728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wrenches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

The reliable Husky 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench meets all ANSI specifications and provides 50 - 250 ft.-lb. of torque. This wrench comes fully polished.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Beltsville, MD, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

guy's/gal's this tool is garunteed forever!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the Husky warranty only last 1 year from purchase to repair defects(under 90 days will include calibration)
but if you read the back of the package it clearly states
"if your Husky hand tool ever fails, *bring it back* and we(Home depot) will replace it free"
you must return it to HOME DEPOT, do not contact Husky directly if it is past 1 year, KEEP YOUR RECEIPT and home depot will have no problem returning it for LIFE
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

Seems Like a Good Wrench

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for a good, moderate-priced torque wrench and bought this one for home workshop use. The quality seems good and it clicks clearly when the set torque is reached (have not checked, but is consistent between bolts). Worth a few extra dollars over the bargain basement versions of these wrenches.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

Good product, good price.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice long handle, easy to read settings, works great, clean and solid overall look, better warranty than the competition, priced right.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from wisconsin

Very Nice

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this wrench for about a month now and use it on a daily basis. The 30" handle makes it a dream to use and hitting tourqe is by no means a problem. This tool came with the lifetime warranty which beats the 90 days I saw for tourqe wrenches in the same price range.The tourqe is easily set and so far has met any challenge that it has been put through.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from San Antonio, TX

1/2" Torque Wrench

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works very well. Outer packaging indicates lifetime warranty but fine print in the brochure that is inside the packaging indicates it is a limited warranty good only. 1st 90 days, will repair and recalibrate at no charge. 90 days -1 yr, will repair only at no charge. After 1 yr, you are on your own.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Buckley, WA

No Lifetime Warranty!

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
HD web-site Description and Husky packaging both say Lifetime Warranty. Manual in the box after you buy says:
Limited Warranty
If within 90 days from the date of purchase, this wrench fails due to defects in materials or workmanship, we will repair and recalibrate it free of charge. After 90 days and until one year from date of purchase we will repair any defect in material or workmanship in the torque wrench free of charge. This warranty does not include recalibration.
+11points
18out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from SAN DIEGO

HUSKY TORQUE WRENCH

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE 1/2 " DRIVE TORQUE WRENCH 50-250LB. IS AN EXCELLENT TORQUE WRENCH IVE HAD MINE FOR 8YRS WITH NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO ANY MECHANIC .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from ohio

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is a high qualiy wrench which holds to the hardest jobs
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

Lasted a few years

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, this wrench is good. I used it for a few years before it finally stopped working. I'm a weekend mechanic so I did not put it through a lot of use (mainly wheel lugs). Unfortunately, this product only has a 90 day warranty. Too bad for a $80+ tool.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid at all costs.

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made in taiwan drive twisted off at second use 230lbs it twisted right off inside socket.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Bowling Green, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BEWARE!!!!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This torque wrench worked great for a while. Built a couple of engines using it. Always turned it back down to zero and stored it in it's case. Last time I used it, which was about the fourth time since new, I snapped a head bolt and stretched several more because it wouldn't click. It is out of warranty and useless. Seemed like a real nice piece when I bought it. Now it's just a piece of . . . well, you get the idea.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from ny, ny

Great Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job with no problems. High quality product. Worked great every time it was used. Would definitely purchase this product again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench

Ok, if you just need it to rotate tires.

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this torque wrench over a craftsman because it was cheaper. Also thought it had lifetime warranty. Turns out it was limited warranty. I have had it for 2 years now and have ONLY used it for swapping out wheels, and maintenance tire rotations. If this tool only lasted me 2 years and I don't even use it like you are supposed to, I can only imagine how it would handle when a real mechanic puts it through its paces. The wrench died because I could not turn the dial to tighten or loosen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no lifetime warranty.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality and works great.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All an all this product great. I've been to a few hardware stores and had to return them due to defects. This one no defects, works great and you can't beat the $.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from St. Paul
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the price

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's good for it's price. The feel in your hand screams quality but when you actually use the tool it feels cheap but for the price it will do that job just fine. I wouldn't recommend it for shops or anything but for personal use, it's fine. If you are a part of the Craftsman group, stick with the Craftsman. Cheaper in money and similar in quality and accuracy.
Pros: qaulity material, price
Cons: lack of torque feel
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from wausau, WI

Under Torqued

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Nice case, finish, and materials. I use the torque wrench mainly with car tires. However torque wrench wise, the low end torque settings are not accurate. Just replaced eight studs on my four-wheeler due to 58 foot pounds, would not 'click'. The bolts stretched and then one snapped. At higher settings, the wrench is great. Of course, 58 ft lbs is at the low side of the scale. Nice price, the warranty and manual could use some revision.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

you get what you pay for!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Broke after using on my tires after only 3 uses, get the warranty!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works just fine

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was the hands down best option for the price, used to install two CV axles and torque lug nuts and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
from Minneapolis, MN

Great quality, lots of leverage

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice and beefy, plenty strong. Lots of leverage with that long handle. I've had mine for over 5 years now, albeit with only light use. It still performs great, I really love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 1/2 in. Drive Torque Wrench
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product