick tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
Cons: sticky tape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laser Level
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item would be perfect if it had a suction to hold it onto the surfaces that you are using it on. Other than that it is great. Strong and bright laser.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laser Level
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the Job Done

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for someone who is not very handy. The laser line could be more precise (in terms of not fuzzy when on a wall) and it would be great if it could suction to the wall. But, for the price and simplicity of it - it was fabulous! We created incredible stripes for our daughter's nursery and are very happy with the results!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, great price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laser Level
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a level to put up small shelves & curtain rods in my new home. This one is easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laser Level
from Bryan,Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is a little hard to us

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tape to the wall feature is not too good if you need to move the level just a little to get the exact position
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laser Level
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

for the money it works fine and the cat loves it

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for the cost of this laser, it works very well on super flat surfaces, but if you try to hang it on a wall that has a knock down coatings, it doesnt stick very well
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laser Level

Worth What I Paid

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I find this level to be with the 15 I paid for it. It is NOT Clearly visible in normal lighting but you can see it. You will likely need to dim the lights and/or wait till nighttime.
I would not recommend this for Professional Use. But, it is idea for home use considering the price. I didn't not have to stick mine to the wall. But if you need to... there is a tiny pin sized hole in the base and you could use a small safety pin to pin it to a wall.
I think the people that gave extremely bad reviews got defective units.
Pros: Accurate
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laser Level
from Killeen, TX

Please don't buy this piece of junk

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know where to begin. I bought this level to lay out some painter's tape in a room I was painting. When I turned it on initially, I found that the laser was misaligned, and that there was four inches of visible line on the wall near the laser, and then a spot on the adjoining wall.
I should have returned the product then and there. Instead, I disassembled the level and was able to correct the issue using a small philips head screwdriver and a hex key. Properly adjusted, the laser was barely visible for a maximum of ten feet. It was almost completely overpowered by the light from a single 40-watt bulb in my two-car garage.
Once properly calibrated, I had to wait until after sunset to use the level, as the sunlight coming in through the drawn blinds was enough to make the laser invisible. After sunset, I had to turn off the light in the room as well, and work from the light spilling around the corner from the hallway.
Once the light issue was resolved, I layed out my line and put up my first length of painter's tape. The level worked well in these conditions, and the work went very quickly and easily. The line (once properly adjusted) was straight and true.
After putting up the first length of tape, I went to move the level to the next spot, and found that the 3M Command strip would not release. I gently pulled the tab and lifted slightly upward as directed, but the tab broke after the first 1/4" of adhesive released. I ended up trying to gently peel away the remainder, but no luck--the Command strip RIPPED A CHUNK OF PLASTER OUT OF MY WALL. The level had been adhered to the wall for MAYBE a minute and a half, yet managed to rip away a chunk larger than a quarter.
This product is pure garbage in every aspect. Even had the adhesive worked as intended, I would be pretty upset. Given all the time put in calibrating the laser and then working to get ideal lighting conditions to use the product, I'd have been better off using a traditional level over and over, all the way down the wall. These levels should be pulled from the shelves immediately.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laser Level

Does not stick to wall

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the laser at night and had no problem seeing it. However, the 3M strips provided did NOT stick to the wall for more than a few seconds at a time. They didnt work when I used more than one, and even wheni tried to attach the leveler to the wall using copious amounts of masking tape it WOULD NOT STICK--- total waste of $15. I have no idea what these things SHOULD cost, but for the frustration that I went through trying to hang 3 pictures, I think this company owes me $15!
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laser Level
from Burke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not for the professional!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a laser level for the professional. It only sticks to a smooth surface and is no help with the laser beyond 20ft.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, limited use with sticky pads
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laser Level
from Lombard, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's on the level!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Helped me hang my photo's picture perfect. I highly recommend for all your percise needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laser Level
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disappointed

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased this in a rush and failed to see that you have to continually purchase the command brand stickers in order to use the product. It comes with several but to spend about 50 cents per use is not cost efficient IMO. I would prefer to have a level with a tack for the wall.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laser Level
from Columbia, SC

Got the job done

PostedNovember 23, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i used this laser level to help paint my house, several vertical strips in my daughters room, my wifes idea. anyways, it got the job done, i positioned the leveler near the floor and pointed it up. it reached the cieling, 9ft, but the afternoon light coming through the window made the laser near the ceiling very hard to see. after we blocked the light a bit, it very easy to see. it got the job done and i would recommend this, barring the need to use the leveler any further then 10 or 15 feet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laser Level
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strait line laser level

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased other line laser levels. This one is much easier to use
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laser Level
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not intended for more than hanging pictures.

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have known better when I saw that the level comes with 3M Command strips to attach it to any surface. This level is not intended for anything more difficult than hanging a picture or a small shelf onto drywall. If you are using it for any type of home improvement project you will be wasting your time.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laser Level
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waist of Money

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried using the product to hang pictures and curtain rods but the laser did not illuminate at all on the wall. Waist of $15.
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: does not work
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Laser Level
from Ohio

Made the job cake

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was hanging vertical blinds across two windows that were spit by a fireplace. My friend lent me the Strait Line to use. It made the job SO much easier. The laser shot all the way across the room making the installation a breeze. I recommend this to anyone! Awesome product. Oh yea, I went out and bought my own!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>